What Stats Do Fans Like?

Replying To slayer:  "HS posters,

What stats do you like to see as GAA fans?

Most teams have their own in house statistics that are relevant to that team and how they approach the game.

But if your county are playing and you are watching Sky/RTE/TG4, they all go about stats in slightly different ways but each are interesting.

I'd like to know what people like ourselves think? All feedback welcome."
Most teams now only use their own stats for in-play. Almost all use external data providers now for post-match analysis as proper time, facilities, experience and money is put into it from the external guys' side.

In regards to TV coverage, it doesn't matter what Joe Public want to see - I've spoken to RTE numerous times over the years and they only want the 'pub chat' stats such as 'wides' and the times teams were level (an absolutely shite stat in a score-for-score sport)

Wides stat doesn't give context at all and yet they still use it always

TheWinningFormula (Tipperary) - Posts: 4 - 01/05/2022 10:11:10    2414299

Replying To Galway9801:  "Of course I'm sure how and why they're used, but the context is so important in terms of the analysis that the stats themselves are nowhere near as meaningful as they're made out to be.
The comparison with Wengers arsenal isn't ridiculous at all seeing as how he was so reluctant to deviate from his plan.
And you're also wrong about the Liverpool analysis too. Character and mentality play a huge role in whether or not klopp likes a player.
Alexis Sanchez to Man utd is probably more up your alley.
And finally, why did you put the word gushing in inverted commas? It's a real word and I used it appropriately."
For the last time placing stats in context is down to other aspects of management such as emotional intelligence, man management and common sense. I've said that to you more than once. Arsenal Wenger's failures were a failure of his management not of stats. I put the word gushing in inverted commas because any stats people worth their salt wouldn't be "gushing" over possession stats when that possession wasn't being converted in to wins. Are you telling me thar Jurgen Klopp doesn't take tackle stats very seriously? Of course he does. Stats provide empirical information. Of course they need a context. I've said that to you more than once. They are important because they inform decision making before, during and after matches. Used in conjunction with video analysis they are vital part in any functioning management set up. If they weren't then they wouldn't be used. You should try it sometime.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/05/2022 10:31:21    2414310

Replying To TheWinningFormula:  "Most teams now only use their own stats for in-play. Almost all use external data providers now for post-match analysis as proper time, facilities, experience and money is put into it from the external guys' side.

In regards to TV coverage, it doesn't matter what Joe Public want to see - I've spoken to RTE numerous times over the years and they only want the 'pub chat' stats such as 'wides' and the times teams were level (an absolutely shite stat in a score-for-score sport)

Wides stat doesn't give context at all and yet they still use it always"
Some club sides use video analysis. Analysts will video the opposition and tag their games. Individual players will get analysis on opposing players performances, how many kick passes/hand passes left/right, how many runs into space, turnovers, broken down to try to give players an edge when they play that opposition. Still depends on the game plan, running game, kicking game, mix, defend deep, press high. So they could have amazing data and one coach can turn it to their advantage and another will struggle with it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 01/05/2022 13:03:08    2414348

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Some club sides use video analysis. Analysts will video the opposition and tag their games. Individual players will get analysis on opposing players performances, how many kick passes/hand passes left/right, how many runs into space, turnovers, broken down to try to give players an edge when they play that opposition. Still depends on the game plan, running game, kicking game, mix, defend deep, press high. So they could have amazing data and one coach can turn it to their advantage and another will struggle with it."
Yup. The information is only as good as the coach who is using it. Whilst analysts will analyse the opposition it is more important that clubs analyse their own performances both individually and collectively.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/05/2022 14:31:34    2414366

Most teams have their own in house statistics that are relevant to that team and how they approach the game.

But if your county are playing and you are watching Sky/RTE/TG4, they all go about stats in slightly different ways but each are interesting.

Would like to see how many minutes of each game the ball is actually in play.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 01/05/2022 16:21:07    2414387

Thanks to everyone who replied. Some very interesting points made.

Cheers.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/05/2022 16:21:17    2414388

I'm a stat nerd, I want them all, turnovers double turnovers, kickouts won and where, possessions by player, number of handpasses footpasses, set plays leading to scores, the list is endless

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1595 - 03/05/2022 16:29:37    2414687

Replying To Barrowsider:  "I'm a stat nerd, I want them all, turnovers double turnovers, kickouts won and where, possessions by player, number of handpasses footpasses, set plays leading to scores, the list is endless"
Well the foot pass stat you could write on the back of a stamp!

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 03/05/2022 16:41:09    2414696

Results. For some reason the GAA community at large has a habit of failing to record results for posterity. Various county GAA websites are guilty of this too. You can see the scores from a county's senior championship this year, but next year this year's scores will vanish for all eternity. Let's get that right before worrying about how much possession some team had in the opposition's half.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1042 - 04/05/2022 15:11:03    2414875

The GPS data would be interesting. There was a lad played with me used to wear the kit and it was fascinating to see his stats after. Heat maps of where he was on the pitch, distance covered, number of sprints top speeds reached, speed comparisons from early and late in the game.

I recall Paul Galvin saying in his autobiography that he was clocking in game sprints of 32/33kph, my Junior B buddy was coming in around 22kph!

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 338 - 04/05/2022 15:30:55    2414878

Replying To bennybunny:  "Would like to see how many minutes of each game the ball is actually in play."
The less often for Cork teams these days, the better for them!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1925 - 04/05/2022 15:31:36    2414879

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Results. For some reason the GAA community at large has a habit of failing to record results for posterity. Various county GAA websites are guilty of this too. You can see the scores from a county's senior championship this year, but next year this year's scores will vanish for all eternity. Let's get that right before worrying about how much possession some team had in the opposition's half."
Some online archives and stats sites are starting to pop up to address some of this issue and other similar losses of historical information. Here is a terrific example in Longford... (link)

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 473 - 04/05/2022 15:32:24    2414880

Replying To foreveryoung:  "The less often for Cork teams these days, the better for them!"
Why did you comment like that? It has nothing to do with the topic.

Or to the admin, why they did they allow it go through?

Site is being ruined by trolls who just post smartass comments. Loads of people that used to debate just drop off.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/05/2022 18:17:48    2414923

Replying To bennybunny:  "Why did you comment like that? It has nothing to do with the topic.

Or to the admin, why they did they allow it go through?

Site is being ruined by trolls who just post smartass comments. Loads of people that used to debate just drop off."
Yerra, lighten up Benny boy, and have a sense of humor. I know that it's been quite a bad week for Cork GAA teams all round, but that could all change, should you beat the Kingdom on Sunday, and I for one, would welcome that. I've been told for years that Cork fans are full or craic and banter (as you Irish call it...having a laugh is what we say over here), but it seems that the craic and banter only works for certain Cork boys when they're winning!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1925 - 05/05/2022 09:35:46    2414972

Replying To Barrowsider:  "I'm a stat nerd, I want them all, turnovers double turnovers, kickouts won and where, possessions by player, number of handpasses footpasses, set plays leading to scores, the list is endless"
Maybe get the wides stats first

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 05/05/2022 11:23:56    2415012

Slayer my favourite stats are hooks, blocks and turnovers. Any team working hard will come out on top in these stats and I think they are a fulcrum on which every decent team builds. Hard work.
The likes of possession is complete rubbish in hurling. Means nothing unless you do something with it.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1736 - 05/05/2022 13:26:41    2415050

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Some online archives and stats sites are starting to pop up to address some of this issue and other similar losses of historical information. Here is a terrific example in Longford... (link)"
That's a great site LongfordgaaAbú. Not just the content but it looks great, user friendly. There's a Mayo GAA archive below. I just love looking at the old photos, a real sense of history and games played by tough men, not lads who spent a lot of time in gyms striving for targets set by S&C coaches.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 05/05/2022 21:19:18    2415150

Turnovers are one of my favourite stat around, forced vs unforced is always interesting it shows who is working hard and who is making mistakes/being sloppy.

Possessions is also another big one, always find that a corner forward could get eight balls in a game and have 1-7 to his name or if he only gets two balls and no score then the guy marking him has done his job. Now days I would expect anyone between 5-12 to have 40+ possessions each the way the game has gone.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 06/05/2022 18:36:06    2415342

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Some online archives and stats sites are starting to pop up to address some of this issue and other similar losses of historical information. Here is a terrific example in Longford... (link)"
This is a thing of great beauty!

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1042 - 08/05/2022 16:32:44    2415604

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
That's a great site LongfordgaaAbú. Not just the content but it looks great, user friendly. There's a Mayo GAA archive below. I just love looking at the old photos, a real sense of history and games played by tough men, not lads who spent a lot of time in gyms striving for targets set by S&C coaches.

link"
Very good. I can only imagine the time it must have taken to compile that archive. Impressive dedication!

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 473 - 08/05/2022 18:36:46    2415655