Clare Hurling thread

Replying To TomWex:  "Well I've lost all respect for him after that act. Can't get much lower than that"
I'm sure he's upset that he has lost your respect.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 30/06/2022 13:57:01    2428821

Replying To TomWex:  "Well I've lost all respect for him after that act. Can't get much lower than that"
I sure Tony will cry himself to sleep. Maybe he could stroke his All Stars to help him nod off.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 30/06/2022 14:14:11    2428831

Replying To Dec82andahalf:  "Ah don't say that, he has a match to concentrate on. What if he sees it."
Fairly sure any intercounty player isn't going to give a #### what's put up on any forum.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 30/06/2022 14:18:50    2428834

Replying To Viking66:  "Fairly sure any intercounty player isn't going to give a #### what's put up on any forum."
It was sarcasm. Poor attempt maybe but sarcasm all the same.

Dec82andahalf (Clare) - Posts: 34 - 30/06/2022 16:05:04    2428866

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Yeah? We have also seen Viking, a fellow Wexford fan say that in his opinion it was accidental and resulted from Reck running across TKs path. Given the only people claiming it was deliberate are some (not all) Wexford fans and some random "Cork" fan from twitter and given TKs super disciplinary record I think we could give him the benefit of the doubt with this one and perhaps you could also just move on with your life???"
The hurler on the ditch, on the couch (t.v. replays) or in the stand always see things different. I pay a little more credence to the fellow in the stand. Some are putting themselves inside Tony Kelly's head and surmising he had intent. Going on what I have seen of him during his career to date I will be giving him the benefit of the doubt. Not saying it is not a foul stroke but intent ? Or labelling him as a dirty player ? Sorry way too much of a stretch for me. I am just going to look at him through the lens of the fabulous hurler he is and admire that.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/06/2022 18:56:32    2428905

Replying To TomWex:  "TK finsihed Shane Recks game after digging the butt of his hurl into his groin.. cameras didn't pick it up but I saw it as did several others I came across also saw a Cork lad on twitter talking about it too.. (so it wasnt just grumpy Wexford lads lol) camera just saw Reck lying on the ground with an ice pack - poor fecker.."
Seriously

F4 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 47 - 30/06/2022 22:03:27    2428921

Replying To F4:  "Seriously"
Yeah and it was his first game back after a long injury. He was the only player to keep TK quiet last year too and was heading for MOTM performance before having to go off.
I won't say any more about it. Pity there's only 3 more championship games left this year... am really looking forward to this weekend senior and minor matches

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 63 - 01/07/2022 11:14:53    2428955

Replying To TomWex:  "Yeah and it was his first game back after a long injury. He was the only player to keep TK quiet last year too and was heading for MOTM performance before having to go off.
I won't say any more about it. Pity there's only 3 more championship games left this year... am really looking forward to this weekend senior and minor matches"
Reck went off with cramp

F4 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 47 - 01/07/2022 17:05:32    2429066

Commiserations to Clare on that loss. I was hoping for better but 24 wides in a game is not just bad, it is atrocious. The year up to now has been good and a foundation going forward that needs a free taker and shoring up at the back end.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 02/07/2022 19:40:47    2429289

Replying To Canuck:  "Commiserations to Clare on that loss. I was hoping for better but 24 wides in a game is not just bad, it is atrocious. The year up to now has been good and a foundation going forward that needs a free taker and shoring up at the back end."
24 wides is only half the story. Most of those wides shouldn't even have been taken on, and they were still hitting atrocious wides from out the field when they were chasing the game and needed goals. They stopped playing as a team by half time and were out there as individuals. Reminded me of Galway on a bad day.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 02/07/2022 20:10:17    2429307

Hard luck Clare I was hoping for a better contest, hope Galway win tomorrow and we get a Sheflin v Cody showdown in the final.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 02/07/2022 20:16:51    2429311

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Hard luck Clare I was hoping for a better contest, hope Galway win tomorrow and we get a Sheflin v Cody showdown in the final."
It should never be about the managers. Davy Fitz's present situation is proof of that.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 02/07/2022 20:33:23    2429317

Replying To festinog:  "24 wides is only half the story. Most of those wides shouldn't even have been taken on, and they were still hitting atrocious wides from out the field when they were chasing the game and needed goals. They stopped playing as a team by half time and were out there as individuals. Reminded me of Galway on a bad day."
We have all had days like that against Kilkenny. Particularly between 2008 and 2015 for us. In fairness games between us have been pretty tight since then.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 02/07/2022 21:05:11    2429335

Replying To festinog:  "24 wides is only half the story. Most of those wides shouldn't even have been taken on, and they were still hitting atrocious wides from out the field when they were chasing the game and needed goals. They stopped playing as a team by half time and were out there as individuals. Reminded me of Galway on a bad day."
I don't think they really played as a team at any stage yesterday which was the complete opposite of what we seen in Munster. It's a shame as I had high hopes we'd have a competitive final given Clare have gone toe to toe with limerick 3 times this year. (Kilkennys records in finals hasn't been good as underdogs in the last decade and I'd fear for them again - we will know more by 5 today though)

The sight of SOD tapping over a couple of late scores was as hard to watch as some of the wides. I couldn't really understand going for scores from long range frees when you're 12 down.
A lot didn't go right yesterday but I think the duggan change to full forward overall didn't work at all this year. He wasn't at the races the last few games.
However clare have some really good forwards coming through and despite yesterday' have a really good panel of players. Davy Fitz has been a revelation this year….pace, power and a serious amount of scores. What training has he been doing?!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/07/2022 09:59:08    2429358

Replying To tiobraid:  "I don't think they really played as a team at any stage yesterday which was the complete opposite of what we seen in Munster. It's a shame as I had high hopes we'd have a competitive final given Clare have gone toe to toe with limerick 3 times this year. (Kilkennys records in finals hasn't been good as underdogs in the last decade and I'd fear for them again - we will know more by 5 today though)

The sight of SOD tapping over a couple of late scores was as hard to watch as some of the wides. I couldn't really understand going for scores from long range frees when you're 12 down.
A lot didn't go right yesterday but I think the duggan change to full forward overall didn't work at all this year. He wasn't at the races the last few games.
However clare have some really good forwards coming through and despite yesterday' have a really good panel of players. Davy Fitz has been a revelation this year….pace, power and a serious amount of scores. What training has he been doing?!"
Davy Fitzgerald is a seriously powerful hurler but some of his shooting was terrible yesterday. Tony Kelly is much hyped but he did nothing yesterday bar hit frees wide. At one stage I had to check if he was still playing. Dreadful from Clare and Manager Lohan must take responsibility.He seemed to get a lot wrong from team selection to tactics. Pre match comparisons between him and the other Brian were greatly exaggerated. As always, Cody had Kilkenny ready and primed. They were totally up for the challenge. We'll see in 2 weeks how good Kilkenny are because it's hard to know from yesterday with Clare so bad.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 03/07/2022 11:18:39    2429372

Just half the half story and they would have drawn. At least 12 of them were shots any team would have taken on and the cats took their own share of them that went between the posts. Just not even talking about scoreable frees alone. I feel bad for Clare because they have proven this year they are better than that. Too many of us get stage fright when seeing that stripped jersey.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/07/2022 13:22:54    2429393

Replying To Viking66:  "We have all had days like that against Kilkenny. Particularly between 2008 and 2015 for us. In fairness games between us have been pretty tight since then."
Just the mention of 2008 makes me cringe. A team that was as good as any that ever played the game demolished and we were left with that sick feeling in your gut.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/07/2022 13:37:59    2429397

Exactly this. Partly down to kilkenny's defence, getting the match ups spot on and Clare's complete lack of tactics. Most of those wides should never have been taken on given how far out they were and were taken by players who kilkenny were quite happy to let shoot.

Tony Kelly was completely anonymous, barely touched it from play mikey Butler followed him everywhere. Clare's tactic of driving long and often aimless ball into the full forward line did nothing to try and bring Kelly into the game which was odd as if they were going to win this they needed him to score relatively heavily.

Duggan was a waste of time, didn't win one high ball on Lawlor and yet Clare kept persisting with it and seemed to expect a different outcome???

I remember looking at the scoreboard and clock at 12 mins 54 seconds, kilkenny 7-2 up and saying to myself the game was over. It was that obvious. What really bugged me though was the second half and Clare were 13 points behind, kilkenny playing with a sweeper and almost every high ball into Clare's forwards (who weren't winning any of them) was a 2 forwards vs 4 defenders scenario. Yet Lohan never changed it, he persisted with his own sweeper which was ineffective and didn't try and push up onto the kilkenny sweeper to even have a go at it. Clare scored 20 points so on paper look like they did OK on the scoring front but it was pathetic and their management threw in the towel and accepted damage limitation in the first half.

oso (Antrim) - Posts: 168 - 03/07/2022 13:46:46    2429399

Replying To oso:  "Exactly this. Partly down to kilkenny's defence, getting the match ups spot on and Clare's complete lack of tactics. Most of those wides should never have been taken on given how far out they were and were taken by players who kilkenny were quite happy to let shoot.

Tony Kelly was completely anonymous, barely touched it from play mikey Butler followed him everywhere. Clare's tactic of driving long and often aimless ball into the full forward line did nothing to try and bring Kelly into the game which was odd as if they were going to win this they needed him to score relatively heavily.

Duggan was a waste of time, didn't win one high ball on Lawlor and yet Clare kept persisting with it and seemed to expect a different outcome???

I remember looking at the scoreboard and clock at 12 mins 54 seconds, kilkenny 7-2 up and saying to myself the game was over. It was that obvious. What really bugged me though was the second half and Clare were 13 points behind, kilkenny playing with a sweeper and almost every high ball into Clare's forwards (who weren't winning any of them) was a 2 forwards vs 4 defenders scenario. Yet Lohan never changed it, he persisted with his own sweeper which was ineffective and didn't try and push up onto the kilkenny sweeper to even have a go at it. Clare scored 20 points so on paper look like they did OK on the scoring front but it was pathetic and their management threw in the towel and accepted damage limitation in the first half."
Wasn't it Mike Tyson said 'everyone has a plan, until they get punched in the mouth'.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 03/07/2022 13:57:25    2429400

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Wasn't it Mike Tyson said 'everyone has a plan, until they get punched in the mouth'."
Lohan had 60 minutes to change it yesterday when it became aparrent after 10 minutes that it wasn't working. Is that not what managing is about? Making changes and adapting to an evolving situation. It was weak.

oso (Antrim) - Posts: 168 - 03/07/2022 14:30:25    2429404