Tailteann Cup 2022

The junior partition cup has very little interest in it. In fact there seems to be very little interest in the football at all this year, it seems very drab.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 22/05/2022 18:25:15    2419491

Replying To football first:  "Waterford gone from the whole championship already, before the end of May - won't play a county game again until next January. Championship structure needs a complete revamp - minor alterations like the Tailteann Cup will do nothing for counties like Waterford."
Their hurlers will also be doing nothing for the summer. Stuff happens. The footballer's got 7 league games plus 2 championship games. That's not bad in 5 months. Time for all weaker counties to get their house in order and stop always blaming someone else. They can have loads of Championship/ League games in the county plus do a S$C over the next few months. There will be loads of teams joining them next weekend.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 22/05/2022 18:25:54    2419492

Replying To giveitlong:  "Well done to Offaly a great result today"
Offaly was far from convincing, just about hung on for a one point victory and had their keeper and some last ditch defending to thank for not conceding 4 or 5 goals. They looked out on their feet late on Maughan training methods as old school as ever.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 22/05/2022 19:25:17    2419499

Replying To oneoff:  "According to some people there would be. People go on about the GAA having to market it etc but if people don't even bother to go there's only so much marketing that can be done."
The marketing is to entice more people to go.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 22/05/2022 20:02:29    2419508

Replying To The_analyser:  "Offaly was far from convincing, just about hung on for a one point victory and had their keeper and some last ditch defending to thank for not conceding 4 or 5 goals. They looked out on their feet late on Maughan training methods as old school as ever."
I dont agree with that. He has tomas o se in as coach and as most people know the manager does not train the team. He delegates.

I actually read an article from maughan where he states that he has had to evolve with the modern methods. So to state that his methods are old school is off the mark as they are not. If they were he would not be in the job since November 2018 as players call that out very quickly.

There is no need to criticise any manager who puts the level of commitment in that he does. He may not have got on well with roscommon but maybe thats because ye didn't have the talent at yer disposal at that time.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 22/05/2022 20:51:29    2419529

Replying To howdareu:  "I dont agree with that. He has tomas o se in as coach and as most people know the manager does not train the team. He delegates.

I actually read an article from maughan where he states that he has had to evolve with the modern methods. So to state that his methods are old school is off the mark as they are not. If they were he would not be in the job since November 2018 as players call that out very quickly.

There is no need to criticise any manager who puts the level of commitment in that he does. He may not have got on well with roscommon but maybe thats because ye didn't have the talent at yer disposal at that time."
Tomás Sé was high profile additional coach added to the management and most in Offaly don't see what he's brought that a loyal coach couldn't bring.

John Maughan has always been a coach first and foremost and brings a lot of what he learnt in the Army into management. Paper doesn't request ink, so don't believe everything you read by some journalist. The game has moved on Maughan hasn't moved on with it.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 22/05/2022 21:21:39    2419551

Replying To Yondu:  "Tomás Sé was high profile additional coach added to the management and most in Offaly don't see what he's brought that a loyal coach couldn't bring.

John Maughan has always been a coach first and foremost and brings a lot of what he learnt in the Army into management. Paper doesn't request ink, so don't believe everything you read by some journalist. The game has moved on Maughan hasn't moved on with it."
Maughan is acknowledged by most people in football to be a good coach, and the proof is in the pudding with a good victory yesterday in the junior partition cup. He has to work with the players that he has in front of him, who haven't always been possibly up to inter county standards. How has he brought his Army experience into coaching football? Or is that a generalisation?

The game hasn't moved on that much, Maughan had lads in tip top physical condition years before the current professional set ups , so he's ahead of his time in that regard. I think Offaly could very well snag this minor trophy.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 23/05/2022 08:33:15    2419563

Replying To Yondu:  "Tomás Sé was high profile additional coach added to the management and most in Offaly don't see what he's brought that a loyal coach couldn't bring.

John Maughan has always been a coach first and foremost and brings a lot of what he learnt in the Army into management. Paper doesn't request ink, so don't believe everything you read by some journalist. The game has moved on Maughan hasn't moved on with it."
I think you will find that paper does indeed request ink. Otherwise nothing would be written on it would it? Of course John Maughan is a coach- that is a given that most inetrcounty managers are coaches first of all. I happened to be in Wexford on business and I managed to catch the second half and I must say it was a very good game of football.

What exactly do you mean when you say Maughan has not moved on with the game? How so??

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 23/05/2022 09:53:12    2419591

When people talk about marketing the Tailteann cup properly what are your expectations for what that means?

I actually think there's been strong coverage of it in the Independent and RTE website.

I couldn't catch the Sunday game, was there much coverage on it?

What other avenues do people think aren't being explored here?

Marketing something has to be targeted or else it's just money down the tube. I'm sure the GAA have been using contacts to get some Tailteann cup content out there. The Wicklow boss is in the Indo today talking positively on the competition.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 23/05/2022 10:11:59    2419599

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Maughan is acknowledged by most people in football to be a good coach, and the proof is in the pudding with a good victory yesterday in the junior partition cup. He has to work with the players that he has in front of him, who haven't always been possibly up to inter county standards. How has he brought his Army experience into coaching football? Or is that a generalisation?

The game hasn't moved on that much, Maughan had lads in tip top physical condition years before the current professional set ups , so he's ahead of his time in that regard. I think Offaly could very well snag this minor trophy."
Good victory? Let's not lose the run of yourself. Offaly fell over the line against Div 4 opposition. Relied on 37 year old to pull them through. Hard slog training and discipline from his Army days are brought into every team he's ever managed.

@Howdareu I watched the full game. Maughan is still at the same carry on as the 90s with Zonal marking, looking to counter attack and kicking high hopefully balls into the full forward line. The game has moved on tactically since he had any championship success. I won't be surprised if Wicklow take them out next.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 23/05/2022 10:33:47    2419607

Replying To The_analyser:  "Offaly was far from convincing, just about hung on for a one point victory and had their keeper and some last ditch defending to thank for not conceding 4 or 5 goals. They looked out on their feet late on Maughan training methods as old school as ever."
Was at the game in Enniscorthy and it was a good game of football.
Wexford made the mistake of playing very defensively in the 2nd half. They allowed Offaly to build from the back when Wexford should have pushed up for their kick outs.
Anyway well done to Offaly but a big improvement will be required if they are to make progress in this competition.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 23/05/2022 10:45:07    2419611

Replying To eoinog:  "If those games were held in smaller grounds there would be a better atmosphere but the GAA would get hammered for not allowing these player their opportunity to play on the sacred sod of Croke Park so it's a no win situation. Cork Hammered Tipp and Clare did the same to Waterford so I would pay no heed to the heavy beatings in the afformentioned cups."
Regardless of the system there's always going to be teams who are just going to be stronger at a given time and that's the case with any sport.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 23/05/2022 10:49:23    2419613

Replying To Yondu:  "Good victory? Let's not lose the run of yourself. Offaly fell over the line against Div 4 opposition. Relied on 37 year old to pull them through. Hard slog training and discipline from his Army days are brought into every team he's ever managed.

@Howdareu I watched the full game. Maughan is still at the same carry on as the 90s with Zonal marking, looking to counter attack and kicking high hopefully balls into the full forward line. The game has moved on tactically since he had any championship success. I won't be surprised if Wicklow take them out next."
Well every team has a target man in some sense, and the fact that it is a 37 year old shows Maughans training methods in terms of fitness etc are top notch wouldn't you say.

It is a good day when you beat any opposition in their own ground in a knockout albeit inferior cup game.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 23/05/2022 11:00:04    2419619

Replying To Yondu:  "Good victory? Let's not lose the run of yourself. Offaly fell over the line against Div 4 opposition. Relied on 37 year old to pull them through. Hard slog training and discipline from his Army days are brought into every team he's ever managed.

@Howdareu I watched the full game. Maughan is still at the same carry on as the 90s with Zonal marking, looking to counter attack and kicking high hopefully balls into the full forward line. The game has moved on tactically since he had any championship success. I won't be surprised if Wicklow take them out next."
Fair play to you for watching the full game. Then you will know that Offaly played some good football. They scored 3-11!! Not bad for a manager who has not moved with the times. Zonal marking?? What are you on about? That happens in soccer. Counter attack?? You must have watched too much premiership coming out with speak like that! LOL.

If you mean he has men behind the ball, well yeah he has as does every other team in the country- Dublin are doing it, Kerry are doing it. Mayo are doing it, Galway are doing it, Tyrone are doing it, Roscommon are doing it. Yet you do not criticise these teams for doing it. If the ball is turned over in these massed defences of course the team who wins the ball will then break at speed (or counter attack after the zonal marking has won the ball back). That is how the game has gone and Maughan has indeed moved with the times.

He has Tomás Ó Sé in with him who Billy Morgan (who had him in coaching UCC) rates extremely highly. So I would value their opinion more than some others who seem to have a grudge with Mr Maughan.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 23/05/2022 11:09:40    2419623

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Well every team has a target man in some sense, and the fact that it is a 37 year old shows Maughans training methods in terms of fitness etc are top notch wouldn't you say.

It is a good day when you beat any opposition in their own ground in a knockout albeit inferior cup game."
The fitness of Niall McNamee is himself has always been of professional attitude and mindset. The glut of injuries and players going down with cramp doesn't suggest top notch training methods.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 23/05/2022 11:13:22    2419624

Replying To Yondu:  "The fitness of Niall McNamee is himself has always been of professional attitude and mindset. The glut of injuries and players going down with cramp doesn't suggest top notch training methods."
Of course he is, not in doubt, but even those with professional attitudes need guidance too. Mayo have a glut of injuries too, does that suggest Horan or his backroom staff aren't any good either?

You should be satisfied to see players cramping up, it is a sign they are going for the game hell for leather and treating it as important.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 23/05/2022 11:27:44    2419629

Replying To howdareu:  "Fair play to you for watching the full game. Then you will know that Offaly played some good football. They scored 3-11!! Not bad for a manager who has not moved with the times. Zonal marking?? What are you on about? That happens in soccer. Counter attack?? You must have watched too much premiership coming out with speak like that! LOL.

If you mean he has men behind the ball, well yeah he has as does every other team in the country- Dublin are doing it, Kerry are doing it. Mayo are doing it, Galway are doing it, Tyrone are doing it, Roscommon are doing it. Yet you do not criticise these teams for doing it. If the ball is turned over in these massed defences of course the team who wins the ball will then break at speed (or counter attack after the zonal marking has won the ball back). That is how the game has gone and Maughan has indeed moved with the times.

He has Tomás Ó Sé in with him who Billy Morgan (who had him in coaching UCC) rates extremely highly. So I would value their opinion more than some others who seem to have a grudge with Mr Maughan."
Billy Morgan is gent and wouldn't say anything bad about the lad he put under his wing.

No grudge i call things as i see them. You seem to be a bit of fan boy for Maughan and i must have hit a nerve.

The top teams engage and don't stand waiting for something to happen when they get numbers back and have a system and pattern to their play when they break. Zonal marking that Offaly did yesterday was marking space instead of the man. Div 4 Wexford who only beat London, Waterford narrowly this spring and the highest score they managed in their 7 games was 0-15.

Yesterday they scored 2-13 and could or should have scored 4-16 at least.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 23/05/2022 11:29:24    2419631

Replying To Yondu:  "The fitness of Niall McNamee is himself has always been of professional attitude and mindset. The glut of injuries and players going down with cramp doesn't suggest top notch training methods."
Professional footballers go down with cramp and also get injured. Are you really suggesting that the managers are to blame for players getting injured and getting cramps?? That is unbelievable really.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 23/05/2022 11:38:20    2419640

What's his age got to do with it? He's 36 not 37 btw. And if he's clearly fit enough and good enough to be playing and scoring that total, then what's the issue?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2379 - 23/05/2022 11:39:39    2419642

Saturday 28 May
Tailteann Cup round 1
Cavan v Down, Kingspan Breffni, 2pm
Leitrim v Antrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, 2pm - GAAGO
Longford v Fermanagh, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 5.30pm
Sligo v London, Markievicz Park, 6pm

Sunday 29 May

Tailteann Cup Round 1
Carlow v Tipperary, Netwatch Cullen Park, 2pm
Laois v Westmeath, MW HIre O'Moore Park, 2pm
Offaly v Wicklow, TBC, 2pm

Some of the Tailteann Cup Round 1 fixtures are more interesting than some of the Qualifier Round 1 fixtures.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7821 - 23/05/2022 11:53:50    2419653