Tailteann Cup 2022

Ye two lads are hijacking the whole thread ffs

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 254 - 20/05/2022 15:27:33    2419012

Replying To skirge7:  "Ye two lads are hijacking the whole thread ffs"
And none if them mentioned the 2 games this weekend!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1451 - 20/05/2022 15:57:12    2419029

Replying To oneoff:  "Again you don't say anything to to sort this out other than putting them in a higher division just for the sake of it. Then refuse to answer how this is supposed to be the answer to everything."
Where have I ever said that? All I said was make it more equitable, and not have the very top and very bottom losing touch from the rest. Make it a system where the League, our secondary competition, mirrors the Championship. There teams can go up or down, based on how they play. How on earth is that putting anyone in a higher division for the sake of it?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 20/05/2022 17:15:22    2419050

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I do get you. But I also think Louth managed it well to get up this year, but will come back quickly. I can't see them surviving Division 2 next year. Then the rotation starts./ Teams may very well aspire for that, but it'll be the few who will consistently compete to get up."
I don't know we'll see I guess. I'm more optimistic than you, time will tell.

I don't think this is the only initiative that the GAA is undertaking to improve things.

It's probably not a popular opinion but I think the shortened season is important for hopefully getting more players to sign up and stick at the inter-county game. That's an important aim.

Club and county separation will benefit some counties, I wonder is Derry's resurgence partly influenced by less club v county conflict. It's a county that has struggled to translate it's strong club culture to the representative level in recent years.

There's more funds being allocated to growing population counties on the east coast. It'll take time to see the fruits of those efforts and maybe they aren't ambitious enough to get a good yield but hopefully it's a step in the right direction.

I'd be keen then also for the focus to move away from county development squads and there being a broader club and schools based development focus.

The GAA can be slow moving at times but there's been some good efforts really to improve the competitiveness level, I think we need to give those a chance to shake themselves out.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4244 - 20/05/2022 18:06:54    2419058

Replying To skirge7:  "Ye two lads are hijacking the whole thread ffs"
Yeah this thread has been reduced to bitter infighting. The Cavan lad with the aggressive and caustic debating style has made it fairly unpleasant. Doesn't deal well with those who don't agree with his world view (as many don't). Someone should start up a fresh thread on predictions and results once the Tailteann Cup gets underway and take the debate to a more forward-facing place.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 473 - 20/05/2022 18:50:00    2419063

Is the first match of this competition on TV ?

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2898 - 20/05/2022 21:12:14    2419080

I gave up reading this thread as it's of a poor standard due to inflated egos and pig head attitudes among a very small few

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1672 - 21/05/2022 10:03:23    2419093

Replying To legendzxix:  "As I've said before, 12 counties are well capable of winning the Tailteann. Division 4 counties have extra incentive for progressing to Division 3. Division 3 counties have extra incentive for progressing to Division 2. The league can no longer be dismissed as only being the league."
Division 3 & 4 teams were the counties who always approached the leagues seriously as it was always their yardstick for improvement so the T cup is not going to change their thinking. These counties were always the ones who took the league seriously & showed it & the sponsor respect.
They only ones who dismissed the league were the top tier counties & the GAA. The top tier counties used it for experimentation & some putting out B teams as they could afford to numbers wise & financially as they have the sponsorship behind them. The GAA were the ones who showed disrespect to the leagues & the sponsor Allianz where they didn't even finish out the lower division games in the last few years.
The only change will be the Div 2 relegation battle & if Cork had been relegated this year, I wonder how long the new competition would last before it would come before Congress again.
Lower tier counties need massive investment by the GAA, financially, in schools, clubs, coaching, administration, PR, not a new competition, in order to close the gap. The gap is about to widen even further now & the next solution will be another secondary competition for Div 4 teams, till eventually they slip into oblivion & become GAA wastelands.
Some advocating on here are GAA staff/officials who don't like it been pointed out that the whole emphasis is the Super 8's & the top teams playing each other bringing in the TV rights money.
The GAA has become a commodity & the Super 8's are the blue chip stocks & Div 3 & Div 4 counties are the Eircom shares that everybody wants to offload.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 21/05/2022 10:24:28    2419101

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Yeah this thread has been reduced to bitter infighting. The Cavan lad with the aggressive and caustic debating style has made it fairly unpleasant. Doesn't deal well with those who don't agree with his world view (as many don't). Someone should start up a fresh thread on predictions and results once the Tailteann Cup gets underway and take the debate to a more forward-facing place."
Let the games begin!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7888 - 21/05/2022 10:44:09    2419110

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Yeah this thread has been reduced to bitter infighting. The Cavan lad with the aggressive and caustic debating style has made it fairly unpleasant. Doesn't deal well with those who don't agree with his world view (as many don't). Someone should start up a fresh thread on predictions and results once the Tailteann Cup gets underway and take the debate to a more forward-facing place."
Your last line is a contradiction in itself, you want a debate but it can be only be "forward facing" or for those who support the new competition. You are slating another poster because you don't like or agree with the points he raises, this has become the new norm in the GAA, the group think & if anyone begs to differ or raise their head above the parapet, they have to be taken down or dismissed. An organisation that goes down that road becomes autocratic & we all saw what happened to another sporting organisation in this country who went that road.
To me the alarm bells were ringing years ago but were spectacularly raised when Congress the biggest body within the GAA voted unanimously against a motion on Transparency of voting at Congress. What body has an issue with transparency other than a body with something to hide or a body that is autocratic.
Organisations where debate or questions are silenced or met with derision or people being ostracised because it doesn't suit the narrative are organisations that eventually become corrupted. Whether it's a GAA forum or a club AGM or County Board convention, everyone is entitled to air their view.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 21/05/2022 10:45:22    2419111

Replying To oneoff:  "Ripped to shreads by whom exactly? You is it? Or one of your other accounts?

I haven't seen you make a single point seeing as you're so much more "learned" then us mear mortals.

So why not tell us all your grand master plan? I get a feeling we'll be waiting for quite a long time for that however..."
You ask everyone for their master plan whilst dismissing any point they make. You cant take anybody having an alternative view to you the "mere mortal".
We haven't heard your master plan yet.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 21/05/2022 10:55:35    2419114

Replying To sponger:  "Is the first match of this competition on TV ?"
Wexford v Offaly is live on GAAGO

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5021 - 21/05/2022 10:59:51    2419115

Replying To moc.dna:  "You ask everyone for their master plan whilst dismissing any point they make. You cant take anybody having an alternative view to you the "mere mortal".
We haven't heard your master plan yet."
Oh look it's Mr radical himself. Still waiting for you to explain your points from earlier on....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 21/05/2022 11:20:56    2419123

Replying To moc.dna:  "You ask everyone for their master plan whilst dismissing any point they make. You cant take anybody having an alternative view to you the "mere mortal".
We haven't heard your master plan yet."
The pain in place at the moment is a step in the right direction as I've said but you just ignore that. How explain the points of your self proclaimed "radical" plan.

It's just funny how you and others claim people are "sheep" when they don't agree with you but you refuse to accept anyone else's opinion.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 21/05/2022 11:26:07    2419127

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Where have I ever said that? All I said was make it more equitable, and not have the very top and very bottom losing touch from the rest. Make it a system where the League, our secondary competition, mirrors the Championship. There teams can go up or down, based on how they play. How on earth is that putting anyone in a higher division for the sake of it?"
Yes littelry said you wanted to go back to having the league as Div 1/2 the A/B system it was before. You actually said that teams should be put in with the top teams.

Again you're trying to claim that teams can't get promoted. How are you still trying to push this? Teams now can be promoted based on how they play do they not?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 21/05/2022 11:29:44    2419128

Someone tell that non stop moaning Galway lad that the "Super 8s"(sic) aren't taking place this year.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1451 - 21/05/2022 11:43:07    2419132

Preliminary Round (Round of 32):

Sat May 21st:
Wicklow v Waterford - 3pm Aughrim

Sun May 22nd:
Wexford v Offaly - 1:30pm Enniscorthy - Gaa Go

Round 1 (round of 16):

Sat May 28th:
Leitrim v Antrim - 14:00 Carrick-on-Shannon - GAAGO
Cavan v Down - 14:00 Breffni Park, Cavan
Longford v Fermanagh - 17:30 Pearse Park, Longford
Sligo v London - 18:00 Markievicz, Sligo

Sunday May 29th:
Laois v Westmeath - 14:00 Portlaois
Wexford/Offaly v Wicklow/Waterford - 14:00 Enniscorthy/Tullamore
Carlow v Tipperary - 14:00 Cullen Park, Carlow

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 254 - 21/05/2022 11:47:25    2419134

Replying To oneoff:  "Oh look it's Mr radical himself. Still waiting for you to explain your points from earlier on...."
Good man, your replies are on the childish scale. Points are self explanatory but you are so blinded by your anger & dislike of posters you cannot assimilate what's said. Best ignored like the other guy from Roscommon who goes fishing here all the time. No more time to be wasted on a lad like you.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 21/05/2022 12:31:42    2419153

Replying To moc.dna:  "Division 3 & 4 teams were the counties who always approached the leagues seriously as it was always their yardstick for improvement so the T cup is not going to change their thinking. These counties were always the ones who took the league seriously & showed it & the sponsor respect.
They only ones who dismissed the league were the top tier counties & the GAA. The top tier counties used it for experimentation & some putting out B teams as they could afford to numbers wise & financially as they have the sponsorship behind them. The GAA were the ones who showed disrespect to the leagues & the sponsor Allianz where they didn't even finish out the lower division games in the last few years.
The only change will be the Div 2 relegation battle & if Cork had been relegated this year, I wonder how long the new competition would last before it would come before Congress again.
Lower tier counties need massive investment by the GAA, financially, in schools, clubs, coaching, administration, PR, not a new competition, in order to close the gap. The gap is about to widen even further now & the next solution will be another secondary competition for Div 4 teams, till eventually they slip into oblivion & become GAA wastelands.
Some advocating on here are GAA staff/officials who don't like it been pointed out that the whole emphasis is the Super 8's & the top teams playing each other bringing in the TV rights money.
The GAA has become a commodity & the Super 8's are the blue chip stocks & Div 3 & Div 4 counties are the Eircom shares that everybody wants to offload."
You absolutely hit the nail on the head; i could not have articulated it better myself. I would love to know about all the nods and winks at congress when these issues are supposedly addressed - there is no one fighting for the weaker counties especially not my own county's board.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1916 - 21/05/2022 12:34:55    2419155

Aggressive and caustic? Hardly a beacon there yourself. Is this not a forum to debate views and ideas on the sport? More than capable to accept and acknowledge different views, and I challenge myself, and have changed my opinion based on new views over time. What is annoying to me, though, is those who want to stick with the status quo, when it's clearly flawed and not working for who it needs to. Who shoots down any ideas or views for betterment, and just say to accept it. And I'll always challenge that. But a final point, feel free to ignore a comment, you're not obliged to reply. You chose to engage. Good luck

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 21/05/2022 12:49:54    2419158