Ticket Fiasco

Jesus lads it was some effort this morning getting tickets for the Munster hurling championship. What a complete farce. I ended up having to drive to 3 centras to buy them. Half my mates were left with none for the Clare Limerick match in Ennis. What a joke.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 05/04/2022 14:17:56    2409769

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Jesus lads it was some effort this morning getting tickets for the Munster hurling championship. What a complete farce. I ended up having to drive to 3 centras to buy them. Half my mates were left with none for the Clare Limerick match in Ennis. What a joke."
Had a similar situation in Carrick-on-Shannon on Saturday. Went to 2 Centras. Luckily enough the steward on duty felt sorry for us & let us in for free. My mate had tried to buy them online for nearly minutes of the journey from Longford.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 05/04/2022 14:44:52    2409779

Replying To keeper7:  "Had a similar situation in Carrick-on-Shannon on Saturday. Went to 2 Centras. Luckily enough the steward on duty felt sorry for us & let us in for free. My mate had tried to buy them online for nearly minutes of the journey from Longford."
The entire online system to buy them collapsed for 2 hours. If you didnt go to a centra you were screwed for the smaller stadia

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 05/04/2022 15:08:28    2409787

Why is this given to Ticketmaster?always seems to be problems with GAA tickets..also why sell tickets for all 4 munster championship games on one day?!me being cynical thinks it's a way of getting money from people..majority will try and purchase for all four days,a lot of money these days for families..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2230 - 05/04/2022 15:21:58    2409796

Jaysus,, some folks weren't long forgetting the last 2 years with behind closed doors and restricted attendance at games..im happy to be sorted now for all of corks games bar the waterford game but hopefully the club will sort me out for that..but my point is there's people complaining about where in stands they are and only getting terrace tics etc..surely to feck you can be happy with your lot with actually being able to freely go to these games?? Its fantastic regardless of where your situated in the stadium

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 05/04/2022 16:13:59    2409813

Very small amount of tickets were left for limerick v Clare after season tickets and other bits of tickets taken off 12000 tickets .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 05/04/2022 16:30:33    2409818

Supposedly an All Ireland Association the GAA. If you live in Northern Ireland you can't purchase tickets at Super Valu stores or Centra as you could previously. Not everyone has a smart phone or knows how to navigate on line ticket sites. The ticket vans outside the grounds are gone. The attendance at Downs last National League at home to Clare was measured in the low hundreds, if you make it difficult for people to access tickets this what you get.

Newmitch (Down) - Posts: 97 - 05/04/2022 19:23:17    2409864

Replying To pidge:  "Jaysus,, some folks weren't long forgetting the last 2 years with behind closed doors and restricted attendance at games..im happy to be sorted now for all of corks games bar the waterford game but hopefully the club will sort me out for that..but my point is there's people complaining about where in stands they are and only getting terrace tics etc..surely to feck you can be happy with your lot with actually being able to freely go to these games?? Its fantastic regardless of where your situated in the stadium"
Nobody in this thread is complaining about where they're situated in the stadium. They're complaining about having great difficulty buying the tickets due to the system not working.
It is indeed fantastic to be able to go to games again, but only if you can actually get the tickets in the first place.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2050 - 05/04/2022 22:02:07    2409876

Surely members of gaa clubs should be entitled to buy tickets first?

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 06/04/2022 07:32:29    2409877

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Why is this given to Ticketmaster?always seems to be problems with GAA tickets..also why sell tickets for all 4 munster championship games on one day?!me being cynical thinks it's a way of getting money from people..majority will try and purchase for all four days,a lot of money these days for families.."
Ticketmaster probably had to tender for it. It's good business for them. Not just tickets sales for GAA matches but for likes of trying to tempt people to insure their tickets, I know I couldn't believe it either! Or get you to view what other events are on their site or spam you with stuff from other companies. You'd be quicker booking a Ryanair flight. The Ticketmaster site on gaa.ie was grand, in and out quick, even though they changed their pricing for juveniles during the league and not before it. GAA would have made more money doing that too. Maybe they can only allocate seat numbers to ticket on Ticketmaster.ie site though? As Newmitch says you need to be a bit tech-savvy to get the tickets on your phone. So be patient with anyone you know trying to get tickets that way, talk them through it or buy them for them and they can pay you cash. They're unlikely to have many more printed tickets available from now on or take your printed at home ticket. Sure isn't it mighty for Éamon Ryan and the environment. Before long we'll have the hole in the ozone layer fixed and with that the lovely weather for matches will go too. Go Greens, yeaaaah!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 06/04/2022 10:00:15    2409895

You'd expect club members should have an advantage in getting tickets but it looks like the club don't really matter..surely if it's online sales they might have made sure it would work properly..what I want to know is why have they decided not to go with club distribution??have they explained this to anyone..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2230 - 06/04/2022 10:15:22    2409906

Replying To valley84:  "Surely members of gaa clubs should be entitled to buy tickets first?"
The GAA don't care about its members, they only care about selling the tickets not about who buys them. But yes, you are correct, surely it should be a perk of membership ?
If you go to the GAA museum as a club or bring juvenile members there, you pay the same as any tourist, no discount for members or clubs.
Greed is the basis of decisions like this, plus the financial irregularities around certain County Boards which were covered up. There was one case with one County Board where Ticket sales amounting to a large six figure sum was not handed over to Croke Park.
The removal of Ticket sales vans from outside grounds was disgraceful, not enough notice or advertisement of the fact that they were removing same led to elderly people who have no online access or skills to do so unable to purchase tickets. SuperValu has been real hit & miss with tickets.
GAA will talk about security in terms of moving sales online with Ticketmaster but club members & elderly people lose out & they both know the reason behind all this is just greed.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 06/04/2022 13:53:08    2409972

I am absolutely disgusted at the way tickets have been distributed this year. I have a 6 and 8 year old who have been to all league games this year.
The only tickets available for the Cork game are terrace. I have contacted my club (whom I am a paid up member, have paid my E100 for the Limerick development draw and raised over E1500 for a fund raiser earlier this year) and was told by the sec that they might get 10 tickets. to be divided up between over 200 members.
I am not blaming the clubs its the GAA have got this very wrong and the greed is really shining through.
The lad living 3 doors down from me who has been Limericks no 1 supporter since 2018 is delighted because he had time to que for 2 hours in centra to get 5 tickets (2 for his English cousins coming over for the Cork game) but refused to buy E5 worth of tickets off me for the club fundraiser.
Rant over. Will still enjoy the game if I get there or not.

Ballyknockill (Limerick) - Posts: 19 - 06/04/2022 14:29:06    2409978

Replying To CTGAA10:  "You'd expect club members should have an advantage in getting tickets but it looks like the club don't really matter..surely if it's online sales they might have made sure it would work properly..what I want to know is why have they decided not to go with club distribution??have they explained this to anyone.."
Clubs will have enough tickets for 3 of Limericks games but the Clare one is the problem with only 12K capacity,
Limerick and Waterford as well in limerick in round 2 is going to draw a unusually big crowd in light of Waterfords big win last weekend .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 07/04/2022 09:33:57    2410063

Replying To OpenStand:  "Clubs will have enough tickets for 3 of Limericks games but the Clare one is the problem with only 12K capacity,
Limerick and Waterford as well in limerick in round 2 is going to draw a unusually big crowd in light of Waterfords big win last weekend ."
Its a pain looking for Tickets but quiet simply neither Walsh Park or Cusack Park have anywhere near the Capacity for these games its unfair on Fans who go to all matched but bar conceding home advantage I cannot see any solution
The Clare Limerick game especially is the one most will want to be at Limerick the AI champs coming to Town

As one poster wisely pointed out we have been denied for 2 years so cant complain really

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 07/04/2022 10:22:12    2410077

Clooney our club informed us that only way we could get tickets was online..my problem is when or why was the decision made to not let clubs do the distribution and then put tickets on sale online..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2230 - 07/04/2022 10:55:45    2410087

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Clooney our club informed us that only way we could get tickets was online..my problem is when or why was the decision made to not let clubs do the distribution and then put tickets on sale online.."
I agree yeah at least if Clubs distributed it would be much fairer also of course many fans don't have access to Computer to buy on line.

Last night at Gaelic grounds many fans had to go across to Centra for tickets no VAN there

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 07/04/2022 11:56:45    2410107

The old school Gaels are really been squeezed out . seeing 70 year old men with money in their hand been fobbed off at the gate at Limerick v Clare under 20 match during the week was scandalous.
The suits in Croke park or limerick county board for that matter don't care once they get their own expenses and have no interest in elderly Gaels who followed gaa all their lives .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 10/04/2022 10:48:52    2410422

Replying To CTGAA10:  "You'd expect club members should have an advantage in getting tickets but it looks like the club don't really matter..surely if it's online sales they might have made sure it would work properly..what I want to know is why have they decided not to go with club distribution??have they explained this to anyone.."
Fully agree with you, with the way I work,I can't buy tickets in advance, understood with covid but the clubs should have first choice for the members keeping the GAA going on the ground.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 10/04/2022 20:19:51    2410466

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Nobody in this thread is complaining about where they're situated in the stadium. They're complaining about having great difficulty buying the tickets due to the system not working.
It is indeed fantastic to be able to go to games again, but only if you can actually get the tickets in the first place."
Yes indeed. I am 72 years and spent the whole weekend trying to get tickets on to my Smart iphone, but I did it daif inderneath ' tickets have expired,'- WTF does that mean?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4342 - 11/04/2022 08:01:01    2410480