2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To legendzxix:  "The Tailteann Cup has been given Sunday for the live semi-finals from Croke Park.
Ideally the preliminary quarter-finals should have been today, giving the McDonagh finalists at least an extra day. The hurling quarter-finals then should be on Sunday.
There's just a desire in the GAA to help the Tailteann become established."
That clarifies that legendzxix, thanks.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 12/06/2022 18:05:34    2424301

A certain so analyst from Cork kicked off this rubbish way back in the league. Overdramatisation of sending offs which had been dealt with by the match day referees on the day. Unfortunately, plenty people were quick to join his anti Limerick bandwagon. Since then RTE have felt they have to show every incident under the sun for fairness or what I don't know. TJ Ryan said that you could find tonnes of incidents against players in hurling when you slow the footage down. No doubt they could have done the same to Limerick in the munster final. I also think they could have done that to Cork and Antrim if they had an agenda against either side. (The Galway stamp is not in the same category as the Clare incidents for me)
One thing I am extremely proud of and I don't think any fair Clare person can disagree with is that the Limerick players drove on after every incident and can't be blamed.
On a final note I definitely won't be posting here anymore and won't be making a comeback unlike Rockies. One of the greatest hurling games in a lifetime was seen last Sunday and the petty cribbing has been a joke.
I'm going to be focused on what hopefully will be the best Limerick hurling team of all time come July. Can't wait to support the likes of Lynch, Hayes, Hannon, Finn, Hegarty etc in Croke Park again. How lucky we are.
Luimneach Abú.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 12/06/2022 18:14:15    2424311

Replying To Mads:  "A certain so analyst from Cork kicked off this rubbish way back in the league. Overdramatisation of sending offs which had been dealt with by the match day referees on the day. Unfortunately, plenty people were quick to join his anti Limerick bandwagon. Since then RTE have felt they have to show every incident under the sun for fairness or what I don't know. TJ Ryan said that you could find tonnes of incidents against players in hurling when you slow the footage down. No doubt they could have done the same to Limerick in the munster final. I also think they could have done that to Cork and Antrim if they had an agenda against either side. (The Galway stamp is not in the same category as the Clare incidents for me)
One thing I am extremely proud of and I don't think any fair Clare person can disagree with is that the Limerick players drove on after every incident and can't be blamed.
On a final note I definitely won't be posting here anymore and won't be making a comeback unlike Rockies. One of the greatest hurling games in a lifetime was seen last Sunday and the petty cribbing has been a joke.
I'm going to be focused on what hopefully will be the best Limerick hurling team of all time come July. Can't wait to support the likes of Lynch, Hayes, Hannon, Finn, Hegarty etc in Croke Park again. How lucky we are.
Luimneach Abú."
Have been off this forum for a long time. Looking forward to Thurles next weekend and the real rebels down as the main card. Think our team is looking forward to it also and will be primed. Clare clear favourites a d rightly so. Doubt very much Clare would use possible suspensions as motivation??

Dirk1971 (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 12/06/2022 18:27:06    2424321

Replying To Mads:  "A certain so analyst from Cork kicked off this rubbish way back in the league. Overdramatisation of sending offs which had been dealt with by the match day referees on the day. Unfortunately, plenty people were quick to join his anti Limerick bandwagon. Since then RTE have felt they have to show every incident under the sun for fairness or what I don't know. TJ Ryan said that you could find tonnes of incidents against players in hurling when you slow the footage down. No doubt they could have done the same to Limerick in the munster final. I also think they could have done that to Cork and Antrim if they had an agenda against either side. (The Galway stamp is not in the same category as the Clare incidents for me)
Luimneach Abú."
Just name the analyst ffs,

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 12/06/2022 18:36:14    2424328

The laughable reaction of Clare pundits like Jamesie and Honan in particular is hard to take considering Honan had a zero tolerance policy to any Limerick tackling or physical contact but he'll defend anything now.Last Sunday Clare tried ever trick in the book to get a reaction out of Limerick players and we rose above it ignored it and won, the funny thing is Clare lost their discipline for a finish. Seeing Lohan on the sideline arguing with the fourth official over every referring decision and Duggan shouting at the Limerick bench after he was taking off showed their frustration. Looking at Clare last Sunday and their antics as well as the diving in Ennis against us and Conlon diving against Cork as well to have a man sent off and having Galvin sent off v Cork they should start looking at themselves instead of blaming Dowling or Cummins.Having a Clare pundit on the Sunday Game would have made no difference last Sunday as no Limerick player stepped out of line like they did.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 12/06/2022 18:45:45    2424336

Replying To Galway9801:  "Just name the analyst ffs,"
It's as clear as day who he is referring to. If you name names on this site , posts tend not to get past the moderator

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 12/06/2022 19:35:47    2424352

Clare lads can't complain. Both instances were stonewall reds. Could another 10 instances perhaps have been highlighted yes but nearly all of the are in a yellow range. None are blatant reds. Can't blame the Sunday game for showing them. It gets viewers
I'm not a fan of retrospective bans truth be told…I think what goes around comes around normally.
Ultimately the worst instant is duggan on Finn which is filthy.
Refs are human they see poor tackles not being punished and as a result players don't get frees. Hegarty can't buy a free normally and ultimately he's got himself to blame….the red v Clare in Ennis comes down to all the times he's gotten away with it

Clare should be delighted….they'll be so fired up after this they should beat Wexford. If they win I'd expect kk to fire into Clare tho. I'm not sure they'll get away with dirty incidents like this in croke park.

Match actually wasn't particularly dirty. Hard. Very hard as you'd expect a limerick/clare derby and you could argue the bans for duggan/hayes are for incidents that did little damage. But if I'm Logan I'm pulling my hair out because they're unnecessary bans. Duggan on Finn I'm not a fan of. Got hit a belt like that once.

I've rewatched the final twice and it's just an unbelievable game. The intensity is above the Ennis game and is streets ahead of any other championship game so far. …I think it's the type of match that brings both teams on hugely. Definitely limericks best test since kk in 19. …. It's going to be very interesting to see how Limerick progress from here. We still aren't firing up front with the same fluency as last year. It's going to be a big task to get Cian ,Peter and maybe Barry Murphy up to speed.
Kyle is winning a huge amount of ball and his workrate is phenomenal in terms of not letting backs playmake. While he's a big goal threat he hasn't yet fired scoring points but I'd be hopeful that another month will bring him further. He's unplayable if he catches fire.

Galway cork is a very tough one to call. Two Jekyll and Hyde teams who can be unplayable if they hit form.

There's a lot of twists still to come.

Sugary_tae (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 12/06/2022 19:36:20    2424353

Replying To daveboy:  "That's not correct lohan. Citing commissioners review incidents outside of a refs report. That's their role. Not just those shown on a TV programme.

Anyway i think most people would agree that clare had lost their discipline a bit as the match wore on. I said after the match I'd have left it all on the field and I still hold that view. It was a powerful match from both sides."
I don't believe there is any citing commissioner in hurling. If that was the case we would all know about it and there would be bans left right and center. As I said earlier, Robert Downey kicked Conlon twice on the ground, RTE showed the clip and instead focused on Ian Galvin "apparently" striking (although the TV evidence did not support a strike.

The issue people have always had with GAA disciplinary procedures is that they are littered in secrecy. I couldn't tell you the exact procedure but I am sure there isn't a "citing commissioner" reviewing all games for incidence.

However when it is broadcast on National TV, they have little choice but to act.

As I said there is no complaint over the ban, but the process behind it lacks transparency and stinks of a hatchet job by RTE on Clare.

Their reporting had no balance. I have you two examples of Limerick infractions that warranted review but nothing mentioned.

I don't even support a ban for any Limerick players, the point i am making is the lack of balance and fairness. We have been done here.

That being said there will be no excuses from us come next week. We will have the talent on the field to get the job done and if we don't that's on us.

If we do, and I expect we will, getting the lads back for the next game against the Cats will further our chances of getting to the All Ireland final.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 12/06/2022 20:18:34    2424372

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I don't believe there is any citing commissioner in hurling. If that was the case we would all know about it and there would be bans left right and center. As I said earlier, Robert Downey kicked Conlon twice on the ground, RTE showed the clip and instead focused on Ian Galvin "apparently" striking (although the TV evidence did not support a strike.

The issue people have always had with GAA disciplinary procedures is that they are littered in secrecy. I couldn't tell you the exact procedure but I am sure there isn't a "citing commissioner" reviewing all games for incidence.

However when it is broadcast on National TV, they have little choice but to act.

As I said there is no complaint over the ban, but the process behind it lacks transparency and stinks of a hatchet job by RTE on Clare.

Their reporting had no balance. I have you two examples of Limerick infractions that warranted review but nothing mentioned.

I don't even support a ban for any Limerick players, the point i am making is the lack of balance and fairness. We have been done here.

That being said there will be no excuses from us come next week. We will have the talent on the field to get the job done and if we don't that's on us.

If we do, and I expect we will, getting the lads back for the next game against the Cats will further our chances of getting to the All Ireland final."
Up the Banner!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 12/06/2022 20:52:06    2424380

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I don't believe there is any citing commissioner in hurling. If that was the case we would all know about it and there would be bans left right and center. As I said earlier, Robert Downey kicked Conlon twice on the ground, RTE showed the clip and instead focused on Ian Galvin "apparently" striking (although the TV evidence did not support a strike.

If we do, and I expect we will, getting the lads back for the next game against the Cats will further our chances of getting to the All Ireland final."
Got to beat Wexford first before thinking about the semi final. Only 3 points in it last year.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 134 - 12/06/2022 20:53:08    2424382

Why have clare been " done "? Two clear red card offenses missed by the officials. Highlighted correctly and players banned . That is what's called due process. The other instances involving Flanagan you refer to had absolutely nothing in them considering the match that it was. Did you see Tony Kelly's punch on mulcahy? Why did rte not show that one?

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1125 - 12/06/2022 21:06:02    2424387

Replying To Jedobi:  "Got to beat Wexford first before thinking about the semi final. Only 3 points in it last year."
I'm not getting ahead of myself I only said that if we do win, getting the lads back will be a boost that's all.

I am not taking Wexford likely. Ye have a performance in ye, but if we bring our A game we won't be beat.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 12/06/2022 21:14:10    2424395

Luimneach Abú."
T.J. Is correct and we have a band of posters on here who think the slowed down replay is gospel and everyone player should be hung drawn and quartered based on it. They should really get out a bit and and get up to speed on what others know and have found out about it.
I also believe if not already this Limerick team will among best teams that has played the game from any county. What helps me in that analysis is great teams always have begrudgers digging holes under their feet with character attaching.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 12/06/2022 21:22:07    2424399

Replying To Galway9801:  "Just name the analyst ffs,"
The man who said a prominent Limerick player 'had it coming to him'. Are you living in a remote cave, FFS

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 12/06/2022 21:25:20    2424402

Luimneach Abú."
Mads

your posts are always well researched accurate & totally fair unlike some of your county men/woman who clearly have a hate of Clare write totally rubbish, mistruths, and downright spite.

As you say the game was of of the ages and it was unfortunate that there was two incident's involving Clare men both great hurlers & both having unblemished records at Club & County and by reading some comments you would think that they are savages, but they would have been send off in picked up so, they will have to serve a suspension that IMO will cost Clare dearly, and we wont beat Wexford without them but that's the price you pay for indiscipline.
I should acknowledge that the two Limerick Players involved acted with great restraint yes they were holding and fouling too but they got on with in.

I find it hart to fathom how a Limerick poster is looking for TK to be cited as well most people described his performance as being as good as anything seen from C Ring. as you say petty cribbing

I am sure this is the best Limerick team in living memory I doubt that anyone is around to remember the 30 s and while we got very close Limerick are the team to beat and I think if the management were as experienced in 2019 as they are now then you could be looking at 5 In a row.

I hope you continue to post but I think i understand why you would not want to instead of meaningful debate we get this witch hunting

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 879 - 13/06/2022 10:08:43    2424475

Replying To clooney:  "Mads

your posts are always well researched accurate & totally fair unlike some of your county men/woman who clearly have a hate of Clare write totally rubbish, mistruths, and downright spite.

As you say the game was of of the ages and it was unfortunate that there was two incident's involving Clare men both great hurlers & both having unblemished records at Club & County and by reading some comments you would think that they are savages, but they would have been send off in picked up so, they will have to serve a suspension that IMO will cost Clare dearly, and we wont beat Wexford without them but that's the price you pay for indiscipline.
I should acknowledge that the two Limerick Players involved acted with great restraint yes they were holding and fouling too but they got on with in.

I find it hart to fathom how a Limerick poster is looking for TK to be cited as well most people described his performance as being as good as anything seen from C Ring. as you say petty cribbing

I am sure this is the best Limerick team in living memory I doubt that anyone is around to remember the 30 s and while we got very close Limerick are the team to beat and I think if the management were as experienced in 2019 as they are now then you could be looking at 5 In a row.

I hope you continue to post but I think i understand why you would not want to instead of meaningful debate we get this witch hunting"
That's a decent post . You are wrong however in your ascersions that anyone was looking for TK to be cited. My point in bringing it up was to focus on the incidents that were called for suspensions and to explain there were others that werent. Lohan had mentioned Flanagan as someone who had a case to answer and that TSG only picked out clare incidents. I was trying to point out that TSG highlighted red card incidents only which they did. Flanagans and TKs were nothing to see here. As I said all along since the munster final I'd have left everything out on the field as it was one of those days. Clare were magnificent in their efforts and both teams gave a munster final to remember.

What I don't like is this perceived RTE agenda against clare. Its utterly rubbish. They called out incidents that were red cards. Those incidents along with others I'm sure were reviewed and suspensions were dished out. As you said that's what indiscipline gets you.

Clare wont bat an eyelid missing anyone. In modern hurling you rarely have a full deck with the nature of the sport. Clare won't dip at all in performance missing those two if in fact it comes to pass.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1125 - 13/06/2022 11:27:31    2424536

daveboy, you got it spot on. I think Irish people want the "nothing to see here" when it is their own county, and play the poor us card, but the book thrown everywhere once it is another county.
It really grates my gears to hear people say "Oh Derek Kent is the head of the CCCC and he's from Wexford so that's why they are being suspended", or "The Sunday Game are responsible for both suspensions". Neither of those are even remotely true. The only people responsible are the player who dug the hurl in to a players face or who decided to play lumberjack for a minute.
Players have to be accountable for their actions and if Danny Sutcliffe or Eoghan O'Donnell was being suspended for either, I would have no complaints. Irish people are just immature, tribal and petty in their outlook. "Poor old us, the victims" attitude.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 13/06/2022 11:51:19    2424559

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "daveboy, you got it spot on. I think Irish people want the "nothing to see here" when it is their own county, and play the poor us card, but the book thrown everywhere once it is another county.
It really grates my gears to hear people say "Oh Derek Kent is the head of the CCCC and he's from Wexford so that's why they are being suspended", or "The Sunday Game are responsible for both suspensions". Neither of those are even remotely true. The only people responsible are the player who dug the hurl in to a players face or who decided to play lumberjack for a minute.
Players have to be accountable for their actions and if Danny Sutcliffe or Eoghan O'Donnell was being suspended for either, I would have no complaints. Irish people are just immature, tribal and petty in their outlook. "Poor old us, the victims" attitude."
My final comment on this many on the Sunday evening were complaining that these incidents should not have been shown after an epic match.

I personally have no issue with this been highlighted its not B Cumming or S Dowling's fault at all, RTE probably decide what to show anyway, & I can only imagine what Limerick viewers would think, if you diden't, as the cameras have been trained on a few of there boys for a while.

I am not condoning the incidents at all but I think you would agree forwards come in for some brutal treatment as well with officials a few yards away frustration can build up. If you were up in Court and it was your first offense would it count for anything ? those 2 Clare players are ordinary lads who will pay for there actions this should not follow them around like a smell.

Whether you consider it tribal & petty or " fighting your corner" is a matter of opinion

I do recall though a very prominent Dublin footballer having a red card rescinded so that he could play in an All Ireland a number of years ago and I can only imagine what you might think when its your own County.

Hopefully weekend hurling gives us two classics with no controversies

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 879 - 13/06/2022 12:25:53    2424587

Replying To clooney:  "My final comment on this many on the Sunday evening were complaining that these incidents should not have been shown after an epic match.

I personally have no issue with this been highlighted its not B Cumming or S Dowling's fault at all, RTE probably decide what to show anyway, & I can only imagine what Limerick viewers would think, if you diden't, as the cameras have been trained on a few of there boys for a while.

I am not condoning the incidents at all but I think you would agree forwards come in for some brutal treatment as well with officials a few yards away frustration can build up. If you were up in Court and it was your first offense would it count for anything ? those 2 Clare players are ordinary lads who will pay for there actions this should not follow them around like a smell.

Whether you consider it tribal & petty or " fighting your corner" is a matter of opinion

I do recall though a very prominent Dublin footballer having a red card rescinded so that he could play in an All Ireland a number of years ago and I can only imagine what you might think when its your own County.

Hopefully weekend hurling gives us two classics with no controversies"
Hope so too. Hoping more that we win though!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 13/06/2022 13:27:57    2424632

The difference:

2019 Limerick 1-28 Clare 0-13 (pre-Lohan)
2022 Limerick 1-29 Clare 0-29 (Lohan era)

Lohan is obviously setting an agenda to get his players to compete. As long as the match officials and post match official analysis is applied fairly to all teams we can't argue too much. They've stepped in with Duggan & Hayes. During the game the referee booked Conor Cleary & after the yellow his effect on Gillane waned to the point where he carried a ball out over the sideline to gift Limerick a set piece.

In fairness, the game has been dealt with pretty well in my opinion. I thought the ref made some strange calls during the game but watching it back on TV, he did a great job letting the game flow and dealing with as much as possible. Clare will have a battle without two fine players.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/06/2022 13:45:02    2424642