2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Burke should get an all-star off that display, along with P.Mannion and Joe Cooney. If Cusack is pickn it though, there won't be many Golwah on it. Claimed yesterday that limerick clare was the greatest munster final of all time, and he probably has seen less than half of them for starters. I'll have to dig out another look at that munster final, because I wasn't overwhelmed with it on a first viewing, so I must have missed something, missed a lot obviously!!"
Donal og forgetting the greatest Munster final ever the I love me county final. Waterfords best ever performance. Was there that some match, some atmosphere and some scores. All these commentators fall over themselves every year regarding matches.

2maroonjerseys (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 18/07/2022 14:13:23    2432726

Replying To ballydalane:  "Puck out "strategy" from Kilkenny was a farce. What's the point in Eoin Murphy taking it short to Mikey Butler? Where's Mikey gonna deliver it that Eoin isn't capable of doing it himself?! Or if you're going to puck it short to Mikey, at least look for a return handpass so at least you're delivering a ball 15 yards further up the field.

Plus as Davy Fitz's Sunday game analysis showed, Quaid was delivering puck outs into space to Limerick forwards who were moving from a central position to the wings - giving the advantage to the forward and very difficult to defend against. Kilkenny's long puck outs were all on top of stationary forwards. You might win the odd one as TJ and Walter did, but certainly not enough, plus every puck out lost this way is setting up another Limerick attack."
Our club (who arent great by any means) would always try identify the man marking corner back in the mould of Butler to leave free for puckouts, for years. Invariably he'd end up getting at least one or two in every game. It was a fairly basic tactic by Lk and I said before the game that they would man mark Richie Reid and wouldnt be too worried about the rest. KKs short game this year was decent in a lot of games but no team seem to be able to work it consistently against Limerick...theyre just too good. Limerick are 5 years ahead of KK in how this is built into their game. The reason they always finsih strong is that the 6 backs play the same game at 70 mins as they do on 1 min. In the semi final Galway for example panicked coming down the straight and didnt stick to the "process". I thought Dan Morrissey finshed the game unreal yesterday and Hannon and Nash were unreal throughout. The two calmest men I've seen on a hurling field.
Will TJ be back for more? Hes had a long hard year but maybe that one will give him the hope to go for one more.
Hats off to KK yesterday though. They left everything on the pitch and could have won it in the end.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/07/2022 14:18:57    2432729

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I think it is more of a problem at the big games than small games. I live in Wexford and went to the match in Wexford Park, was surrounded by Wexford people (and my children in Wexford gear!) and children and not a bit of trouble with roaring on the Dubs in the closing stages. At the Galway and Kilkenny matches, there was not a bit of trouble either. Just genuine decent people cheering on their team.
At the Clare game I heard some people complaining about some of the Clare support. I was around Wexford people so can't say about this. We try to buy tickets through club/co. board where it is assigned seating. You tend to end up with your own county largely.

The combination of a train/bus journey, excessive drinking, etc and a general passing interest in the game other than it being "a day out" is a dangerous cocktail. I know there are thousands but why don't the Gardai deal with this before they get in to the ground? If the Hill was safe standing, it'd be easier to manage the crowd.

I bet it is the same handful every day as well."
Thats exactly it. The amount of posts I seen on social media from friends who wouldnt have watched a game all year was unreal. They were all from neutral counties though. The issue in the terraces on fine summers days arent a new thing.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/07/2022 14:22:04    2432730

Replying To tiobraid:  "Cork got to final last year and got no all stars and didnt really deserve any either. I dont understand how Mannion got in ahead of Diarmuid Ryan but thats my opinion.
I had 13 of the same team scribbled down before they named theirs. I had Ryan at 7 and Thomas Monaghan in at 12.
I'm reading on social media that Daithi Burke should have got one!
Name your team and then it can be debated who should be left out... If Hayes and Hegarty had poor finals I'm not sure if theyd have gotten in. I dont see who gets left off for the likes of Butler and Whelan who had good years. You cant fit everyone in. At certain stages of the year you could question a few players form and I'll include Reid in that but I thought he had his best ever game in a KK jersey yesterday."
The selection of the players seems to be based, to a large degree, on their performances in the AIF and AISF.
Unlike Cork's performances in last year's AIF the KK players selected on this year's team of the year deserved their selection based on their performances in both the semi and All Ireland Final. Clare did not excel against the Leinster teams - they got the breaks against Wexford and were poor against KK in the semi-final. Neither Kelly nor SOD were outstanding in either of those games. In my opinion J Cooney and C Whelan were ahead of the Clare lads. I'd also give a mention to Tom Monaghan.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 18/07/2022 14:50:53    2432736

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To tiobraid:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=daveboy:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
There's only 2 teams that can claim it. We saw one today. The conversation grew last year and will mushroom this year. That kk team of the 00s were the best ever. I just think Limerick today are right up there beside them now. Next year they might just forge ahead. I love killenny hurling and felt all year they were the only team capable of beating us in croke park. They gave a monumental performance."
Tipp team of the 60s? 4 wins from 7 finals? Cork won 5 AIs in 6 years in the 40s. Cork also won 4 finals from 7 in the 20s. This current Limerick team are certainly up there with all of these. If they win a few more they will be up with the 00s Kilkenny team too!"]Theyre neck and neck with them as it is but KK may be marginally ahead. What this Limerick team have different to KK is that theyve pretty much had the same starting 15 since 2018 bar the injuries along the way. 17/18 players have been the core group of starters. The Kk team from 2006 to 2009 was quite different in both personnel and positions. On that basis do you say KK or Limerick are the better team! Open to debate or irrelevant? Kiely is incredibly loyal to his players and hes right to make hay while the sun shines...for the rest of us hopefully the fact that a lot are around the same age helps the others catch up as they start to slow down - not that that will happen anytime soon!"]Oh Tiobraid you do your own county an injustice- From '58 to '65 it was five."]Tiobraid didn't post that stat OTM. I thought it sounded better as 4 wins from 6 instead of 5 from 8. If you just take the period 58-65 its actually 5 wins from 6 finals in only 8 years. And like the current Limerick team alot of those lads played in most of those finals. You are a lucky man OTM. You got to see that great Tipp team in the flesh. Sadly I've only seen bad quality black and white footage!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11818 - 18/07/2022 15:02:43    2432738

Replying To Galway9801:  "I've lost count of the number of times I've heard people make similar complaints. Being seated next to or around opposing supporters can often be a tense experience.
As much as the gaa prides itself on mixing fans together, I'm always relieved when I go to a game to be surrounded by other galway supporters. Makes it far more enjoyable imo.
As for the championship itself I thought it was far better than decent enough,, thought it was fantastic."
One of the accolades of our sport is being able to sit with the opposition supporters. Other than the disappointment of 2017 the greatest memory for me was sitting between Galway supporters.They were so elated at getting over the line but wished it was not over us.
Limerick or Kilkenny do not own these thugs who would not know a hurley if it jumped up and bit them. It can be dealt with because you can see them coming a mile away before they enter the stadium. Also use monitoring cameras and send a dozen garda to eject the first sign of trouble.
Hurling was the winner yesterday and thank you Limerick for the breath of fresh air you have given the game in the last few years. It is possible to be envious and admire at the same time.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 18/07/2022 15:03:44    2432739

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Burke should get an all-star off that display, along with P.Mannion and Joe Cooney. If Cusack is pickn it though, there won't be many Golwah on it. Claimed yesterday that limerick clare was the greatest munster final of all time, and he probably has seen less than half of them for starters. I'll have to dig out another look at that munster final, because I wasn't overwhelmed with it on a first viewing, so I must have missed something, missed a lot obviously!!"
Has to be said I thought it was a great game Pope! Only game better for me this year was our win in Nowlan Park. For obvious reasons!!! Although the final was a good watch too. Probably the best final since 2018.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11818 - 18/07/2022 15:04:40    2432740

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=tiobraid:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=daveboy:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
There's only 2 teams that can claim it. We saw one today. The conversation grew last year and will mushroom this year. That kk team of the 00s were the best ever. I just think Limerick today are right up there beside them now. Next year they might just forge ahead. I love killenny hurling and felt all year they were the only team capable of beating us in croke park. They gave a monumental performance."
Tipp team of the 60s? 4 wins from 7 finals? Cork won 5 AIs in 6 years in the 40s. Cork also won 4 finals from 7 in the 20s. This current Limerick team are certainly up there with all of these. If they win a few more they will be up with the 00s Kilkenny team too!"]Theyre neck and neck with them as it is but KK may be marginally ahead. What this Limerick team have different to KK is that theyve pretty much had the same starting 15 since 2018 bar the injuries along the way. 17/18 players have been the core group of starters. The Kk team from 2006 to 2009 was quite different in both personnel and positions. On that basis do you say KK or Limerick are the better team! Open to debate or irrelevant? Kiely is incredibly loyal to his players and hes right to make hay while the sun shines...for the rest of us hopefully the fact that a lot are around the same age helps the others catch up as they start to slow down - not that that will happen anytime soon!"]Oh Tiobraid you do your own county an injustice- From '58 to '65 it was five."]He also failed mention the KK team that won 7 AIs in 10 years, 1904 to 1913.
Or the KK team of the 1930s, that won 4 AIs in 8 years.
Or the KK team of the late 60s/early 70s. that won 5 AIs in 9 years."]I couldn't mention all the great Kilkenny teams CC. It was painful enough as it was lol!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11818 - 18/07/2022 15:05:58    2432743

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I had a team with mannnion at 6,Kelly at 12 and whelan at 15..am I the only person who can't see what journalists and analysts see in o donnell..I know he has been out for a long time with serious concussion..for me he just goes to get the scores you would expect from a top class forward..I just can't figure how whelan has been left out.but this is only my opinion.."
I'd have whelan in for Tony Kelly. Kelly performed in a below par munster round robin particularly against teams who poor. He did play well v limerick but not enough for an all star. Was absent v wexford for 65 mins and absent v kk for 75 mins when his team needed more from him. Not the first time we've seen this.

Quaid
Finn Lawlor Nash
Byrnes Hannon Cooney
Fitzgerald Mullen
Hegarty Hayes SOD
Whelan Gillane TJ

That would be my all star team. WoD would be v close to that team as would mikey butler.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 18/07/2022 15:07:02    2432745

Replying To bloodyban:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=tiobraid:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=daveboy:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
Tipp team of the 60s? 4 wins from 7 finals? Cork won 5 AIs in 6 years in the 40s. Cork also won 4 finals from 7 in the 20s. This current Limerick team are certainly up there with all of these. If they win a few more they will be up with the 00s Kilkenny team too!"]Theyre neck and neck with them as it is but KK may be marginally ahead. What this Limerick team have different to KK is that theyve pretty much had the same starting 15 since 2018 bar the injuries along the way. 17/18 players have been the core group of starters. The Kk team from 2006 to 2009 was quite different in both personnel and positions. On that basis do you say KK or Limerick are the better team! Open to debate or irrelevant? Kiely is incredibly loyal to his players and hes right to make hay while the sun shines...for the rest of us hopefully the fact that a lot are around the same age helps the others catch up as they start to slow down - not that that will happen anytime soon!"]Oh Tiobraid you do your own county an injustice- From '58 to '65 it was five."]He also failed mention the KK team that won 7 AIs in 10 years, 1904 to 1913.
Or the KK team of the 1930s, that won 4 AIs in 8 years.
Or the KK team of the late 60s/early 70s. that won 5 AIs in 9 years."]The debate will continue. The Limerick team of the 30s was better than the kilkenny team of the 30s going on contemporary accounts.
The Limerick team of now are special and right up with Kilkennys 4 in a row. It's harder to get out of Munster as it's a more competitive province with more contenders. Number 2 is the amount of games they have to play. They don't get the advantage of 4 wins in a year and All.Ireland Champions like that Kilkenny team."]I think it's hard to compare teams from different eras. Some eras only had 2 good teams playing at the time. For example the 90s there were a number of strong teams playing at the same time. Limerick, Clare, Tipp, Cork, Kilkenny, Offaly and Wexford. Cork, Clare, Kilkenny and Offaly all won 2, Wexford and Tipp 1 each and Limerick despite a great team didn't win any.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11818 - 18/07/2022 15:13:16    2432747

Gearóid Hegarty is a legend, saw him with the girl in tge crowd whom he gave a jersey to for 21st. He picked her out signed her shirt and got her to lift the cup, absolute class.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 18/07/2022 15:30:29    2432756

The case could be made that this Limerick team is the best of all time. Back in the day the big Munster and Leinster teams got straight into an All-Ireland Final every other year. 2 or 3 games would win the title. They also used to have an easier game against Galway who had no championship game before a semi as Galway were used to prop up the provincial system of Munster/Leinster. Anyway, I never saw the likes of any team like this Limerick team and I have been watching games for circa six decades. Congrats to Limerick and hope ye can keep it going for a few more years at least unless ye play Galway of course.
Congrats.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 18/07/2022 15:51:04    2432763

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I had a team with mannnion at 6,Kelly at 12 and whelan at 15..am I the only person who can't see what journalists and analysts see in o donnell..I know he has been out for a long time with serious concussion..for me he just goes to get the scores you would expect from a top class forward..I just can't figure how whelan has been left out.but this is only my opinion.."
O'Donnell is the most hit and miss player in the country for me. Plays well for 10 minutes, then disappears.
I can't understand how Whelan was overlooked or Joseph Cooney who I felt was outstanding all year.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 18/07/2022 16:15:23    2432773

Ca bhfuil Katser anois? !!!!!!

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 18/07/2022 16:36:07    2432779

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "O'Donnell is the most hit and miss player in the country for me. Plays well for 10 minutes, then disappears.
I can't understand how Whelan was overlooked or Joseph Cooney who I felt was outstanding all year."
Shane got 3 MOTH awards in the Hurling campaign was GAA GPA player of month May he has shown enormous courage to ever play hurling again my God the personalisation on the forum is appealing.

Clare of course wont get 3 All Stars this was the pundits selection probably 1when its picked, I hope its Shane but more likely D Fitzgerald.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 18/07/2022 16:53:19    2432783

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Ca bhfuil Katser anois? !!!!!!"
Shíos i Cill Cheannaigh, measaim, ag caoineadh ina beoir.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/07/2022 17:06:10    2432787

You'd worry for the Cats without Reid. He single-handedly kept them in it at times yesterday. He'd leave a massive hole in any team, but on the strength of what we saw yesterday, the current KK team would struggle without him.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/07/2022 17:13:10    2432793

Replying To festinog:  "Shíos i Cill Cheannaigh, measaim, ag caoineadh ina beoir."
I don't think he'd have any interest in drinking in Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11818 - 18/07/2022 17:25:34    2432795

Replying To clooney:  "Shane got 3 MOTH awards in the Hurling campaign was GAA GPA player of month May he has shown enormous courage to ever play hurling again my God the personalisation on the forum is appealing.

Clare of course wont get 3 All Stars this was the pundits selection probably 1when its picked, I hope its Shane but more likely D Fitzgerald."
May is 2 months ago and might as well be 2 years ago when it comes to picking a hurling team of the year though. Rory O'Connor was also flying in May.

Its not as though he's the only hurler to show enormous courage to ever play hurling again and even if he was, what has that got to do with anything? Liam Og McGovern came back from 2 cruciate ligament injuries.

Its hardly "personalisation" if you call it as you see it. Are we not allowed debate hurling teams of the year? You are being a bit sensitive.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 18/07/2022 17:47:09    2432800

Replying To festinog:  "You'd worry for the Cats without Reid. He single-handedly kept them in it at times yesterday. He'd leave a massive hole in any team, but on the strength of what we saw yesterday, the current KK team would struggle without him."
They'll be alright I'm sure....

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 18/07/2022 17:47:34    2432801