2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To skillet:  "Katser?? That you?"
No, he is HPNF for the next few months.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 17/07/2022 20:00:00    2432562

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
There's only 2 teams that can claim it. We saw one today. The conversation grew last year and will mushroom this year. That kk team of the 00s were the best ever. I just think Limerick today are right up there beside them now. Next year they might just forge ahead. I love killenny hurling and felt all year they were the only team capable of beating us in croke park. They gave a monumental performance.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 17/07/2022 20:03:08    2432565

Well done to both teams today, a game for the ages, comhghairdeas Luimneach, hurling the real winner today.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 17/07/2022 20:23:15    2432568

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's been a fantastic championship.
Limerick have looked beatable three games in a row now, but are very worthy champions and I think alot of counties can start next season with alot of hope."
That thought crossed my mind. But they'll still take one hell of a team to beat them.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 17/07/2022 20:26:27    2432569

Replying To daveboy:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
There's only 2 teams that can claim it. We saw one today. The conversation grew last year and will mushroom this year. That kk team of the 00s were the best ever. I just think Limerick today are right up there beside them now. Next year they might just forge ahead. I love killenny hurling and felt all year they were the only team capable of beating us in croke park. They gave a monumental performance."
No Dave, you just don't get it, how old are you? All Ireland Hurling finals have been played at Croke Park/Jones' Road for over a 100 years. In that time there has a few more great teams to 'play on that field'.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 17/07/2022 20:29:38    2432570

Congrats Limerick, exciting final. Brilliant for ye with the 3 in a row and all.
Enjoy.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 17/07/2022 20:31:36    2432572

I'm a very proud and happy limerick man today and I'll have a smile on my face for rest of year..thanks very much to everyone involved but especially players.they are the ones who have bought into the whole set up..a lot of those fellas could have decided ah yes I have 1 I have 2 that'll do..then there is the management and head man kiely who keep it all together..yes money has a huge part to play but what have tipp,cork,Waterford and Galway put into the hurling side of things ..in football the dubs,Tyrone,mayo and Kerry..is like to see spending of Kildare in past 5 years and won nothing..ive said this before we are long enough waiting for days like this,it will come to a halt at some stage but hopefully not for another few years..cmon the treaty and thanks boys for everything..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 17/07/2022 20:34:28    2432573

I'm a very proud and happy limerick man today and I'll have a smile on my face for rest of year..thanks very much to everyone involved but especially players.they are the ones who have bought into the whole set up..a lot of those fellas could have decided ah yes I have 1 I have 2 that'll do..then there is the management and head man kiely who keep it all together..yes money has a huge part to play but what have tipp,cork,Waterford and Galway put into the hurling side of things ..in football the dubs,Tyrone,mayo and Kerry..is like to see spending of Kildare in past 5 years and won nothing..ive said this before we are long enough waiting for days like this,it will come to a halt at some stage but hopefully not for another few years..cmon the treaty and thanks boys for everything..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 17/07/2022 20:37:00    2432574

Congrats to the 3 in a row limerick team!who's to say our 87 88 team wasn't a great one with the greatest half back line ever to grace a hurling field.Finnerty Keady and McInerney.

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 17/07/2022 20:44:35    2432575

Congrats Limerick, better team on the day no question. We did well to get within 2 I thought. We could not get a handle on Hegarty all day. Maybe if we had pulled ahead after we drew level in the 2nd half it might have put doubts in Limerick's minds but then again probably not, they had answers to every question today.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 17/07/2022 21:01:27    2432579

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To daveboy:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
There's only 2 teams that can claim it. We saw one today. The conversation grew last year and will mushroom this year. That kk team of the 00s were the best ever. I just think Limerick today are right up there beside them now. Next year they might just forge ahead. I love killenny hurling and felt all year they were the only team capable of beating us in croke park. They gave a monumental performance."
No Dave, you just don't get it, how old are you? All Ireland Hurling finals have been played at Croke Park/Jones' Road for over a 100 years. In that time there has a few more great teams to 'play on that field'."]I'm older than you think. Name a better team than kk 06-09. Limerick 18-22 (and not done yet)

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 17/07/2022 21:07:42    2432580

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To daveboy:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
No Dave, you just don't get it, how old are you? All Ireland Hurling finals have been played at Croke Park/Jones' Road for over a 100 years. In that time there has a few more great teams to 'play on that field'."]I'm pretty sure the 4 in a row Kilkenny team or the current Limerick team would annihilate any of the great teams of the past 100 years ago. Their skill levels and fitness and strength and conditioning is light years ahead.
Lads who pucked around twice a week then went for a feed of pints would be no match for these two teams.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 17/07/2022 21:09:41    2432584

Great game by two great teams. Limerick cemented their place among the greatest teams ever. When the chips were down they refused to be beaten.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2659 - 17/07/2022 21:20:45    2432589

Replying To daveboy:  "
Tipp team of the 60s? 4 wins from 7 finals? Cork won 5 AIs in 6 years in the 40s. Cork also won 4 finals from 7 in the 20s. This current Limerick team are certainly up there with all of these. If they win a few more they will be up with the 00s Kilkenny team too!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 17/07/2022 21:21:16    2432590

Fantastic achievement for Limerick with 3 in a row, who but for a blip and probably just a hangover in 2019 would have the elusive 5 in a row now!

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 17/07/2022 21:21:28    2432591

Great game by two great teams. Limerick cemented their place among the greatest teams ever. When the chips were down they refused to be beaten.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2659 - 17/07/2022 21:30:55    2432596

Replying To Tj73:  "Congrats to the 3 in a row limerick team!who's to say our 87 88 team wasn't a great one with the greatest half back line ever to grace a hurling field.Finnerty Keady and McInerney."
Yes a great Galway team. Lost Finals in 85 and 86 which they could have won before the two in a row. Lost the 89 semi final which was the de facto final in controversial circumstances with Tony Keady suspended and a poor refereeing performance. Lost the 90 Final to Cork in a match Galway could well have won. That Galway team could have won 6 in a row but thems the breaks and they only won two.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 17/07/2022 21:34:09    2432597

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm a very proud and happy limerick man today and I'll have a smile on my face for rest of year..thanks very much to everyone involved but especially players.they are the ones who have bought into the whole set up..a lot of those fellas could have decided ah yes I have 1 I have 2 that'll do..then there is the management and head man kiely who keep it all together..yes money has a huge part to play but what have tipp,cork,Waterford and Galway put into the hurling side of things ..in football the dubs,Tyrone,mayo and Kerry..is like to see spending of Kildare in past 5 years and won nothing..ive said this before we are long enough waiting for days like this,it will come to a halt at some stage but hopefully not for another few years..cmon the treaty and thanks boys for everything.."
Cork decided a big unnecessary vanity project was more important than developing players....nuff said.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 17/07/2022 21:47:55    2432599

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "Just back from a very entertaining match. Was on the hill and as is usual with a small minority of Kilkenny young fellas there was agro. Every time I've been on the hill when Kilkenny are playing they cause trouble. Throwing bottles just like the Kerry young lads a few weeks ago when Dublin were playing Kerry. All seemed to be drunk. A fight broke out between two groups of supporters which was nasty enough. They come in huge packs and it's like they aren't when interested in the match. Waste of tickets. Huge congratulations to Limerick. What a team. And Kilkenny made them work for it though never looked like losing it. All in all a decent enough championship."
People having a few pints before a match is nothing new but what is new is the disorder which now seems to have become part of the course.
I have spoken to people from several counties who have said that every county now has a drunken mob on the Hill who ruin it for everybody. One incident I heard of was a supporter urinating against a wall, only for it to run down along the whole terrace.
The problem is, if you are 3 sheets to the wind you shouldn't be getting through the turn stile. I don't know how you police it but I heard it suggested recently that it is time to look at safe standing on the Hill and I also heard the Gardai are going to push for this.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 17/07/2022 21:53:19    2432600

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's been a fantastic championship.
Limerick have looked beatable three games in a row now, but are very worthy champions and I think alot of counties can start next season with alot of hope."
Of course there's hope but I think if Lumerick are fortunate with health next year we could be stronger. Especially if the likes of Cathal O Niel and Adam English can kick on.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 18/07/2022 07:31:28    2432608