2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Mattyreilly:  "How much has jp spend on limerick the last 12 years."
They signed Gillane from Clare? Hegarty from Wexford? Kyle Hayes from Cork? Lynch from Waterford? .......or maybe all those lads and their teammates are actually from Limerick! What exactly has what JP spent got to do with the great players Limerick currently have? One of the greatest teams of all time and that's the best you can post!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 17/07/2022 18:22:58    2432521

Just back from a very entertaining match. Was on the hill and as is usual with a small minority of Kilkenny young fellas there was agro. Every time I've been on the hill when Kilkenny are playing they cause trouble. Throwing bottles just like the Kerry young lads a few weeks ago when Dublin were playing Kerry. All seemed to be drunk. A fight broke out between two groups of supporters which was nasty enough. They come in huge packs and it's like they aren't when interested in the match. Waste of tickets. Huge congratulations to Limerick. What a team. And Kilkenny made them work for it though never looked like losing it. All in all a decent enough championship.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 17/07/2022 18:28:21    2432522

Congrats limerick.As long the big 3 don't win any all Ireland's I don't care.I hope the team to eventually topple this great limerick team will either be Galway Clare or Waterford.

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 17/07/2022 18:31:00    2432524

Replying To Mattyreilly:  "How much has jp spend on limerick the last 12 years."
Katser?? That you?

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 17/07/2022 18:33:05    2432525

The same as all the other top countys sponsors

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 17/07/2022 18:35:51    2432528

Replying To tiobraid:  "Hats off to limerick, kilkenny, hegarty, Hannon and Reid. Fantastic game of hurling. I underestimated Kk but they were top class today. Reid was magnificent as was lawlor.
Hannon …what a man, what a captain.
Hegarty up there with one of the really great all Ireland performances. Outrageous fitness and skill and composure. A lot of eyes on the ref ….fair play to him. No one can have any complaints there.
Will be some atmosphere around limerick in the hot sun tomorrow!"
Top class post again as always. That was a proper final . To score 2-26 against that limerick team shows you how good kk performed

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 17/07/2022 18:37:21    2432529

Replying To daveboy:  "The greatest team ever to play on that field"
Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 17/07/2022 18:37:44    2432530

Replying To MesAmis:  "4 mins in and it's looking ominous for the Cats."
I thought I could have had egg on my face at times in that 2nd half. Well done to the Cats in battling away.

3 in a row Limerick, 4 in 5 years. Magic days. Enjoy it all.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 17/07/2022 18:38:24    2432531

Well done to both teams for an enthralling contest. A credit to KK who were still in with a shout until the final whistle. Congrats Limerick on your 3 in a row, a fantastic achievement! I

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1803 - 17/07/2022 18:42:15    2432533

about the same Pat McDonough has on Galway

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 17/07/2022 18:43:31    2432534

Replying To Ban:  "What has to happen for a Kilkenny man to get a free?"
Ah stop lad

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/07/2022 18:45:41    2432535

Get the rich guys in your own county to get the cheque book out and ye might start winning. JP an ordinary guy growing up who made his money himself and put a tiny, tiny little bit of it back into his county. Remember he was in the Limerick dressing room in 1973 as a fan long before he was ever a wealthy man. Thanks JP from all Limerick.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 17/07/2022 18:46:15    2432536

Replying To Ban:  "What has to happen for a Kilkenny man to get a free?"
Very little from what I saw at times in that first half

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 17/07/2022 18:47:28    2432537

Congrats to Limerick thought Kilkenny benefited from a few soft frees end of first half to keep them in it but brilliant second half from both teams - well deserved Limerick !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 17/07/2022 18:49:00    2432538

More than he has tax in Ireland but that aside, it has been money well spent.
You get nowhere in modern GAA without having a plan, money and people to execute the plan. Can't argue that Limerick don't have all 3 in spades. The days of an overly emotional, jeckyl and hyde Limerick are well and truly gone.
Great game overall. Kilkenny did what Kilkenny do, never give up. Once they got level, Limerick found another gear and snuffed out the Kilkenny attacks with swarming the D. Call it a sweeper, call it a cleaner, whatever, it is an extra man but it was a winning formula so why do people get so upset about it? 15v15 went out with ground hurling.
Kilkenny had some bad wides from distance, Kilkenny have a team, Limerick have a squad. That was the difference.

Last point, is it not great that the club player is going to be playing summer hurling/football? They have been the poor relation of the GAA for way too long. Get out and shout on your clubs and make that scene vibrant again.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 17/07/2022 18:58:00    2432540

It doesn't really matter, as we seen with the Dublin footballers great teams finally fall into the pack, finance or not, it's players and managers that win All Irelands.

All the top counties spend huge sums, as with Dublin footballers lets enjoy potentially the greatest hurling team of all time. They could go to win four, five, six in a row - fantastic team with great fans. Unlucky Kilkenny, it was a great effort.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 17/07/2022 19:07:52    2432545

Replying To sam1884:  "It doesn't really matter, as we seen with the Dublin footballers great teams finally fall into the pack, finance or not, it's players and managers that win All Irelands.

All the top counties spend huge sums, as with Dublin footballers lets enjoy potentially the greatest hurling team of all time. They could go to win four, five, six in a row - fantastic team with great fans. Unlucky Kilkenny, it was a great effort."
If it hadn't been for a brutal umpire decision four years ago it could well have been 5 in a row today

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 17/07/2022 19:31:57    2432549

Replying To Viking66:  "They signed Gillane from Clare? Hegarty from Wexford? Kyle Hayes from Cork? Lynch from Waterford? .......or maybe all those lads and their teammates are actually from Limerick! What exactly has what JP spent got to do with the great players Limerick currently have? One of the greatest teams of all time and that's the best you can post!"
They signed Bill Murray from Hollywood as well.

Fairplay Limerick, fantastic team. I've said it before, they've no weak line in there team and different players always stand up. Sign of a great team.

Fairplay KK as well, there never out of a game, no matter how they play or how the other team plays.

Hopefully lads talk about the match now and leave the snide and petty comments to the kids at school.

Dec82andahalf (Clare) - Posts: 34 - 17/07/2022 19:33:13    2432550

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "More than he has tax in Ireland but that aside, it has been money well spent.
You get nowhere in modern GAA without having a plan, money and people to execute the plan. Can't argue that Limerick don't have all 3 in spades. The days of an overly emotional, jeckyl and hyde Limerick are well and truly gone.
Great game overall. Kilkenny did what Kilkenny do, never give up. Once they got level, Limerick found another gear and snuffed out the Kilkenny attacks with swarming the D. Call it a sweeper, call it a cleaner, whatever, it is an extra man but it was a winning formula so why do people get so upset about it? 15v15 went out with ground hurling.
Kilkenny had some bad wides from distance, Kilkenny have a team, Limerick have a squad. That was the difference.

Last point, is it not great that the club player is going to be playing summer hurling/football? They have been the poor relation of the GAA for way too long. Get out and shout on your clubs and make that scene vibrant again."
Agree totally. All well and good spending money but unless you have the personal to make it count they your throwing money away. Yes it helps and makes things easier for players etc and gives the chance to be at theor best.
Thank god there is one person delighted to see club players take over. All I've read this week is how bad it is that it's all over after this weekend and next. The players wanted change and got it, there is alot of exciting hurling/football to be played over the next few months and i look forward to following it in a few counties

Auldleitrimgael (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 17/07/2022 19:47:51    2432553

It's been a fantastic championship.
Limerick have looked beatable three games in a row now, but are very worthy champions and I think alot of counties can start next season with alot of hope.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 17/07/2022 19:52:27    2432555