Waterford Hurling thread

Maurice Shannon's 44 goals and 611 points in 72 games is unbelievable. An average of 11points a game. In any county even if it was junior C that would be something. Never mind senior and his team not winning county tittles. A scoring machine for sure who had the shadow of Big Dan behind him.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 02/08/2022 14:32:24    2435895

Replying To Canuck:  "Maurice Shannon's 44 goals and 611 points in 72 games is unbelievable. An average of 11points a game. In any county even if it was junior C that would be something. Never mind senior and his team not winning county tittles. A scoring machine for sure who had the shadow of Big Dan behind him."
I heard that there will be an announcement after the camogie final on Sunday on who will be the next Waterford manager so could be Monday, will it be Davy as he is involved with Cork in the camogie on Sunday?

juan31 (Wexford) - Posts: 153 - 06/08/2022 11:28:35    2436406

Replying To juan31:  "I heard that there will be an announcement after the camogie final on Sunday on who will be the next Waterford manager so could be Monday, will it be Davy as he is involved with Cork in the camogie on Sunday?"
I would not be surprised if it is James O' Connor manager and Davy coaching. Or some combination. James had a good reputation also.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 06/08/2022 21:38:18    2436485

Replying To Canuck:  "Maurice Shannon's 44 goals and 611 points in 72 games is unbelievable. An average of 11points a game. In any county even if it was junior C that would be something. Never mind senior and his team not winning county tittles. A scoring machine for sure who had the shadow of Big Dan behind him."
Would he get a call up back into the county setup?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 08/08/2022 13:28:08    2436653

Replying To Bon:  "Would he get a call up back into the county setup?"
It is hard to come back or to bring someone back. How to make him effective coming on with the style of play being used. It's a pity he was not given the chance to play on. Liam said no one was ruled out depending on how they were playing. Well that year Maurice was lights out scoring 4-13 in one game that Lismore lost. They never replaced Connors in that position either and that cost big time. It is the managers call but that does not make him right always.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 09/08/2022 14:33:10    2436826

Now we have Davy but who else will be on board ? Derek ? Tony ? Dan ? Eoin ? . Padraig Fanning was his write hand man before. Thought Ken or John Mullane would have taken a more active role by now but family is a big factor. Rightly so. I liked some of the players on the under 20 and hopefully they are looked at so we don't drop off the map like the 70's and 80's. This under 20 is a killer for developing players. Under 21 was a much better place to give experience and launch to senior.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 13/08/2022 20:14:06    2437310

Replying To Canuck:  "Now we have Davy but who else will be on board ? Derek ? Tony ? Dan ? Eoin ? . Padraig Fanning was his write hand man before. Thought Ken or John Mullane would have taken a more active role by now but family is a big factor. Rightly so. I liked some of the players on the under 20 and hopefully they are looked at so we don't drop off the map like the 70's and 80's. This under 20 is a killer for developing players. Under 21 was a much better place to give experience and launch to senior."
Surely not Derek? That would be a case of Tweedledum and Tweedledum! Their ideas on the game are too similar. If Derek is getting involved this time round he should have been given the job in the first place...he would do as least as well as Davy but without the drama.
Waterford are my second team...would love to see ye win an All Ireland. I hope this appointment goes well for ye but i will be surprised if it does.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 14/08/2022 10:35:52    2437321

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Surely not Derek? That would be a case of Tweedledum and Tweedledum! Their ideas on the game are too similar. If Derek is getting involved this time round he should have been given the job in the first place...he would do as least as well as Davy but without the drama.
Waterford are my second team...would love to see ye win an All Ireland. I hope this appointment goes well for ye but i will be surprised if it does."
Doubt it will be Derek and a lot of things will have to line up for success. The biggest thing is the players need to be better. Not that they are not talented but pushing on before it is too late. The hunger has to increase. Then there is the problem of one of the best team's of all time running the show now and also the others coming.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 14/08/2022 14:42:03    2437352

Hard to keep this old thread on the front burner. You know how it goes. One thing talking to yourself but if you start answering yourself get help.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 15/08/2022 17:04:39    2437545

The county championship is plugging along with some exciting and competitive games. Mount Sion seem to have stepped up their game considerable having got close to the gunners last year. Its a pity Lismore are so plagued with injury and few teams could afford to be without a player like Maurice Shanahan. Dan is doing his best for the cause laying off the ball for others to score. It is hard to see a past Ballygunner but I have a feeling it will not be all easy sailing for them this year.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 25/08/2022 16:37:07    2438696

The county championship is plugging along with some exciting and competitive games. Mount Sion seem to have stepped up their game considerable having got close to the gunners last year. Its a pity Lismore are so plagued with injury and few teams could afford to be without a player like Maurice Shanahan. Dan is doing his best for the cause laying off the ball for others to score. It is hard to see a past Ballygunner but I have a feeling it will not be all easy sailing for them this year.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 25/08/2022 16:48:26    2438701

So Davey got the job Canuck, what's your feelings. I'm very much a never go back person but that's just me. 2 Bennetts heading for Australia and heard that Calum Lyons might be leaving too. Any truth in that at all? Anyone showing up in the club championship that'll strengthen the senior team or are we look at the same old faces? Thought a few lads showed well in the latter part of the league then it all went Pete Tong.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 26/08/2022 11:18:08    2438739

Any word of Davy's backroom team yet?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 26/08/2022 13:40:43    2438750

Replying To brian:  "So Davey got the job Canuck, what's your feelings. I'm very much a never go back person but that's just me. 2 Bennetts heading for Australia and heard that Calum Lyons might be leaving too. Any truth in that at all? Anyone showing up in the club championship that'll strengthen the senior team or are we look at the same old faces? Thought a few lads showed well in the latter part of the league then it all went Pete Tong."
It is true about the Bennett's. Kieran already gone and Shane to follow in January. Don't know about Lyons. Jamie Baron looks like himself again. Obviously injured for the last two years. Prunty don't seem to be able to stave off constant injuries. Quiet honestly I don't think Waterford will be any weaker or stronger. A lot of players that I call equal to each other. The panel losing some but others coming in. Mark Fitzgerald and Cathrach Daly played senior last year as under 20's will have another years experience under their belt. Aaron Ryan from Fourmilewater will be the free taker eventually when he comes in. Purely because his miss percentage is lower than Mahony or Bennett but we will have to see if his over all play keeps improving. My overall opinion is no better or no worse but predict they will do better.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/08/2022 14:51:31    2438760

Replying To Bon:  "Any word of Davy's backroom team yet?"
No news on back room team. He will give it his all. Already taking in senior games but intermediate and junior also. I would have stayed within the county. Why ? All of our All-Irelands at minor, U21 and senior were achieved by Waterford men. In fact the number of All-Irelands in total achieved by ouside managers in the history of the game is abysmal.
Davy should be given all the support possible and he will. If he achieves the big goal there will be a statue erected to him. At the end of the day he can only work with what he has got. The same as anyone locally could do.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/08/2022 15:04:44    2438763

Replying To brian:  "So Davey got the job Canuck, what's your feelings. I'm very much a never go back person but that's just me. 2 Bennetts heading for Australia and heard that Calum Lyons might be leaving too. Any truth in that at all? Anyone showing up in the club championship that'll strengthen the senior team or are we look at the same old faces? Thought a few lads showed well in the latter part of the league then it all went Pete Tong."
It is true about the Bennett's. Kieran already gone and Shane to follow in January. Don't know about Lyons. Jamie Baron looks like himself again. Obviously injured for the last two years. Prunty don't seem to be able to stave off constant injuries. Quiet honestly I don't think Waterford will be any weaker or stronger. A lot of players that I call equal to each other. The panel losing some but others coming in. Mark Fitzgerald and Cathrach Daly played senior last year as under 20's will have another years experience under their belt. Aaron Ryan from Fourmilewater will be the free taker eventually when he comes in. Purely because his miss percentage is lower than Mahony or Bennett but we will have to see if his over all play keeps improving. My overall opinion is no better or no worse but predict they will do better.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/08/2022 15:08:32    2438764

Watching our championship progress to the semi finals there seems to be a huge gulf between the top four and the rest. In fact within that top four the gulf between Ballygunner and the rest is as wide as a canyon. Mount Sion are thrown shapes this year but I still think will be off the pace. Hopefully I am wrong and it will be a competitive end. Ballygunner if any thing are playing with more confidence this year with their intermediates better that most of the other senior teams. They just throw that ball around as if they have an extra sense as to where their team mates are and look most times like only in second gear.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 30/08/2022 19:04:31    2439196

Some going from Ballygunner to be in the senior, intermediate and junior A county finals, even if they don't win them all.

How many adult playing members does the cub have? Anyone know?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 06/09/2022 12:09:56    2439840

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Some going from Ballygunner to be in the senior, intermediate and junior A county finals, even if they don't win them all.

How many adult playing members does the cub have? Anyone know?"
I honestly d'ont know but they seem to have full panels in all grades. Even at that half the team are family, cousins and nephews. As much as they have all these players you have to admit they built a club with dedicated people who gave and give it their time. From a small village junior team to where they are now. It is a concern that siblings of other clubs players are now going yo Ballygunner. The Hutchisons and Fitzgeralds (Patrick) are really Passage. Of course it was the same when Mount Sion were on top. Everyone who came into town joined them. Martin Geary, Senan Sutton, Brian Flannery, Anrhony Kirwan , Michael White and many others.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 06/09/2022 17:55:41    2439864

Out of interest what happens if Ballygunner wins the county championship? can they have two teams senior?
Their strength in depth is incredible and as mentioned above they ar attracting people that move to the city to play with them. Not to take away from all the hard work done through the years at underage. A fantastic club all round.

bountyboy22 (USA) - Posts: 29 - 08/09/2022 09:56:05    2439998