Waterford Hurling thread

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'd be swapping Fagan and K. Bennett all day long. I thought both were excellent in their positions last year. Stephen Bennett probably at full but maybe rotating with Kiely. On recent form I cant see Shane Bennett getting next or near the starting team with the same for P Mahony. Conor G starts all day long for me and could play in most positions but I'd have him probably at corner back. Also I think Callum Lyons needs to be left alone at number 5 and not moved when playing the likes of Limerick. I'm not sure Curran will make the first 15 either. Dont get me wrong though - I think these lads are serious hurlers and Waterford have savage options."
I took a stab and can see the points you make well. As you say savage options and hopefully 2022 the heart break finally ends for us long suffering Deise fans. (i know i'm Meath on this but i'm half deise and always followed the waterford hurlers)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 30/03/2022 14:28:42    2408377

Replying To foreveryoung:  "
Replying To StoreysTash:  "[quote=foreveryoung:  "Canuck is a proper hurling man, whereas you countyman2022 are a proper clown!

And apologies to the clowns!"
This guy is an effing wind up merchant and is ruining every discussion."
Don't tell me that you seriously entertain anything that countyman2022 comes out with? If you do, it's high time to shave that moustache!

If you haven't managed to notice, that same poster really does lower the Wexford tone!"]I think you and him have managed to lower the tone and standard of posting on here.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 30/03/2022 15:25:32    2408406

I'm very impressed with the starting team named and more importantly who ye can bring on during the matches..I also like that a lot of players can be swapped for different positions which makes ye very strong challengers for year ahead..if my own county don't retain Liam mc,I'm fully behind Waterford..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 30/03/2022 15:37:15    2408411

Replying To StoreysTash:  "
Replying To foreveryoung:  "[quote=StoreysTash:  "[quote=foreveryoung:  "Canuck is a proper hurling man, whereas you countyman2022 are a proper clown!

Don't tell me that you seriously entertain anything that countyman2022 comes out with? If you do, it's high time to shave that moustache!

If you haven't managed to notice, that same poster really does lower the Wexford tone!"]I think you and him have managed to lower the tone and standard of posting on here."]LMFAO…

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 30/03/2022 15:39:36    2408414

Replying To countyman2022:  "Maybe Canuck will do us all a favour and go over there."
O my God the Waterford hater is back. I bet you believe Waterford were the only one had a player sent off on Sunday. That it is only Ballygunner players do embellishment and the Bennett's on the border of Cork and Tipperary are from Waterford city. Anyways you are irrelevant even to the Wexford posters who engage in meaningful discussion.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/03/2022 15:46:52    2408417

Replying To foreveryoung:  "
Replying To StoreysTash:  "[quote=foreveryoung:  "[quote=StoreysTash:  "[quote=foreveryoung:  "Canuck is a proper hurling man, whereas you countyman2022 are a proper clown!

If you haven't managed to notice, that same poster really does lower the Wexford tone!"]I think you and him have managed to lower the tone and standard of posting on here."]LMFAO…"]Great to see Wexico with another hurler on the ditch friend.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 30/03/2022 15:53:44    2408426

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm very impressed with the starting team named and more importantly who ye can bring on during the matches..I also like that a lot of players can be swapped for different positions which makes ye very strong challengers for year ahead..if my own county don't retain Liam mc,I'm fully behind Waterford.."
Think most supporters would like Waterford to succeed if there own county doesn't, certainly my emotion anyway.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 30/03/2022 15:53:54    2408427

Replying To brian:  "I took a stab and can see the points you make well. As you say savage options and hopefully 2022 the heart break finally ends for us long suffering Deise fans. (i know i'm Meath on this but i'm half deise and always followed the waterford hurlers)"
Dont get me wrong, I wasnt belittling your team! Its some what of a surprise to me that Fagan and K Bennett have moved in opposite directions in terms of positions this year but Cahill knows more than I do!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/03/2022 16:08:08    2408433

Hurling is so tactful anymore and teams adjust quickly and will to counteract how Waterford play. Especially come championship time. If we replayed Wexford tomorrow they would change how they play. Even though out played a goal that probably should have stood would have changed how they game went and final score, though not the result.
If you allow Waterford to open you up like that well you see what happens. We will be played tighter and harder. (fair) In the past could be stopped easier but now seem to have the strength to break the tackles. However frustrate the passing game which seems a step ahead of most who do similar will be the plan. On the plus side we seem to be able to vary our game from short to long because young Kiely can win the high ball and yes Hutchison for a small guy also. To me O'Brien is a gem. The variation in his puck outs are unpredictable and the accuracy is very high. You won't win them all but want the odds about 60% to 40% in your favour and you are probable home and hosed.
The strength in dept is important but a little over played. You can only use 20 players in a game and avoiding injuries that can do it. Don't anyone tell me that Cody could not win 2022 All-Ireland with 15 and three subs. I still say we have won nothing and the physiological hurl could be the biggest challenge. For players and supporters.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/03/2022 16:29:13    2408446

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Can I ask Waterford posters,if every panel member is available for 2022,what would ye like starting 15 to be?"
I think Jamie Barron will struggle to get up to the pace of it. Certainly at the start. Even Callum Lyons you could see his thinking was behind the others. They will be involved but may be not at the start. Cahill puts out the best team on current form. Say what you like about the league but at this stage Waterford, Kilkenny, Cork and yes Wexford inspite of Sunday are sharper. I would say at the beginning anyway:
O'Brien
C. Gleeson
Prunty
I. Daly
Fagan
DeBurca
K Bennett
A. Gleeson
D. Lyons
Montgomery
Curran
Pendergast
Kiely
S. Bennett
Hutchison.

Iarlaith Daly would not be left out of any team. His young 19 year brother is a tough bit of stuff that you will here plenty complaining about in the years ahead. Though I don't think dirty but all those Daly's in the past were tough men and could hurl. In the backs C. Lyons, McNulty, Kenny and Dalton could replace any of these depending on form and injuries. Obviously Barron or Peter Hogan who had a good last year. I think Pauric might have to be happy as a sub. Shane Bennett has deteriorated big time and in my opinion more of a lose cannon than Gleeson but if reborn like Dunford would be a big help. They got him killed in 2017. Too young. Too light and a target on his back.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/03/2022 18:26:18    2408483

Replying To tiobraid:  "Dont get me wrong, I wasnt belittling your team! Its some what of a surprise to me that Fagan and K Bennett have moved in opposite directions in terms of positions this year but Cahill knows more than I do!"
OH not at all, didn't take it that way at all, it's all good discussion ;) Look lets see what happens come championship, i noticed on occasion last year the lads swapped and jack ended up in the half back line and sure that's only to their benefit. I think maybe mirroring Limerick in having a huge man in the half back line (Hayes/Fagan) who can get up the pitch and score and cover a huge amount of ground and teams have to plan for that specific player and play a defensive player in the forwards to account for their impact and allow the 6 to sit in the pocket is what Cahill might be looking at. So Bennett or Conor Gleeson might be picked in the forwards to man mark Kyle Hayes and the Jack Fagan is being used to pick up Hegarty or Morrissey who are huge men and wouldn't be suited to being marked by Callum Lyons or Kieran Bennett who are smaller lads than Jack.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 30/03/2022 18:30:50    2408487

Replying To Canuck:  "I think Jamie Barron will struggle to get up to the pace of it. Certainly at the start. Even Callum Lyons you could see his thinking was behind the others. They will be involved but may be not at the start. Cahill puts out the best team on current form. Say what you like about the league but at this stage Waterford, Kilkenny, Cork and yes Wexford inspite of Sunday are sharper. I would say at the beginning anyway:
O'Brien
C. Gleeson
Prunty
I. Daly
Fagan
DeBurca
K Bennett
A. Gleeson
D. Lyons
Montgomery
Curran
Pendergast
Kiely
S. Bennett
Hutchison.

Iarlaith Daly would not be left out of any team. His young 19 year brother is a tough bit of stuff that you will here plenty complaining about in the years ahead. Though I don't think dirty but all those Daly's in the past were tough men and could hurl. In the backs C. Lyons, McNulty, Kenny and Dalton could replace any of these depending on form and injuries. Obviously Barron or Peter Hogan who had a good last year. I think Pauric might have to be happy as a sub. Shane Bennett has deteriorated big time and in my opinion more of a lose cannon than Gleeson but if reborn like Dunford would be a big help. They got him killed in 2017. Too young. Too light and a target on his back."
Very strong side. The only positive from a Tipp perspective would be I'd feel we could get the better of that half forward line. I'm not sure 11 is Gleesons best position but if Ronan Maher plays at 6 then I feel he could do a lot more hurling if Gleeson isnt there. Having said that, I'd be extremely worried about the full forward line and with the right ball ye would go to town on us.

I agree on Daly. Thats a serious full back line and I think McNulty is another good option. You could probably play Daly anywhere and its unlikely he will be considered a corner back by the end of his career.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 31/03/2022 10:00:58    2408551

Replying To tiobraid:  "Very strong side. The only positive from a Tipp perspective would be I'd feel we could get the better of that half forward line. I'm not sure 11 is Gleesons best position but if Ronan Maher plays at 6 then I feel he could do a lot more hurling if Gleeson isnt there. Having said that, I'd be extremely worried about the full forward line and with the right ball ye would go to town on us.

I agree on Daly. Thats a serious full back line and I think McNulty is another good option. You could probably play Daly anywhere and its unlikely he will be considered a corner back by the end of his career."
They probably will have a few out suspended as well.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 31/03/2022 10:51:33    2408577

Replying To countyman2022:  "They probably will have a few out suspended as well."
What are you on about out suspended??

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 31/03/2022 12:52:36    2408641

Replying To Canuck:  "I think Jamie Barron will struggle to get up to the pace of it. Certainly at the start. Even Callum Lyons you could see his thinking was behind the others. They will be involved but may be not at the start. Cahill puts out the best team on current form. Say what you like about the league but at this stage Waterford, Kilkenny, Cork and yes Wexford inspite of Sunday are sharper. I would say at the beginning anyway:
O'Brien
C. Gleeson
Prunty
I. Daly
Fagan
DeBurca
K Bennett
A. Gleeson
D. Lyons
Montgomery
Curran
Pendergast
Kiely
S. Bennett
Hutchison.

Iarlaith Daly would not be left out of any team. His young 19 year brother is a tough bit of stuff that you will here plenty complaining about in the years ahead. Though I don't think dirty but all those Daly's in the past were tough men and could hurl. In the backs C. Lyons, McNulty, Kenny and Dalton could replace any of these depending on form and injuries. Obviously Barron or Peter Hogan who had a good last year. I think Pauric might have to be happy as a sub. Shane Bennett has deteriorated big time and in my opinion more of a lose cannon than Gleeson but if reborn like Dunford would be a big help. They got him killed in 2017. Too young. Too light and a target on his back."
Its mad how much Shane Bennett has deteriorated as you said. A guy with huge ability and when he plays now he's nearly anonymous. I wonder does a lot of it have to do with him being chopped and changed up and down pitch so much. He's centre back then he's back up corner forward, that must be hard for players to settle into any type of role.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 31/03/2022 13:27:52    2408656

Replying To brian:  "What are you on about out suspended??"
With the amount of red cards they get, they are sure to be minus some starting players at some stage due to ill discipline.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 31/03/2022 13:52:29    2408661

O'Brien
C. Gleeson
Prunty
I. Daly
Fagan
DeBurca
K Bennett
A. Gleeson
D. Lyons
Montgomery
Curran
Pendergast
Kiely
S. Bennett
Hutchison.

looking at that team even though it looks strong ye need barron and callum lyons back as i couldnt see that 15 beating a back to form limerick.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 31/03/2022 14:11:17    2408665

If all players were back from injury and fit I'd go with :

1. O Brien
2. I Daly
3. Prunty
4. I Kenny
5. C Lyons
6. De Burca
7. Fagan
8. Barron
9. D Lyons
10. Prendergast
11. St Bennett
12. Gleeson
13. Hutchinson
14. Kiely
15. P Curran

With Patrick Curran playing further out the field with two man full forward line. I think team selection may depend on who we are up against. That's the full backline I'd play against a Limericks physical full forward line. Conner Gleeson is probably best suited to a smaller quicker corner forward. Although I think having two small players in midfield against Limericks midfield didn't work last year and we may need someone bigger with J Barron.

PullHard7 (Waterford) - Posts: 53 - 31/03/2022 14:18:15    2408669

Replying To countyman2022:  "With the amount of red cards they get, they are sure to be minus some starting players at some stage due to ill discipline."
yeah yeah ill disciplined rabble that lot....

go take your BS down the road and tell it to someone who cares.

are you the same lad that made a show of himself after the ballygunner all ireland victory

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 31/03/2022 14:23:43    2408671

Replying To PullHard7:  "If all players were back from injury and fit I'd go with :

1. O Brien
2. I Daly
3. Prunty
4. I Kenny
5. C Lyons
6. De Burca
7. Fagan
8. Barron
9. D Lyons
10. Prendergast
11. St Bennett
12. Gleeson
13. Hutchinson
14. Kiely
15. P Curran

With Patrick Curran playing further out the field with two man full forward line. I think team selection may depend on who we are up against. That's the full backline I'd play against a Limericks physical full forward line. Conner Gleeson is probably best suited to a smaller quicker corner forward. Although I think having two small players in midfield against Limericks midfield didn't work last year and we may need someone bigger with J Barron."
I would have thought K Bennett and C Glesson would be almost nailed on started for cship if fit... Both are very versatile too.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 31/03/2022 14:53:38    2408686