Down Football thread

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Embarrassing"
All he had to do it take his award and be grateful! They're will be a few players lining up to take a chunk out of him this year I reckon!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 05/05/2022 14:22:01    2415064

Eugene Branagan wouldn't lace James McCartan's boots

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 94 - 05/05/2022 19:02:36    2415136

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Eugene Branagan wouldn't lace James McCartan's boots"
James McCartan played for Down between 1990 and 2000. McCartan was part of the Down team that won the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship in 1991 and 1994. McCartan also won two Ulster Senior Football Championships with the county. At underage level McCartan won Ulster Minor and All-Ireland Minor Football Championship medals. He also won two All Star awards during his career. At school and university he won hogan and sigerson medals. He also brought Down to there last All Ireland final. His father and uncle also won 3 All Irelands and numerous ulster and all stars.

I think Eugene that deserves a huge amount of respect. No disrespect this means that wee James played against the best in the country!!!

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 06/05/2022 11:13:09    2415204

Replying To Ronanthehammer:  "James McCartan played for Down between 1990 and 2000. McCartan was part of the Down team that won the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship in 1991 and 1994. McCartan also won two Ulster Senior Football Championships with the county. At underage level McCartan won Ulster Minor and All-Ireland Minor Football Championship medals. He also won two All Star awards during his career. At school and university he won hogan and sigerson medals. He also brought Down to there last All Ireland final. His father and uncle also won 3 All Irelands and numerous ulster and all stars.

I think Eugene that deserves a huge amount of respect. No disrespect this means that wee James played against the best in the country!!!"
James also won a London Senior Championship medal and a Div 3 National League medal before he hit the big time with Down.
So he was not always playing against the best.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 06/05/2022 11:22:44    2415206

Replying To Ronanthehammer:  "James McCartan played for Down between 1990 and 2000. McCartan was part of the Down team that won the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship in 1991 and 1994. McCartan also won two Ulster Senior Football Championships with the county. At underage level McCartan won Ulster Minor and All-Ireland Minor Football Championship medals. He also won two All Star awards during his career. At school and university he won hogan and sigerson medals. He also brought Down to there last All Ireland final. His father and uncle also won 3 All Irelands and numerous ulster and all stars.

I think Eugene that deserves a huge amount of respect. No disrespect this means that wee James played against the best in the country!!!"
Wee James managers record is 2nd only to Pete Mc Grath.
Now I know for a fact that plenty of Down players in the 90s weren't keen on Pete but they gave their all for their County. Firstly because they were proper Down men and also because they were good footballers.
If players won't play for someone of the stature of Wee James well they need to take a good look at themselves.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 06/05/2022 11:34:12    2415207

that lad Brannagan really came across badly. I assume the rest of Down hate Kilcoo.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 06/05/2022 11:47:50    2415214

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Wee James managers record is 2nd only to Pete Mc Grath.
Now I know for a fact that plenty of Down players in the 90s weren't keen on Pete but they gave their all for their County. Firstly because they were proper Down men and also because they were good footballers.
If players won't play for someone of the stature of Wee James well they need to take a good look at themselves."
Well said Breffni 1969. My sentiments exactly.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 06/05/2022 12:22:13    2415227

Replying To lowballplease:  "that lad Brannagan really came across badly. I assume the rest of Down hate Kilcoo."
His club all ireland will be forgotten about by everyone in a few years, they will now only remember these comments and the awful attitude of kilcoo footballers, totally tarnishes the whole team and their impact on Down football and their aspirations to be role models for younger kids, these lads arent role models, they are selfish and egotistical, and only won the all Ireland after years of money being pumped in. Eugene probably only made these comments as he knows deep down that he would never make a down team and because of that he will never have the courage to go to the county, he would have got blown away by the monaghan players last week. Awful

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 06/05/2022 13:25:11    2415250

Replying To lowballplease:  "that lad Brannagan really came across badly. I assume the rest of Down hate Kilcoo."
I think it's more that Kilcoo despise the rest of Down

FiorDunach (Down) - Posts: 72 - 06/05/2022 13:25:38    2415252

Came across as having a very sheltered outlook in his views. Sad really, county should be the pinnacle.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1578 - 06/05/2022 16:40:43    2415319

It's easy to castigate Eugene Brannigan for this interview, however he makes some interesting points.
He extends sympathy for James McCartan's plight of being essentially guilted into a job nobody wanted and having to deal with the myriad of issues Down currently have, but makes it clear that this was not some fresh, inspiring coaching choice that everyone was behind.

The Kilcoo players have clearly worked hard to create a strong club ethos and playing style, despite a crippling lack of numbers. There are only so many hours working men can devote to Football. Brannigan, and others, would suggest, "Why risk this for the defeatist mentality joining a half-hearted Down set up could potentially bring?"

The revolving door, in terms of player retention, we have experienced in the last decade suggests, beyond doubt, that there is something critically wrong with the Down football system. It would take a forum bigger than this one to go through the many reasons why.

The respect afforded to Jim McCorry, The late Eammon Burns (RIP), Paddy Tally and now James McCartan by both absentee players and SOME clubs/ County Board members indicates that this situation is unlikely to improve in the immediate future, and Down Football fans may have to harbour their expectations. At least until they manage to take a leaf out of Ronan Sheehan's Hurlers book on 'commitment issues for the modern inter-county player.'

One last point about mentality: There is no chance, none, that the most successful teams and players in the country are preparing for championship games by going out on a drunken stupor a couple of weeks before a match.

downwolf (Down) - Posts: 15 - 07/05/2022 07:34:17    2415357

Replying To monaghanmad:  "His club all ireland will be forgotten about by everyone in a few years, they will now only remember these comments and the awful attitude of kilcoo footballers, totally tarnishes the whole team and their impact on Down football and their aspirations to be role models for younger kids, these lads arent role models, they are selfish and egotistical, and only won the all Ireland after years of money being pumped in. Eugene probably only made these comments as he knows deep down that he would never make a down team and because of that he will never have the courage to go to the county, he would have got blown away by the monaghan players last week. Awful"
Most of us agree his comments are nonsense, i dont agree his club only win the All Ireland because of money being pumped in, Every top club in the country is pumping in money into their senior team , lets not forget Kilcoo has a population of around 1500 people, In fact during the Ulster club, i did think ,kilcoo v Scotstown would have been a cracker, but unfortunatly it was the Monaghan men who got blown away by Glen, and on our county display last week your right it was Awful

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 07/05/2022 20:02:27    2415460

That there is something seriously wrong with Down football cannot be denied. This is true not just for the Senior County team but at all levels and all aspects. The Ulster U-20 title last year was clearly an aberration and, that aside, the County' s record at all levels for many years has left much to desire. The obvious fact that many top footballers have no desire to play for the County, the fact that the County seems to be unable to attract, or retain a County manager of quality ( no question mark can hang over Wee James or his backroom team, he had the courage and integrity to stand up the plate and answer his County's call when no one else would. I suspect no one ( himself included) saw this as a long term appointment) clearly signal that there is something fundamentally wrong. Any County which does not have a competitive, quality club scene is also a warning sign. There must be something wrong when one club dominates for years and no other club or clubs appear willing to effectively challenge or even compete. That is clearly not the fault of, or a criticism of Kilcoo, they are clearly miles ahead of the other clubs and fair play to them, but rather of the other clubs who I suspect accept that they have no chance of winning the County title even before they kick a ball, so why put in 100%. As a mere supporter I have no idea about the machinations of the County Board or other levels of administration. I am sure they are all good, decent commited people but the fact that they have overseen this decline and allowed it to happen must indicate something is amiss

I fear that the County faces an existential crisis. Tinkering at the extremes or concentrating on low hanging fruit will do nothing. What is needed is root and branch changes and the input of people in the County who are real Down people and have expertise in business or the profession and who have dealt with change management and who can make any execute decisions. If something like this does not happen, there may well come a time in the not too distant future when consideration may have to be given to withdrawal from inter County football. Enough is enough. I have been following Down football from the late 1960's and have seen good times and bad. When times were bad, and this was often, there was always some grounds for hope, something to hold onto and a sense that everyone was pulling together and that good times would come again. I do not sense any of this now and that is the worst thing

FiorDunach (Down) - Posts: 72 - 07/05/2022 21:05:45    2415475

Replying To FiorDunach:  "That there is something seriously wrong with Down football cannot be denied. This is true not just for the Senior County team but at all levels and all aspects. The Ulster U-20 title last year was clearly an aberration and, that aside, the County' s record at all levels for many years has left much to desire. The obvious fact that many top footballers have no desire to play for the County, the fact that the County seems to be unable to attract, or retain a County manager of quality ( no question mark can hang over Wee James or his backroom team, he had the courage and integrity to stand up the plate and answer his County's call when no one else would. I suspect no one ( himself included) saw this as a long term appointment) clearly signal that there is something fundamentally wrong. Any County which does not have a competitive, quality club scene is also a warning sign. There must be something wrong when one club dominates for years and no other club or clubs appear willing to effectively challenge or even compete. That is clearly not the fault of, or a criticism of Kilcoo, they are clearly miles ahead of the other clubs and fair play to them, but rather of the other clubs who I suspect accept that they have no chance of winning the County title even before they kick a ball, so why put in 100%. As a mere supporter I have no idea about the machinations of the County Board or other levels of administration. I am sure they are all good, decent commited people but the fact that they have overseen this decline and allowed it to happen must indicate something is amiss

I fear that the County faces an existential crisis. Tinkering at the extremes or concentrating on low hanging fruit will do nothing. What is needed is root and branch changes and the input of people in the County who are real Down people and have expertise in business or the profession and who have dealt with change management and who can make any execute decisions. If something like this does not happen, there may well come a time in the not too distant future when consideration may have to be given to withdrawal from inter County football. Enough is enough. I have been following Down football from the late 1960's and have seen good times and bad. When times were bad, and this was often, there was always some grounds for hope, something to hold onto and a sense that everyone was pulling together and that good times would come again. I do not sense any of this now and that is the worst thing"
You are 100% correct here, we have been in decline for a number of years, with not much to look forward to either, people might say sure we had a good run last year in the u20s but for a county the size and stature of Down that should be a regular occurrence between our teams but its not, time for a change from the very top, anybody that thinks differently would need to give their head wobble because the current county board setup just isnt up to the task.

ciaran08 (Down) - Posts: 171 - 08/05/2022 14:31:02    2415551

As many people are disgracing Brannigan, I full enjoyed the article as he had the courage to say what needs said. The players this year should really be ashamed of themselves. I hope the read the article and have a good long hard think about what he's saying.

I would love more than anything for the top men in the county to commit (and there are plenty other than killcoo players) just people look to the kilcoo lads who have devoted everything and sacrificed whatever it took to win. I don't think that any of the current county panel would dedicate themselves even 30% of the effort kilcoo lads put in. And there where more than the two kilcoo lads on the panel before, but their eyes where obviously opened.

We need something sorted soon, and by something I mean all clubs coming together to put their best men onto our once proud county. At underage lads are chomping at the bit to get on to the county team but I do feel theyre let down by the county board in a way that the top coaches available should be appointed. We need to move on with the modern game, develop a style of football from seniors right down and get it drilled in untill it's second nature. Conor Albert y is without doubt the best coach we have in the county. Put him in charger of coaching coaches of picking coaches for our underage teams and I would be certain in the long term down football would have some great days.

Obviously the men in charge probably won't read this or a acknowledge this post, but that is the problem, not open at all to advise as they are in charge.

To the lads on the county at the minute or anyone willing to get involved next year, give it your all, sacrifice whatever it takes, play with pride and work hard

Antrimroad (Down) - Posts: 119 - 08/05/2022 21:17:01    2415748

I hope in a few years when Eugene Brannigans looks back at that interview he may have found some self awareness.......

The only positive from it is I find myself routing for Down and all the footballers he castigated!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1836 - 08/05/2022 21:42:19    2415755

I see the Down minor team were beaten 0-12 - 5-13 by Monaghan and the Down U-20s were beaten by Tyrone.

Can someone enlighten me as to why even at minor level there is a huge chasm between Down players and their counter parts in other counties.

At underage level I see successful results from counties like Limerick, Sligo, Kildare, Offaly, counties that have been in the doldrums for years. Teams that have had a lot less success than even Down have had in recent years.

Is the level of coaching in schools and clubs good enough. Or are young men just not interested in playing football in enough numbers to provide enough quality to pick from.

Are Down just too small and not physically strong enough to compete? Nobody seems to be able to identify exactly what the problems are and where they are coming from.

Newmitch (Down) - Posts: 97 - 10/05/2022 15:15:27    2416288

Replying To Newmitch:  "I see the Down minor team were beaten 0-12 - 5-13 by Monaghan and the Down U-20s were beaten by Tyrone.

Can someone enlighten me as to why even at minor level there is a huge chasm between Down players and their counter parts in other counties.

At underage level I see successful results from counties like Limerick, Sligo, Kildare, Offaly, counties that have been in the doldrums for years. Teams that have had a lot less success than even Down have had in recent years.

Is the level of coaching in schools and clubs good enough. Or are young men just not interested in playing football in enough numbers to provide enough quality to pick from.

Are Down just too small and not physically strong enough to compete? Nobody seems to be able to identify exactly what the problems are and where they are coming from."
Newmitch if I had the answer to the questions you have posed I would be managing Kerry and Down would be winning all Irelands regularly. I think the total apathy that surrounds Down at the moment has filtered through from the seniors to the U20s and minors. I also believe that this apathy and lack of belief has prevailed for so long we believe at all levels we can't win and if you believe that you will never produce a team capable of winning.

To produce a winning mentality we need to have an upgrade on our coaching system, personnel and facilities to produce this upgrade (a centre of excellence). We need a young astute man to develop this. Conor Lavery for instance but I don't know whether he is part of the problem or the solution.

Otherwise we need to search the country for the correct person, pay him the going rate and get him installed asap.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 10/05/2022 15:45:58    2416314

Replying To Ronanthehammer:  "Newmitch if I had the answer to the questions you have posed I would be managing Kerry and Down would be winning all Irelands regularly. I think the total apathy that surrounds Down at the moment has filtered through from the seniors to the U20s and minors. I also believe that this apathy and lack of belief has prevailed for so long we believe at all levels we can't win and if you believe that you will never produce a team capable of winning.

To produce a winning mentality we need to have an upgrade on our coaching system, personnel and facilities to produce this upgrade (a centre of excellence). We need a young astute man to develop this. Conor Lavery for instance but I don't know whether he is part of the problem or the solution.

Otherwise we need to search the country for the correct person, pay him the going rate and get him installed asap."
We all know who the correct person is , and if he has any gra for Down football he will put his hand up, and take the job, Just lookat Derry today , 2 years ago in div 4 , this year beat All Ireland winners and Monaghan and in Ulster final, There is no doubt in my mind if our boys get their act together, and commit they could do the same , Reguarding county officals , The RIGHT MEN would need to go and see him NOT THE WRONG MEN, YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN, and tell him what ever it takes , NOW is the time for Action, and not arseing about sleepwalking

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 15/05/2022 21:43:54    2417439

Replying To germac:  "We all know who the correct person is , and if he has any gra for Down football he will put his hand up, and take the job, Just lookat Derry today , 2 years ago in div 4 , this year beat All Ireland winners and Monaghan and in Ulster final, There is no doubt in my mind if our boys get their act together, and commit they could do the same , Reguarding county officals , The RIGHT MEN would need to go and see him NOT THE WRONG MEN, YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN, and tell him what ever it takes , NOW is the time for Action, and not arseing about sleepwalking"
Who?

FiorDunach (Down) - Posts: 72 - 16/05/2022 12:24:01    2417632