Cavan Seniors 2022

Replying To BreffniGael:  "By shake up I'm thinking more about changing the backroom team. Don't know what Ricey or indeed Johnstone are bringing to the set up. Defence and attack have been huge issues all year."
Agree fully i dont think people appreciate how poor the replcacement for this team are there is very little out there that is better than or as committed as what we already have. We have been cannon fodder at under age for 5 to 6 years now and even though the under 21 did well last year ( Which was a big suprise as they were ranked as complete outsiders in ulster and fair play to them for doing so welll) there is only one player on that team that may be a step up in talent on what is already there. Yes this year ended badly and we have been inconsistent all year and failed to perform in the Tailteann cup final but we were competitive in ulster and have been for the past 5 years. Its only my opioion but i feel we have only 1-2 years left where we will be competitive in ulster and that depends on this squad staying together and yes two of them at least should have been cut this year.
Same think happened in Monaghan got rid of probably the best manager they ever had in Orouke who guided them to 4 ulster finals winning two and people were still not happy with him. i bet there sorry they did not hold on to him now.
If mickey goes and i say he will then fair play to him a great servant to Cavan football who always only had the best interest of Cavan football at heart.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 14/07/2022 12:05:05    2432027

I don't think Monaghan got rid of O Rourke, he was there 7 years and stepped down. He got the most out of them,but was a bit too defensive when they got to play in Croke Park.

Armagh another country who have done little underage but produce a lot of high standard forwards. O Neill, Campbell, Grugan.

Derry have probaly the best underage structure. Great schools and County teams.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 14/07/2022 12:31:16    2432035

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Agree fully i dont think people appreciate how poor the replcacement for this team are there is very little out there that is better than or as committed as what we already have. We have been cannon fodder at under age for 5 to 6 years now and even though the under 21 did well last year ( Which was a big suprise as they were ranked as complete outsiders in ulster and fair play to them for doing so welll) there is only one player on that team that may be a step up in talent on what is already there. Yes this year ended badly and we have been inconsistent all year and failed to perform in the Tailteann cup final but we were competitive in ulster and have been for the past 5 years. Its only my opioion but i feel we have only 1-2 years left where we will be competitive in ulster and that depends on this squad staying together and yes two of them at least should have been cut this year.
Same think happened in Monaghan got rid of probably the best manager they ever had in Orouke who guided them to 4 ulster finals winning two and people were still not happy with him. i bet there sorry they did not hold on to him now.
If mickey goes and i say he will then fair play to him a great servant to Cavan football who always only had the best interest of Cavan football at heart."
If mickey goes and i say he will then fair play to him a great servant to Cavan football who always only had the best interest of Cavan football at heart.
breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 218 - 14/07/2022 12:05:05

Mickey is to slow to make changes and too loyal to certain players. Where was the plan B last week when we were struggling I would like to have seen something changed. We are supposed to have a good midfield and big men around the middle but we conceded there kick out the whole game and made it so easy for them to get out from the back.

Also what is the story with the Ramor lads a few of them would strengthen the squad and give more options?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 14/07/2022 13:34:36    2432053

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Agree fully i dont think people appreciate how poor the replcacement for this team are there is very little out there that is better than or as committed as what we already have. We have been cannon fodder at under age for 5 to 6 years now and even though the under 21 did well last year ( Which was a big suprise as they were ranked as complete outsiders in ulster and fair play to them for doing so welll) there is only one player on that team that may be a step up in talent on what is already there. Yes this year ended badly and we have been inconsistent all year and failed to perform in the Tailteann cup final but we were competitive in ulster and have been for the past 5 years. Its only my opioion but i feel we have only 1-2 years left where we will be competitive in ulster and that depends on this squad staying together and yes two of them at least should have been cut this year.
If mickey goes and i say he will then fair play to him a great servant to Cavan football who always only had the best interest of Cavan football at heart."
We were't competitive in Ulster, we were beaten comfortably by a very average Donegal team who need a managerial re-build. Don't sugarcoat it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 14/07/2022 13:47:16    2432056

I brought myself back to watch the game back last night, it doesn't get any easier after a few days. One takeaway I had was that Westmeath looked far better coached and better set up than we did on the day. I feel like we had the better individual players which was obvious from some of the high quality scores. We nearly got over the line through individual brilliance as opposed to any kind of patterns in our play or coaching etc..
The question has to be asked are we a better team than the team that Graham took over in 2018? I don't think we are, but I think we have had some good moments along the way. For a long time we were not getting them moments at all. History will be kind to Graham no matter what, but it just seems like the natural conclusion at this point in time.
If it does end, I think we should do absolutely everything to get Mickey Moran. We have an ageing team at this point who are ready to go and ready to win. Most of our team are ulster winners, some have won ulster medals at all grades it wouldn't be a hard sell for him.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 14/07/2022 15:02:58    2432075

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "the 1997 team had their 25 year celebration this year they should have got foreverblue in to give them a speech explain to them that they were a waste of a generation and present each of them with a bag of turnips."
The 97 team were a real team with leaders… they never brought disgrace on the county by getting relegated to division 4 of the National league…. but more importantly had a manager who knew what he was at… The same can't be said of the current group

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1900 - 14/07/2022 15:21:00    2432082

Replying To blueskies:  "I brought myself back to watch the game back last night, it doesn't get any easier after a few days. One takeaway I had was that Westmeath looked far better coached and better set up than we did on the day. I feel like we had the better individual players which was obvious from some of the high quality scores. We nearly got over the line through individual brilliance as opposed to any kind of patterns in our play or coaching etc..
The question has to be asked are we a better team than the team that Graham took over in 2018? I don't think we are, but I think we have had some good moments along the way. For a long time we were not getting them moments at all. History will be kind to Graham no matter what, but it just seems like the natural conclusion at this point in time.
If it does end, I think we should do absolutely everything to get Mickey Moran. We have an ageing team at this point who are ready to go and ready to win. Most of our team are ulster winners, some have won ulster medals at all grades it wouldn't be a hard sell for him."
Maybe not a hard sell but Mickey Moran lives over 2 hours away and is 70. I think he stepped down from Kilcoo because of the travel.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 14/07/2022 15:25:57    2432085

Replying To blueskies:  "I brought myself back to watch the game back last night, it doesn't get any easier after a few days. One takeaway I had was that Westmeath looked far better coached and better set up than we did on the day. I feel like we had the better individual players which was obvious from some of the high quality scores. We nearly got over the line through individual brilliance as opposed to any kind of patterns in our play or coaching etc..
If it does end, I think we should do absolutely everything to get Mickey Moran. We have an ageing team at this point who are ready to go and ready to win. Most of our team are ulster winners, some have won ulster medals at all grades it wouldn't be a hard sell for him."
Excellent observation….. We definitely are not as good as we were in 2018…. If we were we wouldn't have just played a season in Division 4… Let's try and get a manager in who can put some sort of structure on things and read when things are going wrong…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1900 - 14/07/2022 15:26:22    2432086

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Maybe not a hard sell but Mickey Moran lives over 2 hours away and is 70. I think he stepped down from Kilcoo because of the travel."
I agree…. Not a hope of the County board even approaching him… If Mickey goes they will take the easy no work involved stance and give the job to Ricey McMennimen…. almost guaranteed

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1900 - 14/07/2022 17:18:15    2432111

Not as good as the team from 2018 that won nothing?
Yet, Mickey took over, brought us to two Ulster Finals and winning won of them.

Tell me, before Mickey took over, when was the last time we competed for an Ulster Senior Championship?

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 15/07/2022 10:04:12    2432149

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "We were't competitive in Ulster, we were beaten comfortably by a very average Donegal team who need a managerial re-build. Don't sugarcoat it."
dont know what match you were watching but even the pundits on bbc and rte who i admit may not be as knowelegable as you said that the final score did not reflect the match and that Cavan played the better football for all of the first half but two defensive plunders late on cost them.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 15/07/2022 10:20:54    2432152

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Not as good as the team from 2018 that won nothing?
Yet, Mickey took over, brought us to two Ulster Finals and winning won of them.

Tell me, before Mickey took over, when was the last time we competed for an Ulster Senior Championship?"
I have eluded to the fact we have had some great moments along the way in the last few years. Armagh 19 and Donegal 20 would be the pick of them. But you cant actually say we are a better team than 4 years ago. We are probably ranked 6 in ulster at the moment struggling to beat teams like Tipperary Sligo and London.
Mickey has done a fine job don't get me wrong and has improved our fortunes. It just seems like a natural end point right now as he even referenced himself last weekend. I think a Mickey Moran, Malachy O'Rourke or Mickey Harte could bring this team to different levels all together.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 15/07/2022 11:09:24    2432162

Dominic Corrigan might be contender. He retired from teaching recently and said he wants another's go at County Manung.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 15/07/2022 11:50:41    2432173

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "dont know what match you were watching but even the pundits on bbc and rte who i admit may not be as knowelegable as you said that the final score did not reflect the match and that Cavan played the better football for all of the first half but two defensive plunders late on cost them."
What game were you watching…? We were cut open at the back and with better finishing and option taking Donegal would have got 4/5 goals along with the 2 that were gifted to them with Division 4 type defending….. Donegal proved to not be up to much so that makes it worse… We are no where near been competitive in the Championship…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1900 - 15/07/2022 12:36:09    2432186

Whilst I think changing the manager would be a largely pointless endeavour, I personally think if we could get Mickey Harte then it would be worth it. He's probably the only candidate you would make the change for. Would he coach a team against his own county though?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/07/2022 12:42:56    2432192

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "What game were you watching…? We were cut open at the back and with better finishing and option taking Donegal would have got 4/5 goals along with the 2 that were gifted to them with Division 4 type defending….. Donegal proved to not be up to much so that makes it worse… We are no where near been competitive in the Championship….."
lads like you will be easily talked to in 2 to 3 years time ye will then know what non competitive in the ulster championship really is your living in cuckoo land.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 15/07/2022 12:51:06    2432196

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "What game were you watching…? We were cut open at the back and with better finishing and option taking Donegal would have got 4/5 goals along with the 2 that were gifted to them with Division 4 type defending….. Donegal proved to not be up to much so that makes it worse… We are no where near been competitive in the Championship….."
Another lad that knows far more than all the tv pundits pat spillane is going you should get your name in quick it be a shame if the countty missed out on your knowledge.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 15/07/2022 12:53:07    2432197

Replying To blueskies:  "I have eluded to the fact we have had some great moments along the way in the last few years. Armagh 19 and Donegal 20 would be the pick of them. But you cant actually say we are a better team than 4 years ago. We are probably ranked 6 in ulster at the moment struggling to beat teams like Tipperary Sligo and London.
Mickey has done a fine job don't get me wrong and has improved our fortunes. It just seems like a natural end point right now as he even referenced himself last weekend. I think a Mickey Moran, Malachy O'Rourke or Mickey Harte could bring this team to different levels all together."
i agree with most of what you said and yes mickey and his management got more wrong this year than right but if he goes i can see Galligan Faulkner Moynagh Killian Clarke and Mckiernan retiring of the starting team against westmeath with possibly a few others. This is the main reason why i think he should stay on after next year i will not matter if God himself is in charge.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 15/07/2022 13:13:36    2432206

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "lads like you will be easily talked to in 2 to 3 years time ye will then know what non competitive in the ulster championship really is your living in cuckoo land."
You are right and it will be all because of Mickey Graham and his clueless management team… At least you finally got something right….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1900 - 15/07/2022 13:14:01    2432207

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Another lad that knows far more than all the tv pundits pat spillane is going you should get your name in quick it be a shame if the countty missed out on your knowledge."
Wouldn't take a genius to know we are not really competitive in Ulster any more… Pundits just said we played as well or better than Donegal in the first half but most people know a game is played over 70+ minutes and not 35….. no good been at it for the 1st half and then making schoolboy errors in the half that matters…. This is what separates the top teams from the no hopers….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1900 - 15/07/2022 13:35:22    2432215