Cavan Seniors 2022

Well lads the time is fast approaching now…. It would be brilliant to be the first winners of what I believe will be a wonderful competition for the GAA going into the future…. It's something that is long over due in the GAA ( football )… Cavan have the players with big game experience that can swing this but Westmeath have some wonderful individual players that can hurt any team… This will be a close contest and if our big players perform I am taking Cavan to win by the smallest of margins…. Come on Cavan you can do it….!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 09/07/2022 11:16:26    2430618

Best of luck to the management and team. Cavan to win after extra time is my forecast.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/07/2022 12:09:03    2430634

That's provided we curb Heslin . We don't have a forward of his class! .

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/07/2022 13:27:45    2430653

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Best of luck to the management and team. Cavan to win after extra time is my forecast."
Just 22 of a back room team looking after Cavan…. This whole county thing is turning into a complete joke… no need for all them

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 09/07/2022 13:40:16    2430654

22 backroom staff wern't enough unfortunately. Unlucky lads

LslashersFanatic (Longford) - Posts: 22 - 09/07/2022 17:15:36    2430693

Very disappointing result for Cavan today Westmeath better team way faster than us we looked leggy compared to them also discipline cost us as momentum swung away from us and lack of composure as well, back to drawing board as hell of a hell of a lot of work to do.

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 09/07/2022 17:24:25    2430696

Absolutely gutted after that. But it was absolutely fantastic and emotional seeing them blue jerseys up around drumcondra again. So we can only thank the team for giving us today.
In reality, if we can't best Westmeath we are just not good enough. A lot of work to do.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 09/07/2022 17:46:12    2430701

Just not good enough…. Our slow build up play killed us … no point in setting up defencifly if we can't defend…. The winning goal for Westmeath was a joke.. Martin got around 7 Cavan defenders to score and they should have had 2/3 more goals as well… The referee made a couple of huge blunders but he didn't set Cavan up to play the way they did… Management have a lot of questions to answer

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 09/07/2022 18:12:06    2430709

Congrats to Westmeath, better team on the day. Pretty disappointing for us, they're probably the second strongest team we've played this year (after Donegal) and we've lost again.

Westmeath seemed hungrier, had more energy, just wanted it more. You could see what it meant to them at the final whistle. Outworked us all day. Was always going to be a tight game and maybe we were a bit overhyped coming into it? Not at our usual pitch, never really kicked on after our goal, then the sending off just killed off any belief and momentum and there was only one winner after that.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 09/07/2022 18:19:09    2430724

Slow build up in a wide pitch like Croke Park was pointless. Westmeath played the more direct football .Ronan O Toole a class act

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 09/07/2022 20:44:57    2430871

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Just not good enough…. Our slow build up play killed us … no point in setting up defencifly if we can't defend…. The winning goal for Westmeath was a joke.. Martin got around 7 Cavan defenders to score and they should have had 2/3 more goals as well… The referee made a couple of huge blunders but he didn't set Cavan up to play the way they did… Management have a lot of questions to answer"
Still can't handle the high ball into the square even 2 against 1 in our favour.
Marking space , and when Westmeath got their 2nd goal Martin sidestepped 5 Cavan backs.
Just no real improvement from game to game this year.
Goes to show league positions don't lie.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/07/2022 21:09:06    2430887

Well Done to westmeath fully deserved their victory looked much sharper and more incisive for most of the match and more clinical up front. Hard luck to Cavan lads gave it your all and very proud to see ye in a final in Croke park just 5 % of and the red card finished your chances.
What a great competition the Tailteann cup has been some game yesterday compared to the manure in the second game i started of supporting Derry but was delighted to see them beaten in the end only one team played football.
Going forward i would rather see Cavan not getting promoted out of division 3 until they first win the Tailteann cup hopefully next year. The problem i think is that there is only 3 to 4 teams with any chance of winning Sam and no team in division 2 (dublin the exception) will ever have any chance of winning it. The same will be the case
for division 4 (cavan should not have been in it) no team from division 4 will normally have any chance of winning the Tailteann cup so we need a senior intermediate and junior competition and unfortunetly the senior one will be by far the least competitive.
Look at the great games we have had this year when teams of similar ability play each other there will be an even bigger buy in to the tailteann cup next year what team would not want to win it i bet you every team in division 2 apart from dublin will regret not having a chance to win it.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 10/07/2022 08:54:28    2430942

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Well Done to westmeath fully deserved their victory looked much sharper and more incisive for most of the match and more clinical up front. Hard luck to Cavan lads gave it your all and very proud to see ye in a final in Croke park just 5 % of and the red card finished your chances.
What a great competition the Tailteann cup has been some game yesterday compared to the manure in the second game i started of supporting Derry but was delighted to see them beaten in the end only one team played football.
Going forward i would rather see Cavan not getting promoted out of division 3 until they first win the Tailteann cup hopefully next year. The problem i think is that there is only 3 to 4 teams with any chance of winning Sam and no team in division 2 (dublin the exception) will ever have any chance of winning it. The same will be the case
for division 4 (cavan should not have been in it) no team from division 4 will normally have any chance of winning the Tailteann cup so we need a senior intermediate and junior competition and unfortunetly the senior one will be by far the least competitive.
Look at the great games we have had this year when teams of similar ability play each other there will be an even bigger buy in to the tailteann cup next year what team would not want to win it i bet you every team in division 2 apart from dublin will regret not having a chance to win it."
Completely concur. We didn't win but we made it to penultimate weekend in football this year and as a result we are more relevant than most recent years bar 2019 and 2020. I hope this squad and management team individually and collectively buy into another year at least hopefully with some new blood from this years U20s and new players who hopefully may announce their claims during the Senior, Intermediate and Junior Championships.

Likewise as supporters let's show a renewed positive commitment to supporting this yeas Championship and the County team in Division 3 next season. Onwards and Upwards. Up Cavan.

Wewasrobbedin67 (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 10/07/2022 11:03:10    2430982

That was very disappointing today and forces me to look back at this season as a whole to see what to make of it. We played in Div4 and we struggled in quite a few games although in my head it was always just about getting the wins and getting out of it. We won Div4 league final despite a poor display. We hammered Antrim but time has shown Antrim are just a woeful team. We put it up to Donegal but a bit of bad luck and poor defending cost us. Time would show tough that Donegal have gone back somewhat. Our Tailteann campaign was straightforward but there were warning signs that we were wide open at the back, leaving our 2 FBs with no cover, particularly against Sligo. But the huge disappointment was that we learnt nothing and just did the exact same against westmeath. We put no pressure on their kickouts despite having a size advantage around the middle, they ran at us and our players didn't stay with them and our FB line were under huge pressure as a result. So if we were sacrificing defence for a sharper attack then that would be something but our attacking threat was slow, ponderous and relied on some outstanding points to keep us in it. We created one lucky goal chance (westmesth had 3/4 if they had chosen the correct option). The sending off was brainless by Galligan who should have been taken off or moved to FF before hand such little impact he had. We got it all wrong yesterday and that's the job of management and its inexcusable to get it so wrong like that on such a big day. It gives me no pleasure to say this but has Mickey Graham done all he can and time to freshen things up? I think it just might be the case.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 10/07/2022 11:31:44    2430990

That was very disappointing today and forces me to look back at this season as a whole to see what to make of it. We played in Div4 and we struggled in quite a few games although in my head it was always just about getting the wins and getting out of it. We won Div4 league final despite a poor display. We hammered Antrim but time has shown Antrim are just a woeful team. We put it up to Donegal but a bit of bad luck and poor defending cost us. Time would show tough that Donegal have gone back somewhat. Our Tailteann campaign was straightforward but there were warning signs that we were wide open at the back, leaving our 2 FBs with no cover, particularly against Sligo. But the huge disappointment was that we learnt nothing and just did the exact same against westmeath. We put no pressure on their kickouts despite having a size advantage around the middle, they ran at us and our players didn't stay with them and our FB line were under huge pressure as a result. So if we were sacrificing defence for a sharper attack then that would be something but our attacking threat was slow, ponderous and relied on some outstanding points to keep us in it. We created one lucky goal chance (westmesth had 3/4 if they had chosen the correct option). The sending off was brainless by Galligan who should have been taken off or moved to FF before hand such little impact he had. We got it all wrong yesterday and that's the job of management and its inexcusable to get it so wrong like that on such a big day. It gives me no pleasure to say this but has Mickey Graham done all he can and time to freshen things up? I think it just might be the case.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 10/07/2022 11:41:33    2430993

You don't win finals with defending like that.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/07/2022 11:51:47    2430999

I don't know what Ryan McMenamin has brought to the set up. The slow build up is probaly his approach from Fermanagh. Definsively Cavan haven't been great, gifted a lot of goal chances this year in most of the games.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/07/2022 12:22:44    2431008

Replying To ExiledCuCu:  "Westmeath have more than Heslin to bother our backline. Loughlin, O'Toole, McCartan are serious players also.....they have Egan and Martin in reserve if its down to the wire........midfield of Connellan and Lynam (possibly Drumm) are a match for any team.......at the back Maguire, Wallace and Dolan like to get forward a lot and that gives concern as to who will track back.......Smith and Gonoud are man markers and we know who they will pick up.......this could be a very tight game....hopefully we'll be on the right side of the result....but if anyone thinks that Westmeath are a walkover have only seen them play against Dublin in the championship on TV......if they get a run at Cavan then we could be in trouble.....Cavan Abu"
Disappointed, but not surprised. Well done to Westmeath and fair play to Martin to score one of the best goals ever in HQ. I could see what was happening but management didn't. McKiernan being marked out of it by their 1/2 forward while their centre back ran amok. O'Toole scoring at will....Westmeath are not a one trick pony with Heslin....now you see why !!! Disappointed but great too see the Cavan blue in Croke park all the same.

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 225 - 10/07/2022 15:16:57    2431054

Disappointing display from Cavan in front of a great bunch of supporters . We were too slow with the kick outs in contrast to Westmeath and too much lateral passing . . Thought the management were too slow to make changes . Should have sent in some fresh legs when we went down to 14 men . Westmeath seemed to have more of a desire to win . We were a bit flat .

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 10/07/2022 19:55:31    2431165

Replying To fredflint:  "That was very disappointing today and forces me to look back at this season as a whole to see what to make of it. We played in Div4 and we struggled in quite a few games although in my head it was always just about getting the wins and getting out of it. We won Div4 league final despite a poor display. We hammered Antrim but time has shown Antrim are just a woeful team. We put it up to Donegal but a bit of bad luck and poor defending cost us. Time would show tough that Donegal have gone back somewhat. Our Tailteann campaign was straightforward but there were warning signs that we were wide open at the back, leaving our 2 FBs with no cover, particularly against Sligo. But the huge disappointment was that we learnt nothing and just did the exact same against westmeath. We put no pressure on their kickouts despite having a size advantage around the middle, they ran at us and our players didn't stay with them and our FB line were under huge pressure as a result. So if we were sacrificing defence for a sharper attack then that would be something but our attacking threat was slow, ponderous and relied on some outstanding points to keep us in it. We created one lucky goal chance (westmesth had 3/4 if they had chosen the correct option). The sending off was brainless by Galligan who should have been taken off or moved to FF before hand such little impact he had. We got it all wrong yesterday and that's the job of management and its inexcusable to get it so wrong like that on such a big day. It gives me no pleasure to say this but has Mickey Graham done all he can and time to freshen things up? I think it just might be the case."
Defensively there has been no improvement since the London game.
Compare that to Galway's defensive improvement since the Armagh game 2 weeks ago .
The only real plus has been Paddy Lynch .
Reading through the lines and listening to Mickey I think he knows himself he's taken them as far as he can.
Ryan Mc M contribution as a defensive coach has been a total shambles. Looking at the way Kerry also defended yesterday they gave very little frees away, which nullified Dean Rocks contribution drastically.
Concentrating on promotion from Div 3 has to be the main priority next year. We need to raise the standard of opposition we play against regularly.
We proved we are better than Div 4 football, Now let's prove over 7 games we better than Div 3 where Westmeath will probably be our strongest challengers.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 11/07/2022 08:48:56    2431241