Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Ok,but who have they beaten? Cork in extra time, limped past Fermanagh I recall and Armagh. Is there a single qualifier win that they shouldn't have won? Monaghan is,by a country mile, the hardest test they've ever had in qualifiers."
Since we got bate by Galway in 2016, home games in the qualifiers:

Fermanagh
Kildare
Derry
Armagh
Donegal (technically a Super 8's game, but in reality a knockout fixture to get to the All-Ireland semi finals in 2019).

All of the qualifier games in 2018 were away, while some of the bigger wins (e.g. Galway, Cork) were at neutral venues.

I personally would have those Armagh and Donegal teams at around the same level as Monaghan. That said, I think this is a great chance for Monaghan, as (1) a lot of the players we have blooded in recent years are not as good (or at least, haven't yet reached the same level) as those that have retired; and (2) we have a truly horrendous injury list and have looked flat since the Tyrone game in the league.

The following Mayo players are currently either out of the game or are doubtful:

Robert Hennelly;
Brendan Harrison (gone for the season, ACL);
Oisín Mullin
Paddy Durcan
Eoghan McLoughlin
Michael Plunkett (gone for the season, leg injury)
Jordan Flynn (gone, ankle fracture)
Ryan O'Donoghue
Bryan Walsh
Tommy Conroy (gone for the season, ACL)
James Carr
Darren McHale

Diarmuid O'Connor and Cillian O'Connor are also just back from injury and looked rusty against Galway.

I would also add that Horanball seems to have been figured out by several teams we have played against recently.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 24/05/2022 10:39:32    2419894

Ye we would have 4 or 5 injured as well or not around to play aaron mulligan , steven o hanlon killian lavelle ,fintan kelly mayo would have 3 weeks to a month for injuries to clear up since galway match

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 24/05/2022 10:50:15    2419901

Replying To mick2007:  "Mayo is an excellent draw.. we could have got cork, Louth or Meath and hammered them and papered over the cracks.. at least now with Mayo if we're good enough wel beat them and if not so be it…"
Mayo fans thinking the same. If we are good enough we should win…if not so be it. No point going far and getting knocked out. I've never seen the appetite so low in the county. With our injuries I wouldn't be putting any money on us.

As for the home record…I don't ever remember us losing a qualifier game at home but I'm open to correction on that.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 24/05/2022 14:22:10    2419983

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo fans thinking the same. If we are good enough we should win…if not so be it. No point going far and getting knocked out. I've never seen the appetite so low in the county. With our injuries I wouldn't be putting any money on us.

As for the home record…I don't ever remember us losing a qualifier game at home but I'm open to correction on that."
Mayo fans thinking the same. If we are good enough we should win…if not so be it. No point going far and getting knocked out. I've never seen the appetite so low in the county. With our injuries I wouldn't be putting any money on us.

As for the home record…I don't ever remember us losing a qualifier game at home but I'm open to correction on that.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 10924 - 24/05/2022 14:22:10

Banty will have the Monaghan lads ready for this one.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 24/05/2022 14:37:51    2419989

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo fans thinking the same. If we are good enough we should win…if not so be it. No point going far and getting knocked out. I've never seen the appetite so low in the county. With our injuries I wouldn't be putting any money on us.

As for the home record…I don't ever remember us losing a qualifier game at home but I'm open to correction on that."
Just scrolling back now, all the qualifier games we've lost since 2001 have been away or at neutral venues. Still, these things tend to fall eventually.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 24/05/2022 14:38:33    2419991

Replying To RHF:  "Mayo fans thinking the same. If we are good enough we should win…if not so be it. No point going far and getting knocked out. I've never seen the appetite so low in the county. With our injuries I wouldn't be putting any money on us.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 10924 - 24/05/2022 14:22:10

Banty will have the Monaghan lads ready for this one."
How will he have them well ready for this one ? He had enough time to get ready for the Derry game…. I'd say it will be more a case of the players being well ready themselves

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 24/05/2022 21:54:47    2420068

I'm amazed by how much narrative is around about the Mayo injuries. Not only on the "Monaghan forum" by Mayo fans but it's even being published on social media.

The cynic in me feels it's a elaborate hoax to take the very obvious underdog tag we have/enjoy.

I hope the players and management take it all with a pinch of salt. God knows Banty and his team have enough problems to rectify without not preparing themselves for 3-5 ordinarily starters for Mayo!

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 26/05/2022 09:30:07    2420276

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "I'm amazed by how much narrative is around about the Mayo injuries. Not only on the "Monaghan forum" by Mayo fans but it's even being published on social media.

The cynic in me feels it's a elaborate hoax to take the very obvious underdog tag we have/enjoy.

I hope the players and management take it all with a pinch of salt. God knows Banty and his team have enough problems to rectify without not preparing themselves for 3-5 ordinarily starters for Mayo!"
Ah yeah, we all know how important Hogan Stand comments are in winning big championship games, LOL.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2022 12:01:06    2420315

Replying To Gleebo:  "Ah yeah, we all know how important Hogan Stand comments are in winning big championship games, LOL."
Yous know about as much as us when it comes to winning "big" championship games ya bunch of bottlers..

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 26/05/2022 12:53:03    2420329

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Yous know about as much as us when it comes to winning "big" championship games ya bunch of bottlers.."
Ah now, why do you have to be so mad? It's only a game. If victories against the likes of Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, Galway, Armagh etc. in the last 5 championship seasons don't count as "big wins", then I guess my book is different to yours. But hey, at least those Mayo footballers have the consolation of their NFL, All-Ireland club and underage medals.

I still think Monaghan have a great chance next week, especially if Ryan O'D doesn't make it.

Anyway, clearly non-Farney folk are not welcome here, so again, safe travelling to everyone and hope ye enjoy your time in Westport or wherever ye end up staying.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2022 13:29:07    2420343

Replying To Gleebo:  "Ah now, why do you have to be so mad? It's only a game. If victories against the likes of Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, Galway, Armagh etc. in the last 5 championship seasons don't count as "big wins", then I guess my book is different to yours. But hey, at least those Mayo footballers have the consolation of their NFL, All-Ireland club and underage medals.

I still think Monaghan have a great chance next week, especially if Ryan O'D doesn't make it.

Anyway, clearly non-Farney folk are not welcome here, so again, safe travelling to everyone and hope ye enjoy your time in Westport or wherever ye end up staying."
Yeah Ballina St. won the All Ireland club 17 years ago! Take that Monaghan supporters!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 26/05/2022 14:18:32    2420356

Replying To The_DOC:  "Yeah Ballina St. won the All Ireland club 17 years ago! Take that Monaghan supporters!"
Jack Carney won one this year, Keegan won one a few years back. Not the same as an SFC obviously, but I'd be happy with one personally. O' Connor, Ruane, Plunkett, Coen, Boland and Loftus have u-21s from 2016. Pretty much all of the squad won the NFL in 2019.

What this has to do with you, I don't know.

Anyway, I like Monaghan people and their team, am honestly scratching my head at the hostility from one poster.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2022 14:42:56    2420365

Replying To Gleebo:  "Jack Carney won one this year, Keegan won one a few years back. Not the same as an SFC obviously, but I'd be happy with one personally. O' Connor, Ruane, Plunkett, Coen, Boland and Loftus have u-21s from 2016. Pretty much all of the squad won the NFL in 2019.

Anyway, I like Monaghan people and their team, am honestly scratching my head at the hostility from one poster."
It's not that non-Monaghan posters aren't welcome, it's that no one is buying what Mayo are trying to sell.
I wouldn't take it personally, it's just that Mayo are stretching the bounds of believability and your post was adding to that.

You said most of it yourself: Mayo with home advantage, big championship wins, All Ireland appearances, NFL medals, club medals, 6 weeks of preparation and rumours of a few injuries.
versus
Monaghan with last provincial 7 years ago, a bad loss to Derry last week and a few definite injuries.

Anyone saying anything other than Mayo are strong favourites is just not credible.

If the past is anything to go by Monaghan won't make any changes to their approach and hope for the best and get the same result as always. It's the Banty way.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 26/05/2022 15:12:38    2420372

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "It's not that non-Monaghan posters aren't welcome, it's that no one is buying what Mayo are trying to sell.
I wouldn't take it personally, it's just that Mayo are stretching the bounds of believability and your post was adding to that.

You said most of it yourself: Mayo with home advantage, big championship wins, All Ireland appearances, NFL medals, club medals, 6 weeks of preparation and rumours of a few injuries.
versus
Monaghan with last provincial 7 years ago, a bad loss to Derry last week and a few definite injuries.

Anyone saying anything other than Mayo are strong favourites is just not credible.

If the past is anything to go by Monaghan won't make any changes to their approach and hope for the best and get the same result as always. It's the Banty way."
Mayo outside the Dubs are probably the most written about football side in ireland the last 10 years so am sure every issue injury loss of form is just magnified to nth degree. Apart from kildare in 18 with the Newbridge defeat I can't recall Mayo not making at least last 4 or final in the last decade where they were sometimes just a point or two off or some draws v the greatest team ever. That is the size of the task awaiting monaghan who made the last 4 once in the decade were cannon fodder whenever they met said greatest side in contrast and are a team running on fumes at the minute. Know a lot of Mayo people and they are great gaa people who range from disaster prognosis on their county side to all ireland contenders at the drop of a hat so take it all with a grain of salt anything they are saying.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 26/05/2022 15:28:19    2420379

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "It's not that non-Monaghan posters aren't welcome, it's that no one is buying what Mayo are trying to sell.

versus

If the past is anything to go by Monaghan won't make any changes to their approach and hope for the best and get the same result as always. It's the Banty way."
I knew a Fox from Carrickmacross one time, early 90s. I digress. I agree there's a lot of excuses pre Monaghan game being made by us. But the facts are none of us know how good or bad the injury situation is. It's definitely possible that the fir glic in the backroom team are giving the worst case scenario overthinking that it might give us an advantage.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 26/05/2022 15:31:54    2420380

versus

I dunno, all the stuff is out there in the public domain, it's not like Horan's on speed-dial asking me to spread propaganda aimed at...who? No inter-county footballer or coach will be reading the HS comment boards.

As for home advantage, we lost our most recent game in Castlebar and looked fairly poor in doing so. I also seem to remember Paddy Durcan having to claw one off the line in the last minute up in Clones to get us the points in the NFL. So Mayo being huge favourites seems like a bit of a reach to me.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2022 15:36:31    2420381

Replying To Gleebo:  "Jack Carney won one this year, Keegan won one a few years back. Not the same as an SFC obviously, but I'd be happy with one personally. O' Connor, Ruane, Plunkett, Coen, Boland and Loftus have u-21s from 2016. Pretty much all of the squad won the NFL in 2019.

Anyway, I like Monaghan people and their team, am honestly scratching my head at the hostility from one poster."
Apologies for BlueBlood. He is not a good representative for Monaghan Fans.

Mayo have been a joy to watch the last 5-6 years. The commitment, the drive, the ability to get back on your feet year after year. Glory will come for Mayo and hopefully Monaghan can follow their example and get into the last 4 more regularly.

Mayo-Monaghan in the league games always close.

turnip12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 26/05/2022 20:57:03    2420419

Replying To turnip12:  "Apologies for BlueBlood. He is not a good representative for Monaghan Fans.

Mayo have been a joy to watch the last 5-6 years. The commitment, the drive, the ability to get back on your feet year after year. Glory will come for Mayo and hopefully Monaghan can follow their example and get into the last 4 more regularly.

Mayo-Monaghan in the league games always close."
Ach, Dry your eyes Turnip.

I'm sure not all are as easily offended. It's football not life or death.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 27/05/2022 18:37:17    2420529

Iv asked before but don't think we had an answer and still just wondering does anyone know about the club league and championship structure and how relegation and promotion being done ?

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 28/05/2022 13:06:41    2420588

Replying To farneygael:  "Iv asked before but don't think we had an answer and still just wondering does anyone know about the club league and championship structure and how relegation and promotion being done ?"
There is no relegation from the league's but there will be promotion for the teams that win Intermediate and Junior league's.

There are a few nuances but effectively the team that finishes in fourth place of the relegation "group league" from the championship will go down, with the 3rd placed team also going down. For all of the nuances it'd be best to contact your club secretary - there are a few different scenarios as it'd probably be way too long to post here!

MonaghanGa3l (USA) - Posts: 18 - 30/05/2022 11:41:04    2421011