Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To stoneygrey:  "
Replying To MadgeKing:  "Posting for the craic here lads, hope ye are all well:
Both sets of teams and supporters are indeed very unsure, leading to a very low key build-up. Everyone is afraid to say anything! Also the prospect of entering a stacked side of the draw where a good beating from Tyrone, Derry or Donegal awaits, sort of leads to the idea that the Monaghan game is pretty irrelevant. I would have the opposite view- at least win this one for Christ's sake and give us something to gnaw on for the year. You can't beat Monaghan often enough or by enough.
Starting 15's on both sides are very unclear due to injuries and form. The Beggan story is a distraction- to be fair I don't think the man will be able to slot directly into a championship team so I doubt he will feature on Sunday. So the more important personnel issues lie elsewhere. For Cavan, if Faulkner doesn't start at 100% match fit we are up against it. Agree midfield is a big issue but then again so it is for Monaghan. Hughes and Mohan are not exactly to be feared in there. Killian Clarke has been coasting for a while but surely he will be able to keep Mohan out of the game. James Smith holds the key for Cavan. He scores as much as Lynch from play and really needs to be on the ball. Start him away from Monaghan's best man markers- Hughes and Lavelle- and make them change up to counter. The idea has to be to get Lavelle moving out of full back and Smith can force that. The 3rd quarter bursts that Cavan have shown in the league have been led by Holla and Gerry Smith - I would hold Tiarnan Madden until the 50th minute to add some threat at that point.
Big worry is where will scores come from. 2 goals needed and nobody to get them. Lynch needs more involvement from play- he should get his chance if they can occupy Lavelle - Wylie and the O'Toole lad are slow and give away plenty of frees.
From across the dyke, the worries seemingly are for Bannigan, Hanlon, McAnespie, and Dessie Ward. That's a serious quartet of players i fairness to them, so their availability will probably tip the scales either way. Woods was sent off in their last league game and faces suspension- he is more of a panel player but can cause damage. If 3 of those 5 are available suddenly Monaghan look strong enough but without they have no depth in the panel.
My hunch is that Monaghan are very tight lipped but have genuine injury problems. Rushing one or two back won't help them.
In that case, a Cavan team that taps into that age-old belief that our worst can beat Monaghan's best will prevail by an unexpected 3 or 4 points. They are brittle lads, we are Cavan."
I went to the Cavan v Fermanagh match and it was an hour or so of my life ill never get back , it would have been an average Senior B club match , a lot of mouthing from the Cavan players at each other . If Monaghan play anything like they did against Tyrone or Mayo they will win this at a canter.. Monaghan by 6"
It's almost as tho one of the 2 counties knows an irrelevant league match when they see one!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/04/2024 12:36:57    2535356

Replying To stoneygrey:  "
Both sets of teams and supporters are indeed very unsure, leading to a very low key build-up. Everyone is afraid to say anything! Also the prospect of entering a stacked side of the draw where a good beating from Tyrone, Derry or Donegal awaits, sort of leads to the idea that the Monaghan game is pretty irrelevant. I would have the opposite view- at least win this one for Christ's sake and give us something to gnaw on for the year. You can't beat Monaghan often enough or by enough.
Starting 15's on both sides are very unclear due to injuries and form. The Beggan story is a distraction- to be fair I don't think the man will be able to slot directly into a championship team so I doubt he will feature on Sunday. So the more important personnel issues lie elsewhere. For Cavan, if Faulkner doesn't start at 100% match fit we are up against it. Agree midfield is a big issue but then again so it is for Monaghan. Hughes and Mohan are not exactly to be feared in there. Killian Clarke has been coasting for a while but surely he will be able to keep Mohan out of the game. James Smith holds the key for Cavan. He scores as much as Lynch from play and really needs to be on the ball. Start him away from Monaghan's best man markers- Hughes and Lavelle- and make them change up to counter. The idea has to be to get Lavelle moving out of full back and Smith can force that. The 3rd quarter bursts that Cavan have shown in the league have been led by Holla and Gerry Smith - I would hold Tiarnan Madden until the 50th minute to add some threat at that point.
Big worry is where will scores come from. 2 goals needed and nobody to get them. Lynch needs more involvement from play- he should get his chance if they can occupy Lavelle - Wylie and the O'Toole lad are slow and give away plenty of frees.
From across the dyke, the worries seemingly are for Bannigan, Hanlon, McAnespie, and Dessie Ward. That's a serious quartet of players i fairness to them, so their availability will probably tip the scales either way. Woods was sent off in their last league game and faces suspension- he is more of a panel player but can cause damage. If 3 of those 5 are available suddenly Monaghan look strong enough but without they have no depth in the panel.
My hunch is that Monaghan are very tight lipped but have genuine injury problems. Rushing one or two back won't help them.
In that case, a Cavan team that taps into that age-old belief that our worst can beat Monaghan's best will prevail by an unexpected 3 or 4 points. They are brittle lads, we are Cavan."
I went to the Cavan v Fermanagh match and it was an hour or so of my life ill never get back , it would have been an average Senior B club match , a lot of mouthing from the Cavan players at each other . If Monaghan play anything like they did against Tyrone or Mayo they will win this at a canter.. Monaghan by 6"
League is league, cavan went to division 3 when the bet is 4 years ago.

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 03/04/2024 13:02:54    2535360

Unfortunately its not the 1950s and Cavan's worst team would likely be in Division 4 of the National League.

I'd be interested to know how many players Cavan have used in the league this year. Anybody know? I think there isn't good depth of experience in the Cavan panel. In truth, you are right, it'll come down to how many of Monaghan's first team are injured or carrying knocks. Beggan will likely be back in the starting 15 for Sunday if for nothing more than his free taking from distance.

Monaghan by a whisker (extra time possible).

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 114 - 03/04/2024 13:11:53    2535364

Replying To Farney#1:  "Rory back for cavan game"
If the rumours are true Vinny has a decision to make. Does he go with the tried and tested or the lad that has busted his balls since November. If it was a purely football decision you'd have to go Rory. But if you look at it with any kind of moral compass it has to be McDonnell. He's been dragged through the mud from a hell of a lot of people on this forum and other media outlets in the county. Has he done as bad as people are making it out. Does he not get the chance to prove himself on the championship stage. Does Beggan make Monaghan a provincial Contender. I don't believe so, not on this side of the bracket. So why rock the boat and completely destroy a lads confidence over the sake of a game against a poor Cavan outfit. McDonnell is a decent keeper and has earned his championship debut. Wonder will Vinny see it the same way?

mr.farneyarmy (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 03/04/2024 17:19:35    2535415

Replying To mr.farneyarmy:  "If the rumours are true Vinny has a decision to make. Does he go with the tried and tested or the lad that has busted his balls since November. If it was a purely football decision you'd have to go Rory. But if you look at it with any kind of moral compass it has to be McDonnell. He's been dragged through the mud from a hell of a lot of people on this forum and other media outlets in the county. Has he done as bad as people are making it out. Does he not get the chance to prove himself on the championship stage. Does Beggan make Monaghan a provincial Contender. I don't believe so, not on this side of the bracket. So why rock the boat and completely destroy a lads confidence over the sake of a game against a poor Cavan outfit. McDonnell is a decent keeper and has earned his championship debut. Wonder will Vinny see it the same way?"
But why ? This isn't a kick about down the field. Its the highest level of the game that players can play.. You don't play for the craic... if you want to be friends with people and say you did the right thing it's not the level and sport for you. If Rory is available.. and does not play ... then what ? Vinny's a great man because DMcD trained all year... Play the best players you have at your disposal.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 03/04/2024 17:34:42    2535417

Replying To mr.farneyarmy:  "If the rumours are true Vinny has a decision to make. Does he go with the tried and tested or the lad that has busted his balls since November. If it was a purely football decision you'd have to go Rory. But if you look at it with any kind of moral compass it has to be McDonnell. He's been dragged through the mud from a hell of a lot of people on this forum and other media outlets in the county. Has he done as bad as people are making it out. Does he not get the chance to prove himself on the championship stage. Does Beggan make Monaghan a provincial Contender. I don't believe so, not on this side of the bracket. So why rock the boat and completely destroy a lads confidence over the sake of a game against a poor Cavan outfit. McDonnell is a decent keeper and has earned his championship debut. Wonder will Vinny see it the same way?"
Sentiment isn't often used for championship football, ask evan comerford last year when cluxton came back. The rest is history. Monaghan need a win Sunday, Beggan is one of the best keepers to have played the game, he starts for me if he is contention.

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 03/04/2024 19:14:12    2535430

Yeah there is a way of doing things and playing Beggan in these circumstances ain't it. As for the match I'll be honest if we are struggling to beat Cavan for whatever reason injuries loss of form etc we'd be better off out of ulster early and getting ready for group stages than looking to play likes of Tyrone and Derry who'd both make short work of Cavan. That may well be the case similar to last year getting a run in group stages as form wasn't there earlier in season. We beat Tyrone last year in huge second half display but were woeful in first half and got blown away by Derry in ulster semi final. Played them a month later in celtic Park should beaten them ended a draw. Think Vinny and the players can keep the heads they can get back to croke Park for quarter finals which has to be the aim.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1800 - 03/04/2024 19:55:59    2535437

Opinions on the u20 game last night?

monaghan12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 04/04/2024 11:22:41    2535556

Championships matches are there to be won, you play your best team. He's miles ahead and has to start, no shame in it for McDonnell.

sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 04/04/2024 12:06:28    2535568

Replying To monaghan12:  "Opinions on the u20 game last night?"
The team are brave and fought hard but their decision making in the basics were not so smart. Examples
Being behind with 5 mins to go and 2 Monaghan substitutions doing a slow walk off the field.
Backchatting to the ref twice and getting the ball moved forward to within scoring range.
Watching a ball go wide while the Derry player stood at the line. Caught it and recycled for a point. This happens with Monaghan players at all grades for years and years. While a Kerry player always follows the ball in. In case it comes off an upright or does not go wide and a scoring opportunity arrives.
The team were unlucky and could have won. But Derry dominated the possession and deserved the win.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 04/04/2024 16:12:46    2535655

Strong attacking team named by Vinny! Interesting to see what he does with the goalkeeper situation. I'll be very disappointed if Rory is available and does not play.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 05/04/2024 13:49:23    2535823

Woods red card very costly. He would have added a new dimension to that team. No way Jack and Conor McManus can or will start together. Jones in from the start. Good to see McPhilips on the bench after the speculation he had left the panel.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 05/04/2024 13:58:39    2535829

Replying To Farney:  "The team are brave and fought hard but their decision making in the basics were not so smart. Examples
Being behind with 5 mins to go and 2 Monaghan substitutions doing a slow walk off the field.
Backchatting to the ref twice and getting the ball moved forward to within scoring range.
Watching a ball go wide while the Derry player stood at the line. Caught it and recycled for a point. This happens with Monaghan players at all grades for years and years. While a Kerry player always follows the ball in. In case it comes off an upright or does not go wide and a scoring opportunity arrives.
The team were unlucky and could have won. But Derry dominated the possession and deserved the win."
The U20's were unlucky to lose, but at the same time Derry were the better team. If that sounds contradictory , then the game itself would bear evidence to that. Derry dominated possession, had a stranglehold at midfield and pressed Monaghan all over the pitch. At the same time Monaghan were defensively resolute, well organised, had a huge workrate and this kept them in the game . Bar for a shot cleared of the line , Monaghan could have won the game. Monaghan started minus S Mooney , who was left out for inclusion in the senior panel. That was a major loss to the U20 team to be minus their star player. To make things more difficult they lost McQuillan to injury in the 1st half (and he was playing well) and also Mee to injury as well after 15 mins.

This U20 team really lacks a dominate midfielder. The only specialist midfielder is McMahon from Toome who was a passenger in the first half. J Mooney is an excellent keeper, very safe under a high ball and comfortable in possession. Some very good defenders , especially Doogan-Burke, Carolan and Callan. Carey and Hughes work very hard for teh team. Up front, McCaul is a handful and he looks set to be the next one from this group of players to be promoted to the senior side. He tortured the Derry defence and he would have done more if his team mates had supplied more ball to him. The U20's have already qualified to the knockout round with one game left to play against Tyrone. I'd imagine some squad players will get a start against Tyrone. Monaghan will likely play Cavan or Armagh in the next round.

If the injuries clear up and S Mooney is available for selection they are not far off getting to a final.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 05/04/2024 14:24:19    2535838

We look strong defensively, midfield should break even, but I'd expect at least two changes in the forwards before throw in on Sunday. Probably not the right thing to do, but I'd say Rory starts.

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 05/04/2024 15:08:23    2535852

Replying To BrehonBlonde:  "We look strong defensively, midfield should break even, but I'd expect at least two changes in the forwards before throw in on Sunday. Probably not the right thing to do, but I'd say Rory starts."
Jones has to start & of course Bannigan but obviously not fully fit or he wouldn't be on the bench. O'Hanlon a huge miss...no matter who we're playing !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 05/04/2024 15:55:11    2535863

Replying To sleater:  "The U20's were unlucky to lose, but at the same time Derry were the better team. If that sounds contradictory , then the game itself would bear evidence to that. Derry dominated possession, had a stranglehold at midfield and pressed Monaghan all over the pitch. At the same time Monaghan were defensively resolute, well organised, had a huge workrate and this kept them in the game . Bar for a shot cleared of the line , Monaghan could have won the game. Monaghan started minus S Mooney , who was left out for inclusion in the senior panel. That was a major loss to the U20 team to be minus their star player. To make things more difficult they lost McQuillan to injury in the 1st half (and he was playing well) and also Mee to injury as well after 15 mins.

This U20 team really lacks a dominate midfielder. The only specialist midfielder is McMahon from Toome who was a passenger in the first half. J Mooney is an excellent keeper, very safe under a high ball and comfortable in possession. Some very good defenders , especially Doogan-Burke, Carolan and Callan. Carey and Hughes work very hard for teh team. Up front, McCaul is a handful and he looks set to be the next one from this group of players to be promoted to the senior side. He tortured the Derry defence and he would have done more if his team mates had supplied more ball to him. The U20's have already qualified to the knockout round with one game left to play against Tyrone. I'd imagine some squad players will get a start against Tyrone. Monaghan will likely play Cavan or Armagh in the next round.

If the injuries clear up and S Mooney is available for selection they are not far off getting to a final."
They have not. They need to win next week.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 05/04/2024 16:55:02    2535881

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Jones has to start & of course Bannigan but obviously not fully fit or he wouldn't be on the bench. O'Hanlon a huge miss...no matter who we're playing !"
Agreed Jones time is now as a championship starter. Mcenespie o hanlon and bannigan along with Mccarthy are the heartbeat of this side. Could do with Bannigan starting.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1800 - 05/04/2024 19:45:48    2535914

Replying To sleater:  "The U20's were unlucky to lose, but at the same time Derry were the better team. If that sounds contradictory , then the game itself would bear evidence to that. Derry dominated possession, had a stranglehold at midfield and pressed Monaghan all over the pitch. At the same time Monaghan were defensively resolute, well organised, had a huge workrate and this kept them in the game . Bar for a shot cleared of the line , Monaghan could have won the game. Monaghan started minus S Mooney , who was left out for inclusion in the senior panel. That was a major loss to the U20 team to be minus their star player. To make things more difficult they lost McQuillan to injury in the 1st half (and he was playing well) and also Mee to injury as well after 15 mins.

If the injuries clear up and S Mooney is available for selection they are not far off getting to a final."
Absolute disgrace that Mooney wasn't allowed play with the u20s.. deflating for both players and management… Banty did the same with Andrew mulligan a few years ago and we've seen how that's worked out since… it's not as if we have a bag full of u20 ulster championships.. if we're depending on Mooney to see us over the line against Cavan well then we're in a bad place…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 05/04/2024 20:13:39    2535919

Replying To mick2007:  "Absolute disgrace that Mooney wasn't allowed play with the u20s.. deflating for both players and management… Banty did the same with Andrew mulligan a few years ago and we've seen how that's worked out since… it's not as if we have a bag full of u20 ulster championships.. if we're depending on Mooney to see us over the line against Cavan well then we're in a bad place…"
Well is the whole idea of it to play senior football for his county which he is doing …u20 is a stepping stone in that. If he played he can't play this weekend

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 05/04/2024 22:03:19    2535937

Sadly with all cavans injuries i dont think even Banty could save cavan on sunday

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 06/04/2024 10:56:04    2535968