Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Direct running at pace won the day especially from O Hanlon, thought Lavelle was immense too. We probably deserved the win, left more scores behind than Dublin, and could have got a second penalty soon after the first, having said that we got some decisions go out way too. Was wondering does McCaffrey have to abide by the same rules as everyone else the amount of fouls he committed
Great to see our young lads win in Croke Park improving our win ratio there has been an issue so all good today anyway"
Second penalty call was much clearer than the first (which was a bit soft) but ref can't give a penalty while he is still playing advantage for a free. A bit of a dodgy rule.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 27/01/2024 23:10:56    2522537

Well done Monaghan.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 27/01/2024 23:13:19    2522538

Fair play to the young lads tonight. They dug in and refused to lie down. You can have all the ability in the world but if you don't have that in built ignorance to refuse to accept defeat your going no where. The futures not that bad by the look of things. A lot of the pundits questioned our leadership now Mansy n Darren Hughes are phasing out but going by Stephen O 'Hanlons performance we have nothing to worry about on that front. Fair play to the kind comments from Roscommon posters, l always love to see Ros do well. Like ourselves they have feck all advantages of population or employment opportunities but still put a team together that can compete

TheHunter (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 27/01/2024 23:19:00    2522539

Proud of that performance, some great young lads there who took their chances tonight. Well done boys

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/01/2024 00:03:45    2522544

Replying To ComainRos:  "Well done Monaghan, what a win and fully deserved. Year after year you just upset the narrative and prove a lot.of people wrong. Early days yet of course but Monaghan will be no pushover any stage of the season. By the looks of things you'll not miss Rory eggan too much either. Well done McDonnell and also a shout out to Stephen O' Hanlon. What a player when on form. That's Derry, Cavan, Monaghan and Carlow who've had wins on the road so far. Hopefully the Rossies can join that list tomorrow evening"
Roscommon are a team to watch this year

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/01/2024 00:05:49    2522547

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Well done Monaghan great result tonight and great style of play from a young team ye may well run us close in the first round of ulster now."
Run yas back home

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/01/2024 00:07:23    2522548

Replying To TheHunter:  "Fair play to the young lads tonight. They dug in and refused to lie down. You can have all the ability in the world but if you don't have that in built ignorance to refuse to accept defeat your going no where. The futures not that bad by the look of things. A lot of the pundits questioned our leadership now Mansy n Darren Hughes are phasing out but going by Stephen O 'Hanlons performance we have nothing to worry about on that front. Fair play to the kind comments from Roscommon posters, l always love to see Ros do well. Like ourselves they have feck all advantages of population or employment opportunities but still put a team together that can compete"
I have huge admiration for yourselves and Roscommon. Over the past decade you have put counties like Kildare and Meath to shame with your consistency and competitiveness, despite having to make do with far fewer resources.
As well as this, you both play an exciting and direct style of football, with a willingness to take on the opponent. It's refreshing in contrast to the damage limitation style employed by so many others.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 28/01/2024 08:28:59    2522557

Fantastic stuff from Monaghan, well done, Ulster football is in a good place, great to see young talent coming through, massive scalp beating the dubs at home.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 28/01/2024 08:37:09    2522560

Leaving croke Park last summer after loss to dublin was disappointed but proud as knew monaghan were in good hands. That refusal to yield or lie down in face of supposedly superior opposition is ingrained in this group and is being passed on. We were well weakened last night taking the field but monaghan sides no matter who the opposition always believe they can win and will give any team their fill of it. Looked like gallant effort would fall short as dublin piled forward for the winner in those last minutes but that confidence of youth and pace had its day. Early days but great start .

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 28/01/2024 08:47:32    2522566

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "Roscommon are a team to watch this year"
Hopefully. Always liked Monaghan. Kavanagh's poems and Big Tom's songs. Plenty of footballers coming through too even as Beggan and Hughes depart and Conor McManus nears the end of his career. Ye seem to have landed a good Manager in Vinny Corey and that's so important to bring on and develop the young players. No stony grey soil to worry about there.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 28/01/2024 09:47:27    2522579

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I have huge admiration for yourselves and Roscommon. Over the past decade you have put counties like Kildare and Meath to shame with your consistency and competitiveness, despite having to make do with far fewer resources.
As well as this, you both play an exciting and direct style of football, with a willingness to take on the opponent. It's refreshing in contrast to the damage limitation style employed by so many others."
Post very much appreciated. Hopefully we can do the business also in Omagh today. We'll done Monaghan. A brand new team but the same old spirit! Division 1 is going to be very interesting this year.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 28/01/2024 09:51:24    2522582

Replying To endgame:  "Hopefully. Always liked Monaghan. Kavanagh's poems and Big Tom's songs. Plenty of footballers coming through too even as Beggan and Hughes depart and Conor McManus nears the end of his career. Ye seem to have landed a good Manager in Vinny Corey and that's so important to bring on and develop the young players. No stony grey soil to worry about there."
Agree with your sentiments, not sure about includingv Big Tom's songs.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 28/01/2024 10:37:30    2522592

Replying To endgame:  "Hopefully. Always liked Monaghan. Kavanagh's poems and Big Tom's songs. Plenty of footballers coming through too even as Beggan and Hughes depart and Conor McManus nears the end of his career. Ye seem to have landed a good Manager in Vinny Corey and that's so important to bring on and develop the young players. No stony grey soil to worry about there."
Yeah very happy with the young lads coming in . But we'll not get carried away . I fancy roscommon to win today

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/01/2024 10:38:17    2522594

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Post very much appreciated. Hopefully we can do the business also in Omagh today. We'll done Monaghan. A brand new team but the same old spirit! Division 1 is going to be very interesting this year."
Great win last night and great atmosphere, does anyone know the attendance? Well over 20000 I'd say . Definitely a better team when they run at the opposition. To many good performances to mention but it's hard to beat the youth, they all took the challenge by both horns and delivered. Vinny and co had it spot on with selection and changes . Last night was a breath of fresh air ,we haven't gone away y'know !

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 28/01/2024 11:14:08    2522602

Good win for you yesterday. You should stay up, at the very least. Looked a very young team out. Are a lot of the old heads no longer playing or have you a lot of lads to come back in. Hopefully, with us bringing some good young fellas through as well, we'll renew to rivalry properly in April.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 28/01/2024 11:29:37    2522607

Great win lads. O'Hanlon is great to watch and really caused us problems. Looking forward to seeing more of him. You're forwards were very good last night and you could have netted 4 in reality. Dubs need to regroup now for some more tough games. Monaghan still missing some players and should be in good nick if they play like that with a full strength squad.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/01/2024 11:49:25    2522611

The management have to given credit for the bravery shown last night. Was it 8 Div 1 debutantes last night, though some on here still think dropping a division is the place to blood new players
The final score was indicative of the management's approach, 2 new lads attacking at pace, ball in one hand (by both) and execution was refreshing to see, that kind of thing not only improves confidence but makes them hungry for more. When McEnespie went off it would have been tempting to turn to O Connell, but instead went for McNulty, then Mooney, Treanor and Woods. Dublin went for experience to see it out
Post match interviews, Corry spoke about 4 or 5 year project, Farrell about getting his ducks in a row for later in the year, if I were a young player I know where I'd rather be

We should not get carried away, a lot of things went our way last night, not least Farrell's defensive tactics. Next week will be tougher in some respects, but we can get something out of it as I don't think Kerry will call on the Cliffords yet with the fixtures they have (3 home games still to come). Hope Kerry bring a good crowd should be a cracker

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/01/2024 12:04:59    2522615

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I have huge admiration for yourselves and Roscommon. Over the past decade you have put counties like Kildare and Meath to shame with your consistency and competitiveness, despite having to make do with far fewer resources.
As well as this, you both play an exciting and direct style of football, with a willingness to take on the opponent. It's refreshing in contrast to the damage limitation style employed by so many others."
I'd agree with this post, fantastic by both counties and Monaghan continue to impress and turn out new players, and as a follower of Monaghan club football I am not surprised, well done

Liftball (Armagh) - Posts: 12 - 28/01/2024 12:32:03    2522621

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Good win for you yesterday. You should stay up, at the very least. Looked a very young team out. Are a lot of the old heads no longer playing or have you a lot of lads to come back in. Hopefully, with us bringing some good young fellas through as well, we'll renew to rivalry properly in April."
7th of April too early for championship match isn't it

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/01/2024 13:59:50    2522639

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Good win for you yesterday. You should stay up, at the very least. Looked a very young team out. Are a lot of the old heads no longer playing or have you a lot of lads to come back in. Hopefully, with us bringing some good young fellas through as well, we'll renew to rivalry properly in April."
Rivalry?

To be Monaghan's rivals, we'd need to hand back 5 All Irelands and about 20 Ulsters ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 28/01/2024 14:24:03    2522645