Westmeath Football thread

Our 17s lost all three matches, two of them comprehensively, you suggested that they under performed and that great things were expected of this group. Based on beating a Dublin selection last year?? What other basis did we expect great things? They were well below the standard of other teams in the championship and had everyone available in the county. We were also small compared to other teams. S and C since Oct won't change that much. In relation to other comments that our 20s could be competing for last 3 years for All Ireland's and therefore the 2021 group are now 22 years old and yet strangely barely one of them making starting senior team?? That makes no sense. Who are these potential all Ireland winners? Name them? Otherwise argument is just bluster

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 28/04/2023 17:50:01    2474434

Replying To Thechick:  "I know what you refer to and no one refused to play ,the incident in question resulted in a player leaving last year due to lack of playing time and seemingly this resulted in a standoff where he didnt go in this year and no one looked for him either. We dont have that many 19/20 year olds continuously holding a first team place in senior championship and scoring regularly, we need everyone ,even if it means people on both sides swallowing their pride. it was one issue,not "some of those". It was a pity,Westmeath lost out in the end."
Hard Luck to the Lads it was close im sure their clubs will be delighted to have them back for the leagues etc . On the changing of management that some mentioned It was Coralstown/kinnegad who won back to back u19 championship yet there was very few players on the u20s panel since they Won the last two years . Unlike the senior westmeath panel they have alot over the years from St Lomans the senior champions for numerous years . Your Club is the most important to most players as its a more realistic chance of Winning something at the end of the day and it's with your pals you have played with all the way up since kids you are picked on your skills and ability. Roll on the Championship

Bettyboo22 (Westmeath) - Posts: 108 - 28/04/2023 19:13:40    2474441

Replying To Wmeath2:  "Waste of time giving lads a program, letting them off for 3 years and see them again at U20 without regular monitoring, testing and development from a full time expert. The likes of Roscommom, Offaly, Wexford and Clare (teams we can compete with!) all have full time S&C coaches who oversee this from U14 through to senior. We are genuinely light years behind these counties now, never mind Kildare, Dublin, Galway, etc. Westmeath have always relied on generational players like Dessie and Heslin to carry us. The minor management team were with them since U14. Did anyone from the county board monitor their progress, implement S&C, were the best players committing, was the training of a high enough standard, or were they just happy that a few lads were taking the team and that box was ticked?"
I certainly haven't suggested letting them off for 3 years, I suggest setting them up with s&c programs and getting the best onto next years 20s and developing them over the next 3 years. I agree on the box ticking. Are the best people being headhunted for these roles, the answer is probably no and that's reflected in the performances.

TigerWoods90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 142 - 29/04/2023 11:32:31    2474490

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Our 17s lost all three matches, two of them comprehensively, you suggested that they under performed and that great things were expected of this group. Based on beating a Dublin selection last year?? What other basis did we expect great things? They were well below the standard of other teams in the championship and had everyone available in the county. We were also small compared to other teams. S and C since Oct won't change that much. In relation to other comments that our 20s could be competing for last 3 years for All Ireland's and therefore the 2021 group are now 22 years old and yet strangely barely one of them making starting senior team?? That makes no sense. Who are these potential all Ireland winners? Name them? Otherwise argument is just bluster"
You obviously feel very strong that this was the maximum that group could have achieved.
If so, we can agree to disagree once again. In my opinion there was very little structure to their play, the team was juggled around for each game, players played in multiple positions, 3 players went to rugby trials the day of a Leinster championship game. So I feel the setup wasn't good enough. I'm not saying that they should be winning the all Ireland but I'm saying we should be competing much better than we have. Are the county board actually funding these management teams to provide s&c etc., I would say probably not. Is there any plan in place for those 17 year olds to develop into better county players over the next 3 years? Again, probably not. So essentially it's down to the clubs to try and provide the best environment for them to improve to a competitive intercounty level. But letting each age group just drift by is exactly why we are being passed by what we would have traditionally called weaker counties.

TigerWoods90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 142 - 29/04/2023 11:42:26    2474492

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Our 17s lost all three matches, two of them comprehensively, you suggested that they under performed and that great things were expected of this group. Based on beating a Dublin selection last year?? What other basis did we expect great things? They were well below the standard of other teams in the championship and had everyone available in the county. We were also small compared to other teams. S and C since Oct won't change that much. In relation to other comments that our 20s could be competing for last 3 years for All Ireland's and therefore the 2021 group are now 22 years old and yet strangely barely one of them making starting senior team?? That makes no sense. Who are these potential all Ireland winners? Name them? Otherwise argument is just bluster"
Never expected nor thought they should be winning an all ireland but if you look at the talent available to these teams along with how they were knocked out each year I feel like they should've done better then they did, 2 years ago losing narrowly to Offaly who won the the all ireland that year, they had the beating of Dublin in Parnell Park last year but collapsed and this year a mixture of injuries along with other factors. Also playing Senior county is a full time commitment that not everyone had the time for. Also most lads between 19 and 22 would be in college making travelling back 2 or 3 times a week to train unpractical

Midlandsman (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 29/04/2023 15:10:51    2474529

Replying To TigerWoods90:  "I certainly haven't suggested letting them off for 3 years, I suggest setting them up with s&c programs and getting the best onto next years 20s and developing them over the next 3 years. I agree on the box ticking. Are the best people being headhunted for these roles, the answer is probably no and that's reflected in the performances."
Any good coach or manager worth their salt is getting paid to coach a club team so you're left with what's left after that.

Wmeath2 (Westmeath) - Posts: 176 - 29/04/2023 19:56:19    2474564

I'd agree that it's surprising to not see some of the better u20's over the last few years not feature/be involved at all at senior. Hard to know what the story is.

How did Devin Hill do in club championship last year ? He looked a great prospect at u20. Surely worth a look at senior. TJ cox also always plays well for Lomans and is a talent . can't seem to get minutes off the bench for county .

I do think Of this years u20 crop I could see Murtagh , leech , Whitaker , baker , mccartan , scahill and smyth playing consistently for Westmeath over the next while though.

Lakecounty94 (Westmeath) - Posts: 58 - 29/04/2023 23:21:17    2474629

You'd have to wonder how many lads on here actually go to games , some of the comments regarding young players in the county are so far off it's unreal

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 232 - 30/04/2023 12:46:04    2474693

What's wrong with what he posted? Surely those lads he mentioned are potential future seniors?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 30/04/2023 13:57:28    2474703

In fact chick if those lads he mentioned don't make county seniors in the next couple of years them we're in bother, each of those lads played very well for the 20s and for their clubs last year. I'd add the Kinnegad pair of Brian Cooney and Podge Quinn and The Downs have lads who played on the county under 20 hurling team like Josh Murtagh, Oisin Loughlin and young Lynam from Joseph's is a fine keeper.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 30/04/2023 15:49:23    2474721

Replying To Claretandblue:  "In fact chick if those lads he mentioned don't make county seniors in the next couple of years them we're in bother, each of those lads played very well for the 20s and for their clubs last year. I'd add the Kinnegad pair of Brian Cooney and Podge Quinn and The Downs have lads who played on the county under 20 hurling team like Josh Murtagh, Oisin Loughlin and young Lynam from Joseph's is a fine keeper."
You just proved my point

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 232 - 30/04/2023 17:59:29    2474757

Try to answer the question asked chick. At least one or two clearly you disagree with on that list, who do you not rate of those lads? Why? Who else deserves to be considered?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 30/04/2023 19:04:15    2474786

All Ireland draw is today at 1PM

Best group we can get:

Derry/Armagh (Home)
Sligo (Away)
Monaghan (Neutral)
Westmeath

Worst group we can get:

Kerry (Home)
Armagh/Derry (Away)
Mayo (Neutral)
Westmeath

Our home game will be against either Kerry, Galway, Dublin or Winners of Ulster. Can't wait to see Cusack Park packed out against a top team.

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 386 - 02/05/2023 10:24:07    2474955

Replying To Temple56:  "All Ireland draw is today at 1PM

Best group we can get:

Derry/Armagh (Home)
Sligo (Away)
Monaghan (Neutral)
Westmeath

Worst group we can get:

Kerry (Home)
Armagh/Derry (Away)
Mayo (Neutral)
Westmeath

Our home game will be against either Kerry, Galway, Dublin or Winners of Ulster. Can't wait to see Cusack Park packed out against a top team."
we have the worst draw galway tyrone and either armagh or derry

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1801 - 02/05/2023 14:40:26    2475103

Replying To mickcunningham:  "we have the worst draw galway tyrone and either armagh or derry"
At least a full house for visit of Galway

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 02/05/2023 14:52:55    2475110

Replying To mickcunningham:  "we have the worst draw galway tyrone and either armagh or derry"
Extremley tough group.. dessie has his work cut out for himself. It was always going to come down to beating the provincial losers to get out of group. We just happen to get the best provincial loser. Could be a tough way for some players to end careers but on we go

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 02/05/2023 16:07:16    2475161

Nightmare draw, needed momentum of leinster final place to make any impact in all ireland series. I know it's going over old ground but the Louth game was so damaging it can't be underestimated. Bottom line is that Louth, Roscommon have gone about things right way with long term plan, westmeath with a make it up as ya go along plan. Real worry is for westmeath football beyond this year, cud a new management coax some of the more experienced players to remain and is there some youth to add in.. Bigger question again is whether there is the funds or the will at top level to go for an experienced manager.. Dessie a legend but board made a mess of things and need to hold their hands up

philbrown (Westmeath) - Posts: 228 - 02/05/2023 18:46:04    2475236

Replying To Upforthegame23:  "Extremley tough group.. dessie has his work cut out for himself. It was always going to come down to beating the provincial losers to get out of group. We just happen to get the best provincial loser. Could be a tough way for some players to end careers but on we go"
I really took to Westmeath last year and really enjoyed the Tailteann Cup final vs Cavan in Croke Park. Me and the brother went in to watch it before our semi-final with Galway and it was a great spectacle. I fully expected Westmeath to kick on this year but ye were really disappointing in the league. I wouldn't fancy a trip to Mullingar all the same first day out. It would be a tricky one although we would still feel that we should win with a bit to spare.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 02/05/2023 19:44:20    2475242

Going to be extremely difficult to progress from this tough group but im sure Dessie and his squad will give it a good go.Problem is do you build for the future now and introduce some of the younger lads or stick with the older lads-some of whom may decide to retire from inter county at the end of this championship.Against the opposition we have been drawn with we definately need experience but when is the right time introduce new faces-wait until next year div 3 and stick with them-Scahill was excellant all thru the league but wasnt used against Louth-to me he should be a pernament fixture but was youth the reason for his no show??

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 165 - 03/05/2023 11:31:33    2475361

Reality is we need to start planning for future, we're not going to be in next year's Sam Maguire bar an unlikely draw in Leinster, will be minimum of two years before we qualify by finishing in top 5-6 in div 2 of league, we finished 21st this year, hard to see us finishing 14th in two years time. That means the core central group like Kevin Mag, Kieran Mart, Jason, John H, Jimmy D and possibly others will be well into autumn of inter county careers, these lads backboned Leinster under 21 side in 2010, 34-35 years old by 2025 with exception of John H. 7-8 of this year's under 20s need to be blooded, Sam Smyth in defence, Danny Scahill, Dillon Murtagh, Matt Whittaker when fit, Danny McCartan, Briain Cooney, Definitely brought on to senior panel immediately and tried, will be difficult but beneficial long term.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 03/05/2023 14:01:03    2475418