Westmeath Football thread

Replying To mickcunningham:  "How in God's name do you think westmeath are in contention for promotion. We have no earthly chance of promotion indeed I think it's good that tipp and Longford are so poor. We caved in against cavan and again yesterday evening. One player from the County champions is all we have and to me that says it all. We should beat antrim. We will not beat fermanagh and probably will beat tipp. A defeat to Louth in championship first round. That sums up what I see. Now Dessie and team prove this old supporter wrong"
Think you have it spot on there Mick. I think Antrim is the only match we could say we should win. No chance against Fermanagh and it'll be 50/50 against Tipp and we don't do 50/50's well. Promotion is gone. We should be happy to avoid relegation in Dessie's first year. Louth is looking a very tall order for us but certainly one that we can win but the attitude has to be right.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 601 - 27/02/2023 08:45:19    2460534

Ah doom and gloom from "Westmeath supporters" on here after a loss . We put ourselves in a winning position but couldnt push on. Game over and we move on to the next one. Some already writing us off against Louth on the basis of our collapse in Newry and they themselves fortuitously beating a declining Meath team.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 27/02/2023 10:57:26    2460583

Jaysus lads ye are gone very negative all of a sudden. Yes Newry was a disaster and I wasn't at it but sometimes teams just get a run on you. Maybe our bench isn't what it needs to be - Kieran Martin only came on at 60 mins and realistically he's our only real impact sub at the moment. But while promotion now seems unlikely I give us a great chance v Fermanagh and expect wins v Antrim and Tipp.
Mick when you reference only one player from The Downs, what do you mean ? Should there be more ? Looking at The Downs team v Kinnegad last week in the league, looks like they had just 5 or 6 starters from the Leinster Final. A combination of injuries, lads travelling and some caught up in various county squads.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 27/02/2023 11:06:47    2460590

Replying To Meridian:  "Think you have it spot on there Mick. I think Antrim is the only match we could say we should win. No chance against Fermanagh and it'll be 50/50 against Tipp and we don't do 50/50's well. Promotion is gone. We should be happy to avoid relegation in Dessie's first year. Louth is looking a very tall order for us but certainly one that we can win but the attitude has to be right."
Its still February calm down.

Leftpeg1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 88 - 27/02/2023 12:29:58    2460628

While the result was very dissapointing on sat night and frustrating in the end but for 45 mins Westmeath played some excellant football and were well deserving of their 7 pt lead.At that stage the game was won-you dont need to win it twice-you then manage it and see it thru but we failed to do that.Some dubious calls from referee Gough didnt help their cause and I dont know what John Heslin has to do to get a free -hes a marked man and gets no protection.From 7 pts up you have to get something out of a game but I can see 3 teams finishing on 10 pts and Westmeaths scoring difference could get them over the line.Have faith all is not lost just yet but very poor support for our lads in Newry on sat night which is a shame..

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 27/02/2023 13:39:17    2460654

Replying To BigSur:  "Jaysus lads ye are gone very negative all of a sudden. Yes Newry was a disaster and I wasn't at it but sometimes teams just get a run on you. Maybe our bench isn't what it needs to be - Kieran Martin only came on at 60 mins and realistically he's our only real impact sub at the moment. But while promotion now seems unlikely I give us a great chance v Fermanagh and expect wins v Antrim and Tipp.
Mick when you reference only one player from The Downs, what do you mean ? Should there be more ? Looking at The Downs team v Kinnegad last week in the league, looks like they had just 5 or 6 starters from the Leinster Final. A combination of injuries, lads travelling and some caught up in various county squads."
they are county champions and leinster finalists big sur what do you think

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 27/02/2023 14:26:54    2460676

Replying To A_Chairde:  "Ah doom and gloom from "Westmeath supporters" on here after a loss . We put ourselves in a winning position but couldnt push on. Game over and we move on to the next one. Some already writing us off against Louth on the basis of our collapse in Newry and they themselves fortuitously beating a declining Meath team."
yes i am

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 27/02/2023 14:27:45    2460677

Replying To Leftpeg1:  "Its still February calm down."
half way through the league i think we are too calm

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 27/02/2023 14:28:28    2460679

A very disappointing way to lose it in the end, we completely lost the heads once Down were awarded the penalty midway through the second half. As someone put it, several of referee Gough's decisions were "dubious" at best and downright bizarre at worst. I was certainly scratching my head at several decisions. But we only have ourselves to blame, to throw away a 7-point lead and not score for the final 25 minutes says it all really. Thought we needed changes around the middle earlier when some were clearly not performing to potential. All is not lost however, we will need to finish with 3 wins to have any hope of promotion,which in itself is a big ask based on Saturday evening.
As a footnote, the behaviour of the Down supporters as John Heslin lined up a free to level it in injury time was disgraceful and has no place in our games..watching too much soccer it seems.

TheLineKing (Westmeath) - Posts: 18 - 27/02/2023 14:31:09    2460680

Replying To Leftpeg1:  "Its still February calm down."
I dont agree.Newry was a fiasco but if we learn and grow some balls we should have too much for Antrim and Tipp.We are also well fit to beat Fermanagh and 10 points might just be enough.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 27/02/2023 14:43:19    2460686

I'm a Down supporter and was at the game and I feel some supporters are being very hard on the Westmeath team. They were too good for Down for about 45 minutes of the game. I was impressed by how efficient their attack was compared to Downs especially in the first half. They got up the field quicker and dispatched their shots without all the endless circling of the perimeter by the Down team. They won plenty of ball in midfield, and probably could have and should have scored more to leave a bigger gap at halftime.

A few tactical changes by Down, a more direct attacking approach and maybe a bit of tiredness in the Westmeath team opened the door for Down. One of the things that maybe hurt Westmeath was when they were on top they didn't really try to finish Down off, they started to slow things down and the backs started passing the ball sideways and back and I think this disrupted their rhythm.

I know from reading the Westmeath forum that the team has difficulty playing effectively for a full seventy minutes but that's a problem for a lot of teams including Down and takes time and experience to change. I didn't see any lack of effort from your players and John Heslin is a treat to watch. It's not easy winning away and you have a new management set up, I think there's more to come from the team and wish them well.

Newmitch (Down) - Posts: 97 - 27/02/2023 18:54:18    2460805

With the Down disappointment behind them, westmeath need to move on and prepare for antrim, fermanagh and Tipp. Get the max 10 pts and see where it brings them. I think it might still be enough but we are relying on other results and the head to head won't suit. With Antrim in mind, does Dessie stick or twist with players. Dessie referenced the u20s after game sat, and U20 have a game Saturday so whittaker,leech, smith and cooney will probaly stay with them this weekend, Baker and scahill will be needed for snr game Sunday. Is there many more on the Extended panel that have not seen game time yet. Of those released back to the clubs earlier, have any of them stepped up at club level, Kevin o sullivan of the downs is a very talented player

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 01/03/2023 08:53:16    2461076

To go back to Mick's previous comment about the county champions only having 1 starter, it's interesting you mention Kevin O'Sullivan who I believe was deemed surplus to requirements by DD. The county's loss is the club's gain. He's a young hard working wing forward / midfielder and am surprised he's not involved. Defenders Joe Moran and Peter Murray 2 decent footballers. Conor Coughlan is travelling. I thought Andrew Kilmartin had a great season and a very lively forward. Of course Jonathan Lynam and Trevor Martin are subs. While the county first 15 pretty much picks itself, the bench does need strengthening and I am surprised at some of the names currently included.
In terms of injuries, what is the latest on Jamie Gonoud and Jack Smith ? Both will go straight back into the team when available you'd imagine.

Just looking at Andy McEntee's Antrim results in the first 4 games, they put up some decent score lines.
R1: Antrim 0-12, Offaly 2-12.
R2: Down 2-18, Antrim 2-17.
R3: Tipperary 0-14, Antrim 1-19.
R4: Antrim 3-9, Fermanagh 2-13.
Obviously conceded a good bit too so am confident we can outscore them.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 01/03/2023 15:12:42    2461227

Replying To Newmitch:  "I'm a Down supporter and was at the game and I feel some supporters are being very hard on the Westmeath team. They were too good for Down for about 45 minutes of the game. I was impressed by how efficient their attack was compared to Downs especially in the first half. They got up the field quicker and dispatched their shots without all the endless circling of the perimeter by the Down team. They won plenty of ball in midfield, and probably could have and should have scored more to leave a bigger gap at halftime.

A few tactical changes by Down, a more direct attacking approach and maybe a bit of tiredness in the Westmeath team opened the door for Down. One of the things that maybe hurt Westmeath was when they were on top they didn't really try to finish Down off, they started to slow things down and the backs started passing the ball sideways and back and I think this disrupted their rhythm.

I know from reading the Westmeath forum that the team has difficulty playing effectively for a full seventy minutes but that's a problem for a lot of teams including Down and takes time and experience to change. I didn't see any lack of effort from your players and John Heslin is a treat to watch. It's not easy winning away and you have a new management set up, I think there's more to come from the team and wish them well."
Thanks for bringing a bit of sanity back into the conversation, good to know it wasn't all doom and gloom!
For as long as I've been a Westmeath supporter we've always been the same, we have a lot of fans that like to always put a negative spin on things no matter how well we're travelling! It's still early days for Dessie & co, plenty of young lads being blooded and a long way to go in the season yet. Keep the faith!

Lakers.for.Sam (Westmeath) - Posts: 79 - 02/03/2023 10:04:39    2461347

U20 team named for armagh game, looks strong on paper, leech not named, is he going to be involved sunday against Antrim. Damien gavin has been competitive over the last few years as u20s manager. Very good guy to be involved with the lads and bringing them through to snr. Cruise from kinnegad doesn't seem to be involved at all with u20s, decent player.

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 03/03/2023 19:21:40    2461671

Mentioned few posts ago that Callum Cruise opted out this year, certainly a loss, think Sean Leech got injured for Killucan in Division 2 last weekend, doubtful for 20s championship.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 04/03/2023 11:27:05    2461728

Armagh U20's win 2-8, 0-9 in Kinnegad, result never really in doubt. Goals win games and the second one in particular was a killer in terms of momentum etc, coming from a short kickout that went astray. The visitors were much more aggresive, physical and very defensive but best team from start to finish. Ormsby (just up from U17 I think) along with Murtagh worked hard at midfield with McCartan our main scoring threat. A bad tempered match at times, a Westmeath mentor saw red at one stage for verbals on the sideline. One Armagh mentor was particularly noisy complaining about almost every decision but nearly every team has one. Both teams went down the tunnel at the break together which led to a bit of scuffle. On the pitch there were lots of cards of various colours but never got overly dangerous. Best wishes to the Armagh forward who left on a stretcher and subsequently ambulance for a possible collarbone injury sustained from a fair shoulder. Baker and Scahill will obviously add alot to the team in due course. Leech will be a big loss if out inured. Surprised Pierson from Tyrrellspass didnt get a run as forwards weren't getting any change from the Armagh blanket. Cooney who was the only other scoring threat went off injured at the break. Didnt see the stats but most of our scores came from frees I'd say. So what's next for 20's ?

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 04/03/2023 16:10:00    2461778

These games are great preparation for Leinster championship, we've been really competitive in our defeats and the style of play and level of aggression today possibly surprised our lads. On the field it was ultra competitive but generally sporting, the same could not be said on the sideline however, can only imagine Armagh selectors and coaches in an Ulster championship match based on their carry on in a tournament game today. Non stop at the referee and opposition sideline from first whistle. Totally unnecessary and a major factor as to why things spilled over at half time. Daniel Scahill and Senan Baker will obviously improve things but probably stating the obvious we'll struggle to get many scores against a team that operates a blanket defence. Dillon Murtagh has developed into a very decent midfielder and a potential county senior in 2 years. Young Ormsby has lots of ability and did well today, it's a very big ask for a lad under 17 last year to play against 20 year olds in such a key position. Sean Leech a loss but they have time to plan for his absence. Think the younger Baker lad is a possible starter come championship.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 04/03/2023 16:59:42    2461788

Westmeath need the win and a performance today. Hopefully the crowd show up and support westmeath. Team named looks decent but will it start. Presume lynch won't be corner forward but will play.

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 05/03/2023 09:01:46    2461861

Big performance and result needed from Westmeath today to carry into the Fermanagh game in 2 weeks.Also hope the fans turn up in big numbers to support the lads-hugely outnumbered against Cavan and probably 50-50 against Offaly.I hear a lot of negative comments against Dessie and his squad from people who dont even go to the home games never mind the away ones .Every team need support and definately the huge home support in Newry last saturday evening helped the Down team get over the line.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 05/03/2023 10:59:30    2461891