Westmeath Football thread

Ended up with 13. Beat themselves.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 27/03/2024 22:23:55    2534198

Replying To Temple56:  "Brilliant for 45 mins before red card. They were streets ahead of a poor Louth team. Inside forward line of McHugh, Lough and Scahill very impressive. Adam Smyth of Maryland/Tang was also very impressive however he picked up a red in injury time and he will miss next game.

Silly red card after 45 mins changed the game and Louth pinned Westmeath into there own half for the rest of the game and came from 5 points behind with the help of a strong wind. Thought the ref was poor overall for both teams but he got the 1st red card right. Ref never let the game flow and was pulling players for over carrying and fouling the ball on the ground way too much! 2nd red card was very harsh and the Louth player tricked the referee with a jump to the ground. Hopefully Westmeath appeal it.

Thought in after 45 mins it was one of the best minor performances over the last 10 years unfortunately things seem to collapse after that. They will have to go back to the drawing board now and need a win against either Meath or Kildare to get out of the group"
Well summed up. That red card really killed us, absolutely threw the game away

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 175 - 27/03/2024 23:17:27    2534211

A disappointing few days on the football front despite promotion to Div 2 on Sunday. It's pretty clear that the nucleus of our senior team are nearing the end of their careers at that level and div 2 next year will be a massive challenge to gain the 5-6 points necessary to avoid immediate relegation. Temple was in Louth for the minor game and gave a detailed summary, think their playing Kildare next and Kildare hammered Meath last night, Kildare minors in recent years have been Leinster's best side consistently, the Kinnegad showing on Tuesday at under 20 level was very concerning, Dublin were superior in every facet of play, our skill levels couldn't cope with their tackling, physicality, their centre back Clyde Burke would be on 25-26 senior inter county teams already, outstanding player, obviously our 20s got the toughest possible draw with Meath away next, a promising Meath side based on under 17 success in 2021, another tough test, hopefully our sides can show grounds for optimism.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1491 - 28/03/2024 13:09:24    2534287

Replying To Claretandblue:  "A disappointing few days on the football front despite promotion to Div 2 on Sunday. It's pretty clear that the nucleus of our senior team are nearing the end of their careers at that level and div 2 next year will be a massive challenge to gain the 5-6 points necessary to avoid immediate relegation. Temple was in Louth for the minor game and gave a detailed summary, think their playing Kildare next and Kildare hammered Meath last night, Kildare minors in recent years have been Leinster's best side consistently, the Kinnegad showing on Tuesday at under 20 level was very concerning, Dublin were superior in every facet of play, our skill levels couldn't cope with their tackling, physicality, their centre back Clyde Burke would be on 25-26 senior inter county teams already, outstanding player, obviously our 20s got the toughest possible draw with Meath away next, a promising Meath side based on under 17 success in 2021, another tough test, hopefully our sides can show grounds for optimism."
Are you saying we shouldn't have tried to get promoted. Unless we aim big and get the scahills, leechs,bakers, drumms whittakers of this world playing against better teams, how are we supposed to develop as a county. Please god its not the aim of a few on here to just compete at div 3. As a county we need to be playing against the best. We might get relegated next year, we might get promoted next year, who knows, but I'd rather be competing in div 2 than 3. Westmeath had 20+ players, playing sigerson, absolutely brilliant to see,j lynam getting into college team of year, brilliant. Hopefully get a good performance sat a d set ourselves up for wicklow. A leinster final is very achievable this year, why not. Best of luck

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 28/03/2024 19:17:30    2534369

Hoping for good match Saturday.Westmeath supporters by in large nice bunch.Think Down might have that wee bit extra drive to win this ( but might regret that).Draw last time probably fair result you could argue Downs misses first half had more impact.
Anyway drive safe there and back and An Dun Abu

Mournemagic (Down) - Posts: 3 - 30/03/2024 07:51:49    2534558

Replying To Mournemagic:  "Hoping for good match Saturday.Westmeath supporters by in large nice bunch.Think Down might have that wee bit extra drive to win this ( but might regret that).Draw last time probably fair result you could argue Downs misses first half had more impact.
Anyway drive safe there and back and An Dun Abu"
Likewise thank you for the kind words.Funny enough I think last weeks fiasco will help us.I think it will be a good tight game.A busy day and always great to go to Croke Park. Navan first to see our under 20 hurlers so a long GAA day ahead.Safe home to you as well.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1457 - 30/03/2024 10:35:13    2534576

Good luck to the players and management today. Whatever the result we got what we wanted out of this campaign.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 175 - 30/03/2024 13:50:40    2534605

Congratulations Westmeath on a terrific victory , well done.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 30/03/2024 21:14:24    2534704

Congratulations to the Lake County. See you in Division 2.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 30/03/2024 21:29:47    2534707

Replying To endgame:  "Congratulations to the Lake County. See you in Division 2."
Well done to the Lake County, Down could never pull away in the game, but Westmeath kept at it, and got two terrific goals. A very good there in the Lake County. A good day for the midland counties, with Laois winning Div.4 title.
We in Offaly have to keep up with our neighbours this year.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 30/03/2024 23:08:19    2534725

Well done today hard to lose tonight again in Croke but Div 2 aim achievement is great.
Turn now to UFC and Antrim in Newry

Mournemagic (Down) - Posts: 3 - 30/03/2024 23:27:01    2534729

Those posts from Roscommon,Down and Offaly show what the GAA is all about.Thank you lads.We had a long day yesterday and again saved our best for Croke Park.Dessie is doing a great job building a panel, who would have imagined we would beat Down with Heslin playing 5 minutes.
I am no football expert but I thought we showed great heart and our younger players were very good.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1457 - 31/03/2024 10:04:45    2534756

A terrific win in Croke Park. Well done to all involved. Lynam had 2 fantastic finishes, with assists from Loughlin and McCartin. Great displays across the park.
Westmeath have won the league, conceding one Goal across the matches, last night it was essential to withstand the pressure against Down.

BarrRst (Westmeath) - Posts: 14 - 31/03/2024 11:23:35    2534769

Replying To jobber:  "Those posts from Roscommon,Down and Offaly show what the GAA is all about.Thank you lads.We had a long day yesterday and again saved our best for Croke Park.Dessie is doing a great job building a panel, who would have imagined we would beat Down with Heslin playing 5 minutes.
I am no football expert but I thought we showed great heart and our younger players were very good."
The Down supporters I met after the game were great sport, really enjoyable day out and thank you to the players and management for making it another memorable one at Croker. "Mc Cartan Masterclass" reads the headline on RTE website, cant argue with that !

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 175 - 31/03/2024 11:50:53    2534773

Enjoyable game last night, fair play Westmeath. Ray Connellan was immense in midfield throughout, top quality footballer.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 31/03/2024 12:17:31    2534779

Few things I took away from the game. Down must have done some homework as they set up like Louth in the second half at Navan last year.

John O'Hare their goalie was out at Midfield calling for every Westmeath kickout. Unlike Navan Jason Daly decided to play them at their game and kicked the ball to him. O'Hare sh*t himself and we won position 3 times. They didn't venture out too much thereafter.

I was at 5 of the league games this year and we are very much like a Tom Cribbon team circa 2016. Is Biodu gone? As he'd slip right back in there.

Congrats to Dessie and his management team. They have blooded some excellent young players. I've thought Drumm has been excellent. But last night his composure, ball handling and distribution showed how much he has come on with getting the game time. A class act.

Maroon Heaven (Westmeath) - Posts: 34 - 31/03/2024 14:48:38    2534797

What a win yesterday, we've really learned how to play like the top teams and control the game when in and out of possession. The panel has grown immensely so well done Dessie and co. I was nervous before the game but the lads did amazing.

Gaawestmeath (Westmeath) - Posts: 74 - 31/03/2024 16:52:54    2534818

some players came of age yesterday . charlie drumm was immense conor dillon took the gamed to down . sam mcartin was the man of the match . it was a diffrent team and mindset than against sligo .i would hope that this win guarantees us sam maguire status . all in all a great league and we go again on sunday . well done to all

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 31/03/2024 19:10:01    2534846

Replying To mickcunningham:  "some players came of age yesterday . charlie drumm was immense conor dillon took the gamed to down . sam mcartin was the man of the match . it was a diffrent team and mindset than against sligo .i would hope that this win guarantees us sam maguire status . all in all a great league and we go again on sunday . well done to all"
It's in our own hands, if we beat Kildare presuming we beat Wicklow we are guaranteed as it's unlikely Antrim or Down will reach Ulster final

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1491 - 31/03/2024 19:58:21    2534859

After been in Croker yesterday and having watched the 2 finals today the idea of getting rid of league finals is total nonsence.Only saw the end of Laois v Leitrim but that was one way traffic from early on but Westmeath v Down was a good game and right in the balance right to the end.Armagh v Donegal was a right good battle with some great play and scores with only 1 kick of a ball between them.But Derry v Dublin was a classic-great play -superb scores-bit of handbag stuff-penalties and Conor Glass putting in a masterclass.Why would you want to get rid of these games.Mickey Harte thinks they are very important so hes normally spot on.!!Locally well done to Dessie/management and all squad on a brilliant win and confidence should be sky high for game v Wicklow next weekend.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 165 - 31/03/2024 20:38:19    2534869