Westmeath Football thread

This is the team I would like to see versus Offaly. Toss of a coin between Harte and Dolan, Dessie will probably have James ahead of Harte. I feel we will really struggle at midfield this year. Last weekend Louth won that battle very easy however I was impressed by how Eoin Mulvhill did. Have I missed anyone that should be in the starting 15?

1. Jason Daly
2. Daniel Scahill
3. Kevin Maguire
4. Jack Smith
5. Nigel Harte / James Dolan
6. Ronan Wallace
7. David Lynch
8. Ray Connellaen
9. Eoin Mulvhill / Andy McCormack
10. Sam Mcartan
11. Ronan O Toole
12. Senan Baker
13. Luke Loughlin
14. John Heslin
15. Stephen Smith

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 434 - 17/01/2024 10:57:29    2520624

Can anyone tell if tonight is when we will know whether a player in his last year of minor (18 years old) can play adult football in Westmeath in 2024?

JakeWest (Westmeath) - Posts: 6 - 17/01/2024 11:43:46    2520632

Replying To Temple56:  "This is the team I would like to see versus Offaly. Toss of a coin between Harte and Dolan, Dessie will probably have James ahead of Harte. I feel we will really struggle at midfield this year. Last weekend Louth won that battle very easy however I was impressed by how Eoin Mulvhill did. Have I missed anyone that should be in the starting 15?

1. Jason Daly
2. Daniel Scahill
3. Kevin Maguire
4. Jack Smith
5. Nigel Harte / James Dolan
6. Ronan Wallace
7. David Lynch
8. Ray Connellaen
9. Eoin Mulvhill / Andy McCormack
10. Sam Mcartan
11. Ronan O Toole
12. Senan Baker
13. Luke Loughlin
14. John Heslin
15. Stephen Smith"
Heslin is away and won't be available for the Offaly game..

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1014 - 17/01/2024 12:01:33    2520634

I would like to see Trevor Martin get a few games in the league, When conor mccormack is at full fitness is a much better attacking player than Lynch, Lynam. Darragh Seery another man i think needs games at highest level to show his worth. Team i would like to see vs Offaly
1. Trevor Martin
2. Daniel Scahill
3. Kevin Maguire
4. Darragh Seery
5.Conor Dillon
6. Ronan Wallace
7. Andy Mccormack/Nigel harte
8. Ray Connellan
9. Eoghan Mccabe
10. Sam mccartan
11. Ronan O toole
12. Kevin O sullivan/Conor Mccormack
13. Luke Loughlin
14. Robbie Forde
15. Stephen Smith

Subs then which could make impacts:
Charlie Drumm/ C. Nolan
Shane Allen
Danny Mccartan
Senan Baker
Sean Leech
Mattew Whitaker

I know its a local derby but at least have a go and play on the front foot with 6 forwards. A lot of experience then with Martin, Lynch, Smith, Dolan Gonoud, Daly,Heslin if you need them.

PowellJohn3 (Westmeath) - Posts: 38 - 17/01/2024 14:09:11    2520656

Replying To JakeWest:  "Can anyone tell if tonight is when we will know whether a player in his last year of minor (18 years old) can play adult football in Westmeath in 2024?"
Plough on, it'll be grand

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 291 - 18/01/2024 15:02:23    2520829

Replying To PowellJohn3:  "I would like to see Trevor Martin get a few games in the league, When conor mccormack is at full fitness is a much better attacking player than Lynch, Lynam. Darragh Seery another man i think needs games at highest level to show his worth. Team i would like to see vs Offaly
1. Trevor Martin
2. Daniel Scahill
3. Kevin Maguire
4. Darragh Seery
5.Conor Dillon
6. Ronan Wallace
7. Andy Mccormack/Nigel harte
8. Ray Connellan
9. Eoghan Mccabe
10. Sam mccartan
11. Ronan O toole
12. Kevin O sullivan/Conor Mccormack
13. Luke Loughlin
14. Robbie Forde
15. Stephen Smith

Subs then which could make impacts:
Charlie Drumm/ C. Nolan
Shane Allen
Danny Mccartan
Senan Baker
Sean Leech
Mattew Whitaker

I know its a local derby but at least have a go and play on the front foot with 6 forwards. A lot of experience then with Martin, Lynch, Smith, Dolan Gonoud, Daly,Heslin if you need them."
declan kelly and his team will be waiting with a big welcome . dolan will go with the tried and tested because he trusts them . declan kelly on the other hand has a team of experience and youth . the difference being the youth are all ireland winners john furlong jack bryant cormac egan and more . offaly will win this game and the hard luck merchants will be on this on the monday making their lame excsuses

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1840 - 18/01/2024 18:41:21    2520870

Replying To JakeWest:  "Can anyone tell if tonight is when we will know whether a player in his last year of minor (18 years old) can play adult football in Westmeath in 2024?"
Minors not allowed to play senior. Confirmed last night

Westmeath213 (Westmeath) - Posts: 333 - 18/01/2024 20:18:37    2520877

Replying To Westmeath213:  "Minors not allowed to play senior. Confirmed last night"
The big clubs where always going to get there own way .

Mooo (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 19/01/2024 10:17:10    2520920

Replying To Mooo:  "The big clubs where always going to get there own way ."
I think it's more of the county board getting their way. It's all about avoiding a fixture headache for them. Nothing else. Bigger clubs can afford to leave u18s out of adult football if they choose.

the21yardline (Westmeath) - Posts: 179 - 19/01/2024 12:05:25    2520939

Replying To Mooo:  "The big clubs where always going to get there own way ."
That's an incorrect statement , the clubs voted for this overwhelming ,and the four biggest didn't. More important to win an und13 or und15 in 2023 than change to 14/16 when option 3 was on the table. Only themselves to blame, short-sighted coaches not looking at the big picture. Made our bed and gave the County board what they wanted

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 233 - 19/01/2024 12:11:46    2520941

I see the downs want the JP money that was given to the clubs to go towards a centre of excellence for the county. If they want to give up their share for it off they go, I'm sure the majority of clubs have a much better use for it.

Tailteannchamps (Westmeath) - Posts: 27 - 19/01/2024 12:25:04    2520942

The vote was apparently extremely one sided according to local media, two delegates only spoke in favour of changing the grade.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1665 - 19/01/2024 12:26:31    2520943

Replying To Claretandblue:  "The vote was apparently extremely one sided according to local media, two delegates only spoke in favour of changing the grade."
It was very one sided on the night but delegates got caught up on changing in '23 or '24 and missed that one carried Option 2 ( under 18's cant play) and the other option 3 ( can play with parental consent). We had coaches who didn't want to change in '23 as we had a strong 13's team ,if it changed to 14's we wouldn't be that strong. So by voting don't change in '23 we in turn accepted option 2. Winning an und 13 hurling title was more important , and now we are giving out cause talented 18's cant play adult . Short-sightedness at its best unfortunately.

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 233 - 19/01/2024 13:06:09    2520950

Replying To Thechick:  "That's an incorrect statement , the clubs voted for this overwhelming ,and the four biggest didn't. More important to win an und13 or und15 in 2023 than change to 14/16 when option 3 was on the table. Only themselves to blame, short-sighted coaches not looking at the big picture. Made our bed and gave the County board what they wanted"
Yeah last year was where the boat was missed. The county board have only one reason to push against decoupling and that's fixtures. Even moving U18 to a Friday night to ensure there would be clashes. It's a pity on smaller clubs that an 18 year old can't be used

TigerWoods90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 146 - 19/01/2024 15:13:43    2520981

Replying To Thechick:  "It was very one sided on the night but delegates got caught up on changing in '23 or '24 and missed that one carried Option 2 ( under 18's cant play) and the other option 3 ( can play with parental consent). We had coaches who didn't want to change in '23 as we had a strong 13's team ,if it changed to 14's we wouldn't be that strong. So by voting don't change in '23 we in turn accepted option 2. Winning an und 13 hurling title was more important , and now we are giving out cause talented 18's cant play adult . Short-sightedness at its best unfortunately."
I don't always agree with your posts chick but you are 100% right on this.

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 245 - 19/01/2024 15:19:19    2520984

Replying To Left Full:  "I don't always agree with your posts chick but you are 100% right on this."
What's the word ahead of Offaly game, are Heslin and Connellan both out ? Massive losses if so ..Who comes in at midfield? Very worried about this game, are offaly on upward curve now with youth and new manager with winning experience ? Did the Downs have valid point about Center of Excellence, are Westmeath miles behind other counties

philbrown (Westmeath) - Posts: 228 - 19/01/2024 17:27:48    2521013

Replying To Tailteannchamps:  "I see the downs want the JP money that was given to the clubs to go towards a centre of excellence for the county. If they want to give up their share for it off they go, I'm sure the majority of clubs have a much better use for it."
Fair play to them. I'm sure they to could have better use fro it but they obviously want what is best for Westmeath football and a centre of excellence is needed big time. The same clubs who wouldn't put at least some of the money towards it are the same clubs and same people who do be giving out about us not having a centre of excellence

Westmeath213 (Westmeath) - Posts: 333 - 19/01/2024 17:53:42    2521015

Replying To Thechick:  "That's an incorrect statement , the clubs voted for this overwhelming ,and the four biggest didn't. More important to win an und13 or und15 in 2023 than change to 14/16 when option 3 was on the table. Only themselves to blame, short-sighted coaches not looking at the big picture. Made our bed and gave the County board what they wanted"
If good enough and strong enough they should be able to play adult football in there last year of minor it was always the case up to a few yars ago

Mooo (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 19/01/2024 18:53:56    2521021

Replying To Tailteannchamps:  "I see the downs want the JP money that was given to the clubs to go towards a centre of excellence for the county. If they want to give up their share for it off they go, I'm sure the majority of clubs have a much better use for it."
So a centre of excellence for our county teams is not something desirable?? Your statement re clubs having better things to spend money on presumably includes the huge sums paid to outsiders to train teams.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1665 - 19/01/2024 19:31:55    2521029

Replying To Claretandblue:  "So a centre of excellence for our county teams is not something desirable?? Your statement re clubs having better things to spend money on presumably includes the huge sums paid to outsiders to train teams."
A centre of excellence is most certainly desirable, but I would imagine clubs would like to take the JP money and invest it in their own grounds to develop their own players, not just the select few who get selected for their county age groups. And if I'm correct 6 out of 12 senior clubs are managed by insiders, the other 6 might use the money for outside management and that's completely up to them, it is their money after all

Tailteannchamps (Westmeath) - Posts: 27 - 19/01/2024 22:01:39    2521045