Dublin GAA thread

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hopefully we get there pal, isnt it 5k limit until the end of January so that will account for Armagh game. Really looking forward to that we havent played Armagh in a game in anger in a long time.

Trip to Kerry looks is always good, craic, home from home in Healy and trek up the hill in Clones, we owe them one down there."
Yep, 5k until end of Jan.

I will get a few O'Byrne Cup games in anyway.

But I fear case numbers will balloon over the next week or so, unfortunately.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 22/12/2021 15:43:10    2393497

Happy New Year

Hope it's a good one for you all

Time to try and wrestle back Sam from Tyrone but it's going to be a tough task with Dublin now dropping back into a very competitive pack.

A long road ahead but hopefully we'll see big improvements coming into the Spring both on and off the pitch.

Wishing yiz all the very best

Up The Du6s ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/01/2022 15:48:55    2393570

Will be interesting to see what team appears on Sunday. First chance - and necessity- in good few years to have a lot of new lads get a few games .

Hopefully 2022 will be year hurlers start to throw a few shapes. Long way off Limerick so would love to see them have a good cut at the league. 2011 was essential to the two good championship years that followed.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 04/01/2022 21:27:21    2393618

DCB have said they are hoping to reopen Parnell scheme for this year. Confined as usual to existing holders.

Hopefully this will allow people to start attending league games after January 25.

Has there been any hints as to sales yet?

Assuming that someone in NPHET doesnt get state to close attendances again of cours.e

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 07/01/2022 16:21:06    2393988

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "DCB have said they are hoping to reopen Parnell scheme for this year. Confined as usual to existing holders.

Hopefully this will allow people to start attending league games after January 25.

Assuming that someone in NPHET doesnt get state to close attendances again of cours.e"
Hoping there wont be an issue for the Armagh game, at the moment its 5k in the current restrictions, seemed about 5k yesterday at the Crokes game. Not sure whether the tickets will go on general sale or not, We must have 5k in season ticket holders. I know a lot of lads rely on the Parnel Pass so hopefully the DCB sort lads out. Mayo have something similar - not sure if they are doing theirs or not.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/01/2022 10:54:53    2394160

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hoping there wont be an issue for the Armagh game, at the moment its 5k in the current restrictions, seemed about 5k yesterday at the Crokes game. Not sure whether the tickets will go on general sale or not, We must have 5k in season ticket holders. I know a lot of lads rely on the Parnel Pass so hopefully the DCB sort lads out. Mayo have something similar - not sure if they are doing theirs or not."
That's the thing. You can only use the pass directly at Parnell. You have to have tickets - I presume there will never be any physical ones again so electronic ones - for Croke Park, so not sure how they'll sort that for PP holders and other counties county passes and STs if they're only making a decision a few days before the first matches.

It's completely ludicrous at this stage that there's even an issue about crowds at outdoor sports events.

This country look like idiots in comparison even to the Brits where there's big crowds at soccer, rugby and racing.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 09/01/2022 13:20:27    2394187

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "That's the thing. You can only use the pass directly at Parnell. You have to have tickets - I presume there will never be any physical ones again so electronic ones - for Croke Park, so not sure how they'll sort that for PP holders and other counties county passes and STs if they're only making a decision a few days before the first matches.

It's completely ludicrous at this stage that there's even an issue about crowds at outdoor sports events.

This country look like idiots in comparison even to the Brits where there's big crowds at soccer, rugby and racing."
as a matter of interest whats the death rate per head of population in the uk and in ireland? u should check that before u make a gfool of your self

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 09/01/2022 14:26:17    2394201

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "as a matter of interest whats the death rate per head of population in the uk and in ireland? u should check that before u make a gfool of your self"
There's little or no more people dying this now than any other year.

And no people dying out in fields watching sports.

Change the channel, maybe.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 09/01/2022 15:01:43    2394204

The 'chasing pack' are now the front runners in this years championship. We'll be down for a couple of years at least I would say. No harm, only whets the appetite.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 09/01/2022 19:46:23    2394277

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "DCB have said they are hoping to reopen Parnell scheme for this year. Confined as usual to existing holders.

Assuming that someone in NPHET doesnt get state to close attendances again of cours.e"
With the ST's they have outsourced them ticket master, you had to go in sort a ST account and you download your tickets from there, might be the same with the PP - i bought all my tickets last year as there was no ST - but they gave you the option of downloading them to a device or printing them, hopefully be the same this year. I thought i heard one of the lads say they were doing the PP this year and an email went round - but im going from sketchy memory over Xmas.

Seems mad there is no clarity at this stage, have my eye on the Kerry game but dont want to book hotel or make plans until we know the story with restrictions.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/01/2022 10:34:23    2394342

Replying To TheUsername:  "With the ST's they have outsourced them ticket master, you had to go in sort a ST account and you download your tickets from there, might be the same with the PP - i bought all my tickets last year as there was no ST - but they gave you the option of downloading them to a device or printing them, hopefully be the same this year. I thought i heard one of the lads say they were doing the PP this year and an email went round - but im going from sketchy memory over Xmas.

Seems mad there is no clarity at this stage, have my eye on the Kerry game but dont want to book hotel or make plans until we know the story with restrictions."
They have told PP holders that they are going to renew it, but in conjunction with Ticketmaster and are still waiting for confirmation on crowd capacity before DCB decides and notifies holders of current passes by January 25.

If current restrictions hold and they will almost certainly then there's at least twice as many Dublin PP and ST holders as tickets so not sure how that will work.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 10/01/2022 12:07:13    2394362

Another very experimental Du6s team named for tonight.

Looking forward to seeing how all the new guys get on later.
Will be interesting to see how Cameron gets on for us in the engine room.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 12/01/2022 14:24:29    2394633

Dont think the dubs will be able for kerry this year.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 13/01/2022 11:26:19    2394717

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "Dont think the dubs will be able for kerry this year."
Totally agree, Dubs in transition at the moment, kerry looking very strong, the team to beat in 2022 !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 13/01/2022 13:07:32    2394737

Would agree with the lads, very much in transition, but don think we're at the level to be storming All Irelands, hopefully we can be competitive though, we're gone for a few years now, be a bit of hail Mary to sneak one and you'd want a bit of luck.

Of the lads showing their wares in the OBC - my tip is Lee Gannon, have felt that way for a while. Lorcan O Dell has a chance but is a year off and better out the filed than in the FF line. Mark Lavin is a player i think has immense talent again a year off. Some lads might get a whirl at the weekend who are playin Sig - Archer & Kennedy. But haven't seen much in club championship or O Byrne cup - to be thinking anything beyond my original assessment above, we will still be relying on Kilkenny, Howard, Fenton, King Con, JSmall, Cooper, Fitz heavily again. the like for like quality that we lost and lads coming in just cant be matched - its was the greatest team of all time, so its impossible really.

No harm, its our time to res, build and develop and let others get a bit excited. we've set the bar, she's going to be hard one to match.

Great ot have games back though isn't it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/01/2022 14:23:26    2394756

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "Dont think the dubs will be able for kerry this year."
If yous can avoid Tyrone no one will stop yous. Just like the 00s.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/01/2022 14:38:52    2394761

Replying To TheUsername:  "Would agree with the lads, very much in transition, but don think we're at the level to be storming All Irelands, hopefully we can be competitive though, we're gone for a few years now, be a bit of hail Mary to sneak one and you'd want a bit of luck.

Of the lads showing their wares in the OBC - my tip is Lee Gannon, have felt that way for a while. Lorcan O Dell has a chance but is a year off and better out the filed than in the FF line. Mark Lavin is a player i think has immense talent again a year off. Some lads might get a whirl at the weekend who are playin Sig - Archer & Kennedy. But haven't seen much in club championship or O Byrne cup - to be thinking anything beyond my original assessment above, we will still be relying on Kilkenny, Howard, Fenton, King Con, JSmall, Cooper, Fitz heavily again. the like for like quality that we lost and lads coming in just cant be matched - its was the greatest team of all time, so its impossible really.

No harm, its our time to res, build and develop and let others get a bit excited. we've set the bar, she's going to be hard one to match.

Great ot have games back though isn't it."
Agree with most of that.

Don't see us matching Tyrone or Kerry who are the top two imo.

Ourselves a little behind Mayo too but could beat them in the day I think. Don't see an All-Ireland in anyone else either.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/01/2022 14:41:09    2394762

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Totally agree, Dubs in transition at the moment, kerry looking very strong, the team to beat in 2022 !"
Agreed it's Kerry's to lose .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 13/01/2022 18:45:21    2394811

Replying To superbluedub:  "Agreed it's Kerry's to lose ."
Bookies do not agree. Kerry and Dublin both 11/8 get the nod for ultimate winners this year. Tyrone are outsiders at 8/1 with boylesports

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 15/01/2022 19:52:21    2395104

Replying To Rockies:  "Bookies do not agree. Kerry and Dublin both 11/8 get the nod for ultimate winners this year. Tyrone are outsiders at 8/1 with boylesports"
Sure its only opinions

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/01/2022 09:38:09    2395119