Ulster Club Championships

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Club football in Cavan is pure rubbish and has been for over a decade or more…. Hence our County team is playing in the depths of division 4…. Our Ulster championship win a couple of years ago is looking more of a fluke with every passing week…!!!"
No way, and I'll not have you diminish that win. Not a few years ago either, just over 12 months ago. We were good enough to win 4 games in 4 weeks on the trot, from the preliminary round. It was the hardest ever won, and you want to call it a fluke? Get out of it.

And yes, we're in Div 4, but lets be honest, we're better than that. A series of circumstances in Div 2 (getting relegated on a points total that would keep you up every other year), and a joke of a set-up for the Div 3 last year have us more in this. Of course they need to take that responsibility and get out of there. Our manager has routinely said he'll set up for Championship and use the league to try things. And it worked for 2 out of 3 years, with a 1st Ulster final appearance for 18 years, and then a first title for 23 years. Don't down play that, that was done on relegations as well. The championship is the be all and end all, not league, so absolutely do not call it as fluke when it was anything but. Imagine thinking this was a fluke based on league results, cop on would ya?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 08/12/2021 12:43:24    2392079

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "No way, and I'll not have you diminish that win. Not a few years ago either, just over 12 months ago. We were good enough to win 4 games in 4 weeks on the trot, from the preliminary round. It was the hardest ever won, and you want to call it a fluke? Get out of it.

And yes, we're in Div 4, but lets be honest, we're better than that. A series of circumstances in Div 2 (getting relegated on a points total that would keep you up every other year), and a joke of a set-up for the Div 3 last year have us more in this. Of course they need to take that responsibility and get out of there. Our manager has routinely said he'll set up for Championship and use the league to try things. And it worked for 2 out of 3 years, with a 1st Ulster final appearance for 18 years, and then a first title for 23 years. Don't down play that, that was done on relegations as well. The championship is the be all and end all, not league, so absolutely do not call it as fluke when it was anything but. Imagine thinking this was a fluke based on league results, cop on would ya?"
Why was last year's set up a joke?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 08/12/2021 13:59:34    2392093

I don't agree about getting relegated from.Divisiom 3. Roscommon were already promoted and came with a depleted Squad, and beat Cavan in Breffni
Clare beat Cavan when it looked like Cavan were getting form.

Over the 7 games that year in league,Cavan weren't good enough. Westmeath should have had Cavan out of sight but threw it away.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 08/12/2021 15:37:44    2392107

The only Ulster Champions in history to be relegated to Division 4….. had to be a fluke win…could be nothing else….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1954 - 08/12/2021 16:40:56    2392117

A good way to measure a team is to look at the manner in which they defended their title.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 08/12/2021 17:29:54    2392123

Very poor showing from ramor. Especially after all the prep that they put into this game. Kilcoo's half forward line contributed most of their scores. Poor decision by ramor management to keep jack brady there when he was having little impact and they needed him further up the field.
Expecting sean mcevoy to make a big contribution Cavan next year.

Well done to butlersbridge, great performance

Overlord (USA) - Posts: 46 - 08/12/2021 18:56:57    2392127

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Why was last year's set up a joke?"
Dividing the league on geographic location, meaning we got tougher games than the Southern section. Also playing 3 games and then deciding relegation and promotion on a once off game based on those. That's a joke of a set-up. If they couldn't run a full 7 game league, then it shouldn't have been done at all, or at least a better system for relegation or promotion. Anyone can be caught in a once off game, and we were. We deserved to get beat on the day as we were so bad, but a proper set-up league would have had it over 7 games, not a playoff.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 09/12/2021 08:47:07    2392143

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The only Ulster Champions in history to be relegated to Division 4….. had to be a fluke win…could be nothing else…."
Again you're basing it on league. 4 championship wins on the trot from preliminary round is not a fluke. Are you even a Cavan supporter? Why are you putting more stock in League than Championship when we've shown our results in both are vastly different? League matters a wee bit, but not to the extent that you write off Championship results

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 09/12/2021 08:50:14    2392145

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Again you're basing it on league. 4 championship wins on the trot from preliminary round is not a fluke. Are you even a Cavan supporter? Why are you putting more stock in League than Championship when we've shown our results in both are vastly different? League matters a wee bit, but not to the extent that you write off Championship results"
I doubt he even watched the Ulster final because you definitely couldn't call that win a fluke, we didn't even get the rub of the green off the ref, Donegal got that with us getting two very dubious black cards.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 09/12/2021 10:00:16    2392153

Replying To blueman1903:  "I doubt he even watched the Ulster final because you definitely couldn't call that win a fluke, we didn't even get the rub of the green off the ref, Donegal got that with us getting two very dubious black cards."
Beat a completely overrated and over confident Donegal team in the Final….and deservedly so but our dismissal performances since proves it something of a fluke championship…. True champions who receive 3 All Stars ( how I don't know ) don't just collapse the following season and certainly don't end up in division 4… A first for Ulster Champions…. embarrassing

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1954 - 09/12/2021 13:16:58    2392193

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Beat a completely overrated and over confident Donegal team in the Final….and deservedly so but our dismissal performances since proves it something of a fluke championship…. True champions who receive 3 All Stars ( how I don't know ) don't just collapse the following season and certainly don't end up in division 4… A first for Ulster Champions…. embarrassing"
If you look back on the league margins were very fine between promotion to division 2 and relegation to division 4, we were down a lot of main players in the league, lost in Fermanagh by 1 point after getting a player red carded in beginning of second half, beat Longford who stayed up by 7, we ran Derry to 3 points, Longford lost to them by 15, so did Fermanagh I think, and they both stayed up because they drew, we also lost James smith and ciaran brady for the year early in the Longford game, so margins were very fine, very disappointing but calling 4 championship wins the year before with a good few different players a fluke is just throwing the toys out of the pram.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 09/12/2021 13:42:09    2392196

Replying To blueman1903:  "I doubt he even watched the Ulster final because you definitely couldn't call that win a fluke, we didn't even get the rub of the green off the ref, Donegal got that with us getting two very dubious black cards."
I suspect that foreverBlue lad is probably a failed player who couldnt make the cut at underage county level and delights in the misery when cavan team get relegated to division 4, his argument seems to be that getting to back to back ulster finals (deservedly winning one) should be disregarded but league results are king, which is it then?

I would agree graham and the team should be facing some questions for their dismal 2021 showing as division 4 is unacceptable for this team but you cant rewrite history about that 2020 ulster final. Cavan were absolutely full value for their ulster victory, indeed had it not been for barry cassidy cavan would have beaten donegal out the gate.

I do have to laugh at cavan supporters being the 'self-proclaimed' best supporters in the land, as far as i can see there are far more moaners and begrudgers than supporters who appear to think its 1947 and we should be in all ireland finals

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 09/12/2021 14:48:10    2392206

3 All Stars playing their county football in division 4…. An unwanted record which will never be broken…. Embarrassing

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1954 - 09/12/2021 16:30:56    2392224

I think an awful lot of t is psychological , Cavan always seem to find it as had to beat the lower teams as the top teams , we have as good individual players as anyone but we dont seem to perform as a team most days . We somehow only get it together when we re so far behind we take off the shackles and go for it as in the Monaghan and Down games in 2020 . The Donegal game was the exception when we were absolutely brilliant on the day but we havent performed since . We cant carry the favourites tag as in the Antrim game ( lucky to scrape through ) and more especially the Wicklow debacle - we just seem to sit back and wait for it to happen and it usually wont . We re not as bad as some suggest but there definitely is a confidence / motivational factor there that needs to addressed , what is holding us back ? One other important factor that seems to be missing too is leaders on the field , we have no one to take the game by the scruff of the neck and drive the players on when things are going bad , managers can only do so much , they need generals on the field .

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 09/12/2021 19:55:34    2392243

Replying To tenyearplan:  "I think an awful lot of t is psychological , Cavan always seem to find it as had to beat the lower teams as the top teams , we have as good individual players as anyone but we dont seem to perform as a team most days . We somehow only get it together when we re so far behind we take off the shackles and go for it as in the Monaghan and Down games in 2020 . The Donegal game was the exception when we were absolutely brilliant on the day but we havent performed since . We cant carry the favourites tag as in the Antrim game ( lucky to scrape through ) and more especially the Wicklow debacle - we just seem to sit back and wait for it to happen and it usually wont . We re not as bad as some suggest but there definitely is a confidence / motivational factor there that needs to addressed , what is holding us back ? One other important factor that seems to be missing too is leaders on the field , we have no one to take the game by the scruff of the neck and drive the players on when things are going bad , managers can only do so much , they need generals on the field ."
Absolutely agree with you, the we will get it right in a minute and suddenly the game is gone, as you say no one take the game by the scruff of the neck and drive the team forward I'm fully convinced it's a mental thing and we're not a bad team maybe to casual at times and lack that killer touch. No lack of heart and fight as was displayed gloriously in 2020 which will never be forgotten, the trick is following it up the next year like the top teams do or at least give it a go and don't be out of the game after 20 minutes belief and confidence is the key I think I'm as good as you or better attitude. Up Cavan

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 10/12/2021 11:04:11    2392270

Replying To tenyearplan:  "I think an awful lot of t is psychological , Cavan always seem to find it as had to beat the lower teams as the top teams , we have as good individual players as anyone but we dont seem to perform as a team most days . We somehow only get it together when we re so far behind we take off the shackles and go for it as in the Monaghan and Down games in 2020 . The Donegal game was the exception when we were absolutely brilliant on the day but we havent performed since . We cant carry the favourites tag as in the Antrim game ( lucky to scrape through ) and more especially the Wicklow debacle - we just seem to sit back and wait for it to happen and it usually wont . We re not as bad as some suggest but there definitely is a confidence / motivational factor there that needs to addressed , what is holding us back ? One other important factor that seems to be missing too is leaders on the field , we have no one to take the game by the scruff of the neck and drive the players on when things are going bad , managers can only do so much , they need generals on the field ."
spot on ten year plan and it starts at minor level and continues the entire way up how often have our minor teams got beaten by a point in the last minute of a game after being by far the better team for most of the match and this stays with theses lads for the rest of their careers

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 10/12/2021 11:07:46    2392272

For ever blue 2 should be added to mickey grahams set up and he can give the lads a bith of a lift with one of his positive can do speeches before they take on antrim that what is really needed,

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 10/12/2021 11:13:14    2392273

Goodluck to Denn tomorrow. Desertmartin have a couple of players who were on Derry Minor All Ireland winning team, will be a good test.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/12/2021 11:16:57    2392274

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "For ever blue 2 should be added to mickey grahams set up and he can give the lads a bith of a lift with one of his positive can do speeches before they take on antrim that what is really needed,"
Cavan should walk through Division 4 and beat Antrim out the gate if they are as good as you think they are…. But to those of us who live in the real world and not in fantasy land it will probably be the expected struggle…. At the end of the day when you end up in division 4 you really can't be much use….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1954 - 10/12/2021 13:20:14    2392298

the ulster championship win was not a fluke. let's get that straight. You cannot win 4 tough games in a row by fluke and you cannot win a final comprehensively against a team who were touted as potentially the team to topple Dublin by a fluke eapecially when you play 20 mins a man down and other decisions go against you. They absolutely deaerved that Anglo Celt Cup. They won it on merit.
Which begs the question: "what went wrong afterwards" ?. You cant blame the structure of the league for that. Only the management team and the panel of players can answer that.
Kingscourt played Kilkoo a few years ago and got hammered too. Kilkoo were awesome.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 11/12/2021 10:01:10    2392369