Lads Off To The AFL

Replying To Saynothing:  "GAA are playing into the hands of AFL with some of the rules they brought in. For one the advanced mark is totally what AFL are looking out for. Couple of years ago Mc Shane was playing it to perfection and what happens, AFL come calling."
The marks especially a offensive mark should have no place in the GAA.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 06/11/2021 19:46:19    2388587

Replying To Saynothing:  "GAA are playing into the hands of AFL with some of the rules they brought in. For one the advanced mark is totally what AFL are looking out for. Couple of years ago Mc Shane was playing it to perfection and what happens, AFL come calling."
Not sure that's accurate. McShane got some AFL interest on the back of his 2019 season. The mark was only introduced in 2020.

As an aside, I don't know anyone who likes the advanced mark. Is there any plan to get rid of it?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 06/11/2021 22:01:33    2388599

St Mickey's paranoia still prevalent in Tyrone it seems.
Best of luck to those who choose to try and make it in AFL but its a tough school and weeding out process.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1424 - 07/11/2021 10:52:01    2388612

Glad to see a few of you mentioning the drop off in players from minor. Was talking with a coach from Lucan Sarsfields who have a big underage structure but once lads are out of minor, there's limited space in the adult section of the club.
This is an issue with all big clubs in urban areas. Other clubs in the area are crying out for players. Being honest, I don't know how to go about fixing this. Some system where there are hook ups with the smaller clubs which allows players to line out for them without the whole transfer circus.
A lot of rural clubs are having trouble getting lads to just commit to playing, a lot don't get a sense of enjoyment out of it anymore or just couldn't be bothered with all the training. This is down to many factors including having long commutes to work etc. My own club is a prime example of this, relegated to Junior, most of the team are mid-thirties, early forties. Bare 15 most matches, 1-3 subs max at championship. At the start of the year a name check was done around the area and there are enough lads who have played in the past to field 2 teams at adult. Another local club (Ballinacree) got relegated to Junior B, again same issues there. Neither club have very much in the way of underage coming through whereas the big club in the area (Oldcastle) have loads of kids, fair play to them. Trouble is, most of them will be lost to the game once they pass minor.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 08/11/2021 14:58:42    2388783

Best of luck to anyone that goes but I worry about them. I haven't studied the data but it seems to me that a high proportion come back with their body wrecked.

They are not on big money initially and the clubs will be quick to cut them if they are not making the grade.

They are thrown in to professional training that their bodies are not used to. Maybe my perception is wrong because i presume only the bad stories get publicity, maybe a lot come home in good nick.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 08/11/2021 16:06:44    2388792

Replying To moylagh:  "Glad to see a few of you mentioning the drop off in players from minor. Was talking with a coach from Lucan Sarsfields who have a big underage structure but once lads are out of minor, there's limited space in the adult section of the club.
This is an issue with all big clubs in urban areas. Other clubs in the area are crying out for players. Being honest, I don't know how to go about fixing this. Some system where there are hook ups with the smaller clubs which allows players to line out for them without the whole transfer circus.
A lot of rural clubs are having trouble getting lads to just commit to playing, a lot don't get a sense of enjoyment out of it anymore or just couldn't be bothered with all the training. This is down to many factors including having long commutes to work etc. My own club is a prime example of this, relegated to Junior, most of the team are mid-thirties, early forties. Bare 15 most matches, 1-3 subs max at championship. At the start of the year a name check was done around the area and there are enough lads who have played in the past to field 2 teams at adult. Another local club (Ballinacree) got relegated to Junior B, again same issues there. Neither club have very much in the way of underage coming through whereas the big club in the area (Oldcastle) have loads of kids, fair play to them. Trouble is, most of them will be lost to the game once they pass minor."
Dual registration. Would help with rural and urban areas. Limit it to family or geographical connections. Say you split Dublin into the 4 counties and then a player can also link up with one of the smaller clubs if they aren't a part of the senior team.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 08/11/2021 17:28:39    2388805

Replying To MayoDan:  "Not sure that's accurate. McShane got some AFL interest on the back of his 2019 season. The mark was only introduced in 2020.

As an aside, I don't know anyone who likes the advanced mark. Is there any plan to get rid of it?"
Mc Shane played the Mark brilliantly against Dublin in March 2019. Don't like it even though it won the game for Tyrone that night.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 08/11/2021 18:38:29    2388813

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "St Mickey's paranoia still prevalent in Tyrone it seems.
Best of luck to those who choose to try and make it in AFL but its a tough school and weeding out process."
Aren't we lucky we have the likes of Micky Harte who wouldn't give the AFL the time of day.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 08/11/2021 18:42:58    2388815

Replying To moylagh:  "Glad to see a few of you mentioning the drop off in players from minor. Was talking with a coach from Lucan Sarsfields who have a big underage structure but once lads are out of minor, there's limited space in the adult section of the club.
A lot of rural clubs are having trouble getting lads to just commit to playing, a lot don't get a sense of enjoyment out of it anymore or just couldn't be bothered with all the training. This is down to many factors including having long commutes to work etc. My own club is a prime example of this, relegated to Junior, most of the team are mid-thirties, early forties. Bare 15 most matches, 1-3 subs max at championship. At the start of the year a name check was done around the area and there are enough lads who have played in the past to field 2 teams at adult. Another local club (Ballinacree) got relegated to Junior B, again same issues there. Neither club have very much in the way of underage coming through whereas the big club in the area (Oldcastle) have loads of kids, fair play to them. Trouble is, most of them will be lost to the game once they pass minor."
Transfers need to be far more readily accepted and accommodated, at club and county level imo. It would help alleviate the numbers issue for struggling clubs and it would allow talented players to achieve real success in the sport without being hamstrung by geography, (ridiculous imo).
Also, in post 80s Ireland, being honest, parish/County boundaries are nowhere near as meaningful to people as they were.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1711 - 08/11/2021 20:35:14    2388831

One of the problems in Dublin is land. Where Sarsfields grounds are used to be a quiet country road, far more likely to encounter a blackberry bush than a car, not that long 10-15 years ago. These days, its like New York, surrounded by high rise apartments and Strategic Development Zone, Pfizer and other Huge multi nationals have moved in across the road, you can even walk to an Abrakebra from the grounds now. The population has exploded but land for the development worth 10s of millions. Absolutely no chance of Sarsfieilds expanding or a fledging club developing grounds. That's why all talent is funnelled into huge clubs in Dublin, many potential new clubs can't afford to develop. It's a massive problem in the county. One of the newest clubs in the county Ranlagh Gaels are facing protests and a fight to play in Darty public park at the moment, never mind develop their own grounds and pitches. So many stories like this all over Dublin. No doubt we are loosing so many players out of minor due to funnelling effect and lack of alternative club development.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/11/2021 20:45:42    2388832

Replying To Saynothing:  "Aren't we lucky we have the likes of Micky Harte who wouldn't give the AFL the time of day."
Fair play to Mickey for not intertaining the Aussies, Aussie rules is an awful attempt at a sport, nearly as bad as cricket IMO.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/11/2021 09:48:48    2388849

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair play to Mickey for not intertaining the Aussies, Aussie rules is an awful attempt at a sport, nearly as bad as cricket IMO."
If aussie rules is an awful attempt at a sport then gaelic must also be an awful attempt?
Crickets good. very good sport. especially the shorter forms though i enjoy the tactics of test cricket..

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 09/11/2021 18:31:47    2388954

Replying To Galway9801:  "The ultimate goal it seems is no longer to represent your county or win an all Ireland , but to play well enough to hopefully impress an AFL scout so you can leave the GAA altogether. If that doesn't weaken the game I don't know what does.
Like, for sure best of luck to the lad, his decision is understandable, but the enthusiasm ye have for losing our games best talents has me at a loss. It'd be like soccer fans celebrating Messi giving up his sport to go play golf."
I dont think anyone is celebrating or enthusiastic about lads going to try their luck at AFL. Merely wishing the lads luck in their future career. It might suit them and they might suit the club they are going to. Or not.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11911 - 09/11/2021 19:16:52    2388963

Replying To Galway9801:  "Transfers need to be far more readily accepted and accommodated, at club and county level imo. It would help alleviate the numbers issue for struggling clubs and it would allow talented players to achieve real success in the sport without being hamstrung by geography, (ridiculous imo).
Also, in post 80s Ireland, being honest, parish/County boundaries are nowhere near as meaningful to people as they were."
Maybe limit it to transfers down the grades, not up, to prevent big clubs poaching smaller clubs best players.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11911 - 09/11/2021 19:20:17    2388964

Replying To KillingFields:  "If aussie rules is an awful attempt at a sport then gaelic must also be an awful attempt?
Crickets good. very good sport. especially the shorter forms though i enjoy the tactics of test cricket.."
We all know from your posts down the years your love of foreign sports.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 10/11/2021 09:38:29    2388979

Replying To KillingFields:  "If aussie rules is an awful attempt at a sport then gaelic must also be an awful attempt?
Crickets good. very good sport. especially the shorter forms though i enjoy the tactics of test cricket.."
I disagree killingfields, Gaelic football has away more skill involved in it compared to Aussie rules, now in fairness to the gaa they are doing their best to dumb our game down by bringing in the advanced mark and by letting a certain team get away with taking 10-12 steps when running with the ball but it's still a far better spectacle then that Aussie yolk.

IMO cricket isnt good, personally I'd rather watch paint dry but everyone's different.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2021 10:54:14    2388990

Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe limit it to transfers down the grades, not up, to prevent big clubs poaching smaller clubs best players."
I do think that a fella who wants to play senior club should be allowed transfer from a junior club to do so. Why should a player with potential be held back by not having better players around him and forcing him to kick around the junior ranks when he could be challenging for senior titles mabye get a run out at county level.
Playing careers are far too short to be loyal to setups going absolutely nowhere.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 10/11/2021 11:36:05    2388993

Replying To Bon:  "I do think that a fella who wants to play senior club should be allowed transfer from a junior club to do so. Why should a player with potential be held back by not having better players around him and forcing him to kick around the junior ranks when he could be challenging for senior titles mabye get a run out at county level.
Playing careers are far too short to be loyal to setups going absolutely nowhere."
Would you advocate the same for County players?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1424 - 10/11/2021 12:26:12    2389003

Replying To Bon:  "I do think that a fella who wants to play senior club should be allowed transfer from a junior club to do so. Why should a player with potential be held back by not having better players around him and forcing him to kick around the junior ranks when he could be challenging for senior titles mabye get a run out at county level.
Playing careers are far too short to be loyal to setups going absolutely nowhere."
I know what you are saying Bon but wouldnt that just lead to the bigger clubs becoming a self perpetuating elite? As it is there are clubs down here who have won senior titles playing Inter or Inter A but might in time get back up and win senior again given a good bunch of lads coming through in the same 10 year period. If 1 by 1 these good players sign for a senior club as they emerge onto the scene then their original club will have lost their golden generation. For example, and I know you follow Leinster hurling, Buffers Alley won plenty of titles down here including Leinster and all Ireland club titles. Last few years they are down in Intermediate. They seem to have some good young lads at minor and u20 coming through. If these lads left for current senior clubs that would not be good for the Alley. Lads in Ballygarret werent happy when Dunbar transferred to Gorey. If a lads good enough any good county management team at any Grade should spot him wherever he is playing.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11911 - 10/11/2021 12:58:43    2389008

I would rather play junior b for my club than win a county or all Ireland with a bigger senior club up the road. Your view would not be shared by the majority and goes against everything the GAA stands for. Pride of club, parish and playing with friends who you grew up with.

There are circumstances where players transfer because they move far away from their own club which is fine but move to win things? No way. See how it worked out for Donal Vaughan who transferred 20mins in the road to Castlebar form his home club Ballinrobe.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 10/11/2021 14:08:37    2389024