County Final Day Without The Gaels

Tomsmith here

Gowna This is the clubs first appearance at this stage of the championship for 14 years, I would hazard a guess that most of the Cavan Gaels supporters would be calling for Gowna who have had a bleak 14 years on final day. While Ramour who are in the final also by playing a great brand of football Tomsmiths felling is that Gowna will take then silver.. But it will not be the same without the Gaels taking the field

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 01/11/2021 13:33:06    2388069

Howya tomsmith, brian here

Gotta say think it'll be a great day between two fine footballing sides here made all the better by the abence of the wannabe new kings clothes wearing rich kids from the big bright lights ..... two fine sides with 15 local lads who grew up together and have an emotional connection to their club jersey..

brian thinks it'll be the lads from the Meath border who run out the winner on the day after a stellar battle, that loittle bit of Meath blood that'll surely be in the veins of some of the players will help them see it over the line

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 01/11/2021 14:06:52    2388072

i think the gaels support in the final is split one of them is going for gowna and the other for ramor

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 01/11/2021 20:17:26    2388120

Any truth in the rumours that Killian Clarke and/or Ciaran Brady will be signing for the Gaels in the January window?

Also heard that Gearoid might be moving to his home club Butlersbridge now that they are Senior.

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 02/11/2021 13:10:59    2388153

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Any truth in the rumours that Killian Clarke and/or Ciaran Brady will be signing for the Gaels in the January window?

Also heard that Gearoid might be moving to his home club Butlersbridge now that they are Senior."
I heard after lengthy discussions with Mbappe they have turned their focus to Oisin Kiernan. The young fella is more than open to a switch having left Meath and St Brigids to take up a role with Cavan and Castlerahan... so why not follow in the foot steps of the most famous hurler from the Coill Dubh club in the county of Kildare.....

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 02/11/2021 15:04:52    2388179

Replying To brian:  "I heard after lengthy discussions with Mbappe they have turned their focus to Oisin Kiernan. The young fella is more than open to a switch having left Meath and St Brigids to take up a role with Cavan and Castlerahan... so why not follow in the foot steps of the most famous hurler from the Coill Dubh club in the county of Kildare....."
You mean the player with 10 county senior championship medals??

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 02/11/2021 16:31:32    2388193

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "i think the gaels support in the final is split one of them is going for gowna and the other for ramor"
Lol

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 02/11/2021 19:26:58    2388218

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Any truth in the rumours that Killian Clarke and/or Ciaran Brady will be signing for the Gaels in the January window?

Also heard that Gearoid might be moving to his home club Butlersbridge now that they are Senior."
Pat the Dandy

Tomsmith here

Yes Garoid who came to the Gaels to get senior football may now return seeing that the Bridge is now Senior.
But no disrepc should be shown to him for trying to better himself. Indeed if the Gaels liked it the Club could fiels a full team of senior footballers who want to transfer into the top team in Cavan for the past 20 years. But Tomsmith feels that the Gaels should continue to decline to allow these transfers. Best of luck to Gowna, but a sad day for the Gaels.. It will be like a day/week of mourning in Cavan Town with the cu being here

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 03/11/2021 10:44:31    2388242

Replying To Breffni1969:  "You mean the player with 10 county senior championship medals??"
That's some haul from his hurling days

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/11/2021 11:42:25    2388255

Replying To tomsmith:  "Pat the Dandy

Tomsmith here

Yes Garoid who came to the Gaels to get senior football may now return seeing that the Bridge is now Senior.
But no disrepc should be shown to him for trying to better himself. Indeed if the Gaels liked it the Club could fiels a full team of senior footballers who want to transfer into the top team in Cavan for the past 20 years. But Tomsmith feels that the Gaels should continue to decline to allow these transfers. Best of luck to Gowna, but a sad day for the Gaels.. It will be like a day/week of mourning in Cavan Town with the cu being here"
Howya Tomsmith here

brian here

If i was a butlersbridge man and Gearoid tried coming back I'd tell him where to go. Considered himself too good for them and now when they're senior he "might" go back. He turned his back on his former coaches, trainers and team mates who helped get him where he was and left when something shinier was proffered. Emperors new clothes don't seem as shiny now that his former team got to the level he wanted too without him. Proves to me he held them back and not the other way around. They're better off without him.

And of course the gaels could field a full of transfers, sure they've almost as much wealth as the Saudi's that just bought Newcastle, but some lads actually want to play with the lads they grew up with, for the families they have known their whole lives, for the coaches and trainers who taught them the skills of the game at a young age. Theirs substance to lads like that which drags them through the tough times and not collapse when the pressure comes on.

Love how you're saying the Gaels should decline these transfers.... you've changed your tune on that in the last couple of weeks. Sure weren't they based in the gaels parish so why wouldn't they play for the gaels... didn't stop you celebrating previous success with all these transfers inward...

Enjoy your mourning though... and get used to it.. all the transfers in the world wouldn't buy what Ramor or Gowna will feel when they win with their friends, colleagues, families and coaches.

Heaven offers nothing that a mercenary soul can desire.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/11/2021 11:56:53    2388260

Replying To brian:  "Howya tomsmith, brian here

Gotta say think it'll be a great day between two fine footballing sides here made all the better by the abence of the wannabe new kings clothes wearing rich kids from the big bright lights ..... two fine sides with 15 local lads who grew up together and have an emotional connection to their club jersey..

brian thinks it'll be the lads from the Meath border who run out the winner on the day after a stellar battle, that loittle bit of Meath blood that'll surely be in the veins of some of the players will help them see it over the line"
You don't know much about Cavan football Brian if you think Ramor have 15 players who grew up together.

CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 186 - 03/11/2021 13:19:02    2388271

Any man who leaves his club in search of senior football should be ashamed of himself. But thinking about it logically, would killian clarke even get his place with the Gaels

CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 186 - 03/11/2021 13:26:38    2388273

Replying To CavanAgain:  "Any man who leaves his club in search of senior football should be ashamed of himself. But thinking about it logically, would killian clarke even get his place with the Gaels"
Can't say I agree. In fact if anything, it was the way things were done in Cavan when we were winning Ulster and All Irelands. You couldn't play with Cavan those days without playing for a Senior club. If you wanted inter county, you went to your nearest Senior team. I think we should bring it back. All those playing intermediate or Junior play Senior, but they can still play for their own club too in that competition. Kerry have a different system where they have a County Championship with regional teams. I think we need something that allows any player who wants to, to play Senior football.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 03/11/2021 14:01:52    2388277

Replying To brian:  "Howya Tomsmith here

brian here

If i was a butlersbridge man and Gearoid tried coming back I'd tell him where to go. Considered himself too good for them and now when they're senior he "might" go back. He turned his back on his former coaches, trainers and team mates who helped get him where he was and left when something shinier was proffered. Emperors new clothes don't seem as shiny now that his former team got to the level he wanted too without him. Proves to me he held them back and not the other way around. They're better off without him.

And of course the gaels could field a full of transfers, sure they've almost as much wealth as the Saudi's that just bought Newcastle, but some lads actually want to play with the lads they grew up with, for the families they have known their whole lives, for the coaches and trainers who taught them the skills of the game at a young age. Theirs substance to lads like that which drags them through the tough times and not collapse when the pressure comes on.

Love how you're saying the Gaels should decline these transfers.... you've changed your tune on that in the last couple of weeks. Sure weren't they based in the gaels parish so why wouldn't they play for the gaels... didn't stop you celebrating previous success with all these transfers inward...

Enjoy your mourning though... and get used to it.. all the transfers in the world wouldn't buy what Ramor or Gowna will feel when they win with their friends, colleagues, families and coaches.

Heaven offers nothing that a mercenary soul can desire."
18 of the 19 Cavan Gaels players that last won the championship in 2017 were born in reared in Cavan Town. The exception being M Lyng who's Dad was born a half a mile from Terry Coyle .
So your begrudging statement has no substance. Why don't you stick to Meath football and the carry on that goes on there with players hoping from one club to another for years along the Meath/ Cavan border.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 03/11/2021 14:05:21    2388278

Replying To brian:  "Howya Tomsmith here

brian here

Heaven offers nothing that a mercenary soul can desire."
brian here

Brian (Meath) - Posts: 1365 - 03/11/2021 11:56:53 2388260

Brian Brian Brian i have seen rants here before that were full of inaccuracy's but i have to admit this gets top prize.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 03/11/2021 15:42:30    2388296

Replying To RHF:  "brian here

Brian (Meath) - Posts: 1365 - 03/11/2021 11:56:53 2388260

Brian Brian Brian i have seen rants here before that were full of inaccuracy's but i have to admit this gets top prize."
Bridge with Gearoid - Intermediate
Bridge without him - Won Intermediate

Quid pro quo

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/11/2021 16:46:11    2388306

Replying To CavanAgain:  "You don't know much about Cavan football Brian if you think Ramor have 15 players who grew up together."
I don't think I can see anyone on the ramor program from last game who didn't go to primary school in the parish? Never mind you're 15 lads who didn't grow up together. I'd be interested to hear who didn't grow up around?

EastCavanGaels (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 03/11/2021 17:05:07    2388310

Replying To EastCavanGaels:  "I don't think I can see anyone on the ramor program from last game who didn't go to primary school in the parish? Never mind you're 15 lads who didn't grow up together. I'd be interested to hear who didn't grow up around?"
whist with your sensible posting... don't you know the gaels apply their standards to everyone uniformally...

If they "import" players sure everyone must do it....

Heck even this Meath think knows that ;)

Anyways good luck to a couple of great clubs in this match in Ramor and Gowna, I doubt players form either club would be tempted by the Emperors new clothes ; )

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/11/2021 17:24:08    2388315

Replying To brian:  "Bridge with Gearoid - Intermediate

Quid pro quo"
He was never involved with butlersbridge, don't be posting about things you don't know about.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 03/11/2021 17:39:45    2388319

Replying To brian:  "Bridge with Gearoid - Intermediate

Quid pro quo"
Bridge with Gearoid - Intermediate

Quid pro quo
brian (Meath) - Posts: 1368 - 03/11/2021 16:46:11

Keep to Meath football i would hope you have a better knowledge of it.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 03/11/2021 18:56:14    2388337