Senior Championship

The championship as a whole has been ok, some good games of football, but some very negative defensive football at times. On the face of it, I've attended many matches and in fairness to the county manager, its very easy to see why Cavan are playing Division 4 football next year. It's was very difficult to pick any county players from what I've seen, the exception being Gearoid McKiernan who has had an incredible campaign. Mickey G has worked wonders with that squad of players, 2 Ulster Final appearances in row, winning one of them with those resources is a real achievement.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 12/10/2021 13:53:18    2385366

Replying To cavanblueman:  "The championship as a whole has been ok, some good games of football, but some very negative defensive football at times. On the face of it, I've attended many matches and in fairness to the county manager, its very easy to see why Cavan are playing Division 4 football next year. It's was very difficult to pick any county players from what I've seen, the exception being Gearoid McKiernan who has had an incredible campaign. Mickey G has worked wonders with that squad of players, 2 Ulster Final appearances in row, winning one of them with those resources is a real achievement."
The only cavan player Graham would have seen is Mackey..

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 12/10/2021 14:14:27    2385372

Replying To cavanblueman:  "The championship as a whole has been ok, some good games of football, but some very negative defensive football at times. On the face of it, I've attended many matches and in fairness to the county manager, its very easy to see why Cavan are playing Division 4 football next year. It's was very difficult to pick any county players from what I've seen, the exception being Gearoid McKiernan who has had an incredible campaign. Mickey G has worked wonders with that squad of players, 2 Ulster Final appearances in row, winning one of them with those resources is a real achievement."
Is that you Micky

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 12/10/2021 18:27:30    2385417

I think Micky needs to play gearoid full forward next year he seems to be playing really well there, hopefully with James smith back this year him along with Thomas gallivanting midfield should be ok, I'd like to see Connor brady in at no 6 and get a settled run there with maybe Gerry smith and paddy meade flanking him, lots of talented players in this squad if they are all fit, the hollow to come back in too

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 13/10/2021 12:30:15    2385485

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "The only cavan player Graham would have seen is Mackey.."
Mickey has been at plenty of league and championship games this year, my point being, not many current county players have stood out and have been very disappointing, and not many others have stood up to be considered for call ups. Mickey knows what he's doing and despite what other's on this forum have said, a lot of players were called in for trials and many declined the offer due to various reasons.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 13/10/2021 13:17:22    2385494

Replying To blueman1903:  "I think Micky needs to play gearoid full forward next year he seems to be playing really well there, hopefully with James smith back this year him along with Thomas gallivanting midfield should be ok, I'd like to see Connor brady in at no 6 and get a settled run there with maybe Gerry smith and paddy meade flanking him, lots of talented players in this squad if they are all fit, the hollow to come back in too"
Galligan

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 13/10/2021 13:34:02    2385506

They will all be back and flying in the depths of Division 4…….one can hardly wait

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1927 - 13/10/2021 21:10:28    2385586

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "They will all be back and flying in the depths of Division 4…….one can hardly wait"
Hopefully they will all be back and flying fit not out injured like last year, can't wait either.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 14/10/2021 10:08:35    2385600

Replying To blueman1903:  "Hopefully they will all be back and flying fit not out injured like last year, can't wait either."
Very simple - don't go to any Division 4 games and don't celebrate any promotion - wait until they get back to Division 1 or Division 2, then you can jump back on the glory hunter bandwagon.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 14/10/2021 10:39:57    2385604

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Very simple - don't go to any Division 4 games and don't celebrate any promotion - wait until they get back to Division 1 or Division 2, then you can jump back on the glory hunter bandwagon."
Why are you telling me not to go to any games go back and read my posts,

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 14/10/2021 11:24:38    2385610

Ramor v Gaels I can see Ramor winning this one. Gaels have a lost a few experienced players and are teambuilding at the Mo. Might be a year too soon for some of their inexperienced players.
Gowna. V Kingscourt. Gowna the form team but their plenty of experience and know how to win tight games in Kingscourt so il go with them.

Anyone having a bet Ramor/ Kingscourt looks a tempting double and if you feeling lucky throw in Naomh Connail to beat Kilcar in Donegal for the treble and it pays a nice 12/1.?

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 22/10/2021 12:28:17    2386800

Ramor will be far to strong for a young Gaels side. Gowna to just about get through and Ramor to win final.

Views (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 22/10/2021 16:26:00    2386856

If kingscourt beat Gowna they will win it out, they have the big game know how and experience combined with a great team. No pressure on them coming under the radar.

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 277 - 23/10/2021 10:13:32    2386905

Replying To BreffniBlue:  "If kingscourt beat Gowna they will win it out, they have the big game know how and experience combined with a great team. No pressure on them coming under the radar."
Losing by 10 points isn't that great a team.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 24/10/2021 19:10:50    2387193

Gowna are streets ahead of anyone else in the competition and will win the final pulling up. These young lads will back bone the Cavan team for the next 10 years. Ryan Brady Cormac Brady Conor Casey all U18. Conor Brady Ryan Donohoe Oisin Pierson Conor Madden

gowna02 (Cavan) - Posts: 99 - 25/10/2021 13:27:34    2387291

Replying To gowna02:  "Gowna are streets ahead of anyone else in the competition and will win the final pulling up. These young lads will back bone the Cavan team for the next 10 years. Ryan Brady Cormac Brady Conor Casey all U18. Conor Brady Ryan Donohoe Oisin Pierson Conor Madden"
Bit biased, no? Good team no doubt, but young like you say. Ramor have been there a fair few times recently. You might very well win, but not pulling up. A final is a very different place, especially than some of the opposition you've had recently.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 25/10/2021 14:13:07    2387297

how many players are ramor missing this year? has seanie keogan and ronan patterson stepped away?

i.am.legend (UK) - Posts: 41 - 25/10/2021 16:46:01    2387317

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Bit biased, no? Good team no doubt, but young like you say. Ramor have been there a fair few times recently. You might very well win, but not pulling up. A final is a very different place, especially than some of the opposition you've had recently."
I don't think these lads are your average young lads. Ryan Brady is picking up the opposition's best player in most games this year (Faulkner, T Galligan, Clarke etc) and doing a job on them. Casey and Cormac Brady look like seasoned campaigners very composed. Conor Brady is playing great football, Conor Madden and Pierson were back on form yesterday as well

gowna02 (Cavan) - Posts: 99 - 25/10/2021 21:21:12    2387354

Replying To gowna02:  "I don't think these lads are your average young lads. Ryan Brady is picking up the opposition's best player in most games this year (Faulkner, T Galligan, Clarke etc) and doing a job on them. Casey and Cormac Brady look like seasoned campaigners very composed. Conor Brady is playing great football, Conor Madden and Pierson were back on form yesterday as well"
Very hard to say yet. You're saying all that while you never met a particularly strong team this year (bar Crosserlough who seemed to have had a very long hangover from last year, and Kingscourt who got a handy draw and had flattered to deceive so far). Ramor will be the first of the proper big teams in form that you'll be meeting this year. And it'll be in a final, against a team that has players with medals in their pockets, and it's their 2nd final in 3 years. That experience of the big day counts.

Like I feel you may win, you've a great chance at least in a one off game, but don't see you winning pulling up as you said. Finals tend to be cagey and not as open as you had your quarter and semi finals - which were against potentially the weakest of the teams at those stages, and that was after a very handy group stage draw too (all 4 teams you faced did not make the quarters).

By all means think that way if you want, sure fire way of being caught out. It'll not be a handy final

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 26/10/2021 10:10:21    2387377

Been very impressed with Gowna this year. I've seen them a few times in the league and all their games in Championship. They have an outstanding game plan, all the players have bought into it, they defend well and then transition very quickly into attack, always support runners willing to take the ball off the shoulder and then you have McKeever, in my view, one of the stand out players of the championship. I've watched many a championship match this year, and apart Gearoid at times, very few of the County players have stood out, but one would be forgiving for thinking that McKeever was still playing County football. His composure, positioning of the ball, retention and delivery was a joy to behold. Padraig Faulkner busted himself on Sunday, ran himself into the ground, but it was all meaningless running with no end product compared to the composure shown by McKeever.
Gowna were the only team on Sunday who came to play football and with a game plan. Kieran Donnelly has turned the Gaels into a ultra defensive team, they were like watching Cavan under the Terry 'the black death' Hyland, where was all the fast flowing football that the Gaels were once renowned for. Kingscourt the same, no game plan, played into Gowna's hands and Ramor were very poor also for what was expected. Granted, Ramor found it hard to break down the Gaels, the final will be more open but in my view, Gowna are the form team and wont be stopped.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 26/10/2021 12:32:10    2387420