Westmeath Hurling thread

I don't think it's fair on Bulfin
I don't agree with the appointment

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 217 - 25/07/2024 19:51:07    2561582

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "That's an outrageous statement to say they can't be comfortable with the appointment. The man was deemed the best candidate, just because your club tried to throw their weight around at the meeting the other night doesn't mean a thing. Why would any rational minded player pull away because of this appointment, regardless of whether it was expected or not"
Reports of Raharney & clonkill players, particularly Raharney not happy that their own club men were not given the opportunity. I think there was significant confidence & potentially false promises that greville was a sure thing

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 243 - 25/07/2024 20:38:33    2561589

Fair point. He's been appointed and deemed the best candidate by the committee charged with selecting the next manager. I'd say no matter who was appointed there would be kickback from some quarters, if some players decide they're not willing to play under him for some spurious reason then that's their prerogative, it's a choice to play club or county hurling, no contracts involved.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1664 - 25/07/2024 23:01:26    2561622

Replying To westmeathgaa11:  "Reports of Raharney & clonkill players, particularly Raharney not happy that their own club men were not given the opportunity. I think there was significant confidence & potentially false promises that greville was a sure thing"
Well I fairness to them they've achieved a lot and would be highly regarded in their own right. Possibly should have considered joint management from them to get it over the line. Alas that ship has sailed let's see how Newman gets on. He will need to work with O'Brien closely as 20's manager he knows these lads better than anyone.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 26/07/2024 11:21:20    2561684

Replying To westmeathgaa11:  "Reports of Raharney & clonkill players, particularly Raharney not happy that their own club men were not given the opportunity. I think there was significant confidence & potentially false promises that greville was a sure thing"
False promises? Even Johnny Greville himself knew that there was serious external competition for the job so the idea that he was some kind of shoe in is nonsensical. Our under 20s poor performances this year in drawing with an average Meath team and then being outplayed completely at home by Dublin undermined Kevin O' Brien's chances.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1664 - 26/07/2024 11:31:34    2561688

Replying To Claretandblue:  "False promises? Even Johnny Greville himself knew that there was serious external competition for the job so the idea that he was some kind of shoe in is nonsensical. Our under 20s poor performances this year in drawing with an average Meath team and then being outplayed completely at home by Dublin undermined Kevin O' Brien's chances."
But the 20's topped tier 2 unbeaten. 5 of the 20's players played v offaly in senior the day before Dublin match. Just a bit of context

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 26/07/2024 12:46:05    2561723

https://www.midlands103.com/news/sports/new-westmeath-hurling-manager-facing-uphill-struggle-gerry-buckley/

Kinda of backs up what some of ye were saying.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 26/07/2024 13:42:22    2561754

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "But the 20's topped tier 2 unbeaten. 5 of the 20's players played v offaly in senior the day before Dublin match. Just a bit of context"
I feel in the chaos of the McDonagh the county boards failure to get that U20 game on the Friday or the following week went unnoticed

We were the only county where the seniors got first call on the 20s before an important game

I feel the handling of the appointment and the treatment of the 20s gives a fair indication of what the current county executive feel about hurling in our county

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 217 - 26/07/2024 13:51:10    2561758

Ah lads get over it. Bulfin is in place now & wish him the best of luck, he has a lot of high level experience over the last 15 years & shouldn't be only judged on what happened with Meath. I thought Greville would get it but he has been involved with the senior set up for a few years now already so maybe that went against him.
A few lads on here with their own agendas talking about u20's & players not going to join the panel.

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 245 - 26/07/2024 14:41:39    2561779

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "But the 20's topped tier 2 unbeaten. 5 of the 20's players played v offaly in senior the day before Dublin match. Just a bit of context"
Topped tier 2 with Meath and Carlow? Are you serious? There were lads on here claiming we'd make Leinster final. The game against Dublin was as one sided a game as I've ever attended. What five played in both games?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1664 - 26/07/2024 17:05:27    2561830

Replying To LockLeanGayl:  "I feel in the chaos of the McDonagh the county boards failure to get that U20 game on the Friday or the following week went unnoticed

We were the only county where the seniors got first call on the 20s before an important game

I feel the handling of the appointment and the treatment of the 20s gives a fair indication of what the current county executive feel about hurling in our county"
How is that the county executive's fault? Please explain. Joe Fortune prioritised the seniors over the 20s, not Frank Mescall.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1664 - 26/07/2024 17:07:08    2561832

Replying To Left Full:  "Ah lads get over it. Bulfin is in place now & wish him the best of luck, he has a lot of high level experience over the last 15 years & shouldn't be only judged on what happened with Meath. I thought Greville would get it but he has been involved with the senior set up for a few years now already so maybe that went against him.
A few lads on here with their own agendas talking about u20's & players not going to join the panel."
I genuinely don't think it's anything against Bulfin

I think it's more that if the county board were going to go outside the county it should have been for a candidate that was clearly better than what we have here ourselves

Someone like Mattie Kenny wouldn't have gotten the same reaction

Why blow a big budget on an average outsider when there's good internal candidates

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 217 - 26/07/2024 19:34:33    2561854