Galway Club Football

Replying To handpassking:  "Dunmore continue to re build with f19 A title. only a matter of time before they are back in the senior ranks."
Matthew Reddington should be in with the seniors.

Half-back45678 (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 24/10/2021 21:31:15    2387219

Agreed but with this crop coming through it should get them over the line in the next year or two. Particularly with the standard of intermediate football been so poor at present.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 430 - 25/10/2021 10:03:57    2387237

Much talk on the forum about the standard of intermediate football and standard of galway football in general but when a team just promoted from Junior St Brendan's without there best player beats a team just relegated from senior breatnachs in the intermediate grade what else do you need to conclude about the standard of football in galway.

padthepostman (Galway) - Posts: 150 - 25/10/2021 12:19:34    2387273

Cathal McShane plays intermediate football in Tyrone. The standard of football you play at club level does not correlate with ability. There is a gap between senior and intermediate clubs in Galway but a couple of players are due a chance in with the county.

Half-back45678 (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 25/10/2021 15:02:00    2387302

Replying To handpassking:  "Agreed but with this crop coming through it should get them over the line in the next year or two. Particularly with the standard of intermediate football been so poor at present."
Fair play to Dunmore on their win..
Look if Cortoon can win intermediate then Dunmore will definitely soon.
Dunmore very progressive underage. Cortoon for example are a disaster.. conceding left right and centre this year .

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 25/10/2021 15:47:19    2387312

Replying To Belclare:  "Fair play to Dunmore on their win..
Look if Cortoon can win intermediate then Dunmore will definitely soon.
Dunmore very progressive underage. Cortoon for example are a disaster.. conceding left right and centre this year ."
Easy to come on here and throw digs at a small club like Cortoon. Clubs like that are the lifeblood of the GAA. Yes they're struggling at underage, yes they've had to concede games and probably will need an amalgamation shortly. They've tiny numbers and it's a credit to them that they're senior, for however long it lasts.

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 25/10/2021 17:42:06    2387320

I see where it € 20 to go to club semi finals at weekend Is the county board having a laugh at the people who support there clubs all year it's one way of making sure no Neturals will go to watch matches instead of trying promote games they doing dead opposite ,,,with all people have done during COVID to try keep matches and training going this is way GAA in Galway treat there supporters ,, ye should be Ashamed of yer selfs ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 25/10/2021 18:48:05    2387326

Great post padthepostman. Hits the nail on the head.

But I believe we have bigger problems with rumours circulating about the outcome of the meeting with the players and PJ.

Apparently many aired the concerns with the present management but it fell on deaf ears. Jesus can they sort it for once and all and move on.

Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 80 - 25/10/2021 18:58:28    2387328

Replying To Kickitout:  "I see where it € 20 to go to club semi finals at weekend Is the county board having a laugh at the people who support there clubs all year it's one way of making sure no Neturals will go to watch matches instead of trying promote games they doing dead opposite ,,,with all people have done during COVID to try keep matches and training going this is way GAA in Galway treat there supporters ,, ye should be Ashamed of yer selfs ,,"
I wonder will they stream the games or will that impact their money making ability too much ?

Peggy11 (Galway) - Posts: 84 - 26/10/2021 10:56:05    2387389

GOD retired thanks for some great days.

Hope he retired for the right reasons and not because of the management. The optics of this is awful players leaving in dribs and drabs.

northbouind (Galway) - Posts: 304 - 26/10/2021 12:30:06    2387419

Replying To northbouind:  "GOD retired thanks for some great days.

Hope he retired for the right reasons and not because of the management. The optics of this is awful players leaving in dribs and drabs."
It's only the start of it

Shocking (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 26/10/2021 13:23:21    2387437

Replying To Donaldtrump:  "Easy to come on here and throw digs at a small club like Cortoon. Clubs like that are the lifeblood of the GAA. Yes they're struggling at underage, yes they've had to concede games and probably will need an amalgamation shortly. They've tiny numbers and it's a credit to them that they're senior, for however long it lasts."
My words were wrong and I apologise. But I believe clubs that are conceding games at underage for wrong reasons should be called our..
Clubs failing to field at Feile this year for example because they ( mentors) felt they were playing at the wrong grade..
It's the kids that lose out.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/10/2021 14:25:33    2387453

Replying To padthepostman:  "Much talk on the forum about the standard of intermediate football and standard of galway football in general but when a team just promoted from Junior St Brendan's without there best player beats a team just relegated from senior breatnachs in the intermediate grade what else do you need to conclude about the standard of football in galway."
Not sure why anyone would judge the standard of club football in a county by how well the 20 something best team in it goes in a game.

More valid would be to see the three time all ireland champions, the two teams who are the only teams in the country to give them a serious game in the last 4 years and the current all ireland intermediate champions are all in the county.

Standard of galway club player is extremely high. The problem is we have loads of brilliant club players but not enough with that extra 5%-10% speed/power/quality to become elite quality county players.

kazoochka (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 26/10/2021 15:39:20    2387464

Replying To kazoochka:  "Not sure why anyone would judge the standard of club football in a county by how well the 20 something best team in it goes in a game.

More valid would be to see the three time all ireland champions, the two teams who are the only teams in the country to give them a serious game in the last 4 years and the current all ireland intermediate champions are all in the county.

Standard of galway club player is extremely high. The problem is we have loads of brilliant club players but not enough with that extra 5%-10% speed/power/quality to become elite quality county players."
We don't have the correct CB and management to kick on

I fully believe we have the players to be amongst the top teams in the country. Even if we aren't winning Sam we should not be div 2.

I know some players are not OK with this and have unfortunately had to challenge the management. I would be of the belief that certain players are OK with where Galway are as long as they are getting national recognition . Forget how the team are doing

For the record I absolutely think these lads if they get the opportunity should make a few bob out of this. Joe canning made plenty out of it but I always believed first and foremost he wanted the Galway team to do well.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/10/2021 16:28:35    2387471

Replying To kazoochka:  "Not sure why anyone would judge the standard of club football in a county by how well the 20 something best team in it goes in a game.

Standard of galway club player is extremely high. The problem is we have loads of brilliant club players but not enough with that extra 5%-10% speed/power/quality to become elite quality county players."
Would agree with that but I would also add that the absolute drive, ruthlessness and hunger to succeed at county level for the full 70+ minutes of games is also not where it should be compared with Dublin, Tyrone, Kerry and even the noisy neighbours Mayo. If those ingredients were there, I have no doubt that Galway would be seriously challenging for AI honours never mind Connacht titles.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 26/10/2021 18:03:32    2387496

Replying To Shocking:  "It's only the start of it"
The beginning of the end

dontlookback (Galway) - Posts: 267 - 26/10/2021 21:45:01    2387525

Replying To tommy k:  "Would agree with that but I would also add that the absolute drive, ruthlessness and hunger to succeed at county level for the full 70+ minutes of games is also not where it should be compared with Dublin, Tyrone, Kerry and even the noisy neighbours Mayo. If those ingredients were there, I have no doubt that Galway would be seriously challenging for AI honours never mind Connacht titles."
Spot on.

When we talk about the S&C standards of the Galway players we blame the mgt set up, and right so. However if the mgt set up in Dublin wasn't putting proper programs in place do u think Johnny Cooper or James McCarthy are sitting at home waiting for the program to land in their inbox. They are out doing it themselves. They are driving it on, taking ownership and getting on with it.

The state of our players against Kerry after the second lockdown and Mayo after the first lock down was a joke and in my view the players need to look in the mirror big time.

That is not to absolve the management at all. James Horan was going around the county taking club sessions and checking in with his county men during the club season making sure things were ticking over in the right direction. If our lads were doing the same ....god help us it certainly didn't work.

As you say Tommy, players need Drive, Hunger and a Ruthlessness to Succeed. Those 3 things will bring you to AI Semi finals and finals as Mayo have proved. If you combine it with sprinkling of talent you will get you all the way.

Tyrone are another example. A team of really good footballers but you would not pick any of them out as gifted. But when you look at them they are statuesque. You can see the work they have put it on the training field and it translates on the field. Pure hunger ruthlessness and drive.

Eddie Jones told the team bus driver to pretend the bus was broken on the way to training. He wanted to see would they find a way to get to training. They did. I can imagine our lads standing on the side of the road waiting for someone to fix it for them.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 27/10/2021 09:48:08    2387536

Very hard to self motivate when the management has lost a sizeable amount of the dressing room!

Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 80 - 27/10/2021 11:00:06    2387556

Looking forward to the semis this weekend. The championships have been very good so far . Lets enjoy the rest of it before seeing what sort of a squad can be assembled for the inter county. Hopefully the guys have been watching the club championship and can bring the best of the talent in the county ( current panelists + 2021 departees + fresh talent) in to a committed squad.
As for those who think the standard of club football is poor , I really dont think that is a fair or correct view. In particular I have been trying for several days to understand the logic of St Brendans beating MB being an indicator of poor standards.
To put this in perspective Blackpool were promoted from League 1 ( tier 3 ) in English League . On Sep 11 they defeated Fulham who were relegated from Premier League ( tier1) in a Championship ( tier 2) game. Nobody drew conclusions from this that the Premier League is a poor quality league.
If you could deduce anything from either of these results it is that there is a high level of equivalency of standard in the English championship as there is in the Galway Intermediate championship. Consequently it is no major surprise for a lower ranked ( or recently promoted) team to beat a higher ranked ( or recently relegated) one.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 27/10/2021 12:51:21    2387579

Replying To anotheralias:  "Looking forward to the semis this weekend. The championships have been very good so far . Lets enjoy the rest of it before seeing what sort of a squad can be assembled for the inter county. Hopefully the guys have been watching the club championship and can bring the best of the talent in the county ( current panelists + 2021 departees + fresh talent) in to a committed squad.
As for those who think the standard of club football is poor , I really dont think that is a fair or correct view. In particular I have been trying for several days to understand the logic of St Brendans beating MB being an indicator of poor standards.
To put this in perspective Blackpool were promoted from League 1 ( tier 3 ) in English League . On Sep 11 they defeated Fulham who were relegated from Premier League ( tier1) in a Championship ( tier 2) game. Nobody drew conclusions from this that the Premier League is a poor quality league.
If you could deduce anything from either of these results it is that there is a high level of equivalency of standard in the English championship as there is in the Galway Intermediate championship. Consequently it is no major surprise for a lower ranked ( or recently promoted) team to beat a higher ranked ( or recently relegated) one."
Not particularly unusual at all to see 'promoted sides' excelling at the higher levels. Checkout Notts Forest '78-'80, the Portumna hurlers late '90s-2014, Caltra footballers '96-'04. Spectacular success stories, that reached unimaginable destinations in a serious hurry. Success can breed further success, in most sports, in most codes, for individuals & teams. In GAA, it boils down mostly to the calibre of the talent, followed by the ability to tap into it. In UK soccer, it's probably the same, except that the talent & the tapping of it can be bought & sold, depending on a club's financial clout.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 27/10/2021 14:38:36    2387601