Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "I have followed Wicklow GAA an awful long time now. I don't subscribe coming onto these forums and launching into negative feedback the whole time. It serves no one any good. Here are my thoughts on our county at the moment.
(1) The people who run our county board are there because they want to be there. If we are not happy with them, then it's up to the people who attend these county conventions to get them out. This has not happened because the people who attend these conventions have no one else to vote in. And why is this . Its called apathy. No one cares enough to out their head out there and try and fo something. There are countless people who are well able yo steer us out of this mess but they don't have the time ot they don't see the point.
(2) On the playing field itself , I have given up on understanding the need for Wicklow to have 13 men behind the ball and sometimes 15. That style of play does not suit the players we have. Just because every other team in Ireland is playing this style, do we have to play it . When is the last time we watched a decent game of football and came away and said that was enjoyable. Can anyone say coming out of Aughrim last Sunday that you enjoyed watching that game.
(3) As I said before I don't like buying into negativity . There are loads of people doing brilliant work at club level and are happy doing that . If people want change then at each convention they need to put their name forward and lead. Otherwise it will be groundhog day each year. Don't be waiting for someone else to lead, do it yourself. That's my motto."
Its musical chairs with the county board. Thats why nobody else can get in. People have tried !! Its all about who you have in your pocket. Ill scratch your back if you scratch mine. The county board dont lile being told the truth.

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 20/02/2024 10:16:13    2527153

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "I have followed Wicklow GAA an awful long time now. I don't subscribe coming onto these forums and launching into negative feedback the whole time. It serves no one any good. Here are my thoughts on our county at the moment.
(1) The people who run our county board are there because they want to be there. If we are not happy with them, then it's up to the people who attend these county conventions to get them out. This has not happened because the people who attend these conventions have no one else to vote in. And why is this . Its called apathy. No one cares enough to out their head out there and try and fo something. There are countless people who are well able yo steer us out of this mess but they don't have the time ot they don't see the point.
(2) On the playing field itself , I have given up on understanding the need for Wicklow to have 13 men behind the ball and sometimes 15. That style of play does not suit the players we have. Just because every other team in Ireland is playing this style, do we have to play it . When is the last time we watched a decent game of football and came away and said that was enjoyable. Can anyone say coming out of Aughrim last Sunday that you enjoyed watching that game.
(3) As I said before I don't like buying into negativity . There are loads of people doing brilliant work at club level and are happy doing that . If people want change then at each convention they need to put their name forward and lead. Otherwise it will be groundhog day each year. Don't be waiting for someone else to lead, do it yourself. That's my motto."
Roseyinthe garden. If you believe all this, then god bless your innocence. I have watched Wicklow GAA for close on 60 yrs In my younger days I actually served on boards. I was always struck by the closed shop mentality at the top table. People who had been there for years. Do you remember the different occasions when whispering campaigns were organised by certain clubs with the tacit approval of our great and good to undermine certain elected officials ??Have you ever served either as delegate or county board member. If you have, then your view of how things work and have worked would or should be different. Many good progressive men and women have come and gone, mostdisillusioned by the lack of advancement of our games. Putting your name forward , getting elected ?? That just won't happen. There are too many delegates from other clubs who are there solely for the benefit and advancement of their own club. They may owe someone for a favour done fee a suspension, match postponement or whatever. A new kid on the block will be thrown aside. You need to become a delegate, serve your time, curry favour and then have a go. That takes years. To do what you suggest would take an organised effort by a majority of clubs and that just won't happen. If this is negativity, then I'm sorry but it is also just the way things are, were and always will. I fully realise that people have devoted their lives to our association. Many good and well intentioned people But, results speak for themselves. Stat don't lie. We are at a lower ebb presently than we have ever been. Can you see that changing any time soon?

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 20/02/2024 11:38:21    2527167

Replying To Freethinker:  "Roseyinthe garden. If you believe all this, then god bless your innocence. I have watched Wicklow GAA for close on 60 yrs In my younger days I actually served on boards. I was always struck by the closed shop mentality at the top table. People who had been there for years. Do you remember the different occasions when whispering campaigns were organised by certain clubs with the tacit approval of our great and good to undermine certain elected officials ??Have you ever served either as delegate or county board member. If you have, then your view of how things work and have worked would or should be different. Many good progressive men and women have come and gone, mostdisillusioned by the lack of advancement of our games. Putting your name forward , getting elected ?? That just won't happen. There are too many delegates from other clubs who are there solely for the benefit and advancement of their own club. They may owe someone for a favour done fee a suspension, match postponement or whatever. A new kid on the block will be thrown aside. You need to become a delegate, serve your time, curry favour and then have a go. That takes years. To do what you suggest would take an organised effort by a majority of clubs and that just won't happen. If this is negativity, then I'm sorry but it is also just the way things are, were and always will. I fully realise that people have devoted their lives to our association. Many good and well intentioned people But, results speak for themselves. Stat don't lie. We are at a lower ebb presently than we have ever been. Can you see that changing any time soon?"
Two people in particular need to step away from all involvement

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 20/02/2024 12:37:02    2527177

Replying To Mileythedog:  "Two people in particular need to step away from all involvement"
Only 2 ?

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 20/02/2024 12:53:21    2527181

Replying To Freethinker:  "Only 2 ?"
2 is the starting point.

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 20/02/2024 13:24:01    2527188

Replying To Freethinker:  "Roseyinthe garden. If you believe all this, then god bless your innocence. I have watched Wicklow GAA for close on 60 yrs In my younger days I actually served on boards. I was always struck by the closed shop mentality at the top table. People who had been there for years. Do you remember the different occasions when whispering campaigns were organised by certain clubs with the tacit approval of our great and good to undermine certain elected officials ??Have you ever served either as delegate or county board member. If you have, then your view of how things work and have worked would or should be different. Many good progressive men and women have come and gone, mostdisillusioned by the lack of advancement of our games. Putting your name forward , getting elected ?? That just won't happen. There are too many delegates from other clubs who are there solely for the benefit and advancement of their own club. They may owe someone for a favour done fee a suspension, match postponement or whatever. A new kid on the block will be thrown aside. You need to become a delegate, serve your time, curry favour and then have a go. That takes years. To do what you suggest would take an organised effort by a majority of clubs and that just won't happen. If this is negativity, then I'm sorry but it is also just the way things are, were and always will. I fully realise that people have devoted their lives to our association. Many good and well intentioned people But, results speak for themselves. Stat don't lie. We are at a lower ebb presently than we have ever been. Can you see that changing any time soon?"
I can 100& verify this and have seen it first hand through involvement in my own club down the years. Someone new with fresh ideas and energy puts their name forward for a County Board Role and rather than embrace this and see it as an opportunity to help bring us forward, it is immediately viewed a threat to the status quo and as "coming after our territory". So the old guard circle the wagons, and the back channel phone calls around the county start in the weeks before convention, "Who are ye picking for role X?" , "Ah , I think we can get your lad's suspension reduced, tell him to throw in an appeal there" "Aren't ye looking to transfer in yer man, don;t worry I'll look after that" etc etc. The roles are already determined long before the convention. The person putting himself forward sees there's no way in , that they're not wanted so walks away. Sometimes to the benefit of his/her club as there is plenty of good folk who have experienced this and have put their head down to concentrate on their club and are completely divested in all things county.

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 121 - 20/02/2024 14:50:35    2527208

Replying To Freethinker:  "Only 2 ?"
If these 2 go it would make a massive difference and then we could maybe look at getting a driven person in to the appointed position who has some business acumen. Then we might actually start to come out of the doldrums. It would take a brave chairman to take these steps and this is where it might stall for the moment. The delegates are stale in a lot of clubs. We had an elderly delegate a few years ago who was laughed and jeered every time he opened his mouth. Then our chairman started to ask the tough questions and he became unpopular in the room. Avondale always have decent reps .

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 20/02/2024 18:08:33    2527252

Replying To heavyheart19:  "If these 2 go it would make a massive difference and then we could maybe look at getting a driven person in to the appointed position who has some business acumen. Then we might actually start to come out of the doldrums. It would take a brave chairman to take these steps and this is where it might stall for the moment. The delegates are stale in a lot of clubs. We had an elderly delegate a few years ago who was laughed and jeered every time he opened his mouth. Then our chairman started to ask the tough questions and he became unpopular in the room. Avondale always have decent reps ."
Hurlers go to London. Fly over and back in the one day.

Footballers went to Sligo. Stayed over night.

Footballers to go to Clare. Ask the county board for money to stay overnight. Said they can't as no money available. Member of the football management comes back and says there are 7 hotels in the area that'll take them overnight. Making a mockery of the county board. Footballers are staying overnight.

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 20/02/2024 20:23:37    2527273

I see league is back this weekend. Do we believe any other club players can be added to the panel to make us stronger?

Ww123456 (UK) - Posts: 1 - 20/02/2024 22:33:36    2527292

Replying To Ww123456:  "I see league is back this weekend. Do we believe any other club players can be added to the panel to make us stronger?"
I suppose everyone will have an opinion on this player and that player who should be in the panel but I think the panel as it stands has most if not all, the best available. I have faith in these players. It is a big step up from senior in the county to Div 3 in inter county. It will take time to make them into a good team. As someone said, it's not as we are getting walloped each game.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 21/02/2024 08:07:58    2527311

Thursday nights county board meeting could get heated.

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 21/02/2024 13:55:43    2527381

The hurlers wont win one match. The footballers might win one match. That is not being pessimistic just the likely scenario. We have got ourselves into this mess, we will be division 4 for the next 5 years. If Kevin Quinn ever pulls out we would be division 5!

There are plenty who could be added to the panel but there is no player that could be added that would be a guaranteed starter. A lot of key players in the clubs are 35+.

I wonder how much a nights stay in Clare/Sligo costs v driving up and down the one day? 6K - 12k? Mega money spent on senior squad for what will be a maximum one victory. We keep the score respectable because we play 15 players behind the ball, we will only ever loose by 6 points. And no every other county do not use this tactic!! If we don't score an early goal its impossible to ever win this way at this standard.

In relation to county board, I would also add the additional scenario - there are highly intelligent capable people in very well paid corporate jobs that would love to assist, however, they would be very alien - (a) average age is over 60, (b) politics involved as described in above posts (c) you would be dealing with people in positions/on boards for 30 year - very hard to change, (d) very little have worked in corporate world. How would this type of person take a position on the WCC? How many people under the age of 50 attend county board meetings anymore? We need about 5 new lads coming in together - they will draw more similar minded people in and get rid of 90% of the board.

A lot of people are turning (and have) their back on GAA in the county due to the declining state over the past 20 years. Just look at attendances even. Every facet of the county is in a worse state than it was 20 years ago. Don't come on here and start about there are big improvements going on at underage - people have been saying this the last 10 years on this forum. We are now so far behind we need about 4 Leinster semi final appearances in a row in Leinster minor/20s to have any impact. Dean Healy will not be playing next yr - what 18/19/20/21/22/23 year old will take his place?

Im resigning from posting here also. The stuff that has went on in this county over the past 12 months has my mind made up.

Tank (Wicklow) - Posts: 9 - 21/02/2024 14:25:59    2527388

Replying To Tank:  "The hurlers wont win one match. The footballers might win one match. That is not being pessimistic just the likely scenario. We have got ourselves into this mess, we will be division 4 for the next 5 years. If Kevin Quinn ever pulls out we would be division 5!

There are plenty who could be added to the panel but there is no player that could be added that would be a guaranteed starter. A lot of key players in the clubs are 35+.

I wonder how much a nights stay in Clare/Sligo costs v driving up and down the one day? 6K - 12k? Mega money spent on senior squad for what will be a maximum one victory. We keep the score respectable because we play 15 players behind the ball, we will only ever loose by 6 points. And no every other county do not use this tactic!! If we don't score an early goal its impossible to ever win this way at this standard.

In relation to county board, I would also add the additional scenario - there are highly intelligent capable people in very well paid corporate jobs that would love to assist, however, they would be very alien - (a) average age is over 60, (b) politics involved as described in above posts (c) you would be dealing with people in positions/on boards for 30 year - very hard to change, (d) very little have worked in corporate world. How would this type of person take a position on the WCC? How many people under the age of 50 attend county board meetings anymore? We need about 5 new lads coming in together - they will draw more similar minded people in and get rid of 90% of the board.

A lot of people are turning (and have) their back on GAA in the county due to the declining state over the past 20 years. Just look at attendances even. Every facet of the county is in a worse state than it was 20 years ago. Don't come on here and start about there are big improvements going on at underage - people have been saying this the last 10 years on this forum. We are now so far behind we need about 4 Leinster semi final appearances in a row in Leinster minor/20s to have any impact. Dean Healy will not be playing next yr - what 18/19/20/21/22/23 year old will take his place?

Im resigning from posting here also. The stuff that has went on in this county over the past 12 months has my mind made up."
Well said Tank.

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 21/02/2024 15:45:51    2527411

Replying To Tank:  "The hurlers wont win one match. The footballers might win one match. That is not being pessimistic just the likely scenario. We have got ourselves into this mess, we will be division 4 for the next 5 years. If Kevin Quinn ever pulls out we would be division 5!

Im resigning from posting here also. The stuff that has went on in this county over the past 12 months has my mind made up."
I agree with all points as well Tank. Only one I would differ on is you resigning from the forum. Really people like you should stay and keep showing up things as they are.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 21/02/2024 17:01:16    2527424

I agree with all points as well Tank. Only one I would differ on is you resigning from the forum. Really people like you should stay and keep showing up things as they are.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 21/02/2024 17:11:03    2527427

Replying To Mileythedog:  "Thursday nights county board meeting could get heated."
They have it on Zoom so as it won't.

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 21/02/2024 22:31:53    2527461

Go nowhere please because that post is a brilliant synopsis.

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 21/02/2024 22:34:00    2527462

Replying To heavyheart19:  "Go nowhere please because that post is a brilliant synopsis."
Wicklow are a classic case of all that is wrong with GAA set ups at the moment.
You buy in a celebrity football manager for far too much money. He speaks a great game but sticks 15 behind the ball with no attack plan and keeps the score down but still loses games.. He's good at booking hotels, meals and training camps and keeps demanding these. He continues to get paid big money no matter what the results. He gets you relegated, and continues to receive his money. He speaks an even better game come championship but doesn't deliver.. it's all ok cos he continues to get paid. Good managers are worth their weight in gold, celebrity managers aren't.
It's all wrong. Celebrity managers rarely deliver.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 22/02/2024 13:26:05    2527552

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Wicklow are a classic case of all that is wrong with GAA set ups at the moment.
You buy in a celebrity football manager for far too much money. He speaks a great game but sticks 15 behind the ball with no attack plan and keeps the score down but still loses games.. He's good at booking hotels, meals and training camps and keeps demanding these. He continues to get paid big money no matter what the results. He gets you relegated, and continues to receive his money. He speaks an even better game come championship but doesn't deliver.. it's all ok cos he continues to get paid. Good managers are worth their weight in gold, celebrity managers aren't.
It's all wrong. Celebrity managers rarely deliver."
Interesting take PeterQ92. I suppose when you are as starved of success as we are, then you clutch at any straw.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 22/02/2024 16:12:08    2527588

Was a good year to give up going to matches if nothing else.

FrankieJoe (Wicklow) - Posts: 71 - 23/02/2024 19:42:02    2527770