Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Your point(s) are well made and I fundamentally agree with you. With reference to Pat Gilroy; he did work with the county board in some capacity; I don't know what that capacity was or how long it lasted. I live in another county so I am very much out of the loop but it does seem that what happens behind closed doors is a closed shop but that might be due to me not living in the county. I agree when you take our record over an extended period of time and factor in population then we are a massively underachieving county in both hurling and football. When you examine the facts then it is hard to fathom why we have achieved so little throughout our history. I think efforts are being made in relation to improving things but the reality is that we are falling further and further behind. In general, I think the whole GAA has an issue with discipline and punishing culprits. I think our own county has had an issue with indiscipline and lack of proper punishment for as long as I am following gaelic games in the county. I can't see anything changing until there is a change in attitude. Winning is as much about the attitude you bring to the scene as anything else. Attitude to be best possible and compete against the best is the starting point for me and while a lot of people have serve the county well over the years; I don't get the impression they want to change the things that need to be changed. It appears very much like we should just keep doing what've always done. Unfortunately, this just results in getting the same results/outcomes as we've always got. Is there anyone to change this attitude? Is this the attitude amongst the clubs?"
Back on again wafling do you ever stop

Winning is about attitude etc lord god this is GAA not some high end professional sport. Competing and giving of your best is what it's all about no more no less. And that is success.

While i am here i dont see any mention of out latest all Ireland champions Carnew emmets fair play winning the novelty act in senior scor all Ireland. A great achevement to be there not To mind winning which is always a nice bonus

Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 385 - 25/11/2023 22:05:00    2514603

Replying To Pat Mustard:  "Back on again wafling do you ever stop

Winning is about attitude etc lord god this is GAA not some high end professional sport. Competing and giving of your best is what it's all about no more no less. And that is success.

While i am here i dont see any mention of out latest all Ireland champions Carnew emmets fair play winning the novelty act in senior scor all Ireland. A great achevement to be there not To mind winning which is always a nice bonus"
Most people in the county want to follow a team that wins, just try and remember back to when Micko arrived in the county. Whenever you come out and touch base with reality; you realise this is the case. Unfortunately, you're too fond of commenting on other peoples' opinions than to offer anything worth reading yourself. The game is semi professional, bordering on professional at intercounty level and not far behind at club level. Most counties spend in the region of 1 million on their intercounty team; a lot of money just to do your best as you put it.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 26/11/2023 18:45:11    2514639

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Most people in the county want to follow a team that wins, just try and remember back to when Micko arrived in the county. Whenever you come out and touch base with reality; you realise this is the case. Unfortunately, you're too fond of commenting on other peoples' opinions than to offer anything worth reading yourself. The game is semi professional, bordering on professional at intercounty level and not far behind at club level. Most counties spend in the region of 1 million on their intercounty team; a lot of money just to do your best as you put it."
I well remember when he arrived in the county destroyed football for a generation

I told you at time the most important team then was the juvilniles not wasting money on seniors now look will ya???

If you think chasing money spend by others is way to go you well off you and try raise that money money spent on senior teams is pure waste most of it going out of the county and spent on the wrong teams

By the way I am not to fond of commenting on others I dont have the time for al that. Unlike you I do something every single day for club and county every single day. And that makes a difference. Wafling on here giving out about others and what they do is all you do but what good is that seriously.talking here about schools is a complete waste of time because that cant happen unless teachers want it not county board. You talk about naas cbs winning like you know something but I tell you none of that was down to county board in Kildare so,let the schools at it no point forcing them cause its time and money down the drain because its teachers make it or break it

Things are improving a lot at juvilile in this county thanks to a lot of people that you complain about who work day in day out and id say within the next 5 year there a leinster minor champ coming to Wicklow because finally money is going to wher it should always have gone. Youll be all praise then but none of it will be down to you and key board wariprs who litreally do nothing for club or county. add up all the hours you spend on here and give it to your club instead.

Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 385 - 27/11/2023 17:08:11    2514771

To lighten the mood, let's change the subject. According to accounts the place to be next Sunday is Echelon Park for the u20 A final with AGB and An Tochair. This promises to be a cracker. I think that one of An Tochairs toughest u17 games this year was against next Sundays opposition. I know that each team will have a fair sprinkling of older players this time out and maybe AGB, being a town team might have more. AGB beat Tochair comfortably, judging by the score, in their opening u20 game, but my "spy" in the Roundwood camp tells me that but for a few goalmouth incidents resulting in 2 goals, the outcome could have been closer . Either way, some of the county's finest future seniors will be on show - from both teams.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 27/11/2023 18:19:57    2514782

Replying To Pat Mustard:  "I well remember when he arrived in the county destroyed football for a generation

I told you at time the most important team then was the juvilniles not wasting money on seniors now look will ya???

If you think chasing money spend by others is way to go you well off you and try raise that money money spent on senior teams is pure waste most of it going out of the county and spent on the wrong teams

By the way I am not to fond of commenting on others I dont have the time for al that. Unlike you I do something every single day for club and county every single day. And that makes a difference. Wafling on here giving out about others and what they do is all you do but what good is that seriously.talking here about schools is a complete waste of time because that cant happen unless teachers want it not county board. You talk about naas cbs winning like you know something but I tell you none of that was down to county board in Kildare so,let the schools at it no point forcing them cause its time and money down the drain because its teachers make it or break it

Things are improving a lot at juvilile in this county thanks to a lot of people that you complain about who work day in day out and id say within the next 5 year there a leinster minor champ coming to Wicklow because finally money is going to wher it should always have gone. Youll be all praise then but none of it will be down to you and key board wariprs who litreally do nothing for club or county. add up all the hours you spend on here and give it to your club instead."
Firstly, you need to go back through my posts and point out where I harshly criticised people. I have, on numerous occasions commented on this forum saying that there's a lot of people in the county who have given service to the GAA and that there are people currently who are giving service to the GAA. This doesn't mean that these people or who has gone before are doing things right. Our history shows that we are getting more wrong than right. I have no problem with people challenging me on anything I say in a constructive manner but not making up things that are not true. I won't have people dictate to me in terms whereby it indicates that I am not entitled to my opinion. You seem to think that structures within the GAA don't matter, well, let me tell you that until or unless Wicklow get the structures right from schools through underage and onto senior; we will be at the bottom indefinitely. Kildare GAA have the structures right, it is proven by their underage success in the last decade. This is built on a strong schools and underage as well as good coaching in clubs; they change how they produced players after Wicklow beat them in the late 2000s.

Coaching is poor within Wicklow, that might hurt some people but it is true. It is evident in declining results over the last twenty years; our county champions are been beaten on a regular basis by clubs from weaker counties. Rathnew won their Leinster title in 2001; look at the decline in results since. Most Wicklow supporters are glad that the money was spent on Micko as it is the only time in the history of our county that they had a team to follow and a team to support; unfortunately it has reverted to mediocre ever since he left. I can't convince people to change. We have a unique history of failing and if peoples' attitude don't change then it will continue long after today.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 27/11/2023 19:15:40    2514789

Replying To Pat Mustard:  "I well remember when he arrived in the county destroyed football for a generation

Things are improving a lot at juvilile in this county thanks to a lot of people that you complain about who work day in day out and id say within the next 5 year there a leinster minor champ coming to Wicklow because finally money is going to wher it should always have gone. Youll be all praise then but none of it will be down to you and key board wariprs who litreally do nothing for club or county. add up all the hours you spend on here and give it to your club instead."
I don't think anyone is criticising any volunteers at club or county level. I understand from experience this can be a very time consuming and thankless task. But I guess the posters were referring to the performance of our clubs in Leinster over the last few years, I think pre the last 10 years we felt they would mix it with anyone. Along with the 3 biggest clubs in the county , well in terms of senior championships are relatively struggling at underage level.
At underage level in the county there does look to have been some progress, but as pointed out by another poster a lot of these teams are been fed by clubs that are not in densely populated areas. A counter point underage progress would be that most of the stars of this year's championship age begins with 3 or even 4.
Also I do think a strong Senior team is important, something for young kids to aspire too. I think if you went to our club and asked the under 10's to name 50 GAA starts they have no issues. But ask them to name 3 Wicklow players, I say they could be struggling. A rising tide lifts all boats, and will bring more kids and coaches.
I do think there is progress being made a schools level some good promotion on social media and I am aware of a few volunteers ( teachers doing great work). But to suggest this is not an area we can't do better in is a bit short sighted. Like i know the IFRU puts coaches in targeted schools at second level. This is not a full time coach rather someone to take training 2 days after school a week. Also understand Dublin GAA do something very similar. I wish I shared your optimism about minor championship but time will tell on that one.

Groundskeeper5 (Wicklow) - Posts: 12 - 28/11/2023 09:26:33    2514810

Replying To Freethinker:  "To lighten the mood, let's change the subject. According to accounts the place to be next Sunday is Echelon Park for the u20 A final with AGB and An Tochair. This promises to be a cracker. I think that one of An Tochairs toughest u17 games this year was against next Sundays opposition. I know that each team will have a fair sprinkling of older players this time out and maybe AGB, being a town team might have more. AGB beat Tochair comfortably, judging by the score, in their opening u20 game, but my "spy" in the Roundwood camp tells me that but for a few goalmouth incidents resulting in 2 goals, the outcome could have been closer . Either way, some of the county's finest future seniors will be on show - from both teams."
Well done and thanks FT, I think it needs changing. I like to read here about the club and county scene, players potential etc. Not people criticising others for having an opinion. Keep it positive. Please as may stop other engaging.

Well looking at the weekends is it (19s or 20s)final and previous posters were right about the two clubs future given that both have made to a final. Am I right in saying the minor winner 2022 against this years minor winners? Should be interesting as you say Agb may be a bit stronger/older given they might have a few older player. I say given their size an Tochair are probably mostly made up of the minor team with a few older lads. Unfortunately the paper hasn't had to many reports on the championship, but I seen a couple of weeks back agb had a good win at an Tochair and the results show an Tochair beating nicks and Agb scrapping past nicks. So maybe it'll be close. I may have to take a trip across to aughrim

StrandedinWW (Wicklow) - Posts: 20 - 28/11/2023 13:06:05    2514857

Replying To StrandedinWW:  "Well done and thanks FT, I think it needs changing. I like to read here about the club and county scene, players potential etc. Not people criticising others for having an opinion. Keep it positive. Please as may stop other engaging.

Well looking at the weekends is it (19s or 20s)final and previous posters were right about the two clubs future given that both have made to a final. Am I right in saying the minor winner 2022 against this years minor winners? Should be interesting as you say Agb may be a bit stronger/older given they might have a few older player. I say given their size an Tochair are probably mostly made up of the minor team with a few older lads. Unfortunately the paper hasn't had to many reports on the championship, but I seen a couple of weeks back agb had a good win at an Tochair and the results show an Tochair beating nicks and Agb scrapping past nicks. So maybe it'll be close. I may have to take a trip across to aughrim"
Mea Culpa. It is indeed the u19 championship, not u20. From what I hear, Tochair will have maybe 4/5 of their seniors plus one or two others who have been out of action for whatever reason. The rest will be their U17 panel. I would expect
AGB to be stronger, having a bigger pick. Town teams invariably have more players closer to the cutoff age. I am really looking forward to seeing what's on offer. One big question here is - what is happening in Balto ? Have they been a victim of this "group team" experiment which some would argue they championed. It used to be the fear that bigger clubs would suck in players from smaller clubs. Maybe it's a case of if you don't look after ALL your juveniles, you just don't have the numbers when it matters at older and adult levels. Time will tell.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 28/11/2023 15:42:27    2514892

Replying To Freethinker:  "Mea Culpa. It is indeed the u19 championship, not u20. From what I hear, Tochair will have maybe 4/5 of their seniors plus one or two others who have been out of action for whatever reason. The rest will be their U17 panel. I would expect
AGB to be stronger, having a bigger pick. Town teams invariably have more players closer to the cutoff age. I am really looking forward to seeing what's on offer. One big question here is - what is happening in Balto ? Have they been a victim of this "group team" experiment which some would argue they championed. It used to be the fear that bigger clubs would suck in players from smaller clubs. Maybe it's a case of if you don't look after ALL your juveniles, you just don't have the numbers when it matters at older and adult levels. Time will tell."
Yes from what i hear An Tochar don't have as star studded team as like last year. Conor Fee being the exception, any team with him in it has a fighting chance.

Yes i seen Annacurra topped a group in the B championship with Pats and Baltinglass. Interesting on the group team front i think a few years ago they were in one with Tinahely.

I am still on the fence about how much they benefit the clubs, as i would have expect that we be in the middle of a Dunlavin / Donard dominance based on there underage teams a decade ago. Followed by a period of Tinahley ( which still could come).

I know there were some complaints about tomnafinnoge entering 2 minor teams which does seem a bit unfair but counter point is they still have a much smaller pick than big towns on the east coast.

Groundskeeper5 (Wicklow) - Posts: 12 - 28/11/2023 16:09:06    2514901

Replying To Groundskeeper5:  "Yes from what i hear An Tochar don't have as star studded team as like last year. Conor Fee being the exception, any team with him in it has a fighting chance.

Yes i seen Annacurra topped a group in the B championship with Pats and Baltinglass. Interesting on the group team front i think a few years ago they were in one with Tinahely.

I am still on the fence about how much they benefit the clubs, as i would have expect that we be in the middle of a Dunlavin / Donard dominance based on there underage teams a decade ago. Followed by a period of Tinahley ( which still could come).

I know there were some complaints about tomnafinnoge entering 2 minor teams which does seem a bit unfair but counter point is they still have a much smaller pick than big towns on the east coast."
The u 19 for me, is a better format than the u17 in that the group teams have a group of their own. This gives smaller clubs a fighting chance. In my opinion, it's hard enough for small clubs to take on the town teams but Tochair for one have proved it can be done. Next years Leinster competitions should be interesting as some counties are going back to even number ages and some are not. How will that work at inter county level. Will u17s be expected to compete with u18s?

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 28/11/2023 19:13:19    2514930

We need more people commenting on this forum and in general in relation to Wicklow GAA. It is better that people give their opinion than for the forum to have no contributors, regardless of whether we agree with one another or if some people offer different opinions. It would be boring if everyone agreed with one another all the time. At the same time, no one should be afraid to voice an opinion for fear that it will be attacked by a poster who offers nothing to counter.

An Tochar and AGB are two clubs that seem to be building a good squad of young talented players. Hopefully they will be rewarded in the next few years and that one of them will make the breakthrough at senior level. Regardless of what is said, clubs such as Pats, Baltinglass and Rathnew are important to the club scene as they have tradition and have brought a lot of glory to the county over the years. However, they seem to be in decline presently so there is an opportunity for other teams to step into the limelight.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 28/11/2023 20:42:09    2514938

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "We need more people commenting on this forum and in general in relation to Wicklow GAA. It is better that people give their opinion than for the forum to have no contributors, regardless of whether we agree with one another or if some people offer different opinions. It would be boring if everyone agreed with one another all the time. At the same time, no one should be afraid to voice an opinion for fear that it will be attacked by a poster who offers nothing to counter.

An Tochar and AGB are two clubs that seem to be building a good squad of young talented players. Hopefully they will be rewarded in the next few years and that one of them will make the breakthrough at senior level. Regardless of what is said, clubs such as Pats, Baltinglass and Rathnew are important to the club scene as they have tradition and have brought a lot of glory to the county over the years. However, they seem to be in decline presently so there is an opportunity for other teams to step into the limelight."
I have already commented on how welcome on how welcome new posters are on here, and I bemoaned the number of good intelligent posters who seem to have disappeared for whatever reason. I'd imagine it's through despair at how little change we have as regards inter county results etc. I am lucky in that I was at the Leinster minor final that we won back in the 70s. That is our singular success in any of the football or hurling competitions that really count. I'm not demeaning the junior, intermediate, special u16, minor, u20 championships, B All Ireland, Tommy Murphy, Christy Ring and others in any way but all will agree that they are not in the top rank. I have also put newcomers on notice that we have trolls on here and people who don't fully understand the irony of dismissing others as keyboard warriors with their often personal and even vitriolic criticisms of other posters, if anyone dares criticise a few "sacred cows" in our county and its workings. I just dismiss these as static interference from the wings and have given up validating them with a reply. No doubt one will be on here accusing me again of being you and vice versa, but so be it, there isn't much we can do about that. I have been following posts on some nearby counties and what criticism our great and good get on here pales into insignificance with what goes on there. I know who I am as do you and admin know who we are so it's a case of we must listen to thunder. Anyway, like I said to you before, keep up the posts.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 29/11/2023 10:57:27    2514968

Managed to get to Aughrim earlier for the u19 final. While AGB wouldn't necessarily agree as they ran out winners - and congrats on that - for the neutral the game won't linger long in the memory. It was disappointing from a spectators view point. Exciting possibly as it was close enough. Error prone, a lot of pulling and dragging - mostly from the winners, poor positional sense, it must be said and at one stage in the second half it looked like the ref would struggle to keep in charge but to his credit, he did. AGB seemed to get their scores a little easier than Tochair could manage. I suppose it is easy to forget that these lads are young and it is mid winter. Also, young players need to remember that this game of ours is a team sport and that they won't contribute much to their side if they are sitting in the dugout after a red.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 03/12/2023 16:48:31    2515353

Replying To Freethinker:  "Managed to get to Aughrim earlier for the u19 final. While AGB wouldn't necessarily agree as they ran out winners - and congrats on that - for the neutral the game won't linger long in the memory. It was disappointing from a spectators view point. Exciting possibly as it was close enough. Error prone, a lot of pulling and dragging - mostly from the winners, poor positional sense, it must be said and at one stage in the second half it looked like the ref would struggle to keep in charge but to his credit, he did. AGB seemed to get their scores a little easier than Tochair could manage. I suppose it is easy to forget that these lads are young and it is mid winter. Also, young players need to remember that this game of ours is a team sport and that they won't contribute much to their side if they are sitting in the dugout after a red."
Disappointing to hear that today's final was disappointing as you described but thank you for reporting on what you saw for us who didn't get to the game. What you describe in terms of error prone, poor positional sense etc is the same across all the games I've seen over recent years at all grades in the county. Lack of quality on the club scene which is evident especially when a club team competes outside the county in the provincial championship is what leads me to question our approach to coaching at underage level. I don't want to get into the debate about schools so I'll just say; what are the clubs within the county doing in terms of coaching? What is the head of development within the county doing? Why are we behind other counties and I'm not even talking about the top bracket? It is very difficult to attract young people to follow gaelic games if the product is bad as they will just go watch another sport or not at all. I appreciate that recent club championship games have been competitive and there are a number of clubs who can beat one another on any given day which wasn't the same in the past but sadly while games are more competitive and there are no outstanding teams like Baltinglass and Rathnew in the past, the standard is declining.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 03/12/2023 18:16:12    2515370

Replying To Freethinker:  "Managed to get to Aughrim earlier for the u19 final. While AGB wouldn't necessarily agree as they ran out winners - and congrats on that - for the neutral the game won't linger long in the memory. It was disappointing from a spectators view point. Exciting possibly as it was close enough. Error prone, a lot of pulling and dragging - mostly from the winners, poor positional sense, it must be said and at one stage in the second half it looked like the ref would struggle to keep in charge but to his credit, he did. AGB seemed to get their scores a little easier than Tochair could manage. I suppose it is easy to forget that these lads are young and it is mid winter. Also, young players need to remember that this game of ours is a team sport and that they won't contribute much to their side if they are sitting in the dugout after a red."
Was at the game as well. There were a lot of errors but it's December. In terms of what you said about positional sense I'm not really sure what you mean, but at this age category the teams barely train together as they're minors and adults footballers. Some studying for mocks, first year exams etc. it's a good championship for development and bridging gaps from minor to adult football. Wouldn't read too much into the tactics.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 04/12/2023 00:30:38    2515409

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Disappointing to hear that today's final was disappointing as you described but thank you for reporting on what you saw for us who didn't get to the game. What you describe in terms of error prone, poor positional sense etc is the same across all the games I've seen over recent years at all grades in the county. Lack of quality on the club scene which is evident especially when a club team competes outside the county in the provincial championship is what leads me to question our approach to coaching at underage level. I don't want to get into the debate about schools so I'll just say; what are the clubs within the county doing in terms of coaching? What is the head of development within the county doing? Why are we behind other counties and I'm not even talking about the top bracket? It is very difficult to attract young people to follow gaelic games if the product is bad as they will just go watch another sport or not at all. I appreciate that recent club championship games have been competitive and there are a number of clubs who can beat one another on any given day which wasn't the same in the past but sadly while games are more competitive and there are no outstanding teams like Baltinglass and Rathnew in the past, the standard is declining."
We are all aware of your opinions, you recently posted about the lack of posters on here. I have more or less stopped contributing due to the repetitive copy and paste posts you make, regardless of the topic. For a man who makes it to so few games, you manage to make a huge amount of assumptions.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 04/12/2023 00:33:30    2515410

Replying To Victorious87:  "We are all aware of your opinions, you recently posted about the lack of posters on here. I have more or less stopped contributing due to the repetitive copy and paste posts you make, regardless of the topic. For a man who makes it to so few games, you manage to make a huge amount of assumptions."
I am go to as many matches as you. Thank you for your observation though. Another expert offering sound opinions.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 04/12/2023 17:02:41    2515502

I see Oisin McConville has added two new recruitment's to his backroom team. Looks to be two very good appointment's.

kodak13 (Wicklow) - Posts: 66 - 06/12/2023 07:15:32    2515687

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I am go to as many matches as you. Thank you for your observation though. Another expert offering sound opinions."
I've never claimed to be an expert? I only ever comment on games I've attended/watched or aspects of GAA in the county that I have an insight into from my experiences. You, on the other hand, apply your own opinions on to games you've not attended and aspects of the gaa in the county that you don't really know about.

You're entitled to an opinion, and I have no issue with you sharing it, but it's frustrating to read it over and over again when it has no relevance to most of the discussions.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 06/12/2023 11:42:02    2515724

Replying To kodak13:  "I see Oisin McConville has added two new recruitment's to his backroom team. Looks to be two very good appointment's."
I just saw that now in the local paper. They seem to be two pretty experienced fellows with impressive cv's. Strength and conditioning are vital in the modern game, particularly with a squad as young as ours. Both these lads seem to have been in and around successful squads in various codes. I just hope that this management team get another 3/4 years at least. In my opinion it will take at least that long to get us even close to being where we all would like to be - a serious player in Leinster, or at least a team that the big guns take seriously. A big shout out also to Bray hurlers. Best of luck against Thomastown at the weekend.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 06/12/2023 18:16:11    2515777