Wicklow GAA thread

Absolute disaster result in the hurling.

Maybe we are at our correct level.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 25/03/2023 15:25:22    2466490

Replying To sponger:  "Absolute disaster result in the hurling.

Maybe we are at our correct level."
Agreed a disaster given how they played up in Donegal a few weeks ago. We probably are at our level at the moment to be honest. Best of luck to the footballers tomorrow...all they can do is concentrate on winning the game and let the chips fall where they will!

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 25/03/2023 15:47:02    2466504

Replying To sponger:  "Absolute disaster result in the hurling.

Maybe we are at our correct level."
Bad result today especially as we beat the same opposition away recently. Despite the disappointment, there's been improvement since casey came back as manager. Just need to build on this year's improvement and move up.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 25/03/2023 17:11:47    2466528

Best of luck to our footballers today. I hope results go our way. Will this be our third promotion in the last decade if it happens? Fingers crossed. For one day only, Ich bin ein Sligoer.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 26/03/2023 11:29:41    2466625

The reality is that the difference between 2A and 2B is huge.

Meath will steamroller Donegal in the final, go up and then straight back down again.

No fault of their own I guess.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 26/03/2023 12:00:29    2466635

Ah great stuff to get promotion...quite a poor first half performance but dragged it out of the fire in the second half. Having been in Carlow for the first match I didn't think we had any chance of promotion. Onwards and upwards and hoping for a few games in championship/ TC..well done to all involved

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 26/03/2023 14:49:25    2466673

Woeful 1st half performance today. What matter, we are promoted. On the basis of the wins over Laois away and Leitrim at home we just about deserved it.

A League Final in Croke Park next Saturday. We don't often get to them. We'll enjoy it. The hard work begins now. 3 seasons in Division 3 in the past decades, 2 relegation seasons. We need to stay there.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 26/03/2023 14:53:46    2466675

Well done to all.

I may have broken the record for refreshing the Sligo GAA twitter feed.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 26/03/2023 15:02:30    2466680

I am happy to eat my words and congrats to all involved in securing promotion. In the first half today it didn't look likely.but we are up. Now to strengthen and stay up. A few more of the U20s and plenty of drive and direction from Oisin and his team and let's see where that takes us over the next few years

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 26/03/2023 15:12:57    2466682

Replying To Wicklowman:  "Woeful 1st half performance today. What matter, we are promoted. On the basis of the wins over Laois away and Leitrim at home we just about deserved it.

A League Final in Croke Park next Saturday. We don't often get to them. We'll enjoy it. The hard work begins now. 3 seasons in Division 3 in the past decades, 2 relegation seasons. We need to stay there."
Great for the county to get promoted. The players, management, supporters and Oisin will be delighted to gain a promotion in his first season. This is a young bunch of players who will get a boost of confidence that must come with earning promotion. Considering we started the campaign with a draw and a home loss, it's been some turnaround to go through the rest of the campaihn undefeated. We get a shot at revenge next Saturday in Croke Park against Sligo. Well done to everyone involved with the squad.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 26/03/2023 15:16:31    2466683

Some achievement out of Oisín McConville in his first season with Wicklow, one of the counties in the greater Dublin area that must have decent number of players and resources to build on this success.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 669 - 26/03/2023 16:41:03    2466748

Congratulations on your promotion great achievement. Best of luck for the rest of the year.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 26/03/2023 21:04:43    2466911

Well done Wicklow. Back after one year

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 26/03/2023 21:55:27    2466942

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Congratulations on your promotion great achievement. Best of luck for the rest of the year."
It is tough on Leitrim as ye were in the running for promotion throughout the league. Even throughout the course of yesterday's game with Sligo, Leitrim looked like they would be promoted. Best of luck in the rest of the year, I think based upon the provincial draw, Leitrim have a good chance of getting to the provincial final so ye have a lot to play for, the rest of the year.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 27/03/2023 11:06:17    2466992

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Congratulations on your promotion great achievement. Best of luck for the rest of the year."
And hard luck to ye.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 27/03/2023 11:11:22    2466993

If ye have any decency ye should just present us the trophy on Saturday. We pulled ye over the barrier and into Div 3. Plus a free bar

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 27/03/2023 12:18:15    2467027

Replying To eoinog:  "If ye have any decency ye should just present us the trophy on Saturday. We pulled ye over the barrier and into Div 3. Plus a free bar"
Due to our lack of much success at senior level, I'm afraid decency will be in short supply. Now, the free bar, that is a different kettle of fish.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 27/03/2023 18:40:31    2467165

Replying To eoinog:  "If ye have any decency ye should just present us the trophy on Saturday. We pulled ye over the barrier and into Div 3. Plus a free bar"
lols

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 27/03/2023 20:44:49    2467186

Good result for the U20s last night, now lets beat Louth and progress to the next round.......its been a good week for Wicklow football in general.

minor93 (Wicklow) - Posts: 74 - 29/03/2023 15:18:49    2467607

Replying To minor93:  "Good result for the U20s last night, now lets beat Louth and progress to the next round.......its been a good week for Wicklow football in general."
Twas indeed a great victory last night. The lads were made battle hard and indeed according to some pundits were lucky not to be behind at half time. Having said that we were wasteful at times also. This is becoming a battle hardened outfit having fought back well against the Dubs and having to overcome all types of obstacles last night. We must remember that Louth drew with Offaly and on that form have to be treated with the utmost respect. I'm amazed at how this team is being almost forged on the hoof given so many players playing in different positions than with their clubs and unless that young Sheahan from An Tochair is carrying an injury, fair play to those who are keeping him back on the subs bench as he was one of the best forwards on show in last years senior championship. Best of luck to all for the next clash with Louth and let's see how the cards fall then.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 29/03/2023 16:10:32    2467632