Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To sponger:  "2-14 to 0-5 behind in the hurling at half time.

Its actually eeally sad at this point."
If they want a different outcome then the powers that be in the county need to make changes. Doing the same things in the same way repeatedly and expecting a different outcome is a sign of madness.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 23/04/2022 14:38:31    2412491

Replying To Freethinker:  "I asked a question last week, nobody picked up on it. I will put it out there again. How many players from last years county final lined out on todays game ?? Next question - Why didn't they ??"
Freethinker do you know why ?

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 23/04/2022 15:56:58    2412505

Replying To sponger:  "Freethinker do you know why ?"
Sponger, nobody has answered my question yet. I hear rumours, but nobody seems to care. Fair play to those who do line out to play, but to get slaughtered by Sligo ?? Where in the name of God are we going ? I see good progress at u17 but it's a long way to Senior and how many of those lads will be "unavailable" by the time they get that far if we don't get ourselves sorted.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 23/04/2022 16:31:33    2412515

has Wicklow Hurling ever been as bad, i cant ever remember sinking to this low. Granted Sligo are probably one of the most improved hurling teams in ireland but successive heavy losses to them and mayo now surely the prospect of nicky rackard hurling is a real possibility now. I remember in the 90s wicklow got to a b championship final where london didnt beat them by much who in turn Down the eventual ulster champs got a tough game., they would have been better than kildare at the time and on a par nearly with meath/westmeath and carlow. The clubs that used to play in the old leinster senior club too always seemed to do okay, Kiltegan were always tough to beat i remember and a star studded Seir Kieran team from offaly in 1998 only got over them in the second half. there has been definitley a downward spiral in the last 15 years or so and its not getting better.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 23/04/2022 17:22:00    2412524

Replying To preddan:  "has Wicklow Hurling ever been as bad, i cant ever remember sinking to this low. Granted Sligo are probably one of the most improved hurling teams in ireland but successive heavy losses to them and mayo now surely the prospect of nicky rackard hurling is a real possibility now. I remember in the 90s wicklow got to a b championship final where london didnt beat them by much who in turn Down the eventual ulster champs got a tough game., they would have been better than kildare at the time and on a par nearly with meath/westmeath and carlow. The clubs that used to play in the old leinster senior club too always seemed to do okay, Kiltegan were always tough to beat i remember and a star studded Seir Kieran team from offaly in 1998 only got over them in the second half. there has been definitley a downward spiral in the last 15 years or so and its not getting better."
Yes we are at a low ebb and things will probably get worse before they get better. I'm not a hurling expert as my background is predominantly football but two observations with regard to your post is (i) in relation to the era you talk about there were a number of players who played both hurling and football at club level; clubs such as Kilteagan. Is this feasible nowadays? I would say at intercounty level, the answer is no. This hurts counties such as us who have very few hurling clubs and not a big playing pool. Secondly back in the 90s we probably overachieved, we were achieving more than the resources we had. I would like to see more football clubs participating in hurling at underage. Finally, i think there are encouraging signs at underage if you look at the results in various competition lately where we are winning more games than we are losing. The job now is keep these young players involved and have them play senior.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 24/04/2022 10:34:08    2412673

There's been a lot of negativity on this forum and i've contributed to this negativity myself. But I am only to happy to be positive given half a chance. This was a brilliant result and performance by the team and management. To turn around a 12 point defeat and get a 6 point win in the space of a month against Laois is some turnaround. There are things to work on before we play Meath but that can wait. I have to single out Kevin Quinn, what a performance, this guy is a special player, brillant display. Well done to all concerned. Hopefully this is the start of a new era and we can build on this well merited victory.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 24/04/2022 17:19:08    2412782

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "There's been a lot of negativity on this forum and i've contributed to this negativity myself. But I am only to happy to be positive given half a chance. This was a brilliant result and performance by the team and management. To turn around a 12 point defeat and get a 6 point win in the space of a month against Laois is some turnaround. There are things to work on before we play Meath but that can wait. I have to single out Kevin Quinn, what a performance, this guy is a special player, brillant display. Well done to all concerned. Hopefully this is the start of a new era and we can build on this well merited victory."
Hats off, 5-15 is a hell of a score to run up.
That'll have the confidence sky high

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 24/04/2022 18:18:25    2412818

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "There's been a lot of negativity on this forum and i've contributed to this negativity myself. But I am only to happy to be positive given half a chance. This was a brilliant result and performance by the team and management. To turn around a 12 point defeat and get a 6 point win in the space of a month against Laois is some turnaround. There are things to work on before we play Meath but that can wait. I have to single out Kevin Quinn, what a performance, this guy is a special player, brillant display. Well done to all concerned. Hopefully this is the start of a new era and we can build on this well merited victory."
Congrats to all concerned today. A brilliant result. Like Wicklowsupport I am critical most times at what we have to contend with within the county but when any of our teams stand up I will always congratulate and support them. Once again they have proven what could and can be, and let's hope they savour todays victory, enjoy it and develop an appetite for winning. Meath next ? After today, I don't think this bunch of lads will wilt too easily.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 24/04/2022 18:37:47    2412823

Hell of a score. We will have to be on form or you could take us.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/04/2022 18:57:57    2412834

Replying To Jinxie:  "Hats off, 5-15 is a hell of a score to run up.
That'll have the confidence sky high"
It is a great score at any level, in any game but we aren't getting carried away. We don't get these kind of days very often so we have to enjoy them when we can. This is a young team which i hope will develop further and move to a higher level which is why the recent relegation from Division 3 was so disappointing. Meath will be a massive step up on Laois (no disrespect to Laois) and it is in Meath's backyard, in Navan. We will be hoping for a performance similiar to today and being competitive against a solid Division 2 team in Meath who will be in contention to win this year's Leinster alongside Dublin and Kildare.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 24/04/2022 19:14:00    2412839

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hell of a score. We will have to be on form or you could take us."
Mind games from Meath already. Pity match is not in Aughrim. D3/4 sides should have home advantage if they are playing a side from D1/2

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 24/04/2022 20:30:46    2412876

Replying To Jack L:  "Mind games from Meath already. Pity match is not in Aughrim. D3/4 sides should have home advantage if they are playing a side from D1/2"
Jack L. Really minnows are not supposed to upset the natural order. Seriously though, crowd capacity would play a part in a match between these sides anyway. In this, Leinster Council probably dodged a bullet by the draw giving Meath home advantage - or maybe it wasn't an open draw. Either way, let's hope the lads do us proud and give a good account of themselves. I would imagine that they were stung by relegation knowing in their hearts they were good enough to have stayed up, and have a point or two to prove.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 24/04/2022 21:53:40    2412905

Replying To Jack L:  "Mind games from Meath already. Pity match is not in Aughrim. D3/4 sides should have home advantage if they are playing a side from D1/2"
Not mind games. Stating facts. Meath have averaged a very low score rate this year and a couple of their forwards have lost their shooting boots, and one has dropped himself off panel. That been said would have welcomed the trip to aughrim. We have had good results there in the past. Remember Wicklow could have and probably should have won last time they came to navan.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2022 08:57:21    2412926

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not mind games. Stating facts. Meath have averaged a very low score rate this year and a couple of their forwards have lost their shooting boots, and one has dropped himself off panel. That been said would have welcomed the trip to aughrim. We have had good results there in the past. Remember Wicklow could have and probably should have won last time they came to navan."
Good to get your input. Hope things are good with you Royaldunne. Yesterday was a big boost for this young team and a trip to Meath will be a good test. Really we have nothing to lose so i hope that we can go there and give a good account of ourselves. I was impressed with the way our midfield and forwards performed and how the players applied themselves. A six point defeat flatters Laois as Wicklow were much the better side. A note of caution Laois have serious issues and they managed to score four goals; we have got to tighten up in defence as Meath's defence will not concede five goals like Laois. Meath are a tough team to beat in Navan so home advantage is just that an advantage just as if it was in Aughrim it would be a big plus for us.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 25/04/2022 11:38:29    2413012

Well lads it's a very long time since I left Aughrim so happy. It's lucky I'm not a betting man because I was expecting Laois to win. Well done to all involved what a great performance. Meath will be a much bigger test, while they didn't set the world alight in the league they are a good big division 2 side. I would imagine goals will be much harder to come by for us. I hope the team go up to Navan and enjoy a good performance. I am hoping that a good few supporters head to Navan to shout them on...they deserve it!

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 25/04/2022 12:46:09    2413060

On a different note, i believe the U17 game is away at 6.30 in Mullingar. Seems a bit rushed for the lads to get out of school, get collected and down to Mullingar in what, 3 or 31/2 hours ?? Surely this is wrong. Won't be too much danger of them being over fed before the game anyway. I could understand if it was a computer programme spat out these kind of kick off times, but surely there is someone in charge of fixtures at Leinster Co with a modicum of common sense. Anyway, the very best of luck to these young lads. They have done us proud so far and winning is an important habit for them to develop.when you put their performances alongside the seniors and take our U20's of recent years, you begin to feel the stirrings of optimism in your blood. That is the blessing and curse at
the same time with these Gaelic Games of ours. It doesn't take an awful lot to regenerate that feeling of optimism.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 25/04/2022 13:25:21    2413081

Replying To Freethinker:  "On a different note, i believe the U17 game is away at 6.30 in Mullingar. Seems a bit rushed for the lads to get out of school, get collected and down to Mullingar in what, 3 or 31/2 hours ?? Surely this is wrong. Won't be too much danger of them being over fed before the game anyway. I could understand if it was a computer programme spat out these kind of kick off times, but surely there is someone in charge of fixtures at Leinster Co with a modicum of common sense. Anyway, the very best of luck to these young lads. They have done us proud so far and winning is an important habit for them to develop.when you put their performances alongside the seniors and take our U20's of recent years, you begin to feel the stirrings of optimism in your blood. That is the blessing and curse at
the same time with these Gaelic Games of ours. It doesn't take an awful lot to regenerate that feeling of optimism."
Schools have half days on Wednesdays.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 25/04/2022 15:25:39    2413137

Great result yesterday. Couldn't believe how poor Laois were but I'm delighted for the lads on the panel who have had a very difficult year. Kevin Quinn will obviously get the headlines but Dean Healy and Mark Kenny were just absolutely sensational yesterday. I don't think there's many players outside of division 1 with the physicality and intensity of Healy, the amount of work he gets through and the amount of attention he draws makes the players around him so much better. Don't forget he was being marked by a serious footballer in John O'Loughlin yesterday, probably one of the top midfielders in Leinster over the last few years. Kenny gave an absolute exhibition in scoring in the first half.

Gives the team a big boost anyway. Meath gave us an awful hiding last time we played them in championship and that was arguably when we had a stronger team. Should be a good day out and it's great that we'll at least have a bit of momentum going into the Tailteann cup.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 25/04/2022 15:34:34    2413141

Replying To Freethinker:  "On a different note, i believe the U17 game is away at 6.30 in Mullingar. Seems a bit rushed for the lads to get out of school, get collected and down to Mullingar in what, 3 or 31/2 hours ?? Surely this is wrong. Won't be too much danger of them being over fed before the game anyway. I could understand if it was a computer programme spat out these kind of kick off times, but surely there is someone in charge of fixtures at Leinster Co with a modicum of common sense. Anyway, the very best of luck to these young lads. They have done us proud so far and winning is an important habit for them to develop.when you put their performances alongside the seniors and take our U20's of recent years, you begin to feel the stirrings of optimism in your blood. That is the blessing and curse at
the same time with these Gaelic Games of ours. It doesn't take an awful lot to regenerate that feeling of optimism."
KICK OFF times????

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 25/04/2022 15:50:22    2413145

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "KICK OFF times????"
Sorry about that Seanfanbocht. Throw in times.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 25/04/2022 18:23:03    2413200