Limerick GAA thread

Replying To Rockies:  "With you the following statement applies… better be silent and be thought a fool, instead of opening mouth and removing all doubt!"
No. Perfectly no. I always prefer to display my foolishness than to stay silent!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 05/06/2022 19:10:32    2422541

Replying To foreveryoung:  "No. Perfectly no. I always prefer to display my foolishness than to stay silent!"
I must congratulate you in that you achieve this goal with distinction!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 05/06/2022 20:48:53    2422594

Great day in Thurles yesterday , well done to the hurlers on coming out on top after a fierce battle .
Does it look like Cork or Galway been the most likely semi final opponents?

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 06/06/2022 08:44:05    2422640

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Of course I backed Louth against Cork. They quietened ye in '57, didn't they. You were probably at that one, but just don't talk about it, as Cork were 100/1 favorites to win it. But Cork just did what it had done in '56; calved on the course.

God ye were blessed that Ed or some other fella who can sing a song didn't want to rent out PUC yesterday. On any other pitch in Ireland, Louth would have taken that game.

I certainly hope Limerick draw Cork in the football qualifiers. Limerick has a better team right now; historically and traditionally no. But right now, yes!."
Delighted that ye drew Cork in the qualifiers. I believe that Limerick are well up to quietening those Corkeens, especially given that Cork won't be at home in PUC; well confident of it, actually.

Onwards and upwards Limerick in both codes. A great congratulations to your hurlers. Declan Hannon has succeeded in what even surpassed the great Christy Ring.

Drive it home now to all and sundry, particularly to those erstwhile loud, smug Corkeens.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 06/06/2022 09:07:49    2422652

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Delighted that ye drew Cork in the qualifiers. I believe that Limerick are well up to quietening those Corkeens, especially given that Cork won't be at home in PUC; well confident of it, actually.

Onwards and upwards Limerick in both codes. A great congratulations to your hurlers. Declan Hannon has succeeded in what even surpassed the great Christy Ring.

Drive it home now to all and sundry, particularly to those erstwhile loud, smug Corkeens."
Cork 4/11 with boyle sports to beat Shannonsiders. Definitely a nice draw and I would hope that this will be the beginning of revitalization for Cork football. Definitely, after recent underage successes and promising future players like Brian Hayes and Conor Corbett to come,the future is bright. Cork have been down too long to underestimate Limerick who will be determined to recover from their "calving" against Kerry!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 06/06/2022 13:58:43    2422776

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Welcome back Rockies. Remember that question I posed to you before you took a sabbatical. The man I was referring to was Peter McDermott, who was born in Roscarbery. Cork won a Hurling 3 in a row '52-'54. Peter was by then long domiciled in Meath. He played in both Football finals eventually losing to Cavan in '52, he refereed the '53 Final and captained the victory in '54
Back to the present Clare Footballers beat Meath today. Perhaps they are going to have a memorable weekend."
Clare did have a memorable weekend. Gap with Limerick is well and truly closed, and Tony Kelly cementing himself as one of all time greats. Just watched game on GAAGO,as I was at Belmont Park on Sunday. As good a Munster final as I've seen, and hopefully will get more great games in all Ireland competition!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 06/06/2022 14:40:22    2422793

Great result in a great game yesterday. The hitting and tackling was ferocious and Clare certainly tested us in every way possible but we answered the questions. Nicky got nothing to do while the backs were outstanding, TK aside we dealt with their forwards. The midfield didn't control the game but their workrate was it's usual high standard and they chipped in with a few scores. Flanagan was outstanding cleaning out Rory Hayes(best cb in Ireland I don't think), Gillane very good once the ref copped on to the tactics being used on him and Morrissey is getting better each day as the championship progresses. Hegarty had his moments and worked very hard as it was obvious he was Clares number 1 target to tie down while O'Neill did as well as 20 year old could do in that cauldron and will have learnt a lot from it. Reidy was good and greatly helped us get the win while Boylan and English did their bit. Our discipline yesterday was outstanding considering the stuff that was thrown at us and hopefully Clare players will be judged and scrutinised to the same degree that out players are-seeing former Clare players moaning about the Sunday game highlighting these incidents shows a hypocrisy that is unbelievable, what's good for the goose is good for the gander. Going forward we usually improve after Munster and getting Casey and hopefully Lynch back will give us that bit extra to get to a final and win it.
As for Clare we may see each other again and there would be nothing sweeter than beating them in a final.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 06/06/2022 15:23:57    2422803

A salute to the four in a row champions:

http://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2022/06/salute-to-four-in-row-champions.html

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 07/06/2022 07:42:42    2422810

Not good from our two Midfielders to allow the freedom of the park to David Fitzgerald to score 5 pts .

Dublinculchie1 (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 07/06/2022 18:41:26    2423183

Replying To Rockies:  "Cork 4/11 with boyle sports to beat Shannonsiders. Definitely a nice draw and I would hope that this will be the beginning of revitalization for Cork football. Definitely, after recent underage successes and promising future players like Brian Hayes and Conor Corbett to come,the future is bright. Cork have been down too long to underestimate Limerick who will be determined to recover from their "calving" against Kerry!"
Yet another away game for the footballers, their 4th in a row this year.

Yeah it will be a big surprise if they take down Cork. They could have got a worse draw, but it is a huge ask for Limerick to beat Cork. Billy Lee has done wonders for Limerick football given all the obstacles against him and the players, but this is another step up in level for them.

Daft as it sounds, part of the problem is that Limerick are nearly developing too quickly from where they were only 2 years ago when they were in the bottom 3 of the country. They came out of division 3 sooner than anyone had planned and the lack of playing division 2 level teams and trying to get competitive against that level first was ruthless exposed against Kerry. Clare are a solid division 2 team but that was a derby game and Limerick & Clare would traditionally have been around the same level.

I hope they put up a decent performance against Cork and I think they will, but it would take alot to go right for Limerick and alot to go wrong for Cork for them to have a chance.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 07/06/2022 20:13:09    2423201

Any update on Mike Casey? Worrying that he was down before going off yesterday. Hopefully not an issue with the knee

dingo (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 07/06/2022 21:20:27    2423212

Replying To Dublinculchie1:  "Not good from our two Midfielders to allow the freedom of the park to David Fitzgerald to score 5 pts ."
In fairness both were working so hard, WOD was often surrounded by several Clare lads before he could get the ball away. He was involved in a lot. Daragh alright was definitely not up his highest level. Don't think he was as involved in this game as he was previously. Credit to Clare I think it's a sector they got on top of particularly in the first half and they reaped the rewards.
I was interested in the off the ball podcasts where they were saying Lynch should go straight back in instead of young o'neill who would be a brilliant sub to come on.
I think if hopefully Lynch is available that he would go in to the half forwards but could be an extra help to midfield. I'd leave cathail there but I think I would play Kyle in the half backline instead of Dan Morrissey. A 2 man full forward line then.
Massive fan of Dan and for 2 season to be able to be one of the best fullbacks in the game is a credit to him. It's just the others are a bit better as half backs.
Due to injuries thus far I think Hayes is underutilised. Up top isn't suiting him. He's definitely more comfortable in the half forward line but not up top. The one time he managed to get away he sucked in a tonne of Clare lads. Even if he doesn't score I think that's a lot.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 08/06/2022 08:58:41    2423248

Replying To Dublinculchie1:  "Not good from our two Midfielders to allow the freedom of the park to David Fitzgerald to score 5 pts ."
Don't worry These boys have proved themselves before on the big stage and will come back bigger and better than ever.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 08/06/2022 09:06:28    2423253

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Don't worry These boys have proved themselves before on the big stage and will come back bigger and better than ever."
It has been stated that Graham Mulcahy, Declan Hannon and Nickie Quaid joined an elite group of Limerick players from the '33 to 40 teams, as the only Limerick Men to win Five Munster Senior Medals. However there are in all probability one Limerick man who not alone held five but six Munster Medals. Garrett Howard definitely won medals in '21, '33,' '34, '35 and '36. However, I am almost certain he was also on the '23 team, as he did not go to Dublin until '24. He also won three Leinster Medals with the Metropolitans. Bob McConkey is another player who held five Munster Medals won in'18, '21' '23, '33 and'34 and is the only Limerick player to win Munster and All Ireland medals in three different decades.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 10/06/2022 09:06:04    2423711

Replying To Oldtourman:  "It has been stated that Graham Mulcahy, Declan Hannon and Nickie Quaid joined an elite group of Limerick players from the '33 to 40 teams, as the only Limerick Men to win Five Munster Senior Medals. However there are in all probability one Limerick man who not alone held five but six Munster Medals. Garrett Howard definitely won medals in '21, '33,' '34, '35 and '36. However, I am almost certain he was also on the '23 team, as he did not go to Dublin until '24. He also won three Leinster Medals with the Metropolitans. Bob McConkey is another player who held five Munster Medals won in'18, '21' '23, '33 and'34 and is the only Limerick player to win Munster and All Ireland medals in three different decades."
Oldtourman - it wouldn't surprise me if a certain GAA reporter for a Limerick newspaper stated that.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 10/06/2022 10:45:27    2423727

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Oldtourman - it wouldn't surprise me if a certain GAA reporter for a Limerick newspaper stated that."
Well, I am up the country and as I presume the said reporter is attached to, shall we say, the most widely read newspaper in the county, I did not see it. There was an article published on line, which quoted the '33 to 40 statistic, but made no reference to GH or Bob McC.. I have not read that local paper since 2019, when a certain reporter made such ridiculous predictions before the Semi Final, that I said never again. The same publication all carried some utterly nonsensical stuff before the '14 Minor Final.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 10/06/2022 11:53:32    2423747

On a different Note what Limerick hurler has won most All Stars?

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 10/06/2022 13:40:47    2423771

Replying To OpenStand:  "On a different Note what Limerick hurler has won most All Stars?"
Joe McKenna has 6 all stars. Pat Hartigan has 5

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 10/06/2022 14:51:06    2423788

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well, I am up the country and as I presume the said reporter is attached to, shall we say, the most widely read newspaper in the county, I did not see it. There was an article published on line, which quoted the '33 to 40 statistic, but made no reference to GH or Bob McC.. I have not read that local paper since 2019, when a certain reporter made such ridiculous predictions before the Semi Final, that I said never again. The same publication all carried some utterly nonsensical stuff before the '14 Minor Final."
In the last 15 years I have only purchased that same newspaper once - the edition after the 2018 AI final.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 10/06/2022 16:41:02    2423811

Replying To Rockies:  "Joe McKenna has 6 all stars. Pat Hartigan has 5"
Correct Joe McKenna with 6 .
Some going out of Pat Hartigan to win 5 in a row back in the day. Gary Kirby getting to 4 too a fair achievement in the 90s. Sean Finn with 4 top of the present crop. Henry Shefflin with 11 holds the record.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 10/06/2022 16:59:55    2423814