Limerick GAA thread

I thought Boylan was excellent off the ball and his work rate was excellent. That is probably the hardest hitting set of defenders that he will come up against all year so wouldn't be too hard on him. I would start him the next day and hopefully if Flanagan is fit he can come on and get 20 mins against Tipp and more against Clare

tomthumbless (Limerick) - Posts: 9 - 25/04/2022 09:03:31    2412929

Replying To tomthumbless:  "I thought Boylan was excellent off the ball and his work rate was excellent. That is probably the hardest hitting set of defenders that he will come up against all year so wouldn't be too hard on him. I would start him the next day and hopefully if Flanagan is fit he can come on and get 20 mins against Tipp and more against Clare"
I came home from the match with a negative outlook on Boylan but changed my mind after watching the game back on TV. I thought he contributed more as a ball winner and worker than I realized. I don't think he's ever going to be a regular starter but he's capable of making a positive contribution at this level which is a very high one.

I thought Cathal O'Neill made a massive contribution despite some disappointing wides. He's definitely a player that you can be comfortable starting in the big games and he gives Kiely so many more options. You still have Ryan and Reidy who are now established finishers - indeed I'd nearly call them specialist finishers at this stage. They probably don't like that description but that could be the difference that get's you across the line and it's a squad game.

I thought a 3 point defeat flattered Waterford but it's a good victory for Limerick in the context of our injuries. The priority now is to finish the job against Tipp and then be in a position to heavily rotate the team for the Ennis trip.

The situation regarding hamstring injuries in the Limerick squad is worrisome and there's too many to be a coincidence. The S&C team have to take a hard look at what they're doing and adjust accordingly as we can't keep losing top players on a match by match basis and expect to be successful.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 25/04/2022 11:13:12    2412999

One thing that was very pleasing was when Waterford got the goals, they won the next ball but after that Limerick just took over. We created a lot of scoring chances at the end. William O'Donoghue is an inspirational leader. His transformation on this team from substitute in the 2018 final to the player he is today is outstanding. I think he has gone up a level from last year's final.

Eleven straight championship wins, averaging 31 points per game with an average 8 points winning margin. Hats off to everyone in the group.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 25/04/2022 11:50:07    2413024

Replying To Dealer:  "I came home from the match with a negative outlook on Boylan but changed my mind after watching the game back on TV. I thought he contributed more as a ball winner and worker than I realized. I don't think he's ever going to be a regular starter but he's capable of making a positive contribution at this level which is a very high one.

I thought Cathal O'Neill made a massive contribution despite some disappointing wides. He's definitely a player that you can be comfortable starting in the big games and he gives Kiely so many more options. You still have Ryan and Reidy who are now established finishers - indeed I'd nearly call them specialist finishers at this stage. They probably don't like that description but that could be the difference that get's you across the line and it's a squad game.

I thought a 3 point defeat flattered Waterford but it's a good victory for Limerick in the context of our injuries. The priority now is to finish the job against Tipp and then be in a position to heavily rotate the team for the Ennis trip.

The situation regarding hamstring injuries in the Limerick squad is worrisome and there's too many to be a coincidence. The S&C team have to take a hard look at what they're doing and adjust accordingly as we can't keep losing top players on a match by match basis and expect to be successful."
When I viewed the Match I also changed my view on Boylan. He did a lot of good work and ran intelligently to make space for Gullane, even if did give away a few simple frees and missed one very easy chance early on.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 25/04/2022 11:56:35    2413029

Replying To slayer:  "One thing that was very pleasing was when Waterford got the goals, they won the next ball but after that Limerick just took over. We created a lot of scoring chances at the end. William O'Donoghue is an inspirational leader. His transformation on this team from substitute in the 2018 final to the player he is today is outstanding. I think he has gone up a level from last year's final.

Eleven straight championship wins, averaging 31 points per game with an average 8 points winning margin. Hats off to everyone in the group."
That's brilliant to see those stats. Incredible stuff.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 25/04/2022 13:40:59    2413092

Replying To slayer:  "One thing that was very pleasing was when Waterford got the goals, they won the next ball but after that Limerick just took over. We created a lot of scoring chances at the end. William O'Donoghue is an inspirational leader. His transformation on this team from substitute in the 2018 final to the player he is today is outstanding. I think he has gone up a level from last year's final.

Eleven straight championship wins, averaging 31 points per game with an average 8 points winning margin. Hats off to everyone in the group."
Amazing stats and it's not as if we're beating lightweight counties either during that eleven-match winning run. Since the Kilkenny defeat of 2019 we have beaten the following counties in championship matches:
Clare x 1, Galway x1, Tipperary x 2, Cork x3, Waterford x 4.

GerO.Racle (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 25/04/2022 15:24:33    2413136

looking at cathal o neill last sat at 20 years of age this fella is the real deal.....to go into that cauldron sat night and hurl like he did he has some future ahead of him...he will have a big part to play for us if we are to do the 3 in a row....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 25/04/2022 15:33:13    2413140

Replying To Mads:  "Well great crowd at the game last night. Could they put a speaker at the open stand side. Could barely hear which players were coming on/off.

Anyway to the game.

Overall positives
1.Gillane was a superhero last night. Unmarkable. He should have got an all star last year. He was like a fella in a playground
2. Byrnes again is some man for settling things down. Now the go to man if things are dicey
3. Waterford were a much harder hitting and well organised team than cork. Asked a lot of questions but still eeked out the 2 points which is huge. With the shape of the forward unit in disarray, brilliant to get a result.
4. CO'N. 3 points in a game like that. Super. Brilliant experience in the bank. Never went missing. Getting onto puckouts and getting the head up a bit more for the pass will have to be worked on.

Negatives
1. Again INJURIES. The one thing asked for was a clean bill of health. Cian had just caught a brilliant ball before he went down. Looked in serious pain on the floor. This could derail our season big time. I hope he will be back in a few weeks. Even if we get Flanagan and dare I say casey back, they are under pressure to hit peak performance straight away in a knockout game. Hopefully we'll see Flanagan next day. We are definitely digging into the reserves big time.
2. While the backs in general had a good game but when ran at at full tilt again another goal was rammed into the back of the net.

A word on Waterford. Yes it can be argued that Jamie Barron isn't back to full fitness and the home support was worth a few points but I think will be very disappointed that they couldn't get a result with so many of our players out. Now look we all know it will be the first of at least 2 meetings so we'll see later on."
Can't disagree. However Daly going off was also a big deal. Things even up a bit. A fit Barron is as important as anyone ye have. Hopefully non of us have any more injuries. Still hard to see a past Limerick. One thing I know we won't do panic.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/04/2022 20:23:06    2413455

What chance for the u20s tomorrow night. The likes of O'Donovan and Hegarty out.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 26/04/2022 21:25:28    2413469

To me that was a bad defeat for minors last night..not taking from Waterford but they had already been beaten twice in competition..I hope the standards with academey aren't slipping.its important that limerick keep getting to latter stages of these competitions,not always winning but definitely be competitive..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2205 - 27/04/2022 10:14:50    2413520

Great win for the u20s last night, a lot of lads have shown that they are capable of playing senior for Limerick in the near future. O Leary from Ahane at corner back was very impressive and came out with a lot of ball under pressure, maybe needs a bit more strength and conditioning training but his first touch and striking was on form throughout the match. 15 points from play from English, O' Brien and O Connor is a very good return aswell, thats a major contribution to get from any forward line, only pity is that Cathal O Neill wasnt allowed play as he would have contributed nicely aswell. Team are steadily improving with each game and next weeks munster final against Tipp will be a very interesting game as Tipp beat a strong Cork outfit last night

thetruth12 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 28/04/2022 10:10:55    2413783

Replying To CTGAA10:  "To me that was a bad defeat for minors last night..not taking from Waterford but they had already been beaten twice in competition..I hope the standards with academey aren't slipping.its important that limerick keep getting to latter stages of these competitions,not always winning but definitely be competitive.."
Shocked to see Waterford beat ye after we hammered them. I think an element of complacency came into Limericks game.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2472 - 28/04/2022 10:24:41    2413791

In agreement a very good win and aswell as the three mentioned i thought Thomas and scully played very well..there is more to be got from midfield but overall a great result..on another point why does final have to be neutral venue??toss surely for Gaelic grounds or thurles..final v cork was in cork last year..I also thought that all matches at this age were home and away arrangement..is this a way now of giving a match to pairc ui rinn due to the other place not being available..pure joke..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2205 - 28/04/2022 10:45:47    2413801

Fair play to Limerick. You're going well at the ages that count, although Tipp will prove a massive challenge in the u-20 final; perhaps a bridge too far!

Do you think that u-17 is too young, and that u-18 should be reinstated? I mean, you read of minors in the olden days of being expected to be men while they were still boys: Frank McGuigan playing minor and senior championship on the same day; Ogie Moran playing senior club football in Kerry at 16; Peter Canavan (4 years under-21, and a senior at 19); Eoin Kelly of Tipp in hurling, etc. And these are the ones that pop into mind. There are many more.

Nowadays, it is not allowed. If you're a minor, you cannot play senior, and that's a good rule, in my opinion. However, nowadays, and I don't really want to use the term 'snowflake', young lads seem not to be as tough as lads were years ago. I mean, young lads seem to have more of an opportunity to enjoy their age, as it should be, than Irish people seemed to, say, in the 1970s or 80s. Times were tougher then, and opportunities were less. I mean, Ogie Moran playing senior club in Kerry at 16, either killed him or made him. It certainly didn't do the former.

The point I'm making is that not only was the old minor grade a year older, but that many minor players in bye-gone days were tougher, from having been exposed to playing at adult level.

I'm not for a second, advocating that you return to the "good ol' days", but to perhaps increase it back to 18. Or at least, to realize that this u-17 age group is too young to judge players.

So, that Limerick isn't doing that well at that age group shouldn't be a source of worry. That those players are developed into good hurlers by the age of 20/21 should be the concern, and the focus.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 28/04/2022 11:08:01    2413810

Limerick v Tipp in u20s munster final in Gaelic Grounds next Wednesday evening 730pm. Won the toss this morning.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1121 - 28/04/2022 12:14:51    2413830

Replying To daveboy:  "Limerick v Tipp in u20s munster final in Gaelic Grounds next Wednesday evening 730pm. Won the toss this morning."
5 or 6 of the team with bright futures at senior level, couldn't ask for more. Good chance against Tipp

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 28/04/2022 13:38:15    2413865

Replying To Shocs07:  "5 or 6 of the team with bright futures at senior level, couldn't ask for more. Good chance against Tipp"
Ya I like Aidan o Connor and despite a poor showing v clare he's impressed me again in last 2 matches. Shane o brien could be a big talent. You've Adam English on a great trajectory. Ethan Hurley is someone who's caught my eye this year and the move to 6 after cathal o neill was taken out has helped him. Scully too is a fine hurler. Colin coughlan is in the senior 26 every match now too. There are one or two more that caught my eye. I think it's be a great munster final next Wednesday and nice appetiser for the seniors the following Sunday.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1121 - 28/04/2022 14:40:47    2413891

Replying To daveboy:  "Ya I like Aidan o Connor and despite a poor showing v clare he's impressed me again in last 2 matches. Shane o brien could be a big talent. You've Adam English on a great trajectory. Ethan Hurley is someone who's caught my eye this year and the move to 6 after cathal o neill was taken out has helped him. Scully too is a fine hurler. Colin coughlan is in the senior 26 every match now too. There are one or two more that caught my eye. I think it's be a great munster final next Wednesday and nice appetiser for the seniors the following Sunday."
The fullback is tidy too

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 28/04/2022 16:32:40    2413924

Replying To thetruth12:  "Great win for the u20s last night, a lot of lads have shown that they are capable of playing senior for Limerick in the near future. O Leary from Ahane at corner back was very impressive and came out with a lot of ball under pressure, maybe needs a bit more strength and conditioning training but his first touch and striking was on form throughout the match. 15 points from play from English, O' Brien and O Connor is a very good return aswell, thats a major contribution to get from any forward line, only pity is that Cathal O Neill wasnt allowed play as he would have contributed nicely aswell. Team are steadily improving with each game and next weeks munster final against Tipp will be a very interesting game as Tipp beat a strong Cork outfit last night"
Did you see the Croke Cup Final.? O'Leary was absolutely brilliant and blotted out the St Kieran's danger man. A great win last night and V Cork. They were poor V Clare and only for O'Neill they would have been beaten. But fair play, different lads have really stood up since, They will be up against it with Tipp however, as the Premier lads seem to a very physically powerful outfit.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 28/04/2022 19:49:10    2413961

Yes, Shane O' Brien was very impressve, appears to be a real talent, he was man of the match in Ard Scoil Ris recent
All-Ireland schools final also.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 597 - 28/04/2022 20:39:03    2413968