Limerick GAA thread

Very good 2 points in the bag last Sunday. Limerick are where i felt they would be. They are championship ready from a conditioning point of view which they built up during the league campaign. They looked fresh to me v cork too and they'll incrementally build their touch to a higher degree as the championship continues ala last year. They had 17 wides Sunday. Some lads took a while to get going hurling wise but the effort and workrate was top drawer.

Hayes missing v Waterford will be a loss esp with Flanagan and casey out too but I think the attitude in the camp now is very much next man up. Looking forward to Saturday. Waterford will have a full compliment and we'll be without 3 of last years all star team in our forwards but that won't bother kiely too much. Be some statement to win Saturday missing those 3.

Limerick potentially if they get to croke Park will have a phenomenal 26 to call from. Likes of peter casey cathal o neill Barry Murphy to come into the forwards. The potential of gillane Hayes and Flanagan in the FF line is daunting for the opposition together with hego lynch and Tom. Thats some physicality in the front 6.

Delighted to see Mike casey back in the big time. He had a powerful match bar a couple of hand passes near the end. Byrnes and hannon were phenomenal. Hannon looks to be really enjoying himself last 2 years.

Quaid is the most important man on that team. I've said it countless times. The one man who for me we can't do without.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 19/04/2022 12:37:48    2411543

Waterford preview:

https://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2022/04/the-deise-vu.html

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/04/2022 14:10:36    2411577

Replying To Viking66:  "Dessie Hutchinsons confidence and hurling have been improving month on month never mind since last year. I think Finn is the best cornerback in the country so it will be a great battle to watch. Its years since de Burca played against Lynch. Ozzy has got more consistent this year he tended to drift out of some games up until last year. Barron is just a great player and 1 of the Waterford lads who consistently play well. As is WOD. I think Waterford are somewhere between ye and the rest of us. We will find out more about where exactly on Sunday. Love your confidence though!"
Viking. I was being a bit cheeky writing that post! Waterford are a very strong team, they have improved from last year and there will be very little between the teams. I still don't think they have improved enough to beat Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds!
The beauty about sport is we never know. So really looking forward to it and may the best team win!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 19/04/2022 14:25:13    2411586

Delighted for Diarmuid Byrnes to win man of the match. He's a dream wing back both defensively and offensively. Also thrilled to welcome back Mike Casey whose an out and out defender.

And how about JK naming a Dummy team!!! That's the first time that he's ever done that and it showed just how much he wanted to win that match.

Also thumbs up to all concerned about the disciple which was excellent on the day.

Game against Waterford is beyond tricky given the strong possibility that the teams could meet twice more in this championship. I guess the only approach is to play the game on it's merits and not try to be too tricky. I'd like to avoid any more injuries.

Regarding Waterford - I wonder if Cahill was too clever by half in not starting Austin Gleeson? They have a lot of good players but he's special and I wonder if this "punishment" is doing anything for his confidence.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 19/04/2022 16:03:59    2411618

Replying To Dealer:  "Delighted for Diarmuid Byrnes to win man of the match. He's a dream wing back both defensively and offensively. Also thrilled to welcome back Mike Casey whose an out and out defender.

And how about JK naming a Dummy team!!! That's the first time that he's ever done that and it showed just how much he wanted to win that match.

Also thumbs up to all concerned about the disciple which was excellent on the day.

Game against Waterford is beyond tricky given the strong possibility that the teams could meet twice more in this championship. I guess the only approach is to play the game on it's merits and not try to be too tricky. I'd like to avoid any more injuries.

Regarding Waterford - I wonder if Cahill was too clever by half in not starting Austin Gleeson? They have a lot of good players but he's special and I wonder if this "punishment" is doing anything for his confidence."
Hand on heart I would take no injuries first and foremost. Like you say the game has to be taken on it's merits. While I could see it being a bit cagey, I do think that both teams will go for it down the straight. At the end of the day the winner will get a stranglehold of the munster round robin which is a decent prize.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 19/04/2022 16:27:17    2411626

Is it one city player on the under 20s team and the minor is something similar. That's an awful statistic. 100,000 people and 1 player. On any successful Limerick team there's been at least 3 City players who offer a different mentality. Take O Donoghue,Hegarty out of the senior team and yiu lose alot . And even the senior team doesn't have hardly any city players...

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 20/04/2022 08:18:34    2411685

I think Waterford will bring a serious challenge on Saturday night. I think they may have been targeting this game from the outset. They've a very poor record in the Gaelic Grounds and Cahill is the type to blow these old hoary chestnuts away. It should be a serious contest and the loser still has an awful lot of work to do. I ll say it again,anybody going to Ennis needing points is in trouble. I think Clare will beat Tipp this weekend.
Any word on Hayes's hamstring. They should have taken him off sooner than they did. I was surprised at that slip up. 10 mins into the second half,whip him off.
The disparity between munster and leinster is stark. Kilkenny can do what they want training wise..Westmeath and Laois in their first 2 games. Whereas in Munster every game is a battle. Long may Munster Championship continue but it ll hurt teams in the All Ireland series. Kilkenny can do heavy training still in April.!

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 20/04/2022 08:36:10    2411686

Replying To bloodyban:  "I think Waterford will bring a serious challenge on Saturday night. I think they may have been targeting this game from the outset. They've a very poor record in the Gaelic Grounds and Cahill is the type to blow these old hoary chestnuts away. It should be a serious contest and the loser still has an awful lot of work to do. I ll say it again,anybody going to Ennis needing points is in trouble. I think Clare will beat Tipp this weekend.
Any word on Hayes's hamstring. They should have taken him off sooner than they did. I was surprised at that slip up. 10 mins into the second half,whip him off.
The disparity between munster and leinster is stark. Kilkenny can do what they want training wise..Westmeath and Laois in their first 2 games. Whereas in Munster every game is a battle. Long may Munster Championship continue but it ll hurt teams in the All Ireland series. Kilkenny can do heavy training still in April.!"
Agreed the fixtures in the Round Robin have given Kilkenny an edge. Our 1st 2 are against Galway and Dublin. Last day could be very good though with us playing the Cats in Nowlan Park, Galway playing the Dubs and Laois and Westmeath playing each other. Could be plenty riding on all 3 games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 20/04/2022 09:57:57    2411697

How come Colin Coughlan can still play u-21 when he played in the senior AI final last year? Cathale O'Neill cannot play now, even though he only played a few minutes of senior hurling against Cork.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 20/04/2022 11:26:48    2411742

Replying To foreveryoung:  "How come Colin Coughlan can still play u-21 when he played in the senior AI final last year? Cathale O'Neill cannot play now, even though he only played a few minutes of senior hurling against Cork."
New season.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 20/04/2022 11:34:49    2411746

Replying To foreveryoung:  "How come Colin Coughlan can still play u-21 when he played in the senior AI final last year? Cathale O'Neill cannot play now, even though he only played a few minutes of senior hurling against Cork."
Fair point Mr Young

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 20/04/2022 12:01:25    2411761

Because of stupid rule brought in by croke park.cork lost joyce,Waterford lost daly,Galway lost lee and Wexford lost pepper..it is ridiculous and has ruined great hurling competition..if I'm right I think Clifford missed out in Kerry due to same rule,and possibly missed under21/20 alltogether..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 20/04/2022 12:51:27    2411786

Replying To bloodyban:  "Is it one city player on the under 20s team and the minor is something similar. That's an awful statistic. 100,000 people and 1 player. On any successful Limerick team there's been at least 3 City players who offer a different mentality. Take O Donoghue,Hegarty out of the senior team and yiu lose alot . And even the senior team doesn't have hardly any city players..."
Saw the minors last night, 5 from the city started ( 2 monaleen, 2 Na Piarsaigh, 1 Mungret ) and you had 1 each from Patrickswell and Kildimo who are practically city and another lad from Monaleen came on. .
Every underage squad in the academy has plenty from Monaleen and Na Piarsaigh in particular.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 20/04/2022 13:39:33    2411815

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Because of stupid rule brought in by croke park.cork lost joyce,Waterford lost daly,Galway lost lee and Wexford lost pepper..it is ridiculous and has ruined great hurling competition..if I'm right I think Clifford missed out in Kerry due to same rule,and possibly missed under21/20 alltogether.."
So, the exceptionally good player ends up losing out? Pays a price for being good? That's anal thinking!

What's the rationale? Player burn out? As if what O'Neill did against Cork burns him out! Not one Limerick player in my view was even half-burnt out over that game.

CP has lots of sorting out to do!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 20/04/2022 14:32:43    2411840

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Because of stupid rule brought in by croke park.cork lost joyce,Waterford lost daly,Galway lost lee and Wexford lost pepper..it is ridiculous and has ruined great hurling competition..if I'm right I think Clifford missed out in Kerry due to same rule,and possibly missed under21/20 alltogether.."
It's a stupid rule. And does nothing to combat player burnout anyway.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 20/04/2022 15:09:28    2411863

Replying To hurler32:  "Saw the minors last night, 5 from the city started ( 2 monaleen, 2 Na Piarsaigh, 1 Mungret ) and you had 1 each from Patrickswell and Kildimo who are practically city and another lad from Monaleen came on. .
Every underage squad in the academy has plenty from Monaleen and Na Piarsaigh in particular."
Thats good that 5 were playing from tbe City on the minors. You are stretching reality saying Kildimo and Patrickswell are the city. They don't even have the same accent!.
Wouldn't you think the likes of St Pats and Claughaun could produce some talent underage. Even 1 player of note. The most successful period in a limerick since the 3Os and 1 player Geroid Hegarty representing the whole of the inner city, about 40,000 people. Na Piarsaigh, Mungret and Monaleen are all suburban. And don't tell me the young fellas aren't there. Pike rovers,Fairview, Geraldine's all producing fine footballers...surely we can make a few hurlers out of them.
Give Claughaun and Old Christians no choice...join em up and Throw in Pats in hurling. And call em something catchy...

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 20/04/2022 16:21:11    2411885

Replying To bloodyban:  "Thats good that 5 were playing from tbe City on the minors. You are stretching reality saying Kildimo and Patrickswell are the city. They don't even have the same accent!.
Wouldn't you think the likes of St Pats and Claughaun could produce some talent underage. Even 1 player of note. The most successful period in a limerick since the 3Os and 1 player Geroid Hegarty representing the whole of the inner city, about 40,000 people. Na Piarsaigh, Mungret and Monaleen are all suburban. And don't tell me the young fellas aren't there. Pike rovers,Fairview, Geraldine's all producing fine footballers...surely we can make a few hurlers out of them.
Give Claughaun and Old Christians no choice...join em up and Throw in Pats in hurling. And call em something catchy..."
Great win for under 20s in Cork tonight

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 20/04/2022 20:43:21    2411943

Well done on a huge performance in cork..huge improvement from Clare game..thought the few changes made team stronger even without cahal o neill..home semi v Waterford next week..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 20/04/2022 21:03:56    2411950

Great result for u20s tonight beating Cork down in Cork. Serious forward talent there and Quilty another talent.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 20/04/2022 21:23:30    2411952

Replying To bloodyban:  "Thats good that 5 were playing from tbe City on the minors. You are stretching reality saying Kildimo and Patrickswell are the city. They don't even have the same accent!.
Give Claughaun and Old Christians no choice...join em up and Throw in Pats in hurling. And call em something catchy..."
Clueless post from someone who almost certainly has no involvement with any club.

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 447 - 21/04/2022 08:39:16    2411974