Limerick GAA thread

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Best of luck to the hurlers..great to see mike Casey back,huge addition to panel after 2 years out..a worry for me,no Kyle Hayes again..very little hurling 4 weeks from championship..get a win tomorrow and then kick on.."
I'm sure there's probably a high quality challenge match lined up against a Leinster team about 2 weeks prior to Easter Sunday which will have a higher intensity and Kiely will place more importance on that than any League game.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 19/03/2022 12:35:27    2405812

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Of course, nobody can tell the future. That's an obvious and easy angle to take. My 5-year-old granddaughter could make that case.

However, history and the figures don't lie, irrespective of what the begrudgers know, never mind an iota even of what those same begrudgers think."
FY. Always remember the begrudgers are God's Children too even if the likes of you, me and Katser are his Chosen People.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 19/03/2022 12:35:44    2405813

I don't comment to often on limerick football..huge congrats to billy lee,management and players..still in with a chance of promotion to division 2 with a game left..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2215 - 20/03/2022 13:41:25    2405911

The training camp in kerry looks to have reaped big dividends already. That sharpness looked back in a big way today. They looked fresh also with the heavy loading gone now. Opposition clearly is a variable in all this but the main positive for me was execution.

Nash becoming a serious hurler at this stage. Great to see Mike casey and his reception near the end was top class. Finn hannon and byrnes looked hungry for ball. DoDs distribution was back to his very best. Hego looked at it again and mul did well. Gillane has never looked as hungry and sharp in a league since I've seen him in Green.

I think kiely will be delighted with how they have progressed last 2/3 weeks and the training camp seems to have been timed perfectly. Big 4 weeks now and in house matches + challenges v Galway or Dublin will do nicely if they feel they're needed.

Last thing Quaid have an exhibition of distribution today. Most important player on that team.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1127 - 20/03/2022 17:48:55    2405964

Replying To daveboy:  "The training camp in kerry looks to have reaped big dividends already. That sharpness looked back in a big way today. They looked fresh also with the heavy loading gone now. Opposition clearly is a variable in all this but the main positive for me was execution.

Nash becoming a serious hurler at this stage. Great to see Mike casey and his reception near the end was top class. Finn hannon and byrnes looked hungry for ball. DoDs distribution was back to his very best. Hego looked at it again and mul did well. Gillane has never looked as hungry and sharp in a league since I've seen him in Green.

I think kiely will be delighted with how they have progressed last 2/3 weeks and the training camp seems to have been timed perfectly. Big 4 weeks now and in house matches + challenges v Galway or Dublin will do nicely if they feel they're needed.

Last thing Quaid have an exhibition of distribution today. Most important player on that team."
Agree re Quaid. Mike Casey looked really sharp too. Congrats to him on his return. Standing ovation was well deserved!!

Don't think Center field suited Cathal o Neil. David Reidy didn't help himself when introduced either. Is Mul playing himself back into starting 15?

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 21/03/2022 12:49:10    2406173

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "Agree re Quaid. Mike Casey looked really sharp too. Congrats to him on his return. Standing ovation was well deserved!!

Don't think Center field suited Cathal o Neil. David Reidy didn't help himself when introduced either. Is Mul playing himself back into starting 15?"
Thought Mulcahy was excellent. Chased down a ball in the corner I was in and won it against 2 Offaly defenders and put it over the bar. Agree Casey looked like he'd never been away. Gillane very good as well

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 21/03/2022 13:47:05    2406196

Replying To Shocs07:  "Thought Mulcahy was excellent. Chased down a ball in the corner I was in and won it against 2 Offaly defenders and put it over the bar. Agree Casey looked like he'd never been away. Gillane very good as well"
Mul has the 15 jersey for now i think. He looks sharp and fresh. He brings experience and a bit of physicality to the play and most importantly he knows that floating 15 role very well. It's not a straight forward role and experience playing it helps him. I'm not sure anyone else has really justified it ahead of him and in fairness to kiely he started everyone in the role. The 4 weeks of training will make his mind up and in fairness to kiely he has started lads from training before that might have surprised a few so no certainty yet. I think o neill will cover HF line along with Reidy and Pat Ryan/English to cover the FF line. I think all those lads are better now to come into a match when it has opened up. In midfield I think O grady has jumped Hanley in the queue and o neill is now cover for there too. In the backs I think casey and English will be cover the FB line and coughlan for HB line. People say that limerick may not have the depth of others but that's serious depth imo. There are also options to move hayes up. With peter casey and murphy hoping to see game time later on in the year if limerick progress the panel then looks very deep.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1127 - 21/03/2022 14:57:32    2406232

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I don't comment to often on limerick football..huge congrats to billy lee,management and players..still in with a chance of promotion to division 2 with a game left.."
I don't comment too much on Waterford football either. Three one point defeats and yesterday capped it all with four players sent off in ambiguous circumstances. Sligo were given two yellows for dangerous tackles by all accounts. Ephie Fitzgerald asked to talk to the ref at half time and was told that he could after the game. Then when he tried was told no. Said in all his time around football never witnessed anything like this. There are a lot of people trying to keep football going in Waterford. This is not the way to treat young players starting out for their county. Try getting some of them back next year.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 21/03/2022 20:03:42    2406328

Daveboy. I agree re our squad depth. If you think that hurlers like Brian Ryan, David Dempsey, Josh Considine etc etc cannot even make the 36. It took Barry Nash 2 years and a new position to break back into the team after he was a starter in 2017. I think a big part of our squad depth is due to NaPiarsaighs run in 2018. It allowed lads like Gillane, Flanagan & Darragh o Donovan to gain lots of game time. The NaPa lads were going so well around then that there could easily have been 6 starters in 18. Instead there were 0 starters in the first round against Tipp.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 21/03/2022 21:52:49    2406347

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Is that all ye picked up from that post???

I'm not a begrudger or one bit Anti Limerick, ye've been the best team 3 out of the last 4 years, what i'm highlighting is that there seems to be a discipline problem in the squad which i think could be a potential major weakness and if its not looked into could cost ye in a big game.
But the only response i've received here have been deflectory and accusing me of begrudgement instead of actually talking about the issue."
In all fairness Larry, how can you explain why a Waterford player was shown a straight red for a rash tackle in Nowlan Park on Sunday, when a Clare player did not even get a yellow for a similar tackle on Cian Lynch a few Sundays back. Now I am not saying the Clare lad should have been sent off, but at least he should have been yellow carded and the free against Limerick- nobody knows for what- reversed and the ball thrown in.
This was the third time in a few weeks Lynch has been badly treated by expierianced refs. He was wrongly put off in The Fitzgibbon Cup Final and right in front of the stand in the Cork game inexplicably pulled for picking the ball off the ground, when he clearly did not do so, a fact verified by an inter county ref sitting beside me and indeed every one else, both Cork and Limerick supporters around us.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 22/03/2022 10:33:40    2406392

was year i was in an email conversation on a gaa matter with a member of limerick co board [officer] i was shocked at how anti football he was and was not shy in saying it, i know limerick is a hurling county biut surly its the duty of the co board to treat both games as equal, he reminded me ogf member of wexford co board 40 years ago when i served

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 22/03/2022 10:47:14    2406400

Replying To Oldtourman:  "In all fairness Larry, how can you explain why a Waterford player was shown a straight red for a rash tackle in Nowlan Park on Sunday, when a Clare player did not even get a yellow for a similar tackle on Cian Lynch a few Sundays back. Now I am not saying the Clare lad should have been sent off, but at least he should have been yellow carded and the free against Limerick- nobody knows for what- reversed and the ball thrown in.
This was the third time in a few weeks Lynch has been badly treated by expierianced refs. He was wrongly put off in The Fitzgibbon Cup Final and right in front of the stand in the Cork game inexplicably pulled for picking the ball off the ground, when he clearly did not do so, a fact verified by an inter county ref sitting beside me and indeed every one else, both Cork and Limerick supporters around us."
DJ Foran deserved to go. Similar to Flanagan and Kingston when you make contact with a players head either trying to shoulder them or by raising your elbow you deserve the line.
Can't recall the Lynch incident in Clare to be honest but i have it recorded here so if you give the time it happened during the game and the Clare player i'll get back to you on it.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 22/03/2022 11:00:43    2406408

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "was year i was in an email conversation on a gaa matter with a member of limerick co board [officer
i was shocked at how anti football he was and was not shy in saying it, i know limerick is a hurling county biut surly its the duty of the co board to treat both games as equal, he reminded me ogf member of wexford co board 40 years ago when i served"]First of all, could you please re-type what you want to say, and send it in such a way that people can at least read it?

Second, what's the context to this message? A reply to some post that's related to this issue (though I haven't seen any such conversation)? A new topic that you want to discuss with Limerick posters? Or just a random post aimed at nothing nor no-one in particular? I'd go for the latter.

To put it mildly, you seem to have made a bit of a dog's dinner of things!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 22/03/2022 11:08:06    2406413

Graeme Mulcahy did enough on Sunday and has enough credit in the bank to get the no 15 jersey for the Cork game. The rest of the team will be the same as last year's All Ireland Final. Cathal O'Neill has done well but will not start before any of the half forward line from last year. Although the results were disappointing in the league I think J.Kiely has managing the league well given all players plenty of opportunities to impress. This is important to keep everyone happy and on their toes. Given the 6 day turnaround to the Waterford match I'm sure he will look to rotate a few players but its key to get a win in the opening game.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 112 - 22/03/2022 11:29:23    2406418

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "DJ Foran deserved to go. Similar to Flanagan and Kingston when you make contact with a players head either trying to shoulder them or by raising your elbow you deserve the line.
Can't recall the Lynch incident in Clare to be honest but i have it recorded here so if you give the time it happened during the game and the Clare player i'll get back to you on it."
No point in going back to him Larry the two incidents were totally different one a shoulder to head a red card IMO

In Ennis the Clare players midriff collided with Cian Lynch perhaps a bit careless but no where near a shoulder

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 22/03/2022 12:21:38    2406433

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "DJ Foran deserved to go. Similar to Flanagan and Kingston when you make contact with a players head either trying to shoulder them or by raising your elbow you deserve the line.
Can't recall the Lynch incident in Clare to be honest but i have it recorded here so if you give the time it happened during the game and the Clare player i'll get back to you on it."
Ya send them all off for an contact with the head incidental or not. Isn't that what you are saying ? Foran did not raise an elbow or attempt to shoulder to the head. He went shoulder to shoulder. Made shoulder to shoulder contact. Made head contact also because the Kilkenny player was on the way down after the tackle was initiated. However if that is how you see it from the comfort of your couch and the soap box flawed replay. However not the way anyone present in line with it seen it. Including Brian Cody.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 22/03/2022 14:18:21    2406491

Replying To Canuck:  "Ya send them all off for an contact with the head incidental or not. Isn't that what you are saying ? Foran did not raise an elbow or attempt to shoulder to the head. He went shoulder to shoulder. Made shoulder to shoulder contact. Made head contact also because the Kilkenny player was on the way down after the tackle was initiated. However if that is how you see it from the comfort of your couch and the soap box flawed replay. However not the way anyone present in line with it seen it. Including Brian Cody."
Again Canuck, I'd have to be in agreement with you, in how you interpret what happened. It's not that difficult, really.

I often have to wonder whether certain guys, like Larry for example, are on this website just to generate traffic. In America, we call these guys 'ringers' or 'puffers', in that they puff up the value of the service or commodity.

Guys like this fella make little or no sense at all when it comes to either football or hurling. And there's a dozen of more about the place, too. But I suppose that it's better if I don't name any names.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 22/03/2022 14:42:21    2406500

Can we move on please from all this nonsense about cards, fouls and simulatins etc.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 22/03/2022 15:47:30    2406519

Replying To journeyman:  "Graeme Mulcahy did enough on Sunday and has enough credit in the bank to get the no 15 jersey for the Cork game. The rest of the team will be the same as last year's All Ireland Final. Cathal O'Neill has done well but will not start before any of the half forward line from last year. Although the results were disappointing in the league I think J.Kiely has managing the league well given all players plenty of opportunities to impress. This is important to keep everyone happy and on their toes. Given the 6 day turnaround to the Waterford match I'm sure he will look to rotate a few players but its key to get a win in the opening game."
Do you not think that Richie English deserves to start after having an outstanding league. If players are picked on form he is in pole position along with Nash to start. I know that creates a problem has it means Finn plays fullback, but we need form players againt Cork on the field.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 22/03/2022 16:09:42    2406528

Replying To Canuck:  "Ya send them all off for an contact with the head incidental or not. Isn't that what you are saying ? Foran did not raise an elbow or attempt to shoulder to the head. He went shoulder to shoulder. Made shoulder to shoulder contact. Made head contact also because the Kilkenny player was on the way down after the tackle was initiated. However if that is how you see it from the comfort of your couch and the soap box flawed replay. However not the way anyone present in line with it seen it. Including Brian Cody."
If you initiate a tackle and lead with your shoulder or elbow and contact the head whether you mean it or not its a red card. The sooner lads realize that the better.
Reminds me of the outrage that went on when lads started getting red cards for hitting their marker a few butts of the hurl every now and again. When players realised they would be sent off for doing it they stopped. Similar scenario here.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 22/03/2022 16:11:44    2406529