Monaghan Club Football

What way are the leagues and championships been run in Monaghan? I used to spend quite a bit of time there, so took an interest in the club scene. From what I remember only the winner of the championship used to be promoted regardless of league position. That if you played senior championship you played senior league. It was all tied in. Am I right in saying that? I always thought it was a bit odd that you could win the intermediate league but not go up to senior league if you didn't win the inter championship.

Have the rules changed this year that 2 go up and down now? So you could have an inter team who gets to the inter champ final, lose and if the winners win the league they go as well? So there could be an occasion where a poor inter team get to the final and get hammered but still go up to senior? Surely that would be no good to the club or the championship the following year.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 21/11/2021 10:35:14    2390146

Replying To ginelli:  "Was at it. Possibly the worst team I've ever seen play a senior football match. Others at the game said it wasn't as bad as the game against truagh though so that must have been dire.
Was watching this and thinking of the recent comments from eamonn McGee about coaches. Really think we have some outside coaches in the county that surely are no better than our own home grown men.
I heard 30k mentioned last night..... watching that effort it isn't money well spent. I'm sure others might disagree but I don't think 1 championship for 90k is a great return. How much work could be done round a club for that?
Clontibret were so negative it was unreal..... scotstown won by 9, could have been more..... they stopped trying with 25 minutes left... they would have a harder match if they had trained last night."
Totally agree. Sadly it was worse than the Clontibret v Truagh game where at least the closeness of the scores kept you morbidly interested. Never thought I'd see a worse game than that, and definitely not within a month. Clontibret's tactic was too keep the score down and when that went out of the window they concentrated on trying to keep the score down and hopefully Mansy would produce some moments of genius. Scotstown did what they've been doing all year, won in 2nd gear, with as little as fuss as possible. Friday night wasn't a game for them,it was an inconvenience.
The simple truth is that anyone outside Scotstown who is paying an outside manager is throwing money down a drain. Is this what volunteers sell club lotto tickets for? To have chancers from (mainly) the North to bleed them dry on the fantasy that they can win a championship. There's a cottage industry of these types now and they're going to keep playing managers chairs until someone turns off the music.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 21/11/2021 19:36:55    2390211

any scraps this week?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 21/11/2021 19:50:29    2390221

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "any scraps this week?"
No not this week but a big one in cavan at u20s game video taking down this morning but it didn't look

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 52 - 21/11/2021 20:39:55    2390233

Killanny into the league final after finishing in the relegation places in the championship.
If they win final next Sunday against Donaghmoyne they go senior, if they lose they go junior. Is that right?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 21/11/2021 21:57:16    2390244

Yes Eddie that's correct and is a farce of a suitation created by our co board. This is totally unfair on my own club Cremartin who played Killany in a relegation winner takes all game 2 weeks ago which we won. Now we could be told next Sunday sorry lads your down that game didn't really matter. DMoyne playing in ulster club the following W-e will increase killannys chance of success. Co board made a mess of the terms and conditions of this.

Re Clontibret v Scotstown game other posters correct. Clontibret were an embarrassment to the jersey. They didn't try a leg. Pathetic. If they pd 30k got that then they should seek a refund. Add on big expenses in inniskeen & Ballybay as well then those 3 clubs wasted some money. Their performances were pathetic.

In other news I hear the lanzarote draw is not going very well ?….

FrankAnnyalla (Monaghan) - Posts: 339 - 22/11/2021 07:36:48    2390249

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Killanny into the league final after finishing in the relegation places in the championship.
If they win final next Sunday against Donaghmoyne they go senior, if they lose they go junior. Is that right?"
I would have thought that Aughnamullen would go up if Donaghmoyne win double. Didn't the league exclude county players, so Aughnamullen would have not been able to select Micheal Bannigan.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 22/11/2021 08:24:28    2390250

If Killanny win next weekend they go Senior if they lose they go Junior so they will definitely not be intermediate next year. Definitely too weak for Senior and probably too strong for Junior so tough to know which they would prefer. They will bring the game to Donaghmoyne but Killanny are in this position simply because they haven't been good enough in the second half of this year while Donaghmoyne seem to be improving so hard to see anything other than a routine win for Donaghmoyne.

Aughnamullen would surely be hoping for a Killanny win. They would see themselves as a Senior outfit I'm sure but every team wants to go up on their own terms and not being dragged up with a team that done the double. Second place trophies never take pride of place on any mans mantle piece.

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 22/11/2021 09:35:35    2390261

Was in Blayney Friday night. I could've text the wife after 15 minutes to put on the spuds and get the red wine out of the fridge. Clontibret we're beat once Mansey was named on the bench as they were never going to have the scoring power to put up any sort of a fight. Clontibret's Senior win in 2019 was the last hurrah for that team. You look round that team and you see some great servants but there is more grey hair on that team than not. Scotstown just look sharper, fitter, stronger than anyone else it's not even close. When the turkey is out of the system and people are talking about championship 2022 I don't think we should be discussing clontibret or Ballybay. Truagh, Latton, Blayney have much better younger teams so should be seen as teams who should be pushing Scotstown in years to come.

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 22/11/2021 09:50:27    2390265

Replying To FrankAnnyalla:  "Yes Eddie that's correct and is a farce of a suitation created by our co board. This is totally unfair on my own club Cremartin who played Killany in a relegation winner takes all game 2 weeks ago which we won. Now we could be told next Sunday sorry lads your down that game didn't really matter. DMoyne playing in ulster club the following W-e will increase killannys chance of success. Co board made a mess of the terms and conditions of this.

Re Clontibret v Scotstown game other posters correct. Clontibret were an embarrassment to the jersey. They didn't try a leg. Pathetic. If they pd 30k got that then they should seek a refund. Add on big expenses in inniskeen & Ballybay as well then those 3 clubs wasted some money. Their performances were pathetic.

In other news I hear the lanzarote draw is not going very well ?…."
Cremartin only won 2 games from the 10 games they played this year.
Killanny won 6 games from the same 10.
Seems to be sour grapes from the Cremartin men.

Donelli (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 22/11/2021 12:24:34    2390301

The county final between Scotstown and Truagh was a great game up until the last quarter where Scotstowns experience paved the way for their win.
However Had Gary Mohan Truagh found an empty net ( while Rory was clamouring to get back from centrefield) well things could have been completely different as Truagh seemed to loose their way after that.
His shot just skimmed the post going wide.
Well the next opponent maybe luckier.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 22/11/2021 12:56:02    2390310

Replying To FrankAnnyalla:  "Yes Eddie that's correct and is a farce of a suitation created by our co board. This is totally unfair on my own club Cremartin who played Killany in a relegation winner takes all game 2 weeks ago which we won. Now we could be told next Sunday sorry lads your down that game didn't really matter. DMoyne playing in ulster club the following W-e will increase killannys chance of success. Co board made a mess of the terms and conditions of this.

Wasnt it always the case if you win the league you gained promotion??? I remember same happening to Ballybay years ago where they needed to win a game to go senior but had already been relegated. Relegation is never down to the last game it is how you performed all year.

DeMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 115 - 22/11/2021 16:29:39    2390362

Replying To DeMan:  "Wasnt it always the case if you win the league you gained promotion??? I remember same happening to Ballybay years ago where they needed to win a game to go senior but had already been relegated. Relegation is never down to the last game it is how you performed all year."
Yeah, 1996. If we beat Donaghmoyne we would have been Senior and defeat would put us Junior. Lost by 2 Just as well as we were down again in 98 and it wasn't until we won Junior Championship in 2000 that we went back up to stay. I think we were the last team to win Junior and Intermediate Championships back to back and 2000 - 2012 is the shortest gap between a club winning Junior Championship and Senior Championship. I think 7 players who started in 2000 also started in 2012 final.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 22/11/2021 18:51:50    2390376

Fair play to Toome to bounce back after championship loss to win the league and go up to intermediate, local Wilson brothers took them over this year and only lost 1 game all year must be doing something right

CTC6 (Monaghan) - Posts: 22 - 23/11/2021 11:08:14    2390417

It is a tad unfair that cremartin are in that situation alright, league football in monaghan although good is flawed in many respects with County players missing and big teams often feeling weakened teams to accommodate others. I think it was a few years back Blayney and clontibret both dug each other out of relegation.
Even donaghmoyne next Sunday are in a tricky situation in a league final. Inniskeens good form in recent years is on the back of a promotion with Carrick let's not forget. I said it on here during the summer Relegation should have been decided with a two play offs - two losers drop down via championship.
On a different note, how worrying is club football in the towns in the county. Apart from Blayney who are showing signs of small progression, all the other towns look to be in a down ward spiral.

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 24/11/2021 12:29:16    2390578

Replying To CTC6:  "Fair play to Toome to bounce back after championship loss to win the league and go up to intermediate, local Wilson brothers took them over this year and only lost 1 game all year must be doing something right"
Have to agree.

I think I heard they won 12 of 13 games at senior level all season, no easy feat.

Alot of people were quick to criticise them last week, not as quick to congratulate them..

Fully deserved and been from a neighbouring club they are a great bunch of lads..

Farney1990 (Monaghan) - Posts: 20 - 24/11/2021 14:05:07    2390605

Players and teams of the year will be announced next week,
Pauric McGuirk would be my shout for Junior player of the year.
toss of a coin between Michael Bannigan and Davy Gartlan for Intermediate,

latefortraining (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 24/11/2021 15:57:55    2390638

Rules have always been the same, cremartin knew going into the game that it was still in Killannys hands.

seanfinn2580 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1 - 25/11/2021 09:16:21    2390713

Replying To 222:  "It is a tad unfair that cremartin are in that situation alright, league football in monaghan although good is flawed in many respects with County players missing and big teams often feeling weakened teams to accommodate others. I think it was a few years back Blayney and clontibret both dug each other out of relegation.
Even donaghmoyne next Sunday are in a tricky situation in a league final. Inniskeens good form in recent years is on the back of a promotion with Carrick let's not forget. I said it on here during the summer Relegation should have been decided with a two play offs - two losers drop down via championship.
On a different note, how worrying is club football in the towns in the county. Apart from Blayney who are showing signs of small progression, all the other towns look to be in a down ward spiral."
but sure Cremartin dont have any co players so system hasn't been any unfairer to them

DeMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 115 - 25/11/2021 14:15:16    2390789

Replying To DeMan:  "but sure Cremartin dont have any co players so system hasn't been any unfairer to them"
Their nothing new about the town teams struggling, Clones , Monaghan harps and Carrick have always been yo yo teams,
Kelly , McAdam and O'Hanlon in the last ten years, i can't remember too many other starting players in the county set up from these clubs. Its not something that unique to Monaghan either, in Co. Down neither Shamrock or Mitchells of Newry compete at the highest level , it the mountain men from Kilcoo, In Tyrone Dungannon made a breakthrough last year, Cookstown are junior, Caolisland are probably the most consistent town team/Village team. same In Armagh neither harp or Pearse ogs are dominant. No senior club in Derry city either, Antrim Galls or Johns have been surpassed by Cargin and Creggan, Inniskillen only back into senior in Fermanagh. its the age old debate of townie v Culchie .

latefortraining (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 25/11/2021 16:36:55    2390818