Monaghan Club Football

Replying To Champo20:  "Good to see a bit a jealousy about ..

Any half decent club has all them add ons with there senior teams and if they havent then there going nowhere fast.

The Grattans as well as having the best grounds in Ulster will soon have the champions of Monaghan residing there .

Cheerio bitter men..........."
Totally agree with the statement that all senior clubs should have this add on. Look at any team that has won a county title in the last 5 years from any county not just Monaghan, they will all have these coaches in place.

Not sure they will do the deal this year but it is definitely coming I think.

As for all the bitter comments (not yours Champo20) people are making about lads not getting a chance on the county. I agree they deserve more of a chance but that doesn't mean they should walk away. Every player has to wait their turn and keep training hard. Look at Conor McManus, never made a county team until he was 20/21. Got his chance and took it. Likewise for many other players who have given us many successful days out. The players mentioned are only 20/21 so why tell them to quit?? Does this all fall back to the hatred south monaghan people have for the Banty??

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 06/10/2021 11:24:52    2384581

Replying To countymonaghan:  "Totally agree with the statement that all senior clubs should have this add on. Look at any team that has won a county title in the last 5 years from any county not just Monaghan, they will all have these coaches in place.

Not sure they will do the deal this year but it is definitely coming I think.

As for all the bitter comments (not yours Champo20) people are making about lads not getting a chance on the county. I agree they deserve more of a chance but that doesn't mean they should walk away. Every player has to wait their turn and keep training hard. Look at Conor McManus, never made a county team until he was 20/21. Got his chance and took it. Likewise for many other players who have given us many successful days out. The players mentioned are only 20/21 so why tell them to quit?? Does this all fall back to the hatred south monaghan people have for the Banty??"
It's definitely just not confined to south monaghan…….

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 06/10/2021 12:10:11    2384590

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "I don't know of many clubs in Monaghan with full time S&C or goalkeeping coaches, perhaps at certain stages in the year but full time??!

Only club in the county operating at that level is corduff, see the have the full Monaghan senior backroom team on the line these days since giving the old management the bullet! Wasn't long ago the club threatened to chase Banty from the grounds after it emerged he was using the facilities to break Covid restrictions, now they instate him as manager! Farce!"
I know mcmanus kept plugging away and waiting on his chance ,I not telling them young boys to walk away, I'm saying that management team is all wrong and that they not going to get a chance in championship football when they around ,In years to come it will be said mcmanus was a great ,( which is fact) but because of county board picking rubbish managers like banty ,he won't be known for winning ulster's or national league's or god forbid sam,where all you do is look at our neighbours armagh ,tyrone ,keep playing the youth ,and winning ,not just stay in div 1,time to face the fact ye messed up best monaghan team ever.

Blanket (Monaghan) - Posts: 39 - 06/10/2021 19:36:49    2384656

Replying To Blanket:  "What money is being pumped into Inniskeen, that's not going into any other senior team,this boy must be a know all and knows nothing only give out bout all ,go to the Inniskeen game on Sunday and reply on what you see and tell us who you put on county from these 2 teams ,the same old boys from scotstown. Give the young lads a chance."
This aged beautifully. The "same old boys from Scotstown" were the only men on that field that looked like they had any business being on a county panel. Dominated from start to finish.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 10/10/2021 17:47:48    2385131

Replying To HB245:  "This aged beautifully. The "same old boys from Scotstown" were the only men on that field that looked like they had any business being on a county panel. Dominated from start to finish."
And did it without breaking sweat, or getting out of 2nd gear.
Whoever's pumping the money into inniskeen is not getting a great return.
The young lads that Blanket wants to choice a chance to never looked in the running in this game

ginelli (Monaghan) - Posts: 47 - 10/10/2021 18:57:56    2385139

Replying To ginelli:  "And did it without breaking sweat, or getting out of 2nd gear.
Whoever's pumping the money into inniskeen is not getting a great return.
The young lads that Blanket wants to choice a chance to never looked in the running in this game"
Yes genuinely thought Inniskeen would give Scotstown a much better game. Today shows Inniskeen are a million mile away from a championship despite what biased Inniskeen men say on here. Punching above their weight no doubt but I don't care how much money they pump in they are not getting close to Scotstown. Too busy blaming everyone - referees, county boards, grass too long, grass too short - but to be fair if I was pumping that money in and not getting close to the big teams I would be playing the blame game myself. Maybe another few coaches in and spend another 100k and they might get without 5 or 6 of Scotstown.

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 10/10/2021 20:05:29    2385153

Inniskeen were very poor yesterday. Sadly I think a its a truer reflection of where they are than anything they did last year. They actually started well, McArdle was at FF and had 6 inches and 2 stone on his direct opponent and when the ball was put in right, he got some some joy but Inniskeen made the mistake that many teams with poor management make, they seem to think that a big man at full forward means you just balloon the ball in. This is folly. Although Rory, has had his issues with a dropping ball, the hang time on the few that went in was so long that he had plenty of time to deal with them also he's every bit of a lump of a man as McArdle is so whatever physical advantage Inniskeen had, disappeared.
If Inniskeen had played it right, Scotstown would have had no choice than to bring Darren back to match up. But they didn't, and Scotstown weathered the predictable early storm and won the 2nd quarter 0-9 v 0-2.
The game was summed up by the 2nd half throw in. Inniskeen won it, but dropped it,picked up the break, but fumbled it and then a Scotstown player got hands on it, secured possession and got fouled.
It was over at that stage and when Scotstown goaled early in second half, they totally took the foot off the gas. They only scored 0-4 in final 25 minutes because they had their work done. Lord knows what kind of score they would have put up if they had tried.
Inniskeen are now going to have to beat Latton and Scotstown again to reach the final. So unless Latton can produce something special, Scotstown are going to another county final without getting out of 2nd gear for the entire campaign to that point.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 11/10/2021 07:36:45    2385176

Men against boys yesterday.. Scotstown will stroll to another championship and will do so for the next few years I would think.. they have vast numbers of players to pick from that other clubs simply cant match at nearly all levels..on another note yesterday got me thinking again on the amount of huge money clubs are willing to throw out to bluffers on the line.. if I was inniskeen id be asking myself am I getting value for my money and the answer would be a big fat NO..

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 11/10/2021 09:40:21    2385185

Scotstown look the real deal alright.
Squad across the board looks in a great place both technically and physically. A great expansive system of play too, backs allowed to go forward and express themselves, players backed by their coaches.
Speed and power all over the pitch, their county men look in even better shape now than they did in ulster champ a few weeks back.
The only question worth asking is how will they do in ulster cause co champs is a formality at this stage.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 11/10/2021 15:02:02    2385255

Good to see a small wee village like Inniskeen competing in there second County semi final in as many years .

Champo20 (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 19/10/2021 09:40:29    2386183

Replying To Champo20:  "Good to see a small wee village like Inniskeen competing in there second County semi final in as many years ."
Playing in. Competing in is different matter.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 19/10/2021 13:51:39    2386251

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Playing in. Competing in is different matter."
I am sure they intend to fully play /compete/beat Scotstown when 345 Sunday arrives .

Champo20 (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 19/10/2021 15:05:35    2386267

Predictions for the weekend in our premier Comp??

I'll go with Ballybay just pipping Truagh in the first game, neither team are by any means world killers or play a particular good brand of football so I can see it being a slow burner for the most part with BB just getting over the line by a point or 2

Second game should be a good spectacle, I'll go with Scotstown but I'm expecting to see more of a game of it than when they meat a few weeks ago. Inniskeen have a lot of lessons to learn and I feel they'll just not have had enough of time to address them all. Stown will inevitably pull away towards the end and win by 3or4 points.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 21/10/2021 18:02:12    2386711

Replying To Blanket:  "What money is being pumped into Inniskeen, that's not going into any other senior team,this boy must be a know all and knows nothing only give out bout all ,go to the Inniskeen game on Sunday and reply on what you see and tell us who you put on county from these 2 teams ,the same old boys from scotstown. Give the young lads a chance."
The same old boys from Scotstown eh? I'm unsure as to what has made people think Inniskeen are even on the same planet as Scotstown, but thankfully a lot of these people on this forum have been well and truly humbled.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 24/10/2021 17:28:05    2387171

Were you in clones today blanket? Men against boys doesn't come near it.
I am actually a fan of both Jones and woods but it's criminal to see how badly their talent is being wasted.
Id say mcconville kicked more bottles on the sideline than some of his team kicked ball in the hour, that for me is a lot of the problem, more concerned with showing how 'passionate' he is than addressing problems on the pitch...... and also with strong with the officials and scotstown mentors.
Somebody should tell him you got to come out to play when you're losing, not keep pecking defense.
ASK truagh.... when they finally came out to play they blew ballybay away.

ginelli (Monaghan) - Posts: 47 - 24/10/2021 19:43:38    2387203

So…..
How good are this Scotstown team actually?
Anyone been to many Tyrone/Derry/Donegal etc club games to gauge a comparison?

Talented footballers all over the pitch, scores from everywhere, great style and system of play but I'm my opinion Physically they are the best club team I've seen in action in Monaghan for quiet some time if ever! Winning games comfortably without breaking a sweat.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 25/10/2021 15:31:51    2387309

This year's Senior Championship has been a huge disappointment. The structure has been great but quality has been very poor. The only thing good about Truagh v Clontibret was that it didn't go to extra time. Latton v Inniskeen was better by comparison only. I was at Blayney v Carrick on Friday night and it was poor stuff too. As for the double header in Clones? The standard was, Scotstown excepted, less than average.

Looks like the end of an era in Ballybay, they won one Championship, should have won at least 2 more but I'll say one thing for them, at least they went toe to toe with Scotstown and put them to the pin of their collar on most occasions. Scotstown have gone through this year, and last year bar the final, in 2nd gear and I can't see that changing in the near future now that Ballybay can't compete at that level. There have been 9 championships since Ballybay won there's in 2012, Scotstown have knocked them out 7 times. This is Scotstown's 9th final in a row, and without any viable opposition I think they'll breeze to the 5 in a row that they missed out in 2019. Basically, they be using the Monaghan Championship as an inconvenience to be endured while they concentrate on Ulster. Is there anyone ready to step up?

Truagh: Fair play to Truagh, they are getting the maximum out of their ability, but much like the previous finalists ran into a very good Blayney side, these guys will lose and the size of their defeat will be decided by how much their opposition can be bothered.

Clontibret: The first half v Latton showed the future for Clontibret. As Mansy, Dessie and Vinny's extraordinary careers wind down, they are facing a future similar to Ballybay's. A reality adjustment where success is measured in staying Senior as opposed to winning silverware. Also I think they threw that Latton game to avoid getting on the Scotstown side of the draw because they know the hammering they would take as revenge for 2019.

Latton: Good set up, good young side, need forwards and more power that might come as they develop. Could be an option in 3 - 5 years.

Carrick: Have neither the players nor the heart.

Monaghan Harps: Will continue to yo yo between Senior and Intermediate for the foreseeable future.

Magheracloone: Will keep trying but just don't have the quality. Only winning one title when they did have the quality will haunt them. Game v Carrick in Blayney on Friday week will be vital, because Intermediate is a tough place to come out of.

Blayney: Like Clontibret have a good juvenile structure in place and in time that will come to fruition but short term, their future, like many here, will be dependant on how many mugs come up from Intermediate.

Finally Inniskeen. They got a lot of kudos for running Ballybay close last year but if they had beat the Pearse Brothers, they would have taken a similar hammering to the couple they've had over the last few weeks. Shane Carey scored the second goal after 10 minutes of 2nd half last Sunday, and they only added a point in the final 20 minutes. 2 weeks ago in Inniskeen it was 4 points in last 25 minutes. So, Inniskeen don't know where they stand in relation to Scotstown because they haven't seen them at their best. All we know is the gap is either very wide or very, very wide. Truth is, in terms of winning a county title, Inniskeen are nowhere.

In terms of potential county players, Colm Lennon's injuries seem to cleared up so he might get another call up and Gary Mohan has size, pace, good hands and can take a score, well worth a look. Didn't see much of Drumhowan in Junior but young McElerney seems to have carried his U20's form into his club. With Karl's entering veteran stage, he could be his successor in the No 5 jersey.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 26/10/2021 10:28:23    2387379

Would the transfers that Ballybay have brought in over the years be working against them now in the regard that it has stopped a couple of their own young players from developing?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 26/10/2021 10:51:38    2387387

Replying To FootblockREF:  "This year's Senior Championship has been a huge disappointment. The structure has been great but quality has been very poor. The only thing good about Truagh v Clontibret was that it didn't go to extra time. Latton v Inniskeen was better by comparison only. I was at Blayney v Carrick on Friday night and it was poor stuff too. As for the double header in Clones? The standard was, Scotstown excepted, less than average.

Looks like the end of an era in Ballybay, they won one Championship, should have won at least 2 more but I'll say one thing for them, at least they went toe to toe with Scotstown and put them to the pin of their collar on most occasions. Scotstown have gone through this year, and last year bar the final, in 2nd gear and I can't see that changing in the near future now that Ballybay can't compete at that level. There have been 9 championships since Ballybay won there's in 2012, Scotstown have knocked them out 7 times. This is Scotstown's 9th final in a row, and without any viable opposition I think they'll breeze to the 5 in a row that they missed out in 2019. Basically, they be using the Monaghan Championship as an inconvenience to be endured while they concentrate on Ulster. Is there anyone ready to step up?

Truagh: Fair play to Truagh, they are getting the maximum out of their ability, but much like the previous finalists ran into a very good Blayney side, these guys will lose and the size of their defeat will be decided by how much their opposition can be bothered.

Clontibret: The first half v Latton showed the future for Clontibret. As Mansy, Dessie and Vinny's extraordinary careers wind down, they are facing a future similar to Ballybay's. A reality adjustment where success is measured in staying Senior as opposed to winning silverware. Also I think they threw that Latton game to avoid getting on the Scotstown side of the draw because they know the hammering they would take as revenge for 2019.

Latton: Good set up, good young side, need forwards and more power that might come as they develop. Could be an option in 3 - 5 years.

Carrick: Have neither the players nor the heart.

Monaghan Harps: Will continue to yo yo between Senior and Intermediate for the foreseeable future.

Magheracloone: Will keep trying but just don't have the quality. Only winning one title when they did have the quality will haunt them. Game v Carrick in Blayney on Friday week will be vital, because Intermediate is a tough place to come out of.

Blayney: Like Clontibret have a good juvenile structure in place and in time that will come to fruition but short term, their future, like many here, will be dependant on how many mugs come up from Intermediate.

Finally Inniskeen. They got a lot of kudos for running Ballybay close last year but if they had beat the Pearse Brothers, they would have taken a similar hammering to the couple they've had over the last few weeks. Shane Carey scored the second goal after 10 minutes of 2nd half last Sunday, and they only added a point in the final 20 minutes. 2 weeks ago in Inniskeen it was 4 points in last 25 minutes. So, Inniskeen don't know where they stand in relation to Scotstown because they haven't seen them at their best. All we know is the gap is either very wide or very, very wide. Truth is, in terms of winning a county title, Inniskeen are nowhere.

In terms of potential county players, Colm Lennon's injuries seem to cleared up so he might get another call up and Gary Mohan has size, pace, good hands and can take a score, well worth a look. Didn't see much of Drumhowan in Junior but young McElerney seems to have carried his U20's form into his club. With Karl's entering veteran stage, he could be his successor in the No 5 jersey."
An excellent summary 100% correct.. I was at the double header on Sunday and left at 1/2 time in the 2nd game standard was terrible I thought in both games.. scotstown are a bit like the dubs huge numbers to pick from will insure that they will dominate for the foreseeable future.. my big fear is that we could have a mirror image of the Armagh championship here where cross dominated for years without breaking sweat..the likes of clontibret and inniskeen can throw huge money on manager but bottom line is if you haven't got the players it dosent matter 1 iota who's on the line..

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 26/10/2021 15:25:00    2387462

Replying To mick2007:  "An excellent summary 100% correct.. I was at the double header on Sunday and left at 1/2 time in the 2nd game standard was terrible I thought in both games.. scotstown are a bit like the dubs huge numbers to pick from will insure that they will dominate for the foreseeable future.. my big fear is that we could have a mirror image of the Armagh championship here where cross dominated for years without breaking sweat..the likes of clontibret and inniskeen can throw huge money on manager but bottom line is if you haven't got the players it dosent matter 1 iota who's on the line.."
Unfortunately we are exactly like the Armagh Championship. In the last 8 years, Clontibret are the only team to have beat Scotstown in championship football, doing so on two occasions (2014 & 2019). You're right in saying that other clubs simply can't compete with the huge numbers Scotstown have at all levels, although, saying that, clubs like Castleblayney and Harps have a huge pick and haven't won Senior Championships in 20+ years. Have to give huge credit to Scotstown coaching at juvenile level. Their u15s won the Div 1 Championship and their u17s are in a Div 1 Championship Final. There's a lot more Senior Championships to come.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 27/10/2021 14:28:56    2387600