Sligo GAA thread

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Strange they wouldn't do the pitch before championship starts. But early start I suppose. Should be another tight game. Hopefully div 3 will stand to Sligo. Hopefully few of the younger players get a run out against Westmeath to see what they can do."
Going on last week crazy substitutions I wouldn't hold my breath re seeing younger players

onthefortyfive (Sligo) - Posts: 27 - 20/03/2024 10:27:34    2532296

Id like to see Management show a bit more experimentation and development in the starting 15 and subs tomorrow. Id love to see Alan Mcloughlin chf. Canice at chb. etc.. It would be great to see Joe Keaney in the 26. Hard to believe he's still training with the county. Id like to see Daire O Boyle and Mark Walsh start. Hopefully Alan Reilly is fit soon.

I won't hold my breath though as they are very conservative in their approach. They've been very poor in terms of team selection, tactics and subs. Everything is so predictable with them, nothing seems to change. The management worry me for the Leitrim game.

Id like to wish Luke Towey a fast recovery from the injury he suffered recently. Big loss to club and county.

Very excited for the U20s first outing on Wednesday.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 24/03/2024 04:50:30    2532964

A good result today against the promoted side. Couldn't fault a whole lot in the second half however the shot execution in the first was terrible. We should have been going in leading by 2 not trailing. Mulligan played well. Laffey shy in front of goal when he had a few chances but got on a good bit of ball so good to see that some of the changes were a positive impact.

I think that win makes us a top seed for Tailteann Cup which should help make that campaign a bit easier. Our neighbours Leitrim have their day out in Croke Park 8 days before they play us in The Hyde. Well done to them on their promotion and sure let them run the legs of themselves on the wide expanses of Croke Park before they meet us!

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 24/03/2024 16:12:22    2533139

A good solid league campaign. Apart from the drubbing from Down who were by far the best team in the division we only lost to Clare by a point and drew with Offaly. We weren't that far away. Alan MC Loughlin really took his chance in the league and Canice I imagine is another newcomer who has nailed his spot. Leitrim in a few weeks time will be tricky. They are on a high and deserve to be. A great campaign for them. Bad injury to Luke Towey, I hope he makes a full recovery.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 24/03/2024 16:50:43    2533173

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "A good result today against the promoted side. Couldn't fault a whole lot in the second half however the shot execution in the first was terrible. We should have been going in leading by 2 not trailing. Mulligan played well. Laffey shy in front of goal when he had a few chances but got on a good bit of ball so good to see that some of the changes were a positive impact.

I think that win makes us a top seed for Tailteann Cup which should help make that campaign a bit easier. Our neighbours Leitrim have their day out in Croke Park 8 days before they play us in The Hyde. Well done to them on their promotion and sure let them run the legs of themselves on the wide expanses of Croke Park before they meet us!"
I expect Sligo will progress as the League has been rightly the target for us.

I have no fear of our legs being gone 7 days after Croke Park!

And then again once we get the ganders up we might put it up to ye!!!!

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 24/03/2024 18:06:28    2533223

Fair play and well done to Sligo on their victory over Westmeath today.By miles the better team all over the park and were well deserving of their win.Mission accomplished for Westmeath in gaining promotion but huge improvements needed if we are to trouble anyone in Leinster.!!

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 167 - 24/03/2024 18:50:51    2533254

Solid league campaign in fairness but a lot of inconsistency too. Canice and Alan look like the huge additions which is no surprise to anyone. If we had started todays team from day 1 we probably be promoted. Not sure we learned much else as little to no experimentation.

Hard to read too much into today at the same time with all the pressure on Westmeath. Not sure if a true reflection of both teams. A lot of wide's from us today which could go punished another day but probably shows the level of dominance. Which is the real level of this team, the performances against Down, Clare, Wicklow, Offaly or Limerick were poor to varying degrees. Antrim and Westmeath obviously we were very good.

Next year we might not have the luxury of 4 home games and it looks a stronger division with Fermanagh and Kildare coming down and Laois and Leitrim going up. The other side of that is we will be stronger too with a tonne of high quality u20s coming up in the set up.

Leitrim will be bouyant in 2 weeks time and feel they probably owe us one. The last few have been tight but without Beirne you'd hope we win by a few.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 24/03/2024 19:13:30    2533268

Replying To Sligonian:  "Solid league campaign in fairness but a lot of inconsistency too. Canice and Alan look like the huge additions which is no surprise to anyone. If we had started todays team from day 1 we probably be promoted. Not sure we learned much else as little to no experimentation.

Hard to read too much into today at the same time with all the pressure on Westmeath. Not sure if a true reflection of both teams. A lot of wide's from us today which could go punished another day but probably shows the level of dominance. Which is the real level of this team, the performances against Down, Clare, Wicklow, Offaly or Limerick were poor to varying degrees. Antrim and Westmeath obviously we were very good.

Next year we might not have the luxury of 4 home games and it looks a stronger division with Fermanagh and Kildare coming down and Laois and Leitrim going up. The other side of that is we will be stronger too with a tonne of high quality u20s coming up in the set up.

Leitrim will be bouyant in 2 weeks time and feel they probably owe us one. The last few have been tight but without Beirne you'd hope we win by a few."
They absolutely they will. I think it's 2011 since Leitrim beat Sligo in either League of Championship and that was in Markievicz if I remember right. Despite meeting in Tailteann and Qualifiers we haven't had a Connacht meeting since.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 24/03/2024 19:53:02    2533290

As the dust settles on a league campaign where consolidating our place in Division 3 was the main aim it's hard not to look back and think what might have been, a bad loss in Ennis and drawing at home with Offaly were the 2 lows. No one expected us to go to Down and take points. The most pleasing aspect of the league for me is the introduction of new players into team, yesterday we had Alan McLaughlin, Lee Duignan and Canice Mulligan playing pivotal roles in beating a team that were promoted to Division 2. This experience will stand to these lads and hopefully we can build on this league campaign and bring it into Championship in under 2 weeks time. Leitrim's tails are up and rightly so, delighted to see them in Division 3 next year.

Looking forward to seeing the U20's in action on Wednesday evening, we are probably slight favorite's to win Connacht based on previous years but it won't be straight forward. It will be interesting to see the condition of the pitch after yesterdays game, if there's one thing we are not good at in this county it's developing pitches. Markiveciz was only done last year and it can't take abuse and don't even get me started on Scarden, there's less water in the Garavogue River.

InAroundTheSqaure (UK) - Posts: 7 - 25/03/2024 13:40:33    2533560

Replying To InAroundTheSqaure:  "As the dust settles on a league campaign where consolidating our place in Division 3 was the main aim it's hard not to look back and think what might have been, a bad loss in Ennis and drawing at home with Offaly were the 2 lows. No one expected us to go to Down and take points. The most pleasing aspect of the league for me is the introduction of new players into team, yesterday we had Alan McLaughlin, Lee Duignan and Canice Mulligan playing pivotal roles in beating a team that were promoted to Division 2. This experience will stand to these lads and hopefully we can build on this league campaign and bring it into Championship in under 2 weeks time. Leitrim's tails are up and rightly so, delighted to see them in Division 3 next year.

Looking forward to seeing the U20's in action on Wednesday evening, we are probably slight favorite's to win Connacht based on previous years but it won't be straight forward. It will be interesting to see the condition of the pitch after yesterdays game, if there's one thing we are not good at in this county it's developing pitches. Markiveciz was only done last year and it can't take abuse and don't even get me started on Scarden, there's less water in the Garavogue River."
We are 3rd favourites behind Galway and Mayo according to Paddy Power. It will be a really tough ask to do 3 in a row but certainly not impossible. I saw a few challenge games that they played and I don't think we are as strong as last year. We lost very influential players and we also have injuries. We are unfortunate with the draw as we got a bye in the first round and have 4 tough games without a break. Ideally it would have been nice if the bye came after 2 or 3 games. We need to win on Wednesday evening.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 25/03/2024 15:16:34    2533616

Replying To eoinog:  "We are 3rd favourites behind Galway and Mayo according to Paddy Power. It will be a really tough ask to do 3 in a row but certainly not impossible. I saw a few challenge games that they played and I don't think we are as strong as last year. We lost very influential players and we also have injuries. We are unfortunate with the draw as we got a bye in the first round and have 4 tough games without a break. Ideally it would have been nice if the bye came after 2 or 3 games. We need to win on Wednesday evening."
Roscommon u20s looked a bit better than Mayo in the 1st round. They gifted a goal to mayo and were 7pts down at one stage. Both team looked decent though. 10 and 14 for mayo were standouts with pace. Mayo set up very defensively but completely wilted when Roscommon got their 2nd wind. Roscommon mostly went man for man. They struggled in shot selection and transition at times. Shane McGinley and Bobby Nugent will take watching inside. Hester tends to float and come deep at 15. There was plenty of space in the Roscommon defence at times if we can get enough possession we can exploit and our transitions are usually elite with this group. Their half forwards lacked an edge too so Id expect our HB line to dominate.

I agree we need to win on Wednesday. Roscommon will probably start strong with the game under their belts so we will have to withstand that. This is a Sligo team full of talent and experience. Eli Rooney and Conor Walsh will help counter the loss of some last years players.

I think all the games in the u20 will be tight enough, Leitrim looked decent against Galway who were impressive.

That being said I expect us to win Connacht. All the best to the players and management. Hopefully a big Sligo crowd turns up on Wednesday.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 25/03/2024 19:31:37    2533714

Apart from telling us where you can't park the day of a match in Markievicz Park the Sligo Facebook page offers very little else. Not a mention of the game last weekend, didn't give us the 26 members of the panel nor the starting 15.
They ran a piece where they were encouraging people and companies to sponsor an U.20 player. Started off grand with 2 or 3 players having their name alongside the sponsor logo. Then there wasn't a mention for a week and about 7 players all appeared the same day. The game is tomorrow so there must be in excess of 20 more players who will all have to be crammed in today with their sponsors name. Very poor exposure for the people/companies who forked out 300 euro to sponsor a player, and embarassing for the player if there's no sponsorship for them. This should all have been done behind the scenes before any of it hit the social media page, and then put up 2 or 3 players each day. This is embarrassing

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 26/03/2024 11:33:44    2533833

Replying To eoinog:  "Apart from telling us where you can't park the day of a match in Markievicz Park the Sligo Facebook page offers very little else. Not a mention of the game last weekend, didn't give us the 26 members of the panel nor the starting 15.
They ran a piece where they were encouraging people and companies to sponsor an U.20 player. Started off grand with 2 or 3 players having their name alongside the sponsor logo. Then there wasn't a mention for a week and about 7 players all appeared the same day. The game is tomorrow so there must be in excess of 20 more players who will all have to be crammed in today with their sponsors name. Very poor exposure for the people/companies who forked out 300 euro to sponsor a player, and embarassing for the player if there's no sponsorship for them. This should all have been done behind the scenes before any of it hit the social media page, and then put up 2 or 3 players each day. This is embarrassing"
I think you are being a bit harsh. Everything you say was probably their intent but I am guessing the investment wasn't there so the promotion was sporadic. All the promotion of Sligo GAA is done in someone's spare time too, its pretty time consuming id say. Fair play to those who did sponsor a player.

The far bigger issue within Sligo GAA for me is the lack of interest, apathy and investment from business circles.

The lack of support for the seniors and club games is another issue for me. It will be interesting to see how many Sligofans turn up tomorrow for the u20s. That game shouldn't need any promotion in Sligo but doesn't mean you shouldn't do any. I would be very disappointed if Roscommon outnumber us but I have a feeling we will have big support tomorrow.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 26/03/2024 15:15:09    2533905

Best of luck to the 20 tomorrow, would be some achievement to win 3 connachts in a row, when was the last time any team did this, let alone a Sligo team.

Great to see the hurlers and ladies progressing well too, any truth in the rumours around a few players walking away from the senior football panel?

Sligowizard (Sligo) - Posts: 16 - 26/03/2024 15:35:59    2533915

Replying To InAroundTheSqaure:  "As the dust settles on a league campaign where consolidating our place in Division 3 was the main aim it's hard not to look back and think what might have been, a bad loss in Ennis and drawing at home with Offaly were the 2 lows. No one expected us to go to Down and take points. The most pleasing aspect of the league for me is the introduction of new players into team, yesterday we had Alan McLaughlin, Lee Duignan and Canice Mulligan playing pivotal roles in beating a team that were promoted to Division 2. This experience will stand to these lads and hopefully we can build on this league campaign and bring it into Championship in under 2 weeks time. Leitrim's tails are up and rightly so, delighted to see them in Division 3 next year.

Looking forward to seeing the U20's in action on Wednesday evening, we are probably slight favorite's to win Connacht based on previous years but it won't be straight forward. It will be interesting to see the condition of the pitch after yesterdays game, if there's one thing we are not good at in this county it's developing pitches. Markiveciz was only done last year and it can't take abuse and don't even get me started on Scarden, there's less water in the Garavogue River."
2nd favorites with Boyle Sports behind Galway and a lot of punters have placed money on Galway because of winning the 2022 All Ireland at u17 level, weren't overly convincing against Letrim last week match against Mayo tomorrow will reveal a lot more.

Sligo should be favorites for Connacht U20, large number of last year players still around and their 2021 U17 team won Connacht.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 26/03/2024 16:17:21    2533926

Yes Sligowizard, fair play to the Hurlers beating Cavan and getting to the league final. It would be great to beat Mayo. We seemed to be the better team the last day only for the sending off.

The Ladies are looking very strong at underage again this year beating both Galway and Leitrim at u16 recently. Congrats to St Attracta's ladies too, on winning the All Ireland B. Hopefully this transfers into the seniors soon who seem to be struggling.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 26/03/2024 16:35:02    2533936

Replying To Sligowizard:  "Best of luck to the 20 tomorrow, would be some achievement to win 3 connachts in a row, when was the last time any team did this, let alone a Sligo team.

Great to see the hurlers and ladies progressing well too, any truth in the rumours around a few players walking away from the senior football panel?"
Mayo 2006 to 2009 won four in a row Connacht U21 titles and many of those players would go on to play in the Mayo senior teams that would win five in a row Connacht titles.

Sligo have named a very strong and experienced line up I think 11 that was starters last year going to show how young the team was last year and can see why Sligo supporter are confident of retaining Connacht U20 title.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 26/03/2024 19:21:29    2533974

Sligo Team named v Roscommon

Carden
Chambers
Johnston
Ross
Barrett
McLaughlin
Sloyan
Sheridan
Doherty (c)
D Walsh
Niland
Donlon
Marren
Conor Walsh
Rooney

That is an insanely strong team. Hopefully McDaniel gets back to full fitness soon too. I see Conor Walsh as a forward as he's very attack minded so I'm delighted to see him at 14. Very excited to see how Rooney and Marren work inside. Both big game players. Its hard not to get excited about this team. Just got to bring that intense workrate and hold it for 60+ mins.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 26/03/2024 21:03:52    2534002

Very fortunate to get a draw. We were rubbish. Strutted around expecting to win but not prepared to put in the work. Keeper was good with his lockouts and caught a brilliant free under the crossbar. Rossa was excellent in defence, Doherty good in midfield and only one forward worthy of a mention and that was Rooney. I imagine Henry will be fuming. It will be a different 15 starting next week

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 27/03/2024 18:55:02    2534163

Replying To eoinog:  "Very fortunate to get a draw. We were rubbish. Strutted around expecting to win but not prepared to put in the work. Keeper was good with his lockouts and caught a brilliant free under the crossbar. Rossa was excellent in defence, Doherty good in midfield and only one forward worthy of a mention and that was Rooney. I imagine Henry will be fuming. It will be a different 15 starting next week"
Not so insanely strong team so %()

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 27/03/2024 21:41:27    2534189