Sligo GAA thread

Replying To eoinog:  "I believe that clubs will vote on whether to remain at odd underage or move back to even at under age grade. I hope we return to even numbers. Lads at 18 are not fit for senior football (few exceptions). The U.19 competition last year was good, this year was poor as several clubs choose to ignore it. There's an U.20 competition coming up which isn't going to work too well either. The winner's of the Junior, Intermediate and Senior championship will be preparing for Connaught Championship and Harps minor team are also in Connacht Club action. I'm not sure if there's a Connacht B for minors. Also the hurlers from Easkey will be in action. Throw in bad weather, short days and I fear this competition is doomed before it starts. Mark. Walsh and John Lavin were mentioned as playing for Sligo next year. Walsh is a great prospect but he needs to show that his all round footballing ability has improved or he will remain as a super sub brought on to run at tiring defences in the second half. Lavin won't make the cut if he remains with Ballymote. He played a few Div 2 games this year with Ballymote and then junior championship football. It will be the same next year. Those games won't improve him sufficiently and with a few new players from this year's U.20 coming in he will struggle. He is a good player, got a few games with Sligo last year but he needs to get involved with a club that's serious about football."
Seeing that this board seems to be full of Ballymote heads, let's get the popcorn and enjoy the reaction to this one :-) Or maybe they'll be too busy re-watching the video of their disallowed goal.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 19/10/2023 10:24:26    2509179

On towards the last two finals this weekend and I'm really looking forward to them. Makes more sense to attend at €20 than buy two streams at €15 each so I'll make the journey seeing as weather isnt too bad. Thought they'd do a streaming package but anyway it is county final weekend and only once a year.

In the Intermediate I think Easkey will make a mends for their loss in the group games. Kilcullen seems to be hard to handle on a good day and the inconsistency in Coolaney's form drawing with teams they should be beating well coupled with Easkey's experience at final stages will stand to them I think and they'll win by 3/4.

In the senior I wouldn't rule out a draw after full time. It all depends on Murphy. I'm sure Molaise will play sweepers to mop up any dirty ball but Coolera but if their discipline isn't sharp it won't make any diff as he'll pop them over. Would love to see Molaise win given the doing over they were given in the league. Does anyone know if theres replays if it is a draw or what's the story?

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 19/10/2023 11:00:19    2509187

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "On towards the last two finals this weekend and I'm really looking forward to them. Makes more sense to attend at €20 than buy two streams at €15 each so I'll make the journey seeing as weather isnt too bad. Thought they'd do a streaming package but anyway it is county final weekend and only once a year.

In the Intermediate I think Easkey will make a mends for their loss in the group games. Kilcullen seems to be hard to handle on a good day and the inconsistency in Coolaney's form drawing with teams they should be beating well coupled with Easkey's experience at final stages will stand to them I think and they'll win by 3/4.

In the senior I wouldn't rule out a draw after full time. It all depends on Murphy. I'm sure Molaise will play sweepers to mop up any dirty ball but Coolera but if their discipline isn't sharp it won't make any diff as he'll pop them over. Would love to see Molaise win given the doing over they were given in the league. Does anyone know if theres replays if it is a draw or what's the story?"
Last year it went to extra time and Tourlestrane won. I think if it's level after extra time it goes to a replay but I'm not 100% sure. I think Easkey will win and Coolera also but only a fool would write off Molaise Gaels. They had a much easier run to the final than Coolera. If it's a dry day it should be the biggest attendance at a final in years

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 19/10/2023 11:23:58    2509200

Replying To ShellyGael:  "Seeing that this board seems to be full of Ballymote heads, let's get the popcorn and enjoy the reaction to this one :-) Or maybe they'll be too busy re-watching the video of their disallowed goal."
Two classless and spiteful posts!!!! Welcome to SligoGaa - the GAA family and all that. This forum is toxic because of posters like you both. Why do you think there is so little posters left? I'm done.

Bloodsub6 (Sligo) - Posts: 28 - 19/10/2023 11:30:42    2509207

Replying To eoinog:  "I believe that clubs will vote on whether to remain at odd underage or move back to even at under age grade. I hope we return to even numbers. Lads at 18 are not fit for senior football (few exceptions). The U.19 competition last year was good, this year was poor as several clubs choose to ignore it. There's an U.20 competition coming up which isn't going to work too well either. The winner's of the Junior, Intermediate and Senior championship will be preparing for Connaught Championship and Harps minor team are also in Connacht Club action. I'm not sure if there's a Connacht B for minors. Also the hurlers from Easkey will be in action. Throw in bad weather, short days and I fear this competition is doomed before it starts. Mark. Walsh and John Lavin were mentioned as playing for Sligo next year. Walsh is a great prospect but he needs to show that his all round footballing ability has improved or he will remain as a super sub brought on to run at tiring defences in the second half. Lavin won't make the cut if he remains with Ballymote. He played a few Div 2 games this year with Ballymote and then junior championship football. It will be the same next year. Those games won't improve him sufficiently and with a few new players from this year's U.20 coming in he will struggle. He is a good player, got a few games with Sligo last year but he needs to get involved with a club that's serious about football."
When you look at the recent and not so recent records of Sligo clubs in the Connacht championships have we clubs in Sligo that you would consider "serious about football" at provincial level. So it's all relative, sure the stronger clubs in Sligo might not take a lot of their co-county clubs too seriously but they themselves are taken less than seriously outside the County.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 19/10/2023 16:27:08    2509283

Serious clubs like Tourlestrane are so much better at developing county players

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 443 - 19/10/2023 17:11:51    2509298

Replying To Bloodsub6:  "Two classless and spiteful posts!!!! Welcome to SligoGaa - the GAA family and all that. This forum is toxic because of posters like you both. Why do you think there is so little posters left? I'm done."
Nothing toxic about my post. I mentioned 2 players that I said were good but what they needed to do to step up to the next Level or they won't remain on the fringes. I said it before that Ballymote is a graveyard for good footballers. Loads of good young players that played county at underage but never kicked on afterwards. And as for you saying that "Your done", you have left loads of times and keep returning under a different name. I actually enjoy your posts. Good luck in your game tomorrow. ))

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 21/10/2023 12:22:35    2509545

Easkey to win tomorrow (possibly after ET) and hopefully McEntee will push hard afterwards to get Kilcullen into the squad. Coolera to have too much strength for Molaise who will get an Owen B for themselves within the next couple of years. Should be a huge crowd with the weather.

Just to be clear Bloodsub, mine was a tongue in cheek comment. There seemed to be a lot of comments through the week about a refs poor decision here from various BM posters. One thing about football in Sligo is that you have to be able to take the bad decisions and deal with them. Ballymote are doing great work and no doubt will be on their way back to Intermediate this time next year. I would wonder about their underage amalgamations and if this is going to hamper their long term development. Playing A football with Bunn is great, but for a town the size of Ballymote, is it the best way to retain players all the way up? Better play B? Ups and downs to both I suppose.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 21/10/2023 13:11:51    2509555

Replying To ShellyGael:  "Easkey to win tomorrow (possibly after ET) and hopefully McEntee will push hard afterwards to get Kilcullen into the squad. Coolera to have too much strength for Molaise who will get an Owen B for themselves within the next couple of years. Should be a huge crowd with the weather.

Just to be clear Bloodsub, mine was a tongue in cheek comment. There seemed to be a lot of comments through the week about a refs poor decision here from various BM posters. One thing about football in Sligo is that you have to be able to take the bad decisions and deal with them. Ballymote are doing great work and no doubt will be on their way back to Intermediate this time next year. I would wonder about their underage amalgamations and if this is going to hamper their long term development. Playing A football with Bunn is great, but for a town the size of Ballymote, is it the best way to retain players all the way up? Better play B? Ups and downs to both I suppose."
I would love to see Kilcullen play with the big ball for Sligo but not a hope. The hurlers have a new manager now and Andy will be Central to all his plans.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 21/10/2023 13:48:33    2509559

Replying To eoinog:  "Nothing toxic about my post. I mentioned 2 players that I said were good but what they needed to do to step up to the next Level or they won't remain on the fringes. I said it before that Ballymote is a graveyard for good footballers. Loads of good young players that played county at underage but never kicked on afterwards. And as for you saying that "Your done", you have left loads of times and keep returning under a different name. I actually enjoy your posts. Good luck in your game tomorrow. ))"
You said these players should move to clubs that are serious about football, I'm just wondering what Sligo clubs are serious about football. Sure our top few clubs are serious in an insular Sligo context. Just to compare with Roscommon which has one club per 2.1k people, (we in Sligo have 3.1k people per club) and the top Rossie clubs would not take our top clubs seriously.
So by your logic maybe to benefit their development our County players should play with "serious" clubs outside the County.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 21/10/2023 16:04:29    2509565

Massive day for St Molaise Gaels tomorrow. I couldn't be more excited and nervous. A huge crowd expected. It was great to see all the build up back home on social media. Gutted I won't be there in person.

There is way more pressure on Coolera who have massively underachieved the last 25 years with the teams they've had but I don't believe in losing finals in any way shape or form. We have the capability to win this so don't hold back. Mary's aren't up to much and they nearly dragged Coolera back into a close finish. Coolera have been on the right side of few tight games so they know how to grind it out. We will have a plan for Murphy and hopefully the rest will take care of itself.

All the best to all associated with Molaise tomorrow.

I watched the Easkey v Harps semi final and cannot see Easkey being beaten. Kilcullen was very good and I would try to get him involved with the senior footballers. They have lots of pace and young team. Sloyan looks a class act and is continuing to develop. Mchugh looked very good for them aswell. Fair play to them rejuvenating the team after last years showing in the final.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 21/10/2023 19:17:05    2509587

Replying To sligo joe:  "You said these players should move to clubs that are serious about football, I'm just wondering what Sligo clubs are serious about football. Sure our top few clubs are serious in an insular Sligo context. Just to compare with Roscommon which has one club per 2.1k people, (we in Sligo have 3.1k people per club) and the top Rossie clubs would not take our top clubs seriously.
So by your logic maybe to benefit their development our County players should play with "serious" clubs outside the County."
Population has nothing got to do with it. Need to get rid of the culture that's festering in the club for years.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 22/10/2023 23:22:49    2509691

Well first of all I'll start with the positives of today. There was a great crowd probably the biggest in a long time which might be due to the change up of county finalists but well done to all 4 clubs for getting the folks out. Secondly I thought the officiating in both games was very good so well done to those involved.

However after that I have to say as a neutral the quality of football in both games wasn't great. The intermediate game was a game where Easkey dominated yet didn't have to show a huge pile of class. Coolaney never looked like winning it at any stage. In the senior however St Molaise must be kicking themselves. They had the chances to be 6/7 points up at half time instead of 3. McDaniel, Cawley and Murphy rose to the challenge in the second half and I have to say they deserved their win.

I don't think I saw any new county men for McEntee though on show today bar McDaniel.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 22/10/2023 23:29:57    2509693

Congrats to Easkey and Coolera. They were my predictions before a ball was kicked in the championship last August. Intermediate final was poor. The umpires did it again, gave a point for a blatant wide. Thankfully the ref consulted the linesman and the decision was reversed. It was frustrating for Coolaney that they refused to kick the ball into Gorman at full forward, particularly in the second half when they had a stiff breeze with them and them looking for scores. Easkey had good performances from Sloyan, Scott and the MC Hugh's. Andrew Kilcullen didn't reach the heights of previous games but still got the man of the match.Ryan Gillespie got the score of the game
The senior final was very enjoyable. Molaise played very well in the first half and should have been further ahead. Joe Keaney was excellent for Molaise for the whole hour but a lot of others didn't show up on the second half. Coolera keeper Keelan Harte was very good as was Taylor at full back. However the real stars were both wing forwards Doherty and MC Daniel.After a slow start they were immense. Murphy kicked some fine scores. The weight of expectation was a weight too much for Molaise Gaels on this occasion but they will return next year.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 22/10/2023 23:42:06    2509698

Replying To eoinog:  "Population has nothing got to do with it. Need to get rid of the culture that's festering in the club for years."
Your bad culture is scarden !!and asking clubs to pay for a "centre swamp n town "is game over !the south and west have said good good luck to ye and good night

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 23/10/2023 08:10:53    2509711

Two chokers reach the Senior Final, one had to win now we will see how they will 'perform' in Connacht!

leyny (Sligo) - Posts: 65 - 23/10/2023 11:41:14    2509792

Molaises with a young team needed a good start yesterday and got it, scored freely for the first 20mins and looked comfortable. A few easy chances missed before half time were crucial, if they had taken them they could have been out of site given the level of scoring in the game. Second half their forwards went missing and Coolera gobbled them up, once Coolera started to come back there was no answer. Molaise are a very young team and will learn a lot from it, they have the panel to win it in the future.
Coolera looked like they were out of it in the first half, their final experience and battles in this years championship stood to them, also their U20s gave them an edge they have been missing when some of the older heads were struggling, the U20 angle means they will be contenders for a few more years as many see them as an ageing team. Coolera, lost to Tourlestrane and needed injury time winners against Shamrocks and DRP, sometimes your name is just on the cup. Laffey spoke very well in accepting the cup and you can see why he is now captain ahead of some bigger names on the team.
Easkey back to senior, some achievement for a dual club given the commitments needed to play both codes. Coolaney probably will stay in Intermediate for the foreseeable future.

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 23/10/2023 12:28:13    2509818

Replying To eoinog:  "Population has nothing got to do with it. Need to get rid of the culture that's festering in the club for years."
My point is that you're telling a couple of clubs that are not pulling their weight in Sligo football that they should get serious about their football. Fair enough and I'm just expanding you're theory and pointing out that other than in an "insular Sligo context" we don't have any serious football clubs in the County. In the context of Connacht we can't even compare with the likes of Roscommon clubs who are working off smaller bases.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 23/10/2023 13:07:05    2509839

Congrats to Coolera and Easkey.
Sad reality is that the county senior players themselves didn't standout bar a few over the whole championship. I don't think there's an u20 player that started this year that wasn't a standout for their club. It shows the quality of players that team has. In some cases they outshone their county seniors for their clubs. You'd imagine this year and next there will be a big influx of these into the senior panel and a few lads being released that are currently there. From yesterday Sean Taylor, Alan McLoughlin, Gerard Brady, Andy Kilcullen, Jack Scott, Rory McHugh to name a few should all be called in. Nathan Rooney also should be called back in. Joe keaney was exceptional for Molaise yesterday, has to start this year for the seniors. Midfield an area we've struggled in. Maybe more of the tourlestrane team will come in now that they're not the champions.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 23/10/2023 14:16:11    2509869

Replying To leyny:  "Two chokers reach the Senior Final, one had to win now we will see how they will 'perform' in Connacht!"
Jesus, some times my posts get people's back up but I would never be as degrading as that. Timmy as usual was in with his negative post. Hopefully some day he will find something positive to say but I doubt it

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 23/10/2023 14:35:41    2509879