Sligo GAA thread

Replying To muscles:  "I don't understand how ye think teams with county players are being rewarded. Teams with county players were understrength for the first 4 rounds and therefore are at a disadvantage

Bunninadden with no county players had an advantage for the first 4 rounds compared to teams who were missing county players. If weaker teams are already under pressure when playing teams stronger teams without county players then they will drop down a division to a league where they can be more competitive

I am not saying that the 3 points is right as it does have the element of luck of when you play certain teams but the idea that clubs without county players don't have an unfair advantage also"
As you said it's pot luck as to who you play and if it's a three pointer or not. You could be unlucky and have the "easier" games first. If all clubs are without county players then it's a level playing pitch. If clubs like Bunninadden and Tourlestrane don't have county players it's most likely because they don't have ones good enough to be called into the panel or in the latter case refuse to go. Are you really telling me that for example if St Marys played St Farnans in round one without county players the outcome would be different if it was round 5 with them?

Also the head to head is practically gone now which might causes issues later. Teams could have won the same number of games and the team below may have in fact beaten them but because of this 3 point carry on they may be one point ahead of them.

I just dunno what it intends to achieve? Other counties start their league far earlier than us and play without county players. Before this year would the leagues really have had a significant different outcome if county players were available. I'm not so sure.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 378 - 11/07/2023 18:18:52    2493868

For this system to work properly, it should follow the Monaghan model. Two rounds of games, home and away. The first round runs without the county players. This model would be better with 8 teams per league then 14 games total. The elephant in the room is how lucky this system has been in that Sligo haven't had the chance to have a run in the Tailteann Cup. If we make the final, then under current system and timeframes, county players will only play last two games. That needs to be considered before next year when it is a possibility. Overall the leagues have been balanced and competitive with most teams taking points off each other.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 11/07/2023 18:30:17    2493872

I think clubs should be rewarded for providing county players and at the very least not disadvantaged. For me its a good incentive. There is a good spread of county players nowadays so should help with competitiveness rather than another club relying on lack of available county players to take advantage. That's a loser mindset.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1681 - 11/07/2023 21:19:18    2493891

It's a good structure. 3 rounds left. Nobody knows who's going down or who's going to be in the league final. What else do we want. All we say is the club scene is poor and not competitive enough yet here we are giving out about a competitive format.
Look at Calry, struggled with no county players and now they're looking safe, the likes of Bunninaden didn't take advantage when they could.
Teams who have loads of county players wont care about the league as if they've lots of county players they should be pushing for championship so as long as they stay up and get some good results they won't mind. Teams with no county players have to take advantage early on. Their own fault if they don't.
I like the format I thinks it's bringing life to the leagues.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 12/07/2023 18:12:15    2494015

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "It's a good structure. 3 rounds left. Nobody knows who's going down or who's going to be in the league final. What else do we want. All we say is the club scene is poor and not competitive enough yet here we are giving out about a competitive format.
Look at Calry, struggled with no county players and now they're looking safe, the likes of Bunninaden didn't take advantage when they could.
Teams who have loads of county players wont care about the league as if they've lots of county players they should be pushing for championship so as long as they stay up and get some good results they won't mind. Teams with no county players have to take advantage early on. Their own fault if they don't.
I like the format I thinks it's bringing life to the leagues."
As I said, some will agree, some won't, which is the beauty of an open forum. I can't see it continuing next year but then again I could be wrong. It was mooted at previous years CB committee meetings and shot down. If its such a good structure why has it not been adopted across the club scene in some of the "stronger" GAA counties. Division 3 has 3 points for a win....1 county player in the league! Its now for me, I believe its not good for the weaker teams but I respect your opinion.

Bloodsub6 (Sligo) - Posts: 30 - 13/07/2023 11:31:34    2494090

Replying To Bloodsub6:  "As I said, some will agree, some won't, which is the beauty of an open forum. I can't see it continuing next year but then again I could be wrong. It was mooted at previous years CB committee meetings and shot down. If its such a good structure why has it not been adopted across the club scene in some of the "stronger" GAA counties. Division 3 has 3 points for a win....1 county player in the league! Its now for me, I believe its not good for the weaker teams but I respect your opinion."
I see the Weekender have chipped in on the debate too and aren't too favourable to it. Including division 3 in it was a ridiculous move. As one poster suggested having smaller leagues with a double round of games and no warm up competitions would be a better system.

Also I see the u19 competition is at an end nearly as soon as it started with Mullinabreena into a final having not played a game. How come so few clubs didn't bother with it? Beginning to wonder if playing numbers across the county is well down on maybe 10 years ago given the lack of teams and even walkovers across adult and underage fixtures.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 378 - 13/07/2023 13:09:17    2494122

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "I see the Weekender have chipped in on the debate too and aren't too favourable to it. Including division 3 in it was a ridiculous move. As one poster suggested having smaller leagues with a double round of games and no warm up competitions would be a better system.

Also I see the u19 competition is at an end nearly as soon as it started with Mullinabreena into a final having not played a game. How come so few clubs didn't bother with it? Beginning to wonder if playing numbers across the county is well down on maybe 10 years ago given the lack of teams and even walkovers across adult and underage fixtures."
I don't agree with the u19 competition. It shouldn't have even gone ahead without enough teams to do QF's. Young lads had an u18 league and an u17 championship, then older lads have senior or junior at their clubs. They are playing plenty of football and training enough. Throwing a round of games into a Wednesday night into the business end of the leagues was a stupid idea aswell as the fact it's mid u17 championship.

Just to clarify my post about favouring the 3 point rounds. I only favour it in div 1 and 2. Not division 3. That is ludicrous

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 13/07/2023 18:41:22    2494204

Congrats to the Sligo u16 ladies getting to All Ireland B final against Kerry and yesterday the u18s beat Roscommon in the B Connacht final. All the best in the All Ireland series. Hopefully this follows into the senior ladies team over the next few years.

U16s play Kerry on Sunday July 16 in Ballinsloe at 2pm.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1681 - 13/07/2023 20:01:47    2494221

Firstly congrats to the two underage ladies teams on their wins and best of luck to them in the AI series.

Predictions
Division 1
Molaise v Curry - Curry
Coolera v Bunninaden- Coolera
Tourlestrane v Mary's - Marys
Calry v Shamrock Gaels - Shamrock Gaels
Division 2
Easkey v Harps - Harps
C/M v DRP - C/M
Ballymote v Pats - Ballymote
Michael's v Geevagh - Geevagh

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 14/07/2023 10:30:55    2494279

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "I don't agree with the u19 competition. It shouldn't have even gone ahead without enough teams to do QF's. Young lads had an u18 league and an u17 championship, then older lads have senior or junior at their clubs. They are playing plenty of football and training enough. Throwing a round of games into a Wednesday night into the business end of the leagues was a stupid idea aswell as the fact it's mid u17 championship.

Just to clarify my post about favouring the 3 point rounds. I only favour it in div 1 and 2. Not division 3. That is ludicrous"
I actually think the U.19 is a great competition. Clubs really bought into last year with the exception of Drumcliffe who obviously had a change of heart this year and have reached the A final next week. I think weak club executive's who won't stand up to the senior manager is the main reason. The manager wants his full compliment of players for senior competition. Loads of 17 and 18 year Olds have very little football now because Junior is junior, a poor standard. Mire importantly it gives the Sligo U 20 mgt an opportunity to see the talent that's available for next year. Looks like 5 teams in the A and only 3 in the B. Two teams have dropped from minor A also. I think that at younger age groups there's far too many cups, plates and shields . It's nearly impossible not to get to some final so now players only want to compete if they think they will win.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1808 - 14/07/2023 10:57:47    2494289

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "Firstly congrats to the two underage ladies teams on their wins and best of luck to them in the AI series.

Predictions
Division 1
Molaise v Curry - Curry
Division 2
Easkey v Harps - Harps
C/M v DRP - C/M
Michael's v Geevagh - Geevagh"
Molaise to beat Curry
Coolera to inflict more misery on the bunnies.
Mary's and Tourlestrane to draw.
Shamrock Gaels to beat Calry.

In Div 2 if the top 2 teams both win they are in the Div 2 final with 2 games left to play.
I'm actually going to predict a loss for both teams so that will keep the interest up for the rest of the fixtures.
Harps to get beaten by Easkey in the wind and rain this evening and Coolaney to take the eye off the ball and get beaten by Drumcliffe.
Geevagh will beat Michaels
Castleconnor and Owenmore Gaels is a huge one and I'm going for Owenmore Gaels (Sligo buck forgot this one )
Ballymore to beat Pat's who have been really disappointing

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1808 - 14/07/2023 11:15:49    2494298

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "Firstly congrats to the two underage ladies teams on their wins and best of luck to them in the AI series.

Predictions
Division 1
Molaise v Curry - Curry
Division 2
Easkey v Harps - Harps
C/M v DRP - C/M
Michael's v Geevagh - Geevagh"
And Owenmore gaels to beat Castleconnor, thanks eoinog. I wouldn't have got the full credit when I get them all right if I missed one!!!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 14/07/2023 16:19:24    2494395

Replying To eoinog:  "Molaise to beat Curry

In Div 2 if the top 2 teams both win they are in the Div 2 final with 2 games left to play.
I'm actually going to predict a loss for both teams so that will keep the interest up for the rest of the fixtures.
Harps to get beaten by Easkey in the wind and rain this evening and Coolaney to take the eye off the ball and get beaten by Drumcliffe.
Castleconnor and Owenmore Gaels is a huge one and I'm going for Owenmore Gaels (Sligo buck forgot this one )
Ballymore to beat Pat's who have been really disappointing"
Castleconnor and Wwenmore Gaels isn't going ahead this weekend so will have to wait for that one. Would back Easkey to beat harps and Ballymote to topple Pats.

westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 42 - 14/07/2023 16:29:24    2494402

Replying To eoinog:  "Molaise to beat Curry

Ballymore to beat Pat's who have been really disappointing"
Fair play to you you're 100% so far after Friday night! I'd imagine that's Molaise Gaels into the league final given they have Bunninadden in last round to mop up 3 more points. Question is will it be Marys or Shamrock Gaels to join them.

Ya must have called the weather right in Easkey too as Harps only scored 1 point from play and had one scorer all game.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 378 - 15/07/2023 10:42:12    2494449

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Fair play to you you're 100% so far after Friday night! I'd imagine that's Molaise Gaels into the league final given they have Bunninadden in last round to mop up 3 more points. Question is will it be Marys or Shamrock Gaels to join them.

Ya must have called the weather right in Easkey too as Harps only scored 1 point from play and had one scorer all game."
Wasn't hard to get the weather right for Easkey yesterday. When I was doing my predictions the rain was lashing down and I figured there would be wind in Easkey because there's always wind in Easkey .

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1808 - 15/07/2023 12:06:06    2494465

More clubs should use the what's the scór app. Gives you the chance to follow along the games. I favourited and followed Harps and Easkey last night, Curry and Molaise and Tourlestrane and Mary's. The Easkey match was surprisingly one sided from the start , Curry and Molaise Gaels was a very tight game up until the last few minutes, and Mary's and Tourlestrane looked to be a dog fight in the tough weather conditions. I seen 2 red cards given out also.
If more clubs used it it would be great for publicity.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 15/07/2023 12:52:55    2494478

The lunacy of the 3 points is well proven in Division 2 table after last night. Easkey 4W 3L 10 pts, Geevagh 4W 3L 9 pts, Drumcliffe 4W 3L 8pts. In fact Pats who only won 3 and drew 1 are now deemed as good as Geevagh and better than Drumcliffe and are on 9!

Anyone know result from Owenmore game as that is crucial for what happens at the bottom end.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 378 - 16/07/2023 08:45:24    2494696

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "The lunacy of the 3 points is well proven in Division 2 table after last night. Easkey 4W 3L 10 pts, Geevagh 4W 3L 9 pts, Drumcliffe 4W 3L 8pts. In fact Pats who only won 3 and drew 1 are now deemed as good as Geevagh and better than Drumcliffe and are on 9!

Anyone know result from Owenmore game as that is crucial for what happens at the bottom end."
I don't think the table on the website is right, Geevagh should be on 10 points

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 452 - 16/07/2023 11:31:08    2494734

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "The lunacy of the 3 points is well proven in Division 2 table after last night. Easkey 4W 3L 10 pts, Geevagh 4W 3L 9 pts, Drumcliffe 4W 3L 8pts. In fact Pats who only won 3 and drew 1 are now deemed as good as Geevagh and better than Drumcliffe and are on 9!

Anyone know result from Owenmore game as that is crucial for what happens at the bottom end."
The bonus points mustn't have been applied when I looked earlier. I see Geevagh and Easkey now 10, Drumcliffe 9, Pats 9.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 378 - 16/07/2023 12:30:33    2494747

Having had a really good weekend last time with my predictions, I think Ballymore were the only team not to come good I will probably get most of the games wrong this weekend.
Really close at the top of Div 1.
Molaise are in Div 1 final barring a major collapse. The second spot is up for grabs mainly between Gaels and Marys with Tourlestrane still lurking.
Tourlestrane to beat the Bunnies.
Gaels to beat Tubber
Coolera will take Farnans
Curry will beat Calry .
Molaise and Mary's will be tight so I will leave it a draw.
Div 2.
With Coolaney and Harps both coming undone last week I expect both to win this weekend .
Coolaney to beat St Pat's
Harps to beat Michaels.
Geevagh to beat Owenmore Gaels.
Castleconnor will beat Ballymote which will suck Ballymote into the relegation mix.
The back game between Owenmore Gaels and Castleconnor has yet to be played which will have huge consequences for the losers.
That leaves the big game of the weekend between Easkey and Drumcliffe.
Easkey need to win to keep their chance of promotion alive but will all their hurlers stay at home to help them or will they go to Croker for the hurling final.
Drumcliffe had a great win last time out and also won the U.19 A competition so I think they will win again.
All very interesting

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1808 - 21/07/2023 12:47:41    2495978