Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "I think we are now level on the record of 8?? I was getting worried I thought this was the week you had me, especially considering how straight forward them games should've been. I didn't do mine just because they were the same as yours but you bet me to it.
Tubbercurry and Calry are nearly already certain for the drop.
The league is hard to go by. A lot of clubs missing county players, their best club players could be travelling before championship, a lot of clubs will do enough to get by and focus on championship. We will see most full teams in the last few rounds of league i would presume when there's good points on offer and lads are coming back from county/travelling to start getting ready for the championship."
I'm a Rossie that comes in peace... why is there 3 points for a win in some games and not others? At what stage does it change?

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 149 - 12/06/2023 22:14:09    2486068

Replying To D.Hyde:  "I'm a Rossie that comes in peace... why is there 3 points for a win in some games and not others? At what stage does it change?"
You are very welcome and we are happy to talk football all day long. I think but I stand to be corrected that the 3 point games come into play when the Co players are allowed to return to their clubs. I think Monaghan have something similar in place for a few years but I think it's 5 points for a win. I don't really see the extra points when the lads are allowed back to make much difference. I expect all those players will take a break first before they return to club action and some will go to America for 2 months. The teams on top of Div 1 have a few players to return from the Co Set up whereas the teams at the foot of the table have hardly any representative on the Sligo team so they haven't much to look forward to. When the league is over it will be interesting to tot up the points using the old system and see if it varies much to the new system.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1669 - 13/06/2023 09:56:47    2486095

Replying To eoinog:  "You are very welcome and we are happy to talk football all day long. I think but I stand to be corrected that the 3 point games come into play when the Co players are allowed to return to their clubs. I think Monaghan have something similar in place for a few years but I think it's 5 points for a win. I don't really see the extra points when the lads are allowed back to make much difference. I expect all those players will take a break first before they return to club action and some will go to America for 2 months. The teams on top of Div 1 have a few players to return from the Co Set up whereas the teams at the foot of the table have hardly any representative on the Sligo team so they haven't much to look forward to. When the league is over it will be interesting to tot up the points using the old system and see if it varies much to the new system."
Thanks. It seems a strange system alright, clubs with no county representative are a further disadvantage really? If it was 3 points without county players and 2 points with them it might make more sense?! Anyway, good to learn how other counties run their competitions

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 149 - 13/06/2023 11:00:25    2486117

Replying To D.Hyde:  "Thanks. It seems a strange system alright, clubs with no county representative are a further disadvantage really? If it was 3 points without county players and 2 points with them it might make more sense?! Anyway, good to learn how other counties run their competitions"
clubs with no county representative are at and advantage playing the first 4 rounds against weakened teams who have county players

I think it makes sense and many other counties have already done something similar and it doesn't seem to have caused any issues so far but there is an element of good fortune based on a teams schedule as to which games are worth 2 and which games are worth 3

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 444 - 13/06/2023 13:10:13    2486179

Replying To muscles:  "clubs with no county representative are at and advantage playing the first 4 rounds against weakened teams who have county players

I think it makes sense and many other counties have already done something similar and it doesn't seem to have caused any issues so far but there is an element of good fortune based on a teams schedule as to which games are worth 2 and which games are worth 3"
Who are these other counties? Monaghan have a system but is it not that you get 5 when you win against a team with county players?

It's pure daft if you ask me. Take Tubber for example. Almost rooted to the bottom of the table but one 3 point win in rounds 6-9 and theyd leap over team above them. Only teams it suits are clubs with lots of players and sure once they are back they hardly need 3 points to catch up. Wouldn't it make more sense to give 3 points of games when they don't play?

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 361 - 13/06/2023 13:34:13    2486190

Replying To eoinog:  "You are very welcome and we are happy to talk football all day long. I think but I stand to be corrected that the 3 point games come into play when the Co players are allowed to return to their clubs. I think Monaghan have something similar in place for a few years but I think it's 5 points for a win. I don't really see the extra points when the lads are allowed back to make much difference. I expect all those players will take a break first before they return to club action and some will go to America for 2 months. The teams on top of Div 1 have a few players to return from the Co Set up whereas the teams at the foot of the table have hardly any representative on the Sligo team so they haven't much to look forward to. When the league is over it will be interesting to tot up the points using the old system and see if it varies much to the new system."
I think the County board are travelling a dodgy road here. If the chosen points system impacts on relegation expect objections. I know the club delegates voted this in but if an adversely affected club brings an objection to a higher authority the new system could well be deemed unfair and an objection upheld.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 13/06/2023 14:06:14    2486209

How are we feeling going into the Dublin game. You'd expect Dublin will go for the top spot and go hard from the start.
We put in a good performance for 45/50 mins against Roscommon and our own mistakes cost us in the end. Hopefully the unforced mistakes tally will be lower this week and we can put in a good shift again.

League Predictions: Few tricky ones
Div 1:
Calry v Molaise - Molaise
Tubbercurry v Bunninaden - Bunninaden
Shamrock Gaels v Curry - Shamrock Gaels
Coolera v Tourlestrane - Tourlestrane
Farnans v Mary's - Mary's
Div 2:
Easkey v Coolaney/Mullinabreena - C/M
Michael's v Castleconnor - Michael's
Harps v Drumcliffe - Drumcliffe
Owenmore Gaels v Ballymote - Ballymote
Geevagh v Pats - Pats

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 14/06/2023 15:16:22    2486457

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "How are we feeling going into the Dublin game. You'd expect Dublin will go for the top spot and go hard from the start.
We put in a good performance for 45/50 mins against Roscommon and our own mistakes cost us in the end. Hopefully the unforced mistakes tally will be lower this week and we can put in a good shift again.

League Predictions: Few tricky ones
Div 1:
Calry v Molaise - Molaise
Tubbercurry v Bunninaden - Bunninaden
Shamrock Gaels v Curry - Shamrock Gaels
Coolera v Tourlestrane - Tourlestrane
Farnans v Mary's - Mary's
Div 2:
Easkey v Coolaney/Mullinabreena - C/M
Michael's v Castleconnor - Michael's
Harps v Drumcliffe - Drumcliffe
Owenmore Gaels v Ballymote - Ballymote
Geevagh v Pats - Pats"
We won't beat Dublin so I will be happy with a good solid display. I also would expect a good crowd to travel as it's a great opportunity to see Dublin in the flesh and away from Croke Park.
Round 4 of the League is on also with a few intriguing games.
I tipped Tubber get relegated at the start of the year but I wasn't expecting them to be this poor. They have a small catchment area which didn't bother them because in years gone by they had big families of footballers. I think of Murphy's , Mc Carricks, Gilmartins, Brennan's etc but those days are long gone. They are not a driving force in Sligo GAA anymore and could see lean times fairly soon. They have nothing at underage. Still I expect a kick from them so I will go with them to beat the Bunnies., which will pull the bunnies back into relegation.
Coolera are short a few big players and Tourlestrane will beat them.
Molaise will beat Calry
Gaels to beat Curry.
In Div 2
Ballymote should continue their mini winning streak with a win over Owenmore Gaels.
Pats to beat Geevagh
Michaels to beat Castleconnor
Easkey can't afford any more mistakes if they want to get promoted so they have to beat Coolaney which they should.
I am going out on a limb here by saying Harps to beat Drumcliffe .

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1669 - 15/06/2023 08:16:55    2486561

Would really be hoping for a single digit loss if possible against Dublin but was hoping for same against Ros and didn't turn out. Kildare will progress as I don't see Ros giving them the beating Dublin will give us.

So it's focus now on the club from here on in.
In Division 1 I'll back Molaise, Tourlestrane, Shamrock Gaels and Marys. I'll pluck for a draw in the South Sligo relegation derby.

In Division 2 wins for Mullinabreena, St Pats, Ballymote, St Michael's and Harps.

In Division 3 Enniscrone must win to keep promotion alive. Fair play to Molaise for having such a strong outfit to be on full points with first and second teams.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 361 - 15/06/2023 13:16:27    2486652

Replying To eoinog:  "We won't beat Dublin so I will be happy with a good solid display. I also would expect a good crowd to travel as it's a great opportunity to see Dublin in the flesh and away from Croke Park.
Round 4 of the League is on also with a few intriguing games.
I tipped Tubber get relegated at the start of the year but I wasn't expecting them to be this poor. They have a small catchment area which didn't bother them because in years gone by they had big families of footballers. I think of Murphy's , Mc Carricks, Gilmartins, Brennan's etc but those days are long gone. They are not a driving force in Sligo GAA anymore and could see lean times fairly soon. They have nothing at underage. Still I expect a kick from them so I will go with them to beat the Bunnies., which will pull the bunnies back into relegation.
Coolera are short a few big players and Tourlestrane will beat them.
Molaise will beat Calry
Gaels to beat Curry.
In Div 2
Ballymote should continue their mini winning streak with a win over Owenmore Gaels.
Pats to beat Geevagh
Michaels to beat Castleconnor
Easkey can't afford any more mistakes if they want to get promoted so they have to beat Coolaney which they should.
I am going out on a limb here by saying Harps to beat Drumcliffe ."
I accidentally forgot about Mary's v Farnans so I will go for Mary's

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1669 - 15/06/2023 15:27:19    2486696

Sligo program team

Aidan Devaney;
Evan Lyons, Eddie McGuinness, Darragh Cummins;
Paul McNamara, Brian Cox, Luke Towey;
Cian Lally, Paul Kilcoyne;
Finnian Cawley, Sean Carrabine, Keelan Cawley;
Pat Spillane, Patrick O'Connor, Niall Murphy

Subs: Daniel Lyons, Alan Reilly, David Quinn, Eoghan Smith, Gerard O'Kelly Lynch, Jack Lavin, Joe Keaney, Kenny Gavigan, Luke Nicholson, Mark Walsh, Mikey Gordon

4th game in a row Carrabine,Spillane,O'Connor and Murphy named to start but one of them was swapped for defender or extra sweeper before throw in. Is Nathan Mullen injured?

Only the second ever Sligo v Dublin championship meeting and Dublin won the last one 3-17 to 0-12 in a qualifier in Croke Park in 2001

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3356 - 16/06/2023 18:11:03    2486978

So that's it for County football for another 8 months. It seems like a serious long time to have to wait! Disappointing yesterday but the Dubs could have had 6 or 7 goals easy so it could have been worse. Our biggest and strongest players looked like boys beside the Dubs. The million dollar question now is what the Co Board do as regards to management. Yes, we won 9 games in a row and achieved our main goal of promotion but the highest ranking team we beat was Wicklow. We should have beaten Kildare too. Pros and cons to whichever way things go in terms of management. I have spoken with many that feel McEntee is not good enough to take us any further forward and I see both arguments myself. The support yesterday was chronic and I know the result was a foregone conclusion so that is the main factor in that. We will go hard at winning the Tailteann Cup over the next two years - but who will be in charge? That is the question!

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 09:26:57    2487067

Replying To ShellyGael:  "So that's it for County football for another 8 months. It seems like a serious long time to have to wait! Disappointing yesterday but the Dubs could have had 6 or 7 goals easy so it could have been worse. Our biggest and strongest players looked like boys beside the Dubs. The million dollar question now is what the Co Board do as regards to management. Yes, we won 9 games in a row and achieved our main goal of promotion but the highest ranking team we beat was Wicklow. We should have beaten Kildare too. Pros and cons to whichever way things go in terms of management. I have spoken with many that feel McEntee is not good enough to take us any further forward and I see both arguments myself. The support yesterday was chronic and I know the result was a foregone conclusion so that is the main factor in that. We will go hard at winning the Tailteann Cup over the next two years - but who will be in charge? That is the question!"
I suspect that McEntee will be given an extension of a year if he's interested. Goal next year will be maintain Division 3 status and tbh its well within their capability. You'd be targeting games against Wicklow, Limerick, Antrim and specially. As for Tailteann cup, sligo would have done very well to be in the pot for the semi final this year. Could we really mix it with the likes of Down, Meath, Cavan (I know they were beat)? There was progress made this year no doubt but Dublin really exposed how error prone we are and that we can't win kickouts when put under pressure. Then again those few hundred who did go to Cavan didn't expect anything other than a convincing Dublin win. Thankfully there wasn't 7 goals scored which there could well have been.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 361 - 19/06/2023 09:45:06    2487081

If Mc Entee wants to remain on I assume it's his for another year or maybe 2. If Mc Geeney fecked up with Armagh I could see Mc Entee taking his position but the great win for Armagh yesterday will boost Mc Geeney's credentials. Disappointed that over the 3 games we didn't have any player that really played well. Instead collectively they all seem to be at the same level. Handling errors and basic ball skills murdered us. That's the stuff you pick up at club training at U 12 . If they don't pick up good habits at that age they will never fully master it.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1669 - 19/06/2023 11:26:02    2487197

I think McEntee will stay on. I don't know if he should stay on but I'll be surprised if he doesn't stay.
Going by his interview it sounds as if he will.
We won 9 games in a row. We won division 4. Obviously It was a disappointing championship campaign. But there will be a lot of learning from it. You can see the step up needed now, McEntee and his mgmt team will hopefully learn tactically. The players will learn loads too.
The club championship will hopefully throw up a new few players for the panel next year.
I think we have developed this year, we got a draw with Kildare and for 45 mins against Roscommon we looked alright. The players threw the towel in yesterday after the Dubs goal and you don't blame them they are just on another level to us.
All in all it hasn't been the worst season. From the start of this year we all said we wanted promotion. And we got it. we could only play what was infront of us for the league and we were a lot better than what we played. Next year will be harder but we should be aiming for promotion. We will have to wait until next year to see how far we have come on when we play against realistically beatable opposition.
A lot of s&c too be done over the next few months, start to get them u20 lads up to shape, get a few lads sharper and we need to become more skillful.
We will see next year the real questions being answered from this year about whether we have improved or not.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 19/06/2023 12:32:20    2487265

Replying To eoinog:  "If Mc Entee wants to remain on I assume it's his for another year or maybe 2. If Mc Geeney fecked up with Armagh I could see Mc Entee taking his position but the great win for Armagh yesterday will boost Mc Geeney's credentials. Disappointed that over the 3 games we didn't have any player that really played well. Instead collectively they all seem to be at the same level. Handling errors and basic ball skills murdered us. That's the stuff you pick up at club training at U 12 . If they don't pick up good habits at that age they will never fully master it."
Beating the Wicklow's etc is still our level until proven otherwise. The sad thing about yesterday's match is that a number of players ran as much as any Dublin player and barely handled the ball and never laid a hand on an opponent. So much for trackers.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 231 - 19/06/2023 12:49:40    2487276

Its time to mive on from McEntee. There are plenty of alternatives within the ciunty who are now involved with other counties l(McGowan, Sloyane) to name 2. Breheny and O Hara would be in the mix also. A decent seaon but as another mentioned we only beat London dnd New York in the championship and some poor sides in the league. A new inside man is needed to integrate some of the successful ynderage talent of the last few years up to senior level and bring a few players which the manager fell out with back on board under a new mgmt team. Hopefully he is head hunted by another county but failing that its time to change

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 19/06/2023 14:51:35    2487374

Replying To Anto:  "Its time to mive on from McEntee. There are plenty of alternatives within the ciunty who are now involved with other counties l(McGowan, Sloyane) to name 2. Breheny and O Hara would be in the mix also. A decent seaon but as another mentioned we only beat London dnd New York in the championship and some poor sides in the league. A new inside man is needed to integrate some of the successful ynderage talent of the last few years up to senior level and bring a few players which the manager fell out with back on board under a new mgmt team. Hopefully he is head hunted by another county but failing that its time to change"
Agree, constant negativity from Mc Entee re players ability as if it's nothing got to do with him after 3 years (and 5 from Kane) is bizarre.

onthefortyfive (Sligo) - Posts: 27 - 19/06/2023 15:58:33    2487441

McEntee should step aside. After 3 seasons we really have not beaten any teams that are Div 3 or higher. After he attended many club games last year he more or less brought back in the same panel of players, many who did not impress in 2022 club championship, for 2023 Season. I don't believe he is the man to bring the U20s on, we should look internal to those who really care about Sligo football , Henry, McGowan, Sloyne, O Hara etc

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 19/06/2023 18:41:27    2487574

I agree also, McEntee should not be getting another year. His 3 year term is up now and we should move on. There will be a post season review with the management and county board. There is enough possibility of good candidates within Sligo who are tactically aware, knowledgable, passionate and know the mindset of Sligo to be considered. McGowan, Brehony, McGee, Bree, Mitchell, Henry are all top tier coaches and/or managers. O Hara and Sloyan would be just off that for me. Timing is obviously another issue but McGowan and Breheny would be my top choices until Henry and Mitchell are ready for it.

Only 1 person I know in my footballing community would want McEntee back none of the rest want him and these are people who actually go to the games. The casual viewer hasn't a clue on his mistakes or lack of tactical know how. The seniors have so many basic bad habits which look for me is a reflections of 5 years under keane.

He has made some shocking mistakes even this last year. His team selection against Laois cost us, his match up on Tierney was -10pts, his match up choice on Enda Smith was very poor. Changing the goal keepers, not starting paddy in final after his best game. Those were mistakes a Junior B manager would not make and we are supposed to just take it because we are far too nice in Sligo. I would love a face to face with McEntee to understand his thinking. It doesn't matter what type of game or the way the game is going we all know the subs he will bring on, and the sequence. His team selections and tactics are the same. He likes players who have very low ceilings. He has shown he can't manage talented players and you won't win anything without them. He has watched club games so evaluation of players is poor too.

I see certain talented players regressing under him this year. Is he getting the best out of Paddy, Lally, Evan, Spillane, etc... I don't think so.

There is no clear pathway for Players. Players who are injured with no gametime come straight back into battle the heat of championship. No consistency with players who have the S+C done or not done. Picking players on Personality.

Do the people of Sligo want to accept continued mediocrity? What if scraping us out of a poor div4 is McEntees peak?
He gave the u20s from last year little to no gametime, how does he know there good enough yet or not if he hasn't given them a chance? Is he really putting that much of a weight on training...

McEntee had no intention of giving last years u20s a chance and he will do the exact same next year. I heard O Boyle and Walsh are flying in training and showing some of the starters up, I heard the exact same last year. We need to be careful because our starting 15 needs an overhaul and McEntee is too loyal to average players and that could stagnate our u20s development like this year. The CB know this. Do we really trust Keane as well, he has been around for too long.

I find McEntee very negative, yesterday after the game saying "15 to 20 point defeat would have been a good result before the game" so I guess 24 wasn't too bad. Our media were way too soft on that comment.

There is a reason there was thousands following the u20s and hundreds following the seniors. Once you wear the black and white you have no right to throw in the towel like yesterday. I don't care the odds or who you are playing.

With all due respect to the Tourlestrane lads, it was Leonard who picked McEntee over his own Clubman O Hara and just because I don't like McEntee as manager doesn't mean I stop supporting Sligo. Liam Gaughan and Johnny Kelly should be in there regardless. If only average players are committed it doesn't leave us looking very good.

McEntee or Keane cannot be entrusted with our future. We have the evidence of the past that proves this. Hopefully the county board will listen to the lack of crowds and opinions of those who actually go to games. A new manager like McGowan would give the county a lift and re engage players who don't rate current management. He has also had great insight into Clare and Roscommon set ups.

However, sadly I think the CB will retain McEntee for another year which is very frustrating and missed opportunity.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1642 - 19/06/2023 20:12:43    2487599