Jack Haran
Shane Deignan
Kevin Henry
Cian Surlis
Adrian Frain
Alan Reilly
Joseph Keaney

Others ????"
I'd give Ross O'Carroll the sponsored Car or whatever else he wants to get him in.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 28/10/2021 11:10:59    2387689

Replying To Sligo/fan/21:  "People worth a shot for sligo after this season :
Conan Marren
Kevin Banks
Jack Lavin
Jack Haran
Shane Deignan
Kevin Henry
Cian Surlis
Adrian Frain
Alan Reilly
Joseph Keaney

Others ????"
I'd say you could add Cathal Henry - Tstrane , Brian Egan possibly - Tstrane , Michael Gordon - Curry. Lavin and Keaney are still u20 but well worth letting them train with the seniors. We're probably forgetting a few but all names mentioned were key in getting their teams through their games.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 28/10/2021 11:40:09    2387694

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "I'd say you could add Cathal Henry - Tstrane , Brian Egan possibly - Tstrane , Michael Gordon - Curry. Lavin and Keaney are still u20 but well worth letting them train with the seniors. We're probably forgetting a few but all names mentioned were key in getting their teams through their games."
Some of those lads mentioned have been tried before and were not up to the standard. Oisin Conlon from Ballymote is worth a look. He has pace which is the most important ingredient. Kevin Henry from Geevagh also worth a look. Very good at underage and seems to have slipped under the radar since. Kenny Gavigan from Tourlestrane had a great year but I have no idea what age he is. Brian Egan was tried before but he didn't impress the selectors be either. Feilim O Donnell is a real emerging star that didn't make the Co minors but will definitely be midfield for the U.20 next year. Coolera were so poor in the Co final that it's impossible to gauge if they have anything worth a look or not.. Kevin Banks definitely needs a chat but hurling is very big in Coolera at the moment

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 28/10/2021 15:09:27    2387735

I see more walkovers again in the u20 championship this weekend. Makes you wonder why did they bother with the competition at all when it's down to about 10/11 teams after week one between A & B.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 30/10/2021 08:32:01    2387864

That statement by Red og tells you all about the current Sligo setup. With Red og and Gaughan dropping out amongst others it is going to be another dismal year in division 4

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 04/11/2021 13:25:33    2388385

Red Og had a poor year last year. He is only beginning to find his form with Curry now. The stint in Australia certainly took the edge of his Gaelic Skills. I didn't know that Gaughan hadn't committed

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 11/11/2021 18:31:05    2389155

Before the Connacht Club commences i decided to create controversy by giving out my awards for the year.
Its a pity that the Club All Stars bit the dust
Senior team of the year. Tourlestrane.
Biggest flops St Marys
Inter team of the year St Farnans
Biggest Flops St Molaise Gaels

Senior Player of the Year Cathal Henry
Inter Player of the Year Paddy O Connor

Senior team of the Year

(1) Adam Broe
(2) Evan Lyons
(3) Ross O Carroll
(4) Noel Gaughan
(5) Neil Ewing
(6) Mikey Gordon
(7) Sean Power
(8) Cathal Henry
(9) Kevin Banks
(10) Red Og Murphy
(11) Johnny Kelly
(12) Nathan Rooney
(13) Lee Duignan
(14) Niall Murphy
(15) Liam Gaughan

Inter Team Of The Year

(1) Alan Davey
(2) Oisin Conlon
(3) Eoin Mc Hugh
(4) Rory Mc Hugh
(5) Kevin Mc Gee
(6) Eamonn Kilgallen
(7) Mikey Gordon
(8) Joe Keaney
(9) Ben Clavin
(10) Joe Mc Hugh
(11) Sean Carrabine
(12) Brian Coleman
(13) Alan Mc Loughlin
(14) Paddy O Connor
(15) Matt Henry

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 18/11/2021 12:54:56    2389864

What is the latest on club mangers in/outs.?

NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 08/12/2021 11:18:18    2392065

I see EOH is taking over Mohill, I wonder what impact this might have on his role with the u20s

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 08/12/2021 15:26:14    2392106

Replying To muscles:  "I see EOH is taking over Mohill, I wonder what impact this might have on his role with the u20s"
I doubt it will have much impact. Split club and county season anyways.
I see Molaise won the u20 A today. Was unable to attend the game but going by all reports it's was meant to be at a very good standard in those conditions.
Curry and Harps in the B final. Should be a good final both Curry and harps have shown good form so far going by results online.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 12/12/2021 18:33:41    2392590

Curry should win the B final fairly easily. The U.20 competition ran off fairly well. Lot of walkovers which was disappointing and clubs must be worried about this. Timing wasn't great but it was difficult to find space to run it as football started so late this year. Molaise needed that win in the A to push ahead and try and get the intermediate title. O Hara going to Mohill is a real kick in the teeth to the U. 20 Let's put it this way, if he was manager of Mohill would any approach be made to him to become a selector of the U.20. The U.20 starts in early April which is the time that Senior league club games will be up and running. He would be better off to step away from the Sligo setup

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 14/12/2021 12:25:53    2392803

League Fixtures 2022
30-1-21 Round 1 away to Wexford
6-2-21 Round 2 home to Carlow
20-2-21 Round 3 home to Cavan
26-2-21 Round 4 away to Tipperary
13-3-21 Round 5 home to London
20-3-21 Round 6 away to Waterford
27-3-21 Round 7 home to Leitrim

So now that the fixtures are published what are people's thoughts on our chances. Having Cavan in Markievicz is a waste of a home game as I can't see anyone managing to beat them in the league this year. If we're to have any chance of promotion need to win our other three home games and bar London game I couldn't put the house that we would in the other two. Having last game against the neighbours at home is a positive if we have something to play for. We'll need at least two on the road. I think Waterford is manageable but better Sligo teams have gone to Wexford and Tipp and came out with pipped at the post. I'd sooner be playing them in Markievicz than Cavan or London.

Even then 10 points may not get you out of the group. Nothing easy in Division 4 this year for any team especially when you have the likes of Cavan in there who will be roaring favourites to take one promotion spot before any game is played.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 22/12/2021 09:39:39    2393457

What did ye make of that Leitrim game tonight. Felt we were definitely the better side overall and never looked like losing. Shouldn't have let Leitrim back into the game both times we built up 6/7 point leads. Few top performances from Lyons, Murphy, Gorman, Reilly, O'Connor and Egan in parts. I know it's only FBD league but should we be optimistic in div 4 this year? I feel we should push at promotion but Tipperary and Cavan will obviously be favourites.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 03/01/2022 21:37:15    2393507

Pat Spillane jnr transferring to Sligo. Just a County transfer,his mother is from Sligo

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 04/01/2022 09:54:24    2393521

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "What did ye make of that Leitrim game tonight. Felt we were definitely the better side overall and never looked like losing. Shouldn't have let Leitrim back into the game both times we built up 6/7 point leads. Few top performances from Lyons, Murphy, Gorman, Reilly, O'Connor and Egan in parts. I know it's only FBD league but should we be optimistic in div 4 this year? I feel we should push at promotion but Tipperary and Cavan will obviously be favourites."
Well I am not too optimistic about promotion. Tipp and Cavan who won 2 provential titles 2 years ago will be favourites, then we always struggle with Carlow plus Waterford beat us a home recently. Then you have Leitrim in a local derby. I would love to be wrong

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 05/01/2022 14:26:38    2393692

Quick question - what was the quality of the stream like for the game? worth a tenor?

Probably will pay it anyways as not much else to do..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 06/01/2022 10:39:16    2393776

Anything happening on the managerial merry go around about the county.
Obviously Tourlestrane will be on the look out after Johnson jumped ship but they won't be shy of potential suitors. They will still be the yardstick for the other teams in the county and the one to beat if Owen B is to find a new home in 2022.
I'm sure there will be a few surprise appointments.
Curry - Kenny Morley
Tourlestrane -
Tubber -
Cloonacool - David Curran ?
Coolaney/Mul - Padraig McGourty
Bunnies - Willie Gormley
Owenmore Gaels - John McPartland ?
Ballymote - Enda Kelly?
Eastern Harps - Ross Donovan
Shamrock Gaels - Glen McDermott
Geevagh - John Hughes ?
St Michaels - ?
St Marys - Marky B
St Johns - ?
Drumcliffe - Fergal O'Flaherty
Calry - David Cummins
St Molaise - ?
Coolera - Adrian McP/Enda Mitchell
Easkey - ?
Castleconnor - ?
Enniscrone - Michael Duffy
St Pats - same management.
St Farnans - Damien Eames

Offtheball2015 (Sligo) - Posts: 2 - 06/01/2022 14:43:01    2393823

Replying To tommy132:  "Quick question - what was the quality of the stream like for the game? worth a tenor?

Probably will pay it anyways as not much else to do.."
Found that it was quite decent. Slight delay at times but was good. Nice to have the option. Quick football in the dome also leaves it quite enjoable to watch

FearSligeach (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 06/01/2022 17:49:51    2393848

Replying To tommy132:  "Quick question - what was the quality of the stream like for the game? worth a tenor?

Probably will pay it anyways as not much else to do.."
It was a good quality stream, the only issue is the white background in dome that could be solved by using a coloured football.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 06/01/2022 19:17:10    2393863