I'm a little late but I think I just missed a few junior games yesterday evening I expected Cloonacool and Johns to both win. Michaels and Marys will win also. Senior to me looks like Molaise Marys Coolera Shamrock Gaels Intermediate Calry Geevagh Bunnies Coolaney
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 188 - 09/08/2025 10:57:25
Another very interesting weekend of action. Coolera spluttered and farted to a 5 point win against Curry. Curry played like they knew the result was inevitable and that they would finish in the bottom 2. Coolera will be happy with the points and now have a 3 week break before they play again. Easkey were still very much in the game against Shamrock Gaels at half time but Gaels blew them out of the water in the first 10 mins of the second half and romped home. A cracking comeback by Tourlestrane and were unfortunate not to take the 2 points against Molaise. Egan rolled back the years with a vintage performance. Molaise are not gone yet but there's something clearly amiss in the camp and it's very obvious. And then to cap it all along come Drumcliffe and bring Mary's crashing down to earth. Unbelievable stuff in that group. Tubber were probably the big winners simply because they didn't play at all and have 2 points on board after one round of games. Pat's and Farnans were the big winners in the intermediate as most people hadn't them tipped. Coolaney only won by 2 while the bunnies handed out a good thrashing to Owenmore Gaels. A good 2 weekends of action helped by good weather and a general feel good in Sligo football at the moment.
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2197 - 10/08/2025 18:39:41
Took in 3 games over the weekend. Great value in the 15€ pass. John's had too much for smg in oxfield friday night. Paul McNamara and James Burns ran the show for Johns with McNamara dominating midfield in the 2nd half in an easy enough win for Johns. On to Kent Park Saturday, with SMG 4 pts to the good at half time and playing very well and Tourlestrane with the exception of Egan and Kelly very poor and lacklustre. 2nd half a total reversal of the 1st half. Tourlestrane played a higher intensity game which SMG struggled to match. SMG off the pace in a few areas of the pitch and seemed to lack legs in the home straight. Im not sure to what your alluding to Eoinog in your synopsis off something being amiss in the camp? On to Collooney today, and as I said last week, judge marys on the drp game not the result against a struggling smg. The soft marys underbelly of recent years is still around. Drp put it up to them 10mins in to the 2nd half and they visibly wilted. Drp won 75% midfield breaks in 2nd half and this was the basis of their comeback. Kick outs a big difference between teams with Durcans arrow like particularly in 2nd half. Plenty of power and pace in the drp spine. Do they have the firepower to be contenders? I think not but might not be far away come October. A really exciting group here. A Tourlestrane win in the next round would shake it up again.
Sligogo (Sligo) - Posts: 11 - 10/08/2025 20:09:14
Well the results in both senior and intermediate did no harm to keeping a bit of interest going for more clubs this weekend.
In senior, well we know that Curry and realistically Easkey are going to be bottom two teams. Shamrock Gaels have one foot in the semi final so it'll come down to Harps v Coolera and I think experience and if Murphy is back by round 4 it'll see them over the line. Easkey put in a brave effort for the first half but was some score to concede over the duration of the game and it'll be a tough championship for them.
Group 2 well this is a dream as far as the keen observer is concerned as anything can happen. I watched the Marys DRP game and I thought after 40 minutes this could turn into a bit of a hammering but credit where credit is due DRP kicked some great two pointers ably assisted by complete dominance at midfield in the second half. Marys had their chances with frees and a few harmless attacks but their best man to me was the Leitrim native which doesn't say much for his younger teammates. They were pretenders to the thrown for one week after beating what I still think is a poor St Molaise Gaels outfit. Tourlestrane and themselves played out again an entertaining draw but I don't see either featuring coming the final stages at present. Drumcliffe should beat Tubber but could come down to their last game with Molaise to find out their fate as to who gets to play Shamrock Gaels in a semi.
Intermediate: All over for Geevagh in terms of progression, really didn't see Pats not alone winning with what looked like relative ease when ya track the scores. Enniscrone will be happy watching Farnan's win too as takes the threat away from Calry still think they Enniscrone are the form team in this group. Group 2: What a score from Bunninadden who have ended Owenmore Gaels semi final hopes. Makes their Castleconnor result look all the stranger but could haunt them later on, probably guaranteed 3rd though. Mullinabreena and Ballymote looked a tight affair and it'll probably come down to Ballymote Bunninadden game for 2nd and expect Mullinabreena to top the group.
Junior: Michael's seem to have a bit of form going here so they might be one to watch. The other two first teams in Johns and Cloonacool, well after only 1 game and against second teams they'll not really know where they are yet. Really thought Molaise's second team would have something on the board at this stage seeing as they held their own in Division 2.
Personally think they should have gone for a break after round 3 as opposed to 2. Some teams have only 1 game under them and recovery time would be more beneficial then, but in any event all championships are doing their part to provide passing interest for sure. While new rules and a more competitive competition are attractive, crowds still aren't flocking to games unfortunately, I dunno is it a pricing issue, PR or what but a trial of a double header to compare wouldn't be a bad thing. Imagine the atmosphere and crowd if the 2 games in group 2 of the senior had been played together or even putting a decent Intermediate before one of them.
Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 574 - 11/08/2025 08:38:39
Replying To Sligoman1234: "Well the results in both senior and intermediate did no harm to keeping a bit of interest going for more clubs this weekend.
In senior, well we know that Curry and realistically Easkey are going to be bottom two teams. Shamrock Gaels have one foot in the semi final so it'll come down to Harps v Coolera and I think experience and if Murphy is back by round 4 it'll see them over the line. Easkey put in a brave effort for the first half but was some score to concede over the duration of the game and it'll be a tough championship for them.
Group 2 well this is a dream as far as the keen observer is concerned as anything can happen. I watched the Marys DRP game and I thought after 40 minutes this could turn into a bit of a hammering but credit where credit is due DRP kicked some great two pointers ably assisted by complete dominance at midfield in the second half. Marys had their chances with frees and a few harmless attacks but their best man to me was the Leitrim native which doesn't say much for his younger teammates. They were pretenders to the thrown for one week after beating what I still think is a poor St Molaise Gaels outfit. Tourlestrane and themselves played out again an entertaining draw but I don't see either featuring coming the final stages at present. Drumcliffe should beat Tubber but could come down to their last game with Molaise to find out their fate as to who gets to play Shamrock Gaels in a semi.
Intermediate: All over for Geevagh in terms of progression, really didn't see Pats not alone winning with what looked like relative ease when ya track the scores. Enniscrone will be happy watching Farnan's win too as takes the threat away from Calry still think they Enniscrone are the form team in this group. Group 2: What a score from Bunninadden who have ended Owenmore Gaels semi final hopes. Makes their Castleconnor result look all the stranger but could haunt them later on, probably guaranteed 3rd though. Mullinabreena and Ballymote looked a tight affair and it'll probably come down to Ballymote Bunninadden game for 2nd and expect Mullinabreena to top the group.
Junior: Michael's seem to have a bit of form going here so they might be one to watch. The other two first teams in Johns and Cloonacool, well after only 1 game and against second teams they'll not really know where they are yet. Really thought Molaise's second team would have something on the board at this stage seeing as they held their own in Division 2.
Personally think they should have gone for a break after round 3 as opposed to 2. Some teams have only 1 game under them and recovery time would be more beneficial then, but in any event all championships are doing their part to provide passing interest for sure. While new rules and a more competitive competition are attractive, crowds still aren't flocking to games unfortunately, I dunno is it a pricing issue, PR or what but a trial of a double header to compare wouldn't be a bad thing. Imagine the atmosphere and crowd if the 2 games in group 2 of the senior had been played together or even putting a decent Intermediate before one of them." Thankfully they have scrapped the additional break after round 4. That was a nuisance as some team's had their 4 games played and had to hang around for 2 weeks for the remaining round to see where they finished in the group. A few months ago on this forum I questioned the wisdom of bringing in a player with no attachments to a club......
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2197 - 11/08/2025 10:37:07
Replying To Sligoman1234: "Well the results in both senior and intermediate did no harm to keeping a bit of interest going for more clubs this weekend.
Personally think they should have gone for a break after round 3 as opposed to 2. Some teams have only 1 game under them and recovery time would be more beneficial then, but in any event all championships are doing their part to provide passing interest for sure. While new rules and a more competitive competition are attractive, crowds still aren't flocking to games unfortunately, I dunno is it a pricing issue, PR or what but a trial of a double header to compare wouldn't be a bad thing. Imagine the atmosphere and crowd if the 2 games in group 2 of the senior had been played together or even putting a decent Intermediate before one of them." There was a reasonable crowd in Bunnyland for Curry v Coolera but most of the supporters were from Coolera. Very disappointing turnout from Curry at a venue that's very close for them
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 188 - 11/08/2025 10:47:06
Personally think they should have gone for a break after round 3 as opposed to 2. Some teams have only 1 game under them and recovery time would be more beneficial then, but in any event all championships are doing their part to provide passing interest for sure. While new rules and a more competitive competition are attractive, crowds still aren't flocking to games unfortunately, I dunno is it a pricing issue, PR or what but a trial of a double header to compare wouldn't be a bad thing. Imagine the atmosphere and crowd if the 2 games in group 2 of the senior had been played together or even putting a decent Intermediate before one of them." Great championships so far with no one standing out so far really. In intermediate cannot agree the bunnies are guaranteed 3rd spot. if castleconnor were to win another game it means bunninadden have to get to 6 points to stay above them. The other group is a minefield, farnans still have 1 or 2 more to come back so they will have a say in things yet.
westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 84 - 11/08/2025 13:36:26
Replying To westvoice: "Great championships so far with no one standing out so far really. In intermediate cannot agree the bunnies are guaranteed 3rd spot. if castleconnor were to win another game it means bunninadden have to get to 6 points to stay above them. The other group is a minefield, farnans still have 1 or 2 more to come back so they will have a say in things yet." If Castleconnor get another win Bunninadden as you say will need two wins to get above them, which would put them into 2nd most likely but that realistically means Castleconnor beating Ballymote or Owenmore Gaels (both doubtful) as I don't think anyone will beat Mullinabreena. Tbh I don't see OMG beating anyone bar Castleconnor and narrowly enough meaning it'd be 2 points for 3 teams and Bunninadden have them all on score diff. Element of surprise is gone from them now and teams will not be taking them for granted but I still think the rest are a bit stronger.
Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 574 - 11/08/2025 14:26:15
A very good game in Kent Park Saturday evening with both teams facing early elimination if they were defeated. Standard of refereeing was very poor. Tourlestrane were denied a certain penalty in the first minute with SMG nearly scoring a goal at the other end from the turnover. Ref then proceeded to give about 3/4 strange overcarrying decision against SMG. Linesman didn't notice a 3 man breach against SMG which they scored a point from then informed the ref of abuse from Tourlestrane bench over his mistake which resulted in a SMG 13 metre free (a 3 point swing). Then there was the bizarre penalty awarded to SMG at the end of the game which was saved.
Egan gave a exhibition of long range free taking with 5 2 pointers. He was very good from open play also with 1-4. Tourlestrane don't seem to have any kick out strategy. It was kick high and hopeful balls out to O'Donnell and hope for the best. Other teams in the group will have noted this. They will have to change something or championship season will be short. SMG are showing a trend of fading in the second half of games. They folded when Tourlestrane ran at them. All 5 teams are still in the mix for the semi final spots which will make the next round of games very interesting.
Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 388 - 11/08/2025 15:56:37
Replying To Anto: "A very good game in Kent Park Saturday evening with both teams facing early elimination if they were defeated. Standard of refereeing was very poor. Tourlestrane were denied a certain penalty in the first minute with SMG nearly scoring a goal at the other end from the turnover. Ref then proceeded to give about 3/4 strange overcarrying decision against SMG. Linesman didn't notice a 3 man breach against SMG which they scored a point from then informed the ref of abuse from Tourlestrane bench over his mistake which resulted in a SMG 13 metre free (a 3 point swing). Then there was the bizarre penalty awarded to SMG at the end of the game which was saved.
Egan gave a exhibition of long range free taking with 5 2 pointers. He was very good from open play also with 1-4. Tourlestrane don't seem to have any kick out strategy. It was kick high and hopeful balls out to O'Donnell and hope for the best. Other teams in the group will have noted this. They will have to change something or championship season will be short. SMG are showing a trend of fading in the second half of games. They folded when Tourlestrane ran at them. All 5 teams are still in the mix for the semi final spots which will make the next round of games very interesting." That is a fair enough post,
We looked decent first half but I was never comfortable, like you say when Tour ran at us were opened too easy and ye were creating plenty from turnover ball. I was disappointed with our defending but I can understand our lads being confused at the aggression to give in the tackle. We need to learn to put pressure on inside the arc rather than on the edge especially with an elite 2 pt free taker. Our press was too high at times. Yes Tour kickout strategy probably cost ye the game and Keaney broke a lot of ball and we won the breaks. Keaney's kick pass for our goal to Lang was something else, it was just ridiculous 30 yarder over the top into the bread basket and of course his 2 pointer was brilliant under pressure to level the game. As I said big game, big moment player. You are right we are showing signs of fading 2nd half but with so many lads, coming back from injuries and holidays we are playing catch up. Thankfully we are still just about in it just about so the next 3 weeks we can get the work in. Fair play to young Nicholson coming on yesterday and dominating that left flank and great score. Very promising prospect and handled the pressure well and in fairness Davitt's 2 pts second half were huge. All in all being 3 pts down late on and draw you would take that and we did show character. We need to get more continuity in our play. It still too individualistic for me. I still believe we can click but no room for error last 2 games. Tubbercurry in 3 weeks time and a North Sligo derby to finish the group. We just need everyone to beat each other.
All in all, what a entertaining game, some absolute great games we are witnessing with the new rules.
Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1899 - 11/08/2025 19:26:50
Only caught the one game again this week and have to say that both sides looked a little disappointed leaving the field in Kent Park. I just can't see either doing enough to make a Semi Final at present but the two week break comes at the right time. Tourlestrane struggling to defend with 11 players as the pticehs get faster and Molaise looking a bit jaded. On paper these are two good sides, it will be interesting to see what comes next for both. As one poster previously pointed out, we'll see real shape on things after round 3 so to make it interesting, I'll make my updated predictions for the groups.
Group 2 Senior 1. DRP 2. St. Marys 3. Tourlestrane 4. Molaise Gaels 5. Tubbercurry
Though I'm not fully convinced that either can take Owen B this year, I'm going with Drumcliffe and Marys to get out of the group. I may be a bit harsh on Tubbercurry here but I still don't see where the next win comes from. I hope they prove me wrong and really put the cat amongst the pigeons. Molaise to finish behind Tourlestrane on Score Difference. Exciting times ahead in this group though.
Group 1 Senior 1. Shamrock Gaels 2. Coolera Strandhill 3. Eastern Harps 4. Curry 5. Easkey
Don't be surprised if the top 3 all end up with six points. The Connacht champions are up and running now and with injuries easing, I'd expect them to be there at the end. Eastern Harps will play a Shamrock Gaels team on the last day who will have 6 points and a big score difference. I don't see Curry or Easkey upsetting any of them. Easkey in particular seem to be struggling badly.
Group 1 Intermediate 1. Calry 2. Enniscrone 3. St. Farnans 4. St. Pats 5. Geevagh
This is probably the most difficult of all. Geevagh may just find themselves and get a couple of wins. Calry need a huge bounce back. I predict they will and win their next two including Enniscrone who will join them in the top spots. St. Pats have given themselves a lifeline but I can't see them worrying the top two positions.
Group 2 Intermediate 1. Coolaney Mullinabreena 2. Ballymote 3. Castleconnor 4. Bunninadden 5. Owenmore Gaels
Round 3 will tell the story in this group. I'd expect Coolaney to cement their place in the Semi Finals and the winner of Ballymote and Castleconnor to join them. I'll just about side with Ballymote on that. I expect Bunninaddens opening day defeat to come back to bite them and end up int relegation with the so far disappointing Owenmore Gaels.
Group 1 Junior 1. St. Michaels 2. St. Johns 3. Molaise Gaels B 4. DRP B 5. Tourlestrane B
Going on the opening two rounds, I think the Michaels and Johns seem to have their acts together for championship. I'll back them to get to a Semi Final.
Group 2 Junior 1. Cloonacool 2. Eastern Harps B 3. St. Marys B 4. Shamrock Gaels B 5. Tubbercurry B
Second teams are impossible to predict as they are at the mercy of the first teams and their injury list. I'll back Eastern Harps to get out of the group following their league promotion. Cloonacool would really need to slip up badly to miss out.
Outrights:
Senior Winners - Coolera Strandhill Senior Relegation - Easkey Intermediate Winners - Coolaney Mullinabreena Intermediate Relegation - Owenmore Gaels Junior Winners - Cloonacool
johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 175 - 12/08/2025 14:08:23