Carlow GAA thread

Bring back Brendan Murphy

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 130 - 02/05/2024 15:11:49    2542488

Replying To CARPS:  "Carlow's Leinster SFC results since 2013.

2013: lost to Westmeath by 11 (Rainbow)
2014: Lost to Meath by 28 (Rainbow)
2015: Lost to Laois by 17 (O'Brien)
2016: Lost to Louth by 10 (O'Brien)
2017: Beat Wexford by 4, lost to Dublin by 12 (O'Brien/Poacher)
2018: Beat Louth by 11, beat Kildare by 7, lost to Laois by 4 (O'Brien/Poacher)
2019: Lost to Meath by 15 (no management on line)
2020: Lost to Offaly by 3 (Carew)
2021: Lost to Longford by 6 (Carew)
2022: Lost to Louth by 15 (Carew)
2023: Lost to Wicklow by 8 (Carew)
2024: Lost to Wexford by 23 (Carew).

Some points

- We lost in the first round every year except when Poacher was there. But, apparently, the county board didn't like the style of play when we were winning. So they preferred to go back to losing.

- The above shows that management is very important. Given it was pretty much the same players in 2014-16 and 2017-18.

- The current manager has never won a provincial championship game - in fact the results have gotten progressively worse - but has been in situ for five seasons. Is there another example in modern GAA of a situation like this?

-"
Should have been run out of town after Wexford Park. Simple as. Still on the books five years on

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 511 - 02/05/2024 20:48:39    2542544

Replying To Carlowrising:  "It should be also that for 2020 and 2021 seasons Ger Brennan (current Louth manager) was involved and results went downhill after his departure, meanwhile he has moved on to bigger and better things."
That's a really good point. I should have included him.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 613 - 02/05/2024 22:19:26    2542554

Replying To Carlowrising:  "Three Bagenalstown players have left the squad 2 goalkeepers and Shane Clarke"
Jamie still there. I heard he was gone also. Carew in the meantime is training club in kildare. No other county board would tolerate being insulted like that. An absolute joke shop in there.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 210 - 03/05/2024 11:18:13    2542603

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Jamie still there. I heard he was gone also. Carew in the meantime is training club in kildare. No other county board would tolerate being insulted like that. An absolute joke shop in there."
The really sad thing is the fact the County Board clearly don't even care.

The county footballers for them are a box ticking exercise. Enter a team, ideally don't get totally humiliated, then let's focus on our clubs.

When they somehow stumbled on a decent coach, they couldn't wait to get rid of him.

The current manger suits them down to the ground.
As far are they are concerned it worked for five years.

If they had any ambition, they'd have appointed Poacher in 2020, or moved heaven and earth to get Joe Murphy to take it on, at anytime since.

But they didn't,

You're right, no serious administration would tolerate the county manger simultaneously managing a club side.

And, yes, I know our hurling manager is doing the exact same thing. Again, should not have been allowed. We have very good hurlers, there's nothing to say they wouldn't have won the McDonagh with another man in charge.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 613 - 03/05/2024 11:31:17    2542610

Replying To CARPS:  "The really sad thing is the fact the County Board clearly don't even care.

The county footballers for them are a box ticking exercise. Enter a team, ideally don't get totally humiliated, then let's focus on our clubs.

When they somehow stumbled on a decent coach, they couldn't wait to get rid of him.

If they had any ambition, they'd have appointed Poacher in 2020, or moved heaven and earth to get Joe Murphy to take it on, at anytime since.

But they didn't,

You're right, no serious administration would tolerate the county manger simultaneously managing a club side.

And, yes, I know our hurling manager is doing the exact same thing. Again, should not have been allowed. We have very good hurlers, there's nothing to say they wouldn't have won the McDonagh with another man in charge."
That post is redacted to the point of making it unreadable. Not sure why, there was nothing defamatory or libellous.

All I said is the Board prefers managers who don't rock the boat and don't attract any negative focus from outside.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 613 - 03/05/2024 12:04:36    2542617

Replying To CARPS:  "That post is redacted to the point of making it unreadable. Not sure why, there was nothing defamatory or libellous.

All I said is the Board prefers managers who don't rock the boat and don't attract any negative focus from outside."
Looks like there's plenty of disgruntled players posting here

Carlowtothecore1 (Carlow) - Posts: 30 - 03/05/2024 15:25:41    2542685

Replying To CARPS:  "The really sad thing is the fact the County Board clearly don't even care.

But they didn't,

And, yes, I know our hurling manager is doing the exact same thing. Again, should not have been allowed. We have very good hurlers, there's nothing to say they wouldn't have won the McDonagh with another man in charge."
I wouldn't be even trying to suggest Tom Mullally and Carew are of the same breed when it comes to managing a club and county team. Christy Kealy and Mullally were over the likes of Jack McCullough at minor level without those men there the transition of the senior hurlers might have taken a very different road. They're backing up their position with both Naas and Carlow by results and performances.

benchtoaster (Carlow) - Posts: 18 - 03/05/2024 22:36:17    2542732

Replying To benchtoaster:  "I wouldn't be even trying to suggest Tom Mullally and Carew are of the same breed when it comes to managing a club and county team. Christy Kealy and Mullally were over the likes of Jack McCullough at minor level without those men there the transition of the senior hurlers might have taken a very different road. They're backing up their position with both Naas and Carlow by results and performances."
I understand that Tom Mullaly is a different situation. But, again, the Board should have the conditions in place where he doesn't feel the need to manage two teams simultaneously.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 613 - 04/05/2024 11:58:20    2542787

But they didn't,

You aren't a hurling man anyway. Mulally is one of the best managers in the country. I wanted us to try get him end of last summer, but he has principles fair play to him. You would likely be in the Joe Mac still without him.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12213 - 04/05/2024 12:01:20    2542788

Replying To Viking66:  "You aren't a hurling man anyway. Mulally is one of the best managers in the country. I wanted us to try get him end of last summer, but he has principles fair play to him. You would likely be in the Joe Mac still without him."
I am actually a hurling man. Mulally has done a great job with Carlow.

Rather arrogant of you to suggest the only reason he would rather manage Carlow than Wexford is 'principles.'

What makes you think the Wexford job is even remotely desirable? Ridiculous expectations in a county with a very exaggerated sense of itself.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 613 - 04/05/2024 13:56:26    2542811

Replying To CARPS:  "I am actually a hurling man. Mulally has done a great job with Carlow.

Rather arrogant of you to suggest the only reason he would rather manage Carlow than Wexford is 'principles.'

What makes you think the Wexford job is even remotely desirable? Ridiculous expectations in a county with a very exaggerated sense of itself."
Wom 6 All Ireland's, 21 Leinster Championships and 4 Leagues, maybe have a go when you can match that. If you beat Wexford next week, fair play, no complaints from me, but having a go at Wexford's hurling history pretty out of order. I've always thought Carlow a good hurling county, maybe my respect was misplaced.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 04/05/2024 14:59:17    2542824

Most carlow people that I know have great time for wexFord and certainly would never regard them as exaggerating their own worth. Underachieving maybe, considering your resources but I'd always root for ye playing KK. Obviously I hope we beat ye, it's more hope than expectation mind you but if not I hope ye win Leinster at least. Great supporters especially when compared to our other neighbors.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 210 - 04/05/2024 23:52:10    2543006

Replying To Jedobi:  "Wom 6 All Ireland's, 21 Leinster Championships and 4 Leagues, maybe have a go when you can match that. If you beat Wexford next week, fair play, no complaints from me, but having a go at Wexford's hurling history pretty out of order. I've always thought Carlow a good hurling county, maybe my respect was misplaced."
Congratulations on all your All Ireland's. Isn't it one in the last 56 years?

Well done on your fine win over Galway yesterday. Lee Chin is an incredible hurler.

Would remind you that Wexford has a population of 163,000 and Carlow only has 61,000.

It's a miracle that we are able to compete with you guys at all. In either code, at any grade.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 613 - 05/05/2024 12:53:05    2543085

Replying To CARPS:  "Congratulations on all your All Ireland's. Isn't it one in the last 56 years?

Well done on your fine win over Galway yesterday. Lee Chin is an incredible hurler.

Would remind you that Wexford has a population of 163,000 and Carlow only has 61,000.

It's a miracle that we are able to compete with you guys at all. In either code, at any grade."
Bear in mind most of Wexfords population increase consists of dormitory estates in and around Gorey especially, and other towns. Our population in 1996 was only 104000. Most of our hurling and football strongholds would be in rural areas and have seen a decrease in population.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12213 - 05/05/2024 15:00:09    2543122

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Most carlow people that I know have great time for wexFord and certainly would never regard them as exaggerating their own worth. Underachieving maybe, considering your resources but I'd always root for ye playing KK. Obviously I hope we beat ye, it's more hope than expectation mind you but if not I hope ye win Leinster at least. Great supporters especially when compared to our other neighbors."
I watched the Joe Mac final last year and of course was supporting Carlow. I would support them against any other county in Leinster apart from us and Antrim. I'd support St Mullins and MLR against any other club sides apart from our own too.
Obviously I hope we win in 2 weeks, but I'm certainly not assuming we will do.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12213 - 05/05/2024 15:13:41    2543126

Replying To CARPS:  "Congratulations on all your All Ireland's. Isn't it one in the last 56 years?

It's a miracle that we are able to compete with you guys at all. In either code, at any grade."
As regards being competitive it's not a miracle. Its down to hard work on the ground from u6 upwards. Lads volunteering to take teams at their clubs, and going on courses to become better coaches. There are plenty of these people in Carlow.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12213 - 05/05/2024 15:16:49    2543127

Replying To Viking66:  "Bear in mind most of Wexfords population increase consists of dormitory estates in and around Gorey especially, and other towns. Our population in 1996 was only 104000. Most of our hurling and football strongholds would be in rural areas and have seen a decrease in population."
Our population in 1996 was 40,000.

Look, I actually like to see Wexford doing well. Even if ye voted for Carlow to be relegated some years ago.

The game needs a strong Wexford.

I took umbrage at the suggestion that Tom Mulally was only staying with Carlow out of loyalty.

In my view, the Carlow job is actually quite an attractive one: good hurlers (albeit we lack strength in depth) and 'realistic' expectations.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 613 - 05/05/2024 17:05:31    2543152

Replying To CARPS:  "Our population in 1996 was 40,000.

Look, I actually like to see Wexford doing well. Even if ye voted for Carlow to be relegated some years ago.

The game needs a strong Wexford.

I took umbrage at the suggestion that Tom Mulally was only staying with Carlow out of loyalty.

In my view, the Carlow job is actually quite an attractive one: good hurlers (albeit we lack strength in depth) and 'realistic' expectations."
It is a good job. He wouldn't have taken it in the 1st place if it wasn't. That wasn't what I was suggesting at all. I was pointing out that many club and county managers might have thrown their hat in another ring for more "travelling expenses" or perks etc, as happens all the time, but Tom Mulally did not. It wasn't running down Carlow or their hurlers.
As regards relegation, the Leinster Championship I think should be open to all Leinster counties to compete in every year if they want to. As it was for over a century. Its just not right that Offaly, Westmeath, Laois, Kildare, Meath etc aren't in it this year when counties from other provinces are. If this means running two tiers something like the u20 and minor grades in order to get it run off in time, with less games per county, then so be it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12213 - 05/05/2024 19:06:34    2543188

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Most carlow people that I know have great time for wexFord and certainly would never regard them as exaggerating their own worth. Underachieving maybe, considering your resources but I'd always root for ye playing KK. Obviously I hope we beat ye, it's more hope than expectation mind you but if not I hope ye win Leinster at least. Great supporters especially when compared to our other neighbors."
Carlow has pockets that support wexford and pockets that support kilkenny. I would say they support wexford more.
Tom Mullally is an excellent coach and has got success anywhere he went. Fair play to him for continuing the journey with cw and cw for keeping him because a few counties i thought would be after him.

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 36 - 06/05/2024 23:53:53    2543422