Carlow GAA thread

Replying To Bainisteoir:  "Best of luck to the hurlers this afternoon, hopefully a bit of silverware on the sideboard this evening.

Very disappointing last night for their big ball colleagues. It will be a real test for management to try to rally the lads after that. The last thing we want now is for the rot to set in. However consistently each year there are several shocks in Div 4 so hopefully they can get it together."
Because of our track record with London c/w team selection factors along with the fact we failed to fulfil the game with Westmeath in the obc, Carlow needed that game irrespective of the result for match practice and team selection hints for the upcoming game with London. My gut feeling told me Carlow would struggle for a win in DCP so sooner than say they would lose I penciled in a 00-01 win for Carlow.

It must be remembered that London had to travel over with minimum hours to spare as leisure time shall we say before the game, it also must be said they played Carlow in their own back yard as in DCP, in fairness too Carlow don't appear to have a great track record against London and DCP is not their favourite hunting grounds either.
Niall Carew and his management team are decent and honest people somehow though I think they are out of their depth but Carlow's footballing woes does not entirely belong to the Carlow manager, most of Carlow's footballing problems lies firmly with successive county boards.

It's said Niall Carew's term as manager expires at the end of the current championship, personally I think he will up sticks and go at the end of the league, unless a miracle happens Carlow's interest in the league finished yesterday.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 30/01/2022 11:25:44    2397131

A complete game of two halves last night, such a strange game and difficult to understand how it was thrown away, that said Carlow showed glimpses of encouragement. I mentioned the performance being interesting following the awful Kildare display and to be fair bar the result, there was a significant improvement last night.

Was it a sending off? I didn't see the incident but some of the officiating was suspect and certainly favouring the exiles.

Credit to London for smelling blood and capitalizing when they got their opportunity, if we are going to lose to any side i'd rather it be London than a Waterford or a Wexford. For context county Carlow has a population of 57,000 while London has a population of 9 million :-)

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 127 - 30/01/2022 13:58:14    2397166

I didn't think we would win last night, but no way did I see that kind of loss coming, we were poor last night, even when leading comfortably we were poor, to put it into context, our 3,6,8, and 9 all had to be subbed out, that kind of tells you all you need to know, I don't see us winning any game and I believe there are some big beatings on the way, London were bad also, clearly not fit and I suspect they will be on the receiving end of a few hammerings too.

Carew is a bad manager, journeyman who has a fairly poor cv, I said it when he was appointed that we would end up back at the bottom and we are now firmly rooted there, imagine having a choice between this and poacher, and we chose this, it's actually comical. I'm not going to criticise any player, fair play to them for giving up their time, it's a huge commitment and anyone that puts up their hand to represent their county deserves respect.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1593 - 30/01/2022 15:43:59    2397181

Went to watch hurlers as well today & they were poor also. Not at full strength from the start but first touch & distribution awful. Still its only the Kehoe cup & no league points lost. They will improve as the year goes on. The footballers could have done with Conor Lawlor & Sean Murphy who featured for the hurlers today. Cant stop thinking about that defeat last night & am very worried about the year ahead

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 212 - 30/01/2022 16:44:07    2397212

Replying To Barrowsider:  "I didn't think we would win last night, but no way did I see that kind of loss coming, we were poor last night, even when leading comfortably we were poor, to put it into context, our 3,6,8, and 9 all had to be subbed out, that kind of tells you all you need to know, I don't see us winning any game and I believe there are some big beatings on the way, London were bad also, clearly not fit and I suspect they will be on the receiving end of a few hammerings too.

Carew is a bad manager, journeyman who has a fairly poor cv, I said it when he was appointed that we would end up back at the bottom and we are now firmly rooted there, imagine having a choice between this and poacher, and we chose this, it's actually comical. I'm not going to criticise any player, fair play to them for giving up their time, it's a huge commitment and anyone that puts up their hand to represent their county deserves respect."
Says it all here. I agree with all that 100%. We will lose every game this year I'm afraid and most by large margins. The players available to the manger are not near good enough I'm afraid and even with one or two experienced players to return it will not save us from this humiliation. We're back where we were when Paddy Morrissey, Andy Shortall, John Kerins and Anthony Rainbow had charge of the team … no disrespect to any of them or Niall Carew but this is so familiar. We do t have the depth to take the field without close to the best players in the county available. We've a string of junior and intermediate club players now who, no disrespect again, wouldn't get on a good club senior team … in Carlow!!!

County board made a hames of this so should immediately ask Niall Carew to step aside and get Joe Murphy in and hopefully he can get at least some of our better players back on board.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 30/01/2022 19:32:13    2397281

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Says it all here. I agree with all that 100%. We will lose every game this year I'm afraid and most by large margins. The players available to the manger are not near good enough I'm afraid and even with one or two experienced players to return it will not save us from this humiliation. We're back where we were when Paddy Morrissey, Andy Shortall, John Kerins and Anthony Rainbow had charge of the team … no disrespect to any of them or Niall Carew but this is so familiar. We do t have the depth to take the field without close to the best players in the county available. We've a string of junior and intermediate club players now who, no disrespect again, wouldn't get on a good club senior team … in Carlow!!!

County board made a hames of this so should immediately ask Niall Carew to step aside and get Joe Murphy in and hopefully he can get at least some of our better players back on board."
In fairness D4 is very competitive this year with Cavan, Sligo Tipperary and Wexford in the mix, teams will take points off its other
London beating Carlow and Waterford drawing with Tipp. It could be an exciting D4 campaign this year.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 30/01/2022 20:05:38    2397294

Was at both hurling and football. The bigger worry is the football I am afraid.
As was already said, the first touch and distribution was poor today against a better Westmeath. But better days lie ahead for this team also in transition.
As for the football... well firstly I really respect ALL the panel for giving of their best. They really tried hard.
The sending off had a big bearing and he can have no complaints at all. What was actually embarrassing was to see the manager getting a yellow card soon after. That is simply not good enough at all.
Whatever about this manager, I salute him for giving players a chance. Too often in the past some managers have not given players a chance and too often curtailed their style of play to conform to a sterile and conformist style.
I wish people would move on from the Poacher era... by the way, he the manager ? I don't think so !!!
We have what we have and that is where we are and even with a few more to return we will be under pressure.
I hope that Carew stays and let's see can he mould the players to perform a little better in the league and give the match v Louth a real go too.
At least last night the players expressed themselves and were allowed to do so.
Fair play to London, it's a difficult physical trip to come over, and play your first game for 2 years, come back and grind out a win after being 10 points down ! Credit to them !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 30/01/2022 20:11:20    2397296

Firstly, fair play to any of the lads who committed this year for the footballers. They give up a lot of time and energy to something that they know will reap very little reward.

In saying that, as talent goes, that Carlow panel is just not up to intercounty standards. Certainly some very good lads in there, but it's supplemented with too many lads playing Junior and Intermediate standard football in Carlow. I counted 13 players who played at that level last year.

The big difference now and when Turlo/Poacher were in charge is the commitment isn't there now. When Turlo/Poahcer were in charge, they had the best players in the county in there. Now, you could name a better team out of players who are not currently on the panel.

I'm not a big fan of Carew, but regardless of who's manager, if that's the panel at your disposal you're not faring much better.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 31/01/2022 09:34:23    2397364

Replying To Carlowrising:  "A complete game of two halves last night, such a strange game and difficult to understand how it was thrown away, that said Carlow showed glimpses of encouragement. I mentioned the performance being interesting following the awful Kildare display and to be fair bar the result, there was a significant improvement last night.

Was it a sending off? I didn't see the incident but some of the officiating was suspect and certainly favouring the exiles.

Credit to London for smelling blood and capitalizing when they got their opportunity, if we are going to lose to any side i'd rather it be London than a Waterford or a Wexford. For context county Carlow has a population of 57,000 while London has a population of 9 million :-)"
Not too sure just 9 million people live in London. Sometimes, it seems half the world is living there. Very few of them for sure would know what games take place out in MacGovern Park.
Anyway, well done to London. Hopefully, they will spring another surprise or two!

ballagoballa (UK) - Posts: 49 - 31/01/2022 10:14:45    2397380

Just remember one thing: The Carlow county board chose Niall Carew over Stephen Poacher.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 591 - 31/01/2022 10:28:54    2397383

Replying To CARPS:  "Just remember one thing: The Carlow county board chose Niall Carew over Stephen Poacher."
Perfect post carps, spoton.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 31/01/2022 10:56:26    2397398

Not to go on about Poacher/O Brien but at the time when Poacher was openly saying he would love the Carlow job after Turlo stepped down I did say that if he wasnt given the job a lot of the experienced players would step away & not committ. Guess what has happened? A lot of the senior lads have stepped away in one go. Now I know a lot of the lads were getting on but there was a few years left in them & they would have helped the new younger players integrate & get used to the County scene. Carew is definitely not up to it & I'd say the Senior players could see they were going backwards with him & were not willing to put in the massive effort to stay going as they approached the end of their careers.

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 212 - 31/01/2022 11:31:28    2397417

I would side with TaosHum, in that Carew has a very limited squad this season which is not capable of getting out of division 4 in 2022. With so many players stepping away left a massive bridge to gap with a lot of inexperienced junior club and intermediate players. Jim Gavin would not get Carlow promoted this year ahead of Cavan or Tipperary.

The Turlo/Poacher era is gone it was great but its gone, not only that but gaelic football is ever evolving those same defensive tactics are now outdated.

As previous poster mentioned some of the players who left had a bit more to offer the new younger players and would have allowed for a more stable progression, and we need to campaign for the best players available to commit to the county for certain but we are where we are.

Carew's record since taking over has been solid for the squad he has available. in 2020 he Began with a win over Sligo in our last league outing, lost by 3 points in Championship to Offaly who are now division 2. Last year topped the group with wins over Waterford and Wexford before losing to Louth for promotion, and lost by 6 points to Longford in last years Championship. in 2020 and 2021 we played attacking expansive football putting up big scores which was far more exciting to watch than our defensive style which was successful but fans were crying out for a change and he delivered on that front.

Now looking at 2022 it does look bleak unfortunately but calling for the manager to go already given the circumstances is over the top. It was disappointing to lose to London and moral is low but lets not blame the current manager for the same problems carlow have always had prior to 2016.

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 127 - 31/01/2022 13:15:01    2397462

Many of us on here have followed Carlow GAA a long long time
The Obrien / Poacher era ( for 2.5 years ) was brilliant but it was so for these key reasons
1. Turlough - Carlow through and through and an impressive person manager and ambassador
2. Poacher hand picked by Turlo as a talented coach who could get the team committed to playing to a system which would glean results
3. A core group of very talented footballers who came through minor and u20 teams that contested leinter finals.
4. Clubs were involved and players committed to this Carlow Rising
The only way it would have endured the ups and downs were if
Poacher stayed on and maybe the board also brought Joe Murphy on after Turlo retired
This would have insured that the elder states men would more then likely have stayed on and we could have had a gradual move to a new panel - it is important to note that the present squad have some talent ie .Hulton and Morrissey shine for me.
But what we have is Poacher not keen to stay as he said himself he was not impressed by the level of talent coming through - the real driver for our success was Turlo not Poacher . we need a Carlow man with the same level of passion and inteligence as OBrien who can procure a top class coach
Lads and lassies what we say on Sunday is not a blip - its a return to what we are used to
The 1940s, Early 60's and early 90s were blibs as were the 2017/19 era

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 31/01/2022 14:14:24    2397488

Calling for Carew to be replaced is unfair in my opinion.
Joe Murphy has worked the oracke in Old Leighlin and Eire Og but they were clubs and a county set up is quite different.
The panel is made up of players who are nit experienced either at senior level within the county or at county level.
Watching their style on Sat night was so.much more enjoyable that a few years ago.
Clamouring for a change this early is not giving a manager a chance or the players either.
A lot of the football on Sat evening was attractive and it created scoring opportunities.
What a breath of fresh air that is compared to what we witnessed in Croke Park against Laois where we had a chance of getting to a Leinster final... and never really went for it.
That day in Croke Park for.me was one of the lowest days ever. We never went to win the game.

Leave the manager alone, and encourage the players that are in. They deserve our support and not have us talk about a managerial change.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 31/01/2022 16:54:24    2397557

Replying To carlowman:  "Calling for Carew to be replaced is unfair in my opinion.
Joe Murphy has worked the oracke in Old Leighlin and Eire Og but they were clubs and a county set up is quite different.
The panel is made up of players who are nit experienced either at senior level within the county or at county level.
Watching their style on Sat night was so.much more enjoyable that a few years ago.
Clamouring for a change this early is not giving a manager a chance or the players either.
A lot of the football on Sat evening was attractive and it created scoring opportunities.
What a breath of fresh air that is compared to what we witnessed in Croke Park against Laois where we had a chance of getting to a Leinster final... and never really went for it.
That day in Croke Park for.me was one of the lowest days ever. We never went to win the game.

Leave the manager alone, and encourage the players that are in. They deserve our support and not have us talk about a managerial change."
Carlow man
If you are satisfied with being beaten by London on home soil
You need to ease your personal bar.
I won't stop following Carlow ( too late to change now). But I am entitled to voice an opinion based on facts

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 31/01/2022 18:24:23    2397577

Replying To carlowman:  "Calling for Carew to be replaced is unfair in my opinion.

Leave the manager alone, and encourage the players that are in. They deserve our support and not have us talk about a managerial change."
I'm sorry but it's not much use saying we played more attractive football on Saturday than we did under the previous regime because we still lost to London... a london team who hadn't a competitive game in2 years. I wasnt a lover of the defenseive game we played previously but it was a winning one for a while anyway.
We wouldn't have got promoted in 2018 or getting to play Laois in a Leinister Semi in Croker without that system. I agree with ur feelings on losing that game as that was the hardest defeat to take as we were so close to a Leinster Final & might not get that chance again in my lifetime. The management probably felt the system got them that far & why change it then but the 2 previous defeats to Laois in the league should have seen a tweaking of tactics for that game. I have nightmares about that match as imagine Carlow in a Leinster Final. It would have been unbelievable even if we would have probably lost by a big margin to the Dubs. Now all we can talk about is losing to London. Rock bottom I'm afraid

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 212 - 31/01/2022 18:49:36    2397588

This is his 3rd season it's hardly early. He has lost an entire team of players, that in itself should be enough to either remove him or for him to step aside, in a small county like Carlow, the ability to convince our best players to commit is crucial, in that alone it's been a complete failure

I'd like to see a longterm appointment , someone that players will buy into and leave him build something over the next 5 years.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1593 - 01/02/2022 09:06:44    2397626

Replying To Barrowsider:  "This is his 3rd season it's hardly early. He has lost an entire team of players, that in itself should be enough to either remove him or for him to step aside, in a small county like Carlow, the ability to convince our best players to commit is crucial, in that alone it's been a complete failure

I'd like to see a longterm appointment , someone that players will buy into and leave him build something over the next 5 years."
No doubting the fact that we have a very inexperienced team. And yes many have left the panel but most iof these was due to age.
When it comes to persuading others to come in, what players do you think would make a difference ? And would they commit to different management ?
Or, is it the managers job to solely do that or is it the job if the selectors ?
As far as I can see its the clubs and their players who have said no to being involved.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 01/02/2022 12:41:15    2397681

Replying To Barrowsider:  "This is his 3rd season it's hardly early. He has lost an entire team of players, that in itself should be enough to either remove him or for him to step aside, in a small county like Carlow, the ability to convince our best players to commit is crucial, in that alone it's been a complete failure

I'd like to see a longterm appointment , someone that players will buy into and leave him build something over the next 5 years."
What's right and what's wrong with successive Carlow senior football teams is not going to be sorted by sending multiple posts out into anonymous cyber space.
If you look at Mayo, they had one heart breaking year after another with a few different managers but kept getting the near miss results, they lost a lot of key players during that time and they are still there and they will continue to be there with the attitude they have, I have yet to see any Mayo poster blasting or ridiculing their team Manager, players or selectors, of course they are not perfect but they are as near as dammit, There are a few Counties in a similar position to Carlow for years, take Meath, Offaly and Cork for example.

I grew up in county Carlow, I don't live in the county now but I know how the system works and how it doesn't work better than most, trust me. I was surprised when Niall Carew allowed his name to go forward for the Carlow managers job tbh, I was even more surprised when he took on the job, Niall is a decent and honest man however he is not getting the necessary support to achieve worthwhile progress, it must be remembered that Covid took its toll on all counties for at least two years including Carlow and that was anything but helpful ,by the way neither did Anthony Rainbow get support, perhaps our county boards hands are tied, I don't know that as I'm not privy to that sort of info, but what I do know is the C,C, board has a defunct PR system for a long time now, in my opinion a transparent PR system is a must, so too is a supporters club. The best example of a positive PR is when the London board announced that they will forgo all ticket charges in hurling and football for the coming year imagine that, while at home there are a lot of county boards who are to say the least, tight fisted including our own.

Let it be said we are part of div. 4 for as far back as I can remember therefore we own it, and because of that we do not have a god given right to assume we will beat any team or to feel disappointed, changes are needed, brave changes at that. It's not helpful either when we have one or two posters popping up here at an opportunistic time to stir it, and then lie low for another few months or whatever
I am sorry if I gave you the impression I was giving a lecture, that was not intended, anyway it appears as if one year rolls into another.
Take care.

PS. With a long term appointment comes long term problems, - - - without appropriate support that is.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 01/02/2022 12:50:47    2397684