Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Commodore:  "A few years back top Intercounty players were getting offered $10k - $18k to travel stateside.
I heard recently that one Ulster player got offered ~$32k to skip Ulster Championship and go play in the States.

While its nice chance to make money on a one off if your County is out of Championship, its not good if County players a purposely missing playing for the County because they know there is a financial windfall awaiting them over in the US."
True. But say if you're a student and have accomodation and living expenses to consider for the college year ahead, said windfall could be a massive factor in any decision. I've heard some Galway students are living as far out as Tuam these days due to rental pressures. Can only imagine what Dublin must be like.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/06/2022 14:30:38    2428644

Replying To rorysboys:  "Good team but when 2023 happens this won't happen . One or two of them won't be here, plus injuries ,gallen on every best team but very seldom plays.. thats when a strong panel comes in. This will always be our downfall. You need these days about 25 players who are as good as each other. Do we have that I don't think so.."
Mr my glass is half empty with his insightful input.
There are players all around the county, that with the right Management will step up. Its what management is there for, to improve players and build a team.
I see even banty has stepped away from monaghan.
Has our County Board any ambition or are they happy with the last few years.
I honestly fear for Donegal the next few years, its back to pre 2011, where there were great players but lacked direction.
I hope i am wrong as it breaks my heart to go back to them days. I only can imagine how the poor players are feeling.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 29/06/2022 14:53:40    2428657

McGeehin is an interesting one. He has very clever movement and is very elusive. If he has another good club Championship he could be in the reckoning. Bradley-Walsh is another player worth keeping an eye on.

Interesting to see that Gallen posted 2-9 out in Philadelphia. Obviously a comepletely different standard of football and intensity. Just makes me wonder though how close was he for the Ulster final? If there was ever a man to land a winner in normal time it was the likes of him. He knows where the posts are and isn't afraid to go for them.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/06/2022 15:23:56    2428663

Replying To Lockjaw:  "McGeehin is an interesting one. He has very clever movement and is very elusive. If he has another good club Championship he could be in the reckoning. Bradley-Walsh is another player worth keeping an eye on.

Interesting to see that Gallen posted 2-9 out in Philadelphia. Obviously a comepletely different standard of football and intensity. Just makes me wonder though how close was he for the Ulster final? If there was ever a man to land a winner in normal time it was the likes of him. He knows where the posts are and isn't afraid to go for them."
Yeah I'm confused as to why Gallen wasn't fit to play any Championship for Donegal, not even a sub appearance, yet is fit to travel to US 2 weeks after we are knocked out and score that, very strange.

Yeah Eoin McGeehin is very elusive, makes him ideal inside against packed defenses, he stands out as the type of presence that could do serious damage inside with his pace and scoring. I think with Murphy and McBrearty we are very predictable in recent years, that opposition teams can really count on us to do the same stuff over and over again.

I think management should start rotating the likes of Murphy, McBrearty and McHugh, so opposition never know if they are starting or will be an impact sub late in the match, make us more unpredictable.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 29/06/2022 17:08:08    2428690

Replying To Commodore:  "Yeah I'm confused as to why Gallen wasn't fit to play any Championship for Donegal, not even a sub appearance, yet is fit to travel to US 2 weeks after we are knocked out and score that, very strange.

Yeah Eoin McGeehin is very elusive, makes him ideal inside against packed defenses, he stands out as the type of presence that could do serious damage inside with his pace and scoring. I think with Murphy and McBrearty we are very predictable in recent years, that opposition teams can really count on us to do the same stuff over and over again.

I think management should start rotating the likes of Murphy, McBrearty and McHugh, so opposition never know if they are starting or will be an impact sub late in the match, make us more unpredictable."
Gallen played the 2nd half against Fanad in a division 2 league game a week after the Armagh game. Scored 1-5 in the 2nd half, apparently he looked really sharp and was all over the pitch. I know its a far lower standard than playing Armagh in Clones, but its hard to believe he wasn't even fit enough for the bench against Armagh a week earlier

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 29/06/2022 17:47:08    2428699

Replying To Commodore:  "Yeah I'm confused as to why Gallen wasn't fit to play any Championship for Donegal, not even a sub appearance, yet is fit to travel to US 2 weeks after we are knocked out and score that, very strange.

I think management should start rotating the likes of Murphy, McBrearty and McHugh, so opposition never know if they are starting or will be an impact sub late in the match, make us more unpredictable."
What's strange about gallen not playing. If he's only back doing light work with Donegal do you think he was going to have any impact with Donegal. American football is a different level. Strange you even think like that., if gallen would make an impact and ready to go, do you not think management would play him.. no doubt if bonner played him and he got injured , bonner as usual would be vilified on here same as when Murphy played against down last year. Make up your mind s what yous want

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 29/06/2022 17:50:21    2428702

Think we're writing of the greatest Donegal player of all time a bit early her

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 29/06/2022 18:00:50    2428708

Might not be a bad idea keeping them three boys on the bench,Imagine the impact they would make coming on in the second half and the fear that would put in the opposition.Regarding those three I think McBrearty is much the same player he always was,McHugh doesn't get on the end of things like he used to probably having to watch the defensive end too much.Murphy is becoming a bit of a distraction overshadowing every thing else,He is all the talk,is he fit where will he play ,is he the greatest.Does he decide himself where to play and if he does what happened against Derry Well Well ???

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 29/06/2022 20:17:54    2428737

Replying To Commodore:  "My changes for 2023 might shock a few people, but

1. Shaun Patton

2. Caolan Ward
3. Brendan McCole
4. Stephen McMenamin or Conor Morrison (If fully fit)

5. Eoghan Ban Gallagher
6. Jack MacCeallbhuí
7. Odhran McFadden-Ferry or Tony McClenaghan

8. Ciaran Thompson (As suggested by Naomh Conaill)
9. Caolan McGonigle

10. Shane O'Donnell
11. Michael Langan
12. Jason McGee

13. Oisin Gallen
14. Eoin McGeehin (St Eunans)
15. Jamie Brennan

IMPACT SUBS
Michael Murphy
Paddy McBrearty
Ryan McHugh
Peadar Mogan
Paul Brennan"
No Conor o Donnell amazing how good of a league he had and likes of bonner and supporters reckon he isn't good enough for a starting spot. His piece of skill got us over line against very average div 4 Cavan team.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 29/06/2022 20:21:58    2428738

Replying To gunman:  "Might not be a bad idea keeping them three boys on the bench,Imagine the impact they would make coming on in the second half and the fear that would put in the opposition.Regarding those three I think McBrearty is much the same player he always was,McHugh doesn't get on the end of things like he used to probably having to watch the defensive end too much.Murphy is becoming a bit of a distraction overshadowing every thing else,He is all the talk,is he fit where will he play ,is he the greatest.Does he decide himself where to play and if he does what happened against Derry Well Well ???"
Yeah I was thinking of the impact bringing those guys all on at the same time would have, like the opposition would seriously have to re-adjust and it would cause chaos, as they would be all coming in to attacking positions.

However personally I would prefer if they rotated them each game, so we are less predictable, so its not always the same 3 on the bench and they all still get to start games.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 30/06/2022 10:37:37    2428769

Lots of people suggesting teams for 2023, but all the players being named are players from the existing panel that have been used for the last few years and not had any success. Surely some new players from the u20's or from the development squad will come into the team in 2023. It needs freshening up, too many players in the team are guaranteed to play no matter how they perform.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 30/06/2022 10:44:21    2428770

Replying To marty234:  "

1. Shaun Patton

2. Caolan Ward
3. Brendan McCole

5. Eoghan Ban Gallagher
6. Jack MacCeallbhuí

9. Caolan McGonigle

10. Shane O'Donnell
11. Michael Langan
12. Jason McGee

13. Oisin Gallen
15. Jamie Brennan

IMPACT SUBS
Michael Murphy
Paddy McBrearty
Ryan McHugh
Peadar Mogan
Paul Brennan"
No Conor o Donnell amazing how good of a league he had and likes of bonner and supporters reckon he isn't good enough for a starting spot. His piece of skill got us over line against very average div 4 Cavan team."
Conor O'Donnell isn't good enough for a Championship starting spot right now, he needs more time to develop his game, but definitely has the raw potential to become a great future player. I noticed his impact was magnified in games where he was still relatively unknown, where the opposition weren't paying attention to him and giving him a free reign.
However in games where he was getting attention, his influence was diminished.

Running in to tap in a goal is welcome, but you have to also look at performance for the total time on the pitch, and while Conor is definitely a up and coming star, I think he needs more time and needs to work on his game more.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 30/06/2022 10:58:36    2428775

Replying To marty234:  "

1. Shaun Patton

2. Caolan Ward
3. Brendan McCole

5. Eoghan Ban Gallagher
6. Jack MacCeallbhuí

9. Caolan McGonigle

10. Shane O'Donnell
11. Michael Langan
12. Jason McGee

13. Oisin Gallen
15. Jamie Brennan

IMPACT SUBS
Michael Murphy
Paddy McBrearty
Ryan McHugh
Peadar Mogan
Paul Brennan"
No Conor o Donnell amazing how good of a league he had and likes of bonner and supporters reckon he isn't good enough for a starting spot. His piece of skill got us over line against very average div 4 Cavan team."
So scoring a goal against as you say against a very average division 4 team should guarantee you a place on the Donegal team. You never fail to disappoint lad. My old granny is 80 and she knows more about football than. You do. Comedy gold would sum it up.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 30/06/2022 11:48:14    2428781

Replying To greenfan:  "Lots of people suggesting teams for 2023, but all the players being named are players from the existing panel that have been used for the last few years and not had any success. Surely some new players from the u20's or from the development squad will come into the team in 2023. It needs freshening up, too many players in the team are guaranteed to play no matter how they perform."
I suggested bringing in Eoin McGeehin from St Eunans, I think he could be a great inside forward, he seems to operate perfectly against Mass defenses and tricky to mark.

As for the U20's, we just need to see them in action in McKenna Cup or National League to get a feel for how they cope. There are definitely a few of them who are going to make the jump to seniors successfully, its just a matter of when they are ready.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 30/06/2022 12:07:16    2428788

Apart from a lone sniper, a lot of really good comments here about where the team could go from next year. One thing is certain, everything needs a good freshen up. There are a few players surviving on reputation at this point for me, the predictability of our lineup needs to change as well as the mono dimensional attacking plays. Unfortunately I'm not confident that will happen without greater change, given the recent years. It baffles me how some people want to normalise low expectations and hide behind the 'well, we just aren't good enough' line. It's weak and it's not accurate. Only brave calls now will steer us away from the rocks.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 30/06/2022 12:38:05    2428792

Replying To Commodore:  "
Replying To marty234:  "[quote=Commodore:  "My changes for 2023 might shock a few people, but

1. Shaun Patton

2. Caolan Ward
3. Brendan McCole

5. Eoghan Ban Gallagher
6. Jack MacCeallbhuí

9. Caolan McGonigle

10. Shane O'Donnell
11. Michael Langan
12. Jason McGee

13. Oisin Gallen
15. Jamie Brennan

IMPACT SUBS
Michael Murphy
Paddy McBrearty
Ryan McHugh
Peadar Mogan
Paul Brennan"
Conor O'Donnell isn't good enough for a Championship starting spot right now, he needs more time to develop his game, but definitely has the raw potential to become a great future player. I noticed his impact was magnified in games where he was still relatively unknown, where the opposition weren't paying attention to him and giving him a free reign.
However in games where he was getting attention, his influence was diminished.

Running in to tap in a goal is welcome, but you have to also look at performance for the total time on the pitch, and while Conor is definitely a up and coming star, I think he needs more time and needs to work on his game more."]interesting selection i say all your impact subs would then all retire and you soon be joining very average cavan in division 3

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 30/06/2022 12:39:45    2428793

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Apart from a lone sniper, a lot of really good comments here about where the team could go from next year. One thing is certain, everything needs a good freshen up. There are a few players surviving on reputation at this point for me, the predictability of our lineup needs to change as well as the mono dimensional attacking plays. Unfortunately I'm not confident that will happen without greater change, given the recent years. It baffles me how some people want to normalise low expectations and hide behind the 'well, we just aren't good enough' line. It's weak and it's not accurate. Only brave calls now will steer us away from the rocks."
Beware of the sniper he might be talking silly in your eyes, but when all is said and done he could be the one talking the most sense. Remember that

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 30/06/2022 13:16:49    2428807

Replying To Commodore:  "I suggested bringing in Eoin McGeehin from St Eunans, I think he could be a great inside forward, he seems to operate perfectly against Mass defenses and tricky to mark.

As for the U20's, we just need to see them in action in McKenna Cup or National League to get a feel for how they cope. There are definitely a few of them who are going to make the jump to seniors successfully, its just a matter of when they are ready."
Yeah I think next spring will be a crucial period in terms of where we're going, no matter who is in charge. It's obviously preferable to be operating in Division One, but I wouldn't say it's the be-all and end-all either. If we ended up relegated but managed to blood a good few new faces e.g. McGeehin, Bradley-Walsh, Tobin, Grant, McGroddy, Curran, McColgan Dunleavey...and fingers crossed maybe even see the likes of Morrison back it might not be the worst thing.

There might even be a few lads that emerge with their reputations enhanced after the club championships as well.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 30/06/2022 13:21:48    2428811

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I think next spring will be a crucial period in terms of where we're going, no matter who is in charge. It's obviously preferable to be operating in Division One, but I wouldn't say it's the be-all and end-all either. If we ended up relegated but managed to blood a good few new faces e.g. McGeehin, Bradley-Walsh, Tobin, Grant, McGroddy, Curran, McColgan Dunleavey...and fingers crossed maybe even see the likes of Morrison back it might not be the worst thing.

There might even be a few lads that emerge with their reputations enhanced after the club championships as well."
I always thought from his minor days that Curran had potential.Tobin and Dunleavy were 2 of the better players in the U20s but they don't seem to be playing for their clubs these days.Are they injured or away or what?

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 30/06/2022 13:48:37    2428819

interesting selection i say all your impact subs would then all retire and you soon be joining very average cavan in division 3

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 30/06/2022 12:39:45

The average age of this Donegal panel is actually quite low, remember that Paddy McBrearty and Ryan McHugh are still only 28. I think only Michael Murphy and Neil McGee are over 30, maybe Caolan Ward too, but the bulk of our players are 25-26 or younger.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 30/06/2022 14:07:26    2428826