Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sorry lad if I offended you , I didn't mean to call you or the decent posters bluffer's. Just not thinking right lad. You know the people I'm getting at. In all honesty I don't think we're as good as Armagh, plain simple. Brendan devenny put it well today he says we don't have the physicality in defence,, I'm not being smart but outside of the squad that's there.. who's to come in. Jamie grant, caolan Mc golgan. Both similar to what we have."
Have we less physicality now than when Jim took over? Paddy McGrath, Lacey, McGlynn, Thompson were not more physical than what we have now. But mentality wise, they are a world apart. Or take the example of Caolan McGonigle and Michael Langan. They are tecnically more gifted footballers than their compatriots Ryan Bradley and Rory Kavanagh, but have they gone to the well? Would they make the sacrifices of Bradley, doing 10 mile runs before training, or Kavanagh eating double dinners to out on the bulk required. That's what we're lacking, not the footballers, but the hard edge.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 13/06/2022 13:29:44    2424633

Interesting that a few posters have referenced the Donegal management and players 'boycott' of the local media? Is this true and if so what is the motive?

Any local stuff i have listened to in the last week didn't seem that over the top of damming of the current set up bar maybe one of the papers.

If it was that bad surely the co commentators on both radio stations yesterday would have an issue with it as well considering they have a close relation on the starting XV.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 13/06/2022 14:04:09    2424661

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Please stop, Ryan Mc, Paddy Mc and Michael have loads to give us. Big Neil is different as he is a bit older, let them back to their clubs and rest them during the national league, so what if we go down to division 2, but if we are building it will be worth it. I agree a new manager is needed. Declan has done loads for Donegal and is a gentleman but his time is up. I would give Rochford the job or get Kevin O'Brien the Corofin three time All Ireland winning manager in. If we don't others will be looking for them. From what I see there is absolutely no one inside the county with the standard of club football been played. We need to get away from this defensive cautious craic."
Jacktheboy is from Mayo.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 13/06/2022 14:05:48    2424664

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Interesting that a few posters have referenced the Donegal management and players 'boycott' of the local media? Is this true and if so what is the motive?

Any local stuff i have listened to in the last week didn't seem that over the top of damming of the current set up bar maybe one of the papers.

If it was that bad surely the co commentators on both radio stations yesterday would have an issue with it as well considering they have a close relation on the starting XV."
I saw one of the reports that said the only word from the Donegal dressing room was that nobody would be coming out to speak to the media. I didn't see anything about local press, maybe Rory has picked it up wrong because I don't know about anyone else but I haven't seen quotes from the Donegal camp in any media outlet at all, local or national.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 13/06/2022 14:10:07    2424669

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Have we less physicality now than when Jim took over? Paddy McGrath, Lacey, McGlynn, Thompson were not more physical than what we have now. But mentality wise, they are a world apart. Or take the example of Caolan McGonigle and Michael Langan. They are tecnically more gifted footballers than their compatriots Ryan Bradley and Rory Kavanagh, but have they gone to the well? Would they make the sacrifices of Bradley, doing 10 mile runs before training, or Kavanagh eating double dinners to out on the bulk required. That's what we're lacking, not the footballers, but the hard edge."
I think there is a bit of that alright, we can be very passive at times. McGuinness was able to marry superb fitness with controlled aggression. 'Contact' was a huge mantra of his. Defending deep is no use if the player in possession's life is not being made hell. It's very easy to say that of course, another thing doing it. I think we've certainly lost that aura of meanness and intensity.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 13/06/2022 14:14:00    2424670

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Another disappointing day yesterday in what was one of the strangest matches I've seen in a good while. After a shocking start we regrouped and reacted superbly. We had Rafferty in bother with his kickouts and pinged 9 points in about 20 minutes. I really thought we had sown familiar seeds of doubt in Armagh heads & that so long as we didn't do anything silly we'd go on & comfortably win the game.

Unfortunately we did do something very silly and Armagh ruthlessly took full advantage. We needed to blitz them from the beginning of the second half to try and eat into the deficit. But Armagh got the first few scores and that was that. It was almost a damage limitation exercise in the end and it was just so dispiriting to see. Lamping balls in on top of Murphy hoping for miracles...Dhia ár sábháíl..

It will more than likely mean some stalwarts stepping away (mamagement and players). We need to be thankful for their efforts and wish them well. It's an all-consuming lifestyle. While we're in front of the fire watching Champions League them lads are often toiling in horrible conditions to be the best they can be for Donegal football. We were never going to win an All Ireland this year, it's just a pity we couldn't get that Ulster medal. Life is tough at times, the only answer is to lick the wounds and soldier on."
Yes Lockjaw the players and management work hard when we are sitting on our ***** in front of a fire but they aren't doing it for nothing, it's a great honour to play for your county I know if I ever had got the chance I'd have worked like a dog to get a starting spot,
anyway thanks to the players and management for their efforts unfortunately we have fallen short again, I'd have loved them to get the chance of a quarter final in Croker, bit it's not to be, we will probably see a few retirements,
I think we need a new management team, who I don't know, I'm no expert just an ordinary fan but I hope whoever gets the job can take us that wee bit further, I believe we have bags of potential, we just need to find a way to deliver on it.
If Declan decides to stay on in my opinion it's a big mistake, he has had his fair chance in all fairness.
We have the Club Championship to look forward to now, things move along quick enough, we shall rise again.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 13/06/2022 14:21:17    2424675

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I saw one of the reports that said the only word from the Donegal dressing room was that nobody would be coming out to speak to the media. I didn't see anything about local press, maybe Rory has picked it up wrong because I don't know about anyone else but I haven't seen quotes from the Donegal camp in any media outlet at all, local or national."
are people reading too much into them not speaking to the media? was it a boycott or was it just a group of men who were absolutely gutted and didn't feel like answering questions straight after a defeat

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 13/06/2022 14:33:21    2424685

Rorysboys is at it again, and as usual his knowledge on Donegal football is limited.
First of all, Murphy in at full forward was working. For two reasons, 1. being he was causing panic and winning free's and its takes two+ men to mark him, and 2. being it meant that our half forwards had more space to kick long range points.
It stopped working later on because we went well behind because of the goal keepers mistakes and going down to 14 men.
And then there was aimless ball kicked in with 4+ armagh men in there when we were already beaten at that stage. Try understand the game.

We were actually out playing armagh before the costly mistake, but yet you are saying we dont have the players. We have the players, we just lack the strong mentality that good management instills in a team.
At this stage i doubt you even go to games, as your knowledge is so poor, i know you have never played the game. But you would think you would learn something if you went to them.
The reality is, we have the players, it is however a very hard job to find a great manager to lead a team. History has shown us that, and there are not many great managers out there.
When i think of all the young talent on the bench, and the ones that were playing, i believe if we find that great manager to lead us, we will not be far away.
I hope and pray its not back to the days of pre mcguinness, where we had john joe, and our current manager destroying the confidence of our great young players.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 13/06/2022 14:38:48    2424690

Replying To Peadarw:  "rory it might surprise you but grown men and women dont need to justify what choices they make to you ...i was merely pointing out why i didnt go ...its not an excuse i dont have to justify any decisions i make to you
your far to negative and sore on players who actually give their all for the county but i suppose your entitled to slate people because you pay a few quid and spend a few hours going to games and god forbid anybody else misses a game or 2"
I'm not sore on players never have been. Point out where I was sore on a player. I respect everyone of them, great lads who deserve the utmost respect. What is did say is we haven't as good a team as people are making out we have. I don't individually blame players not my style. Another thing they deserve is a bit of support. Alot of people commenting on our lack of support.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 13/06/2022 14:50:13    2424698

Congratulations to Armagh and they put us to sword when they got chance and will go to QF with confidence. Mood probably not helped seeing Derry draw Clare, with a pathway to semi and final there. It compounds regret that not going for it in Ulster final at end of normal time. We don't recover well from Ulster final defeats.

Very disheartening feeling coming away from Clones yesterday and plenty of soul searching ahead. Arriving at ground with my son, we happened to be in Gerry Arthur when team bus arrived and they was 15-20 Donegal people there to applaud team in. It was muted and as day went on it was like an away match the difference in support. I know costs are high but I felt sorry for team, taking heat since Ulster final and big chunk of support left them when it was needed most when they in tough spot.

I thought bar goal, our first 20 minutes were as good as we have done in a while, pace, running and kicking threat, long distance shooting, Michael inside , pressing kick out well. Thought Shane O'Donnell was very good again yesterday and a real find this season. Aaron Doherty also developing steadily into this level.

The question we all look at is how we unraveled so quickly just before penalty and to half time after that we didn't really recover. We seemed to self destruct and looked frazzled by it. Even before penalty, sideline seemed very annoyed by black card not given and I think an Armagh point came off it and linesman didnt pick it up. We didn't manage that period well and usually black card can cost team 4-5 points we coughed up 1-4, i think, off it which we never got back. in ground, Armagh smelled blood and took advantage. It would have been nearly better just to concede the goal, go down injured buy some time and start again. Second half was worrying it was gone from a long way out and we kicked hit and hope balls in looking for a goal, that never looked like coming as Armagh could cover Murphy and hit on break.

I think players probably best take a break from it for a few weeks and back to club championship then.

If Declan walks away, then we thank him for the two ulster's and commitment to it. He has managed a lot of that group from Buncrana cup up . A change i think might freshen it up but we need to look at it holistically, club football, plan on how we want teams playing, developing players that meet needs of our game, try to bring support back. 20s and minors werent far away but we need to find a way that on balance of probabilities we find ourselves on right side of those results.

DonegalDanny92 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 13/06/2022 15:29:50    2424717

Replying To The keeper:  "Rorysboys is at it again, and as usual his knowledge on Donegal football is limited.
First of all, Murphy in at full forward was working. For two reasons, 1. being he was causing panic and winning free's and its takes two+ men to mark him, and 2. being it meant that our half forwards had more space to kick long range points.
It stopped working later on because we went well behind because of the goal keepers mistakes and going down to 14 men.
And then there was aimless ball kicked in with 4+ armagh men in there when we were already beaten at that stage. Try understand the game.

We were actually out playing armagh before the costly mistake, but yet you are saying we dont have the players. We have the players, we just lack the strong mentality that good management instills in a team.
At this stage i doubt you even go to games, as your knowledge is so poor, i know you have never played the game. But you would think you would learn something if you went to them.
The reality is, we have the players, it is however a very hard job to find a great manager to lead a team. History has shown us that, and there are not many great managers out there.
When i think of all the young talent on the bench, and the ones that were playing, i believe if we find that great manager to lead us, we will not be far away.
I hope and pray its not back to the days of pre mcguinness, where we had john joe, and our current manager destroying the confidence of our great young players."
Was talking to alot of genuine Donegal fans leaving the ground yesterday and a lot of them were saying, that might put the Murphy at full forward to bed once and for all. Thats no disrespect to our greatest full forward ever. Knowing Michael I think he feels he can offer more out the pitch and I fully Agree. You might see it differently on tv lad. Also alot of annoyance amongst the supporters who were there about the lack of support. So keeper hope your satisfied by your non attendance. How does if feel to be a bandwagon supporter. You wudnt be Jim Mc Guinness in disguise.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 13/06/2022 16:18:42    2424739

Rorysboys you must be exhausted from yesterday what with conducting a Donegal Vox pop in clones and being personal buddies with every donegal player. Fair play to you!

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 13/06/2022 16:21:50    2424741

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "Rorysboys you must be exhausted from yesterday what with conducting a Donegal Vox pop in clones and being personal buddies with every donegal player. Fair play to you!"
At least I was there boss ,unlike most of the experts.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 13/06/2022 16:52:33    2424758

Replying To rorysboys:  "Was talking to alot of genuine Donegal fans leaving the ground yesterday and a lot of them were saying, that might put the Murphy at full forward to bed once and for all. Thats no disrespect to our greatest full forward ever. Knowing Michael I think he feels he can offer more out the pitch and I fully Agree. You might see it differently on tv lad. Also alot of annoyance amongst the supporters who were there about the lack of support. So keeper hope your satisfied by your non attendance. How does if feel to be a bandwagon supporter. You wudnt be Jim Mc Guinness in disguise."
Yes Michael Murphy out the pitch really worked against Derry, my god!!!!
I dont believe for a second you were at the game, and every Donegal and gaa man around the country knows murphy should be in full forward.
The talent is there, we just need the right man to lead them, to bring back that aggression and will to win no matter what set backs happen in a game.
Sadly that has been missing in both Bonners terms as manager, good players but lack of belief.
I dont blame bonner, he does his best and puts in a lot of time. But the reality is he is just not the man for the job.
I wish him well in whatever he does after Donegal, but i hope he does the right thing for Donegal football now and steps aside.
I will concentrate now on club football and look forward to supporting my great club NC.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 13/06/2022 16:55:15    2424761

Replying To DonegalDanny92:  "Congratulations to Armagh and they put us to sword when they got chance and will go to QF with confidence. Mood probably not helped seeing Derry draw Clare, with a pathway to semi and final there. It compounds regret that not going for it in Ulster final at end of normal time. We don't recover well from Ulster final defeats.

Very disheartening feeling coming away from Clones yesterday and plenty of soul searching ahead. Arriving at ground with my son, we happened to be in Gerry Arthur when team bus arrived and they was 15-20 Donegal people there to applaud team in. It was muted and as day went on it was like an away match the difference in support. I know costs are high but I felt sorry for team, taking heat since Ulster final and big chunk of support left them when it was needed most when they in tough spot.

I thought bar goal, our first 20 minutes were as good as we have done in a while, pace, running and kicking threat, long distance shooting, Michael inside , pressing kick out well. Thought Shane O'Donnell was very good again yesterday and a real find this season. Aaron Doherty also developing steadily into this level.

The question we all look at is how we unraveled so quickly just before penalty and to half time after that we didn't really recover. We seemed to self destruct and looked frazzled by it. Even before penalty, sideline seemed very annoyed by black card not given and I think an Armagh point came off it and linesman didnt pick it up. We didn't manage that period well and usually black card can cost team 4-5 points we coughed up 1-4, i think, off it which we never got back. in ground, Armagh smelled blood and took advantage. It would have been nearly better just to concede the goal, go down injured buy some time and start again. Second half was worrying it was gone from a long way out and we kicked hit and hope balls in looking for a goal, that never looked like coming as Armagh could cover Murphy and hit on break.

I think players probably best take a break from it for a few weeks and back to club championship then.

If Declan walks away, then we thank him for the two ulster's and commitment to it. He has managed a lot of that group from Buncrana cup up . A change i think might freshen it up but we need to look at it holistically, club football, plan on how we want teams playing, developing players that meet needs of our game, try to bring support back. 20s and minors werent far away but we need to find a way that on balance of probabilities we find ourselves on right side of those results."
Very good post. Nice to read a very honest view. Good stuff Donegal Danny . Pity we haven't more posters like you.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 13/06/2022 17:17:00    2424768

Ulster champions have Clare in a quarter final and the winners of Galway/Armagh in the semi's.....we really well and truly blew it this year. Who would have taken that at the start of the year to get to an All Ireland final??

Hopefully there is going to be a change of management and more importantly a change of direction. MM at full forward until he retires, hopefully a fit oisin gallen inside with him and hopefully a few lads putting their hands up in the club championship.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 13/06/2022 18:11:27    2424782

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "Rorysboys you must be exhausted from yesterday what with conducting a Donegal Vox pop in clones and being personal buddies with every donegal player. Fair play to you!"
Not much odds anyway about what bs is spouted on here unless we get a top management team in place that can really change the mindset and get the best out of our players we will just get more of the same.
The fans are voting with their feet, spoke to a fair few people today who were that sickened after the Ulster final display that they didn't go yesterday and were glad today they didn't go.
I predicted earlier that Armagh would have round 80% of the support and I'd say I wasn't far wrong.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 13/06/2022 18:12:17    2424783

Replying To DonegalDanny92:  "Congratulations to Armagh and they put us to sword when they got chance and will go to QF with confidence. Mood probably not helped seeing Derry draw Clare, with a pathway to semi and final there. It compounds regret that not going for it in Ulster final at end of normal time. We don't recover well from Ulster final defeats.

If Declan walks away, then we thank him for the two ulster's and commitment to it. He has managed a lot of that group from Buncrana cup up . A change i think might freshen it up but we need to look at it holistically, club football, plan on how we want teams playing, developing players that meet needs of our game, try to bring support back. 20s and minors werent far away but we need to find a way that on balance of probabilities we find ourselves on right side of those results."
Just on your point of the support yesterday.

I was in the Creighton for a wee while beforehand. It was cringeworthy stuff. There were Armagh supporters looking to have their photographs taken, for no other reason than I was one of the only Donegal supporters there. In the town we were easily outnumbered, I'd say to the run of 25 to 1. It didn't appear much better at the pitch, maybe 20 to 1. And then on the way out after the game, coupled with being one of the only supporters left, I heard Armagh supporters mocking me in a way by saying "That's the Donegal man that was doing all the shouting". It was embarrassing. I spoke with a number of genuine Armagh supporters who just couldn't comprehend how little support we had.

To me it felt like Crossmaglen 2010 all over again. I remember the support was so bad that day that a fella I knew on the squad at the time rang me that morning to give me the free tickets he had been given by the County Board. I just don't know where we go from here.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 13/06/2022 18:39:07    2424790

Replying To The keeper:  "Yes Michael Murphy out the pitch really worked against Derry, my god!!!!
I dont believe for a second you were at the game, and every Donegal and gaa man around the country knows murphy should be in full forward.
The talent is there, we just need the right man to lead them, to bring back that aggression and will to win no matter what set backs happen in a game.
Sadly that has been missing in both Bonners terms as manager, good players but lack of belief.
I dont blame bonner, he does his best and puts in a lot of time. But the reality is he is just not the man for the job.
I wish him well in whatever he does after Donegal, but i hope he does the right thing for Donegal football now and steps aside.
I will concentrate now on club football and look forward to supporting my great club NC."
Hope you enjoy it lad. Nice to be watching a team playing positive football. Not

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 13/06/2022 19:11:55    2424798

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Not much odds anyway about what bs is spouted on here unless we get a top management team in place that can really change the mindset and get the best out of our players we will just get more of the same.
The fans are voting with their feet, spoke to a fair few people today who were that sickened after the Ulster final display that they didn't go yesterday and were glad today they didn't go.
I predicted earlier that Armagh would have round 80% of the support and I'd say I wasn't far wrong."
Yea that's fair weather supporters in a nutshell.. we have thousands of them

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 13/06/2022 19:14:28    2424799