Donegal GAA thread

Replying To isfeidirrlinn:  "Both teams fined by the gaa if you recall"
The thuggery was not punished due to lack of credible video evidence. No player was suspended for this reason. I don't think county boards can get away with throwing a few bob to escape bans for violent conduct somehow!!

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 183 - 25/05/2026 13:47:50    2675376

Very fair match analysis by Daragh O Cinneide on RnaG after mid day.
Listen back on Saol o Dheas podcast. Daragh is good presenter.
Anyone know what or who had the KY players so wound up .? . don't think it was Jack… gets a bit of flak but is a proven winner .. is it 5 All Irelands at this stage.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 657 - 25/05/2026 14:09:03    2675387

Replying To ulsterrules:  "When you watch the video back you see 2 Kerry players holding Ryan while one got the punch in, Kerry bravery.
But the Kerry #9 holding Ryan so he could not defend himself from #10, Those Kerry angels.

Normally you would say each county has a handfull of bad egg supporters but the boing of Murphy shows that Kerry might have more than most, I don't remember anyone being treated like that. All from one bad tackle in a league final ?"
John Small got booed for years for one mistimed tackle and some would say it was dangerous in fairness, in Murphy's case calling it a tackle is a bit of a whitewash, firstly you can't tackle with a closed fisted, and you can't target the opponents neck/head.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1129 - 25/05/2026 14:16:54    2675393

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "I don't think Jim said anything whatsoever about it being an anti Donegal thing. He was put on the spot by a journo looking for the big story (gentleman or not, he knew full well what he was at). He looked like a rabbit in the headlights and didn't react well. So what, he's human and it was an absolutely nothing incident in the grand scheme of things. He was caught on the hop and got a very defensive. Big deal. He may get 12 weeks and if he doesn't it will be more due to the content of the ref's report. If Jim gets a suspension, there will be many others who will too, including Clifford."
Are you serious? Jim does play the anti Donegal thing. Same with fixtures last year. Siege mentality. Journo wasn't looking for a story. It was a totally legit question and Jim was playing to the narrative .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8842 - 25/05/2026 14:41:55    2675405

Replying To ulsterrules:  "When you watch the video back you see 2 Kerry players holding Ryan while one got the punch in, Kerry bravery.
But the Kerry #9 holding Ryan so he could not defend himself from #10, Those Kerry angels.

Normally you would say each county has a handfull of bad egg supporters but the boing of Murphy shows that Kerry might have more than most, I don't remember anyone being treated like that. All from one bad tackle in a league final ?"
Tackle? Lol.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8842 - 25/05/2026 14:42:50    2675406

The Armagh wans getting all high and mighty about the weekend is the funniest take I've seen.
If it's melees, cheap shots, mouthing or eye gouging you're after, look no further.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10342 - 25/05/2026 14:50:04    2675410

Replying To sligo joe:  "John Small got booed for years for one mistimed tackle and some would say it was dangerous in fairness, in Murphy's case calling it a tackle is a bit of a whitewash, firstly you can't tackle with a closed fisted, and you can't target the opponents neck/head."
Small plays on the edge. He lined up Eoghan McLaughlin to blindsude hit him yard and fair and the hit was mistimed slightly but awful consequences for Eoghan. If the same hit resulted in Eoghan bouncing up after he was hit we wouldn't be talking about it. We could do with a few players with an edge, besides Ryan O'Donoghue, in 2026.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8577 - 25/05/2026 14:58:44    2675419

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "Matters not one jot what Clifford's intention was, his arm was high, it was a red. You know what's also tiresome... McGuinness getting hounded by the entire country for every word or act he does out of place. People letting on that it's fairness issue and an upholding of the rules that they're pontificating about when it's nothing other than pure hatred for Jim that is driving them. I'm not referring to you, but it's all over social media. Lots of Armagh people seem awfully keen to uphold the gaa rule book, less so when the authorities couldn't act due to inconclusive video evidence of their thuggery after the ulster final last year. Strange that."
It's Jim's way or no way, and the way he reacted to Tommy Rooney from Off The Ball asking him a question just about sums him up.

A incident on the pitch between 2 players is one thing, and maybe you're right about Clifford - same way Murphy should have walked in the league final too. But that's a separate issue.

But management and coaching staff should not be in the middle of a brawl, or pushing opposition players etc.. The ban to Ger Brennan was a precedent set by the GAA to prevent this sort of stuff. So when Jim McGuinness end up is in the middle of brawl pushing players about any screaming obscenities, don't be surprised if you're asked a question about whether you're worried you'll face a ban given what happened to Brennan.

Fair play to Tommy Rooney for asking it, if he had any bottle he'd have laid into Jim more. Why were you in the middle of a skirmish sort of thing?

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 150 - 25/05/2026 15:08:01    2675422

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Are you serious? Jim does play the anti Donegal thing. Same with fixtures last year. Siege mentality. Journo wasn't looking for a story. It was a totally legit question and Jim was playing to the narrative ."
And let's get real, what did you honestly expect Jim to say to that "legit question"? Like I said, he knew exactly what he was at.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 183 - 25/05/2026 15:15:59    2675427

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  " It's Jim's way or no way, and the way he reacted to Tommy Rooney from Off The Ball asking him a question just about sums him up.

A incident on the pitch between 2 players is one thing, and maybe you're right about Clifford - same way Murphy should have walked in the league final too. But that's a separate issue.

But management and coaching staff should not be in the middle of a brawl, or pushing opposition players etc.. The ban to Ger Brennan was a precedent set by the GAA to prevent this sort of stuff. So when Jim McGuinness end up is in the middle of brawl pushing players about any screaming obscenities, don't be surprised if you're asked a question about whether you're worried you'll face a ban given what happened to Brennan.

Fair play to Tommy Rooney for asking it, if he had any bottle he'd have laid into Jim more. Why were you in the middle of a skirmish sort of thing?"
Did the brave Tommy have any tough questions for Jack about the behaviour of his players and coaching staff?

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 183 - 25/05/2026 15:20:07    2675432