Replying To farneygael3: "There's a photo of Shaun Patton receiving his 100th cap on Facebook from the chairman, who took the photo???" Our Chair is a woman.
Our PRO is a woman.
And if you had an All Ireland Medal in Mongahan, what would you be? A Woman.
Bye bye @FarneyFail3
SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 839 - 14/07/2025 10:44:33
Replying To Lockjaw: "Around the same time last year, although bitterly disappointed that we had narrowly lost to Galway, I was convinced that this team would improve under the great Jim McGuinness. Add one of the greatest to ever do it back into the mix, and well - we're almost there.
An incredible win yesterday. Could not find fault with a single player. It was a really ruthless & clinical performance. The quality off the bench was fantastic to see. I think two of the biggest roars I gave yesterday was when Caolan McGonagle did a wee dummy and then went on one of his trademark charges up the pitch, and another time when he smashed a Meath kickout about 40 yards!
Kerry will obviously provide a stiffer test in two weeks time. David Clifford was awesome the other day, but I felt Tyrone didn't do enough to protect Hampsey. I'm sure Jim will be busy devising a plan to negate Clifford's impact. It will go a long way towards beating them. Seanie O'Shea was closely tagged on Saturday and was nowhere near as influential. The other Clifford will need special attention too.
Great support yesterday too! It was good craic at the toll booth on the way home. Hills of Donegal blaring, horns tooting! Some buzz now for the next couple of weeks!" Relentless performance from Donegal yesterday and the bench players really impressed. You say you could find no fault? Well if I had to find fault it would definitely be the Donegal kick outs especially early on when it was still a contest. Can't blame Patton for all kick out malfunctions but he did have some bad ones early on and looked nervy. No doubt Kerry will try to put him on the back foot early in the final. However overall I do think Donegal have the squad and strategy to win title number 3.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 974 - 14/07/2025 10:54:41
Fantastic performance really playing fantastic stuff. I expected us to win but not by as much. Some final in store it's going to be intriguing. I think we'll do it. It's going to be highscoring but I feel kickouts and the breaking ball will be huge. Finally congratulations to Shaun patton on his 100 appearance what a keeper. The day he committed to the gaa was a great day for us.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2645 - 14/07/2025 11:25:57
Replying To SouthOfTheGap: "Our Chair is a woman.
Our PRO is a woman.
And if you had an All Ireland Medal in Mongahan, what would you be? A Woman.
Bye bye @FarneyFail3" Youre monaghan and never will be truly accepted up there, or here :))
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 291 - 14/07/2025 11:29:47
Another wee point I'd make on yesterday is the blossoming of Conor O'Donnell into a really top, top inside forward. Maybe he's gone under the radar a wee bit playing inside beside the more widely acclaimed Murphy and Gallen. But by God he's some man to go for the jugular. He's a wee bit unorthodox in style, but a very very dangerous weapon for us.
A lot of the chat after our semi final loss last year was about how if we'd had Murphy, it might have tipped the scales in our favour. But people forget that O'Donnell got injured in training the week leading up to that game. Ifs and buts now of course, but who knows, maybe Conor would have fired a 1-1 or a 1-2 to see us through to the 2024 final.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9892 - 14/07/2025 11:31:31
Fantastic performance by Donegal yesterday over a young Meath team that did not do themselves justice. Great buzz around Drumcondra over the entire weekend. The attendances at both semi finals and at the quarter finals have proved that the new rules have got the supporters back and saved our game to some extent. Should be a great final and tickets will be like gold dust. What I would give to see the Rossies in a senior All Ireland final!. Enjoy the next two weeks as these special experiences do not come around too often, if at all, for the vast majority of GAA supporters.
letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 775 - 14/07/2025 11:42:45
Well done Donegal, the result was never in doubt and the margin was not really a surprise either. From a Monaghan perspective it has also brought a sense of realism, and optimism, about our second half a few weeks back! I hope 100% Donegal go on now and deliver a final performance and result for the ages. You have an objectively better team and panel than Kerry, and I think the team knows it too. Kerry will look for all the edges they can find- expect a few articles about the 'treatment' DC has gotten from defenders all year for example- but Donegal have been round the block for long enough to deal with all that. McGuinness' plan for Kerry's inside forward(s) will be worth waiting for. My hunch is Ciaran Moore will be given a job to do on Clifford- his pace and ability to recover on the turn seem like just the solution needed. Caolan McGonagle back is a huge, huge plus for Donegal also. A brilliant match and a fortnight's hype to look forward to- a Donegal win would be a fitting capstone to the greatest football season of all time. Enjoy.
Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1266 - 14/07/2025 11:46:52
Another great second half performance from Donegal. We seem to be very strong in the second half of games. A few weeks ago everyone was saying we looked out of energy after hard Ulster run, no word on that now lol. Jim seems to have timed our run to perfection and we are beginning to look stronger with each game.
I thought Meath played well in the first 20 minutes, they just didn't capitalise on their good play. They kept going for two pointers and missing them. The two pointer is a real double edged sword, if you start missing them its drains the life out of you. It was a similar story for Tyrone the previous day. The winning margin flattered us but we did put in a brilliant second half performance. Best of luck to Meath going forward, thought their fans were brilliant yesterday and they really bring something to any occasion.
Special word for Conor O'Donnell, he is actually playing better than Murphy and Gallen. I love the way he is so direct, when he gets the ball he is immediately looking to take on his man. He reminds me of Darren O'Sullivan who used to play for Kerry. We have a brilliant full forward line and Paddy to come from the bench, could hardly ask for more than that.
The next two weeks will be all about tickets. I'll get my rant over now. If you are under 18 and a club member and gone to every game, you don't get a ticket. That is really unfair.
Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1919 - 14/07/2025 11:53:27
Replying To Green_Gold: "Another great second half performance from Donegal. We seem to be very strong in the second half of games. A few weeks ago everyone was saying we looked out of energy after hard Ulster run, no word on that now lol. Jim seems to have timed our run to perfection and we are beginning to look stronger with each game.
I thought Meath played well in the first 20 minutes, they just didn't capitalise on their good play. They kept going for two pointers and missing them. The two pointer is a real double edged sword, if you start missing them its drains the life out of you. It was a similar story for Tyrone the previous day. The winning margin flattered us but we did put in a brilliant second half performance. Best of luck to Meath going forward, thought their fans were brilliant yesterday and they really bring something to any occasion.
Special word for Conor O'Donnell, he is actually playing better than Murphy and Gallen. I love the way he is so direct, when he gets the ball he is immediately looking to take on his man. He reminds me of Darren O'Sullivan who used to play for Kerry. We have a brilliant full forward line and Paddy to come from the bench, could hardly ask for more than that.
The next two weeks will be all about tickets. I'll get my rant over now. If you are under 18 and a club member and gone to every game, you don't get a ticket. That is really unfair." What a two weeks to look forward to.
I felt Donegal had the capacity to beat Meath by 10 or more but 20 is unreal.
Still make Kerry favourites but it really could all come down to McCole against Clifford.
The line would be set at 5-6 points. If McCole keeps him under it, he's done exceptionally well and above it, means Clifford has won the exchange. He's that good.
I'd wonder as well will Jim just decide to let McCole take him on his own. Not try and double and triple mark him as that will obviously create space elsewhere and gaps and tire us out from counter attacking.
So in essence, let McCole try and win his titantic battle and let the rest go and get enough points to counteract whatever Clifford and Co do.
Would be amazing if McGonagle was fully fit in time to watch Sean O Shea too. Otherwise not sure who we would use on him bar zonal.
shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 403 - 14/07/2025 12:35:44
Replying To Green_Gold: "Another great second half performance from Donegal. We seem to be very strong in the second half of games. A few weeks ago everyone was saying we looked out of energy after hard Ulster run, no word on that now lol. Jim seems to have timed our run to perfection and we are beginning to look stronger with each game.
The next two weeks will be all about tickets. I'll get my rant over now. If you are under 18 and a club member and gone to every game, you don't get a ticket. That is really unfair." Why do under 18s not get a ticket?
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1268 - 14/07/2025 12:39:34
Replying To Lockjaw: "Another wee point I'd make on yesterday is the blossoming of Conor O'Donnell into a really top, top inside forward. Maybe he's gone under the radar a wee bit playing inside beside the more widely acclaimed Murphy and Gallen. But by God he's some man to go for the jugular. He's a wee bit unorthodox in style, but a very very dangerous weapon for us.
A lot of the chat after our semi final loss last year was about how if we'd had Murphy, it might have tipped the scales in our favour. But people forget that O'Donnell got injured in training the week leading up to that game. Ifs and buts now of course, but who knows, maybe Conor would have fired a 1-1 or a 1-2 to see us through to the 2024 final." Conor o'donnell has been excellent and cahir okane makes a similar point to you on the value he has added this year versus last year. He ain't really an inside forwards in my mind though. He's better in straight lines coming from a little deeper. Little one twos and when he's through on goal he's very two footed and when he's running down the middle ar you he's very hard to defend. I think he's naturally left footed but I can't say I know for definite as he kicks really well off both feet. That point off his right in about the 56th minute was probably the point of the day.
Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 904 - 14/07/2025 12:49:19
i've been a massive critic of Hugh McFadden over the years. But he's proved me and a lot of others wrong in the last few games. Langan gets the accolades because he's so stylish and gets scores, but I thought McFadden was immense yesterday.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 14/07/2025 13:01:29
Replying To rorysboys: "Fantastic performance really playing fantastic stuff. I expected us to win but not by as much. Some final in store it's going to be intriguing. I think we'll do it. It's going to be highscoring but I feel kickouts and the breaking ball will be huge. Finally congratulations to Shaun patton on his 100 appearance what a keeper. The day he committed to the gaa was a great day for us." Yes absolutely well done to Shaun Patton on his 100th cap, hope he has a great game in the final, Paddy says we have massively underachieved since 2014 and he is not wrong, what a difference it makes having Jim back in charge, we always had the players despite what some people would have you believe. I think we can win this final but we will have to be at our very best, Kerry are a serious outfit with probably the most lethal forward we'll ever see in David Clifford, if we can can contain him as much as possible and play like we can then we we will win. Everyone is on Cloud 9 around here, a great final in store. Hope to God we can win it.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3340 - 14/07/2025 13:02:16
Replying To farneygael3: "Youre monaghan and never will be truly accepted up there, or here :))" When Corduff are playing Scotstown in the club championship in a few weeks time I'll ask Jason to bring his All Irrland medal to show yiz what they look like. In the meantime you can go to Doohamlet I'll get Declan Walsh to show you his.
SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 839 - 14/07/2025 13:04:59
The next two weeks will be all about tickets. I'll get my rant over now. If you are under 18 and a club member and gone to every game, you don't get a ticket. That is really unfair." It is very unfair that u18s cannot get tickets but I suspect parents that brought their children to every game all year would have purchased juvenile season tickets for them.
Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 271 - 14/07/2025 13:14:23
Replying To SouthOfTheGap: "When Corduff are playing Scotstown in the club championship in a few weeks time I'll ask Jason to bring his All Irrland medal to show yiz what they look like. In the meantime you can go to Doohamlet I'll get Declan Walsh to show you his." Good penalty shoot out win the other night
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 291 - 14/07/2025 13:52:33
Replying To peiledoir20: "Why do under 18s not get a ticket?" As far as I know you have to be an adult club member to be guaranteed a ticket. The only way a juvenille is guaranteed a ticket is if they have a season ticket. I could be wrong but think that was the case previously.
Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1919 - 14/07/2025 14:30:18
Do ya know what's great as well? Jim McGuinness reaffirming his status as one of the greatest GAA managers of all time. When he came back there were plenty who scoffed and were only dying for his second tenure to be labelled a failure. Eejits on social media giving their two cents who probably never took a coaching session in their lives.
If Jim McGuinness went into an underachieving county like say, Kildare or Cork for example, he'd have them contending for an All Ireland in two years.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9892 - 14/07/2025 15:19:39
Replying To Tirchonaill1: "Yes absolutely well done to Shaun Patton on his 100th cap, hope he has a great game in the final, Paddy says we have massively underachieved since 2014 and he is not wrong, what a difference it makes having Jim back in charge, we always had the players despite what some people would have you believe. I think we can win this final but we will have to be at our very best, Kerry are a serious outfit with probably the most lethal forward we'll ever see in David Clifford, if we can can contain him as much as possible and play like we can then we we will win. Everyone is on Cloud 9 around here, a great final in store. Hope to God we can win it." Having a wee dig as usual tirconnel. These fabulous players didn't just appear last year. Alot of good coaches and managers brought these players through from a young age. Jim is a fantastic manager who were lucky to have . If we win this all Ireland he'll rank up there as one of best managers ever. And believe me thell be no happier man than me to see sam back in the hills and to be proven wrong. I forgot too it took a certain manager to persuade Shaun patton to play for donegal and by good this must rank as one of the best decisions ever in donegal gaa..I was a proud donegal man leaving croker yesterday proud of jim and the lads hopefully there's one more big performance left in us. Sam is coming home .
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2645 - 14/07/2025 15:57:03
Replying To rorysboys: "Having a wee dig as usual tirconnel. These fabulous players didn't just appear last year. Alot of good coaches and managers brought these players through from a young age. Jim is a fantastic manager who were lucky to have . If we win this all Ireland he'll rank up there as one of best managers ever. And believe me thell be no happier man than me to see sam back in the hills and to be proven wrong. I forgot too it took a certain manager to persuade Shaun patton to play for donegal and by good this must rank as one of the best decisions ever in donegal gaa..I was a proud donegal man leaving croker yesterday proud of jim and the lads hopefully there's one more big performance left in us. Sam is coming home ." McGuiness is a good manager but you lot are getting ahead of yourselves . You've to get passed Kerry first and Clifford.
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 286 - 14/07/2025 16:16:56